Madison Ultimate Frisbee Rules Quiz

14 Questions | Total Attempts: 782

SettingsSettingsSettings
Madison Ultimate Frisbee Rules Quiz - Quiz

Questions regarding USA Ultimate rules, as well as Madison Ulimate Frisbee Association rules. Not officially produced by MUFA. As players in a self-officiated sport, we are saving tons on referee wages!Also, we take on the responsibility of learning the rules.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    You are in the process of catching the disc and the disc hits your hand.  Before rotation is stopped, a defender hits the disc but not your hand, stopping you from completing the catch. Is it:
    • A. 

      A foul, because you touched the disc first and were in the process of catching the disc.

    • B. 

      No foul, because they did not hit you.

    • C. 

      Not enough information

  • 2. 
    A foul does not need to be intentional to be a foul
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    It's summer league. Your game was scheduled to start at 6:00 pm. The other team asked for a 5 minute delay because they didn't yet have enough players to start. The game started at 6:05. At 7:27, your team scored to tie the game, 8-8. The time is now 7:30 and neither team has yet scored. What happens?
    • A. 

      Play continues until someone scores. There are no ties in ultimate!

    • B. 

      Play ends immediately, no matter what. Game is considered a tie.

    • C. 

      Play continues until 7:35, because the game started :05 late.

    • D. 

      Play ends immediately and is considered a tie unless both captains had agreed to keep playing AND nobody is waiting to use the field

  • 4. 
    Your game is about to start. It's Spring League. The other team has only 6 of its rostered players and wants to let somebody's friend play with them. He is a beginner. On a scale of 1-6, he would be a 2.5. At least one of their missing players is a 3. Should your team let him play?
    • A. 

      Yes, as long as the your captain agrees to it.

    • B. 

      No, he isn't on the roster, so he can't play.

    • C. 

      Depends, this is only allowed if he is currently registered on a MUFA team.

    • D. 

      Depends, this is only allowed if he is currently registered on a MUFA team AND the your captain gives permission.

    • E. 

      Other

  • 5. 
    How many times can lightning strike before a game is cancelled?
    • A. 

      1

    • B. 

      2

    • C. 

      3

    • D. 

      Depends

  • 6. 
    Your team pulls the disc. It goes out of bounds at the goal line before touching the ground or being touched. An opposing player picks it up, runs to the brick mark, establishes a pivot, ground checks the disc, and without anybody marking him, throws for a score. This is...
    • A. 

      Totally legal.

    • B. 

      Bogus. You have to check the disc with somebody before restarting play.

    • C. 

      Uncertain. Not enough information is provided.

  • 7. 
    You make your in cut from the stack catching the disc when you realize your defender has called a pick.  You look back and see that he isn't very close to you.
    • A. 

      Insist that the player was not close enough to call a pick, keep the disc, and they need to stay where they are.

    • B. 

      Allow the player to catch up where they see fit and the disc goes back.

    • C. 

      You go back to where the pick occurred and the disc goes back.

    • D. 

      Speak with the other players and let the defender catch up to a position similar to where they were at the time of the pick. You keep the disc.

    • E. 

      None of these is entirely accurate

  • 8. 
    WWJT? What would Jesus Throw?
    • A. 

      Backhand

    • B. 

      High-release backhand

    • C. 

      Snake (upside down backhand)

    • D. 

      Scoober

    • E. 

      Hammer

  • 9. 
    A travel is called while Abe is throwing. An offensive player, Ben, catches the disc, but didn't hear the call. (it's windy) Ben then attempts a pass, which is dropped. Where does the disc go?
    • A. 

      Abe, unless person who called the travel violation rescinds the call (in which case, disc returns to Ben.)

    • B. 

      Turnover. Play was live until the stoppage is recognized by other players, so the turnover was valid.

    • C. 

      It depends. If the Abe does not contest the travel, it is a turnover. If the travel call is contested, disc returns to Abe.

  • 10. 
    It's Spring League. You're at Manchester. It's 12-11. You reach down to catch a low disc in the end zone. It hits a 6-inch high dandelion as you are catching it. What have you just done?
    • A. 

      Won the game! The disc was still spinning, so it wasn't down.

    • B. 

      Turned the disc over!

    • C. 

      Spread the seeds of a wonderful, tasty weed.

  • 11. 
    What is wrong with this picture?  (just answer with a word or phrase)
  • 12. 
    If this player catches the disc in his current position, does it count?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

    • C. 

      Depends

  • 13. 
    The pull is thrown, passes over point C, and first hits the ground out of bounds. Where can the receiving team ground check the disc and initiate play? Select the best answer:
    • A. 

      A

    • B. 

      B

    • C. 

      C

    • D. 

      A or B

    • E. 

      A or C

    • F. 

      B or C

    • G. 

      A or B or C

  • 14. 
    The disc is turned over on spot C. Where can the offense initiate play?
    • A. 

      A

    • B. 

      B

    • C. 

      C

    • D. 

      A or B

    • E. 

      B or C

    • F. 

      A or C

    • G. 

      A or B or C

Back to Top Back to top