Referee Recertification Exam: Quiz!

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Adminmsr
A
Adminmsr
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 1,001
| Attempts: 1,001
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/100 Questions

    Players may wear thermal undershorts if they are of the same color as the main color of the shorts.

    • True
    • False
Please wait...
About This Quiz


Are you familiar with referee recertification? Would you like to try this quiz? Every referee must complete safe sports training so that they can be certified to officiate games. It would be best if you achieved this before recertifying, and this applies to referees 18 years of age or older. All United States soccer instructors, assessors, assigners, and referees require annual recertification. If you want to learn more about referee recertification, this may be the quiz for you.

Referee Recertification Exam: Quiz! - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    For safety reasons, goals MUST be anchored securely to the ground.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Anchoring goals securely to the ground is necessary for safety reasons. Without proper anchoring, goals can become unstable and pose a risk of falling over, potentially causing injury to players or bystanders. Therefore, it is important to ensure that goals are securely anchored to prevent any accidents or hazards during sports activities.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    An attacking player A is injured and lying on the ground inside the field of play.  Another attacker B, defended by X, shoots the ball towards the goal.

    • The player is guilty of offside.

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside.

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside.
    Explanation
    Questions 76 through 83 describe situations in which there could be an offside infraction. Assume in each situation that no other player is anywhere close to the action.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    A player scores a goal. In celebration, the player takes off his/her shirt and waves it around.

    • Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.

    • Send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • First show a yellow card and then send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • For this incident neither a caution nor a send-off is directed by the Laws of the Game.

    Correct Answer
    A. Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.
    Explanation
    When a player scores a goal and celebrates by taking off his/her shirt and waving it around, it is considered a violation of the Laws of the Game. According to the rules, players are not allowed to remove their shirts during a match. Therefore, the referee should caution the player and show a yellow card as a disciplinary action. This serves as a warning to the player and the team that such behavior is not acceptable and may result in further consequences if repeated.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Any player bleeding from a wound must leave the field of play for treatment.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    If a player is bleeding from a wound, they must leave the field of play for treatment. This is because bleeding can potentially be a sign of a serious injury, and it is important to ensure the player's safety and well-being. By requiring them to leave the field for treatment, it allows medical professionals to properly assess and address the injury, reducing the risk of further complications.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    The goalkeeper may participate in a dropped ball restart.

    • Only in his/her penalty area

    • Anywhere on the field

    Correct Answer
    A. Anywhere on the field
    Explanation
    The goalkeeper is allowed to participate in a dropped ball restart anywhere on the field. This means that they can be involved in the play and touch the ball after it has been dropped by the referee. They are not restricted to only participating in the restart within their penalty area.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    A player takes a shot on goal while a teammate, in an offside position, is blocking the line of vision of the goalkeeper.

    • The teammate is guilty of offside

    • The teammate is NOT guilty of offside

    Correct Answer
    A. The teammate is guilty of offside
    Explanation
    The teammate is guilty of offside because according to the offside rule in soccer, a player is considered offside if they are involved in active play by interfering with an opponent's line of vision or blocking their movement, even if they do not touch the ball. In this scenario, the teammate is obstructing the goalkeeper's line of vision, which is considered interfering with play. Therefore, the teammate is guilty of offside.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    In your opinion, a player delays the restart of play.

    • Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.

    • Send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • First show a yellow card and then send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • For this incident neither a caution nor a send-off is directed by the Laws of the Game.

    Correct Answer
    A. Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.
    Explanation
    If a player delays the restart of play, the correct action according to the Laws of the Game is to caution the player and show them a yellow card. This is because delaying the restart of play is considered unsporting behavior, which is a cautionable offense. By showing the player a yellow card, the referee is issuing a warning to the player and indicating that any further misconduct may result in a sending-off (red card).

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    You decide that a player is simulating a foul in an effort to fool you into awarding a penalty kick. You should stop the game, caution the attacker for unsporting behavior and restart the game with an indirect free kick to the defending team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    If a player is found to be simulating a foul in order to deceive the referee into awarding a penalty kick, the correct course of action is to stop the game, caution the attacker for unsporting behavior, and restart the game with an indirect free kick to the defending team. This is to discourage players from attempting to cheat or deceive the referee, promoting fair play and maintaining the integrity of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Defender X leaves the field of play in an attempt to put player A into an offside position.  Player B passes the ball to player A, who heads the ball, past the goalkeeper GK, into the net.

    • The player is guilty of offside.

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside.

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside.
    Explanation
    Questions 76 through 83 describe situations in which there could be an offside infraction. Assume in each situation that no other player is anywhere close to the action.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

      Players A and B are attackers; Players X and Y are defenders.  Player B plays the ball past X (on the inside) and then runs around X (on X’s other side) onto the ball to play it again.  Player A does not interfere.

    • The player is guilty of offside.

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside.

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside.
    Explanation
    Questions 76 through 83 describe situations in which there could be an offside infraction. Assume in each situation that no other player is anywhere close to the action.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    An attacking player takes a shot on goal, the ball rebounds off a goal post to a teammate, who was in an offside position when the shot was taken.

    • The player is guilty of offside

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is guilty of offside
    Explanation
    The player is guilty of offside because according to the offside rule in soccer, a player is considered offside if they are involved in active play by interfering with an opponent or gaining an advantage from being in that position when the ball is played or touched by a teammate. In this scenario, the player was in an offside position when the shot was taken, and even though the ball rebounded off the goal post, the player still gained an advantage from being in that position and became involved in active play when they received the ball. Therefore, they are guilty of offside.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Law 5, Powers and Duties of the Referee, defines “applying advantage” as:

    • Permitting the referee to let play continue when the team against which a foul has been committed will actually benefit from the referee not calling the foul.

    • Requiring the referee to keep the game moving by calling only serious or violent fouls.

    Correct Answer
    A. Permitting the referee to let play continue when the team against which a foul has been committed will actually benefit from the referee not calling the foul.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is permitting the referee to let play continue when the team against which a foul has been committed will actually benefit from the referee not calling the foul. This means that if a foul is committed against a team, but they are still in a favorable position to continue play and potentially score, the referee can choose to not stop the game and allow the advantage to be played. This allows for a more fluid and continuous game, benefiting the team that was fouled.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    There is contact at mid-field between two opponents.  You whistle to stop play for a foul and signal for a free kick.  You immediately realize that you have signaled in the wrong direction.  The ball has NOT been put back into play.  What should you do?

    • Nothing. You may NOT change your decision.

    • Stop the taking of the kick and signal in the correct direction.

    • To be fair to both teams, restart the game with a dropped ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. Stop the taking of the kick and signal in the correct direction.
    Explanation
    In this situation, the referee initially made a mistake by signaling for a free kick in the wrong direction. However, since the ball has not been put back into play yet, the referee has the opportunity to correct their decision. To ensure fairness to both teams, the referee should stop the taking of the kick and signal in the correct direction. This allows the game to continue with the correct decision and avoids any potential unfair advantage that may have been gained due to the initial mistake.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    When an indirect free kick is taken outside the penalty area, the ball is in play when it is kicked and moves.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    When an indirect free kick is taken outside the penalty area, the ball is considered in play as soon as it is kicked and starts to move. This means that any player can legally touch the ball, and the opposing team can defend against the kick. The ball does not have to touch another player or cross a certain line for it to be considered in play. Therefore, the statement "True" is the correct answer.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    For the purpose of determining if an attacker is in an offside position, the position of the attacker’s head or feet matter, but not the position of the attacker’s arm.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer is that in the rules of soccer, an attacker is considered to be in an offside position if any part of their head or feet is closer to the opponent's goal line than both the ball and the second-to-last defender at the moment the ball is played to them. The position of the attacker's arm is not taken into consideration when determining offside. Therefore, the statement that the position of the attacker's head or feet matter, but not the position of the attacker's arm, is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    In case of an injury, the Assistant Referee closest to the injured player provides you with assistance in determining seriousness and provides information to you regarding any related actions such as cause of injury, fouls, misconduct, retaliation, etc.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is true because the Assistant Referee closest to the injured player is in the best position to assess the seriousness of the injury and provide information about any related actions such as fouls, misconduct, or retaliation. Their close proximity to the incident allows them to have a clear view and understanding of what occurred, making their assistance valuable in determining the appropriate course of action.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    At the taking of a throw-in, all opponents must be at least 2 yards away from the point at which the throw-in is to be taken.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    During a throw-in, all opponents must maintain a distance of at least 2 yards from the point where the throw-in is being taken. This rule ensures fair play and prevents opponents from interfering with the throw-in or gaining an unfair advantage. By keeping a distance, it allows the player taking the throw-in to have a clear and unobstructed throw, promoting the continuation of the game without any hindrance.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    The referee can decide who may or may not participate in a dropped ball.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the referee does not have the authority to decide who may or may not participate in a dropped ball. In a dropped ball situation, any player from both teams can participate and compete for the ball. The referee's role is to ensure that the drop ball is conducted properly and fairly, but they do not have the power to determine which players can or cannot participate.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    You restart the game with a dropped ball.  After it touches the ground, the attacker kicks the ball directly to a teammate who is in an offside position.

    • The player is guilty of offside

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is guilty of offside
    Explanation
    The player is guilty of offside because according to the rules of soccer, a player is considered offside if they are in an offside position at the moment the ball is played to them by a teammate. In this scenario, the attacker kicked the ball directly to a teammate who was in an offside position, which means the player is guilty of offside.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    You can decide how many players contest a dropped ball.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The statement suggests that the number of players contesting a dropped ball can be decided. However, in reality, the number of players contesting a dropped ball is determined by the rules of the game. The correct answer is false because the number of players involved in a dropped ball situation is not a decision that can be made by individuals.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    A player tackled an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball.

    • Direct Free Kick

    • Penalty Kick

    • Indirect Free Kick

    • Dropped Ball

    Correct Answer
    A. Direct Free Kick
    Explanation
    When a player tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball, it is considered a foul. In this situation, the correct decision is to award a direct free kick to the opposing team. A direct free kick allows the opposing team to take a shot directly at the goal without any other players having to touch the ball first.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    Player B passes the ball to teammate C who is being defended by player X. Player A is a teammate of B and C.

    • The player is guilty of offside.

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside.

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside.
    Explanation
    Questions 76 through 83 describe situations in which there could be an offside infraction. Assume in each situation that no other player is anywhere close to the action.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    The ball is in play.  An attacking player makes a short pass that hits you and rebounds to a defending player.  You should:

    • Allow play to continue

    • Stop play.

    • Restart the game with a dropped ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. Allow play to continue
    Explanation
    In this scenario, since the ball is already in play and the short pass made by the attacking player hits you and rebounds to a defending player, you should allow play to continue. There is no violation or reason to stop play, as the ball is still in a playable condition and both teams have the opportunity to maintain possession and continue the game. Restarting the game with a dropped ball is not necessary in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    At the moment the ball was played by attacking player #8, attacker #11 was in an offside position.  #11 then ran to an onside position where he/she actually received the ball.

    • The player is guilty of offside

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is guilty of offside
    Explanation
    According to the given information, attacker #11 was in an offside position when the ball was played by attacker #8. Even though #11 later moved to an onside position and received the ball, the initial offside position at the moment the ball was played makes the player guilty of offside.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    The ball was played to the goalkeeper by a teammate and, since he/she could not use his/her hands, attacking player A challenged him/her.  The goalkeeper then kicked the ball and player A started to run up field.  The ball was cleared to another attacker B who then played the ball to a teammate C who was being defended by X.

    • The player is guilty of offside.

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside.

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside.
    Explanation
    Questions 76 through 83 describe situations in which there could be an offside infraction. Assume in each situation that no other player is anywhere close to the action.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    Team A has presented the referee with an 18-player roster. During warm-ups before a game, two players of team A get into a fist fight. The referee decides to send both players off. The correct procedure is to show both players the red card.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    In this scenario, when two players from Team A get into a fist fight during warm-ups, the referee has the authority to send both players off the field. The correct procedure in such a situation is to show both players the red card. The red card signifies that the players are being expelled from the game due to their misconduct. This decision ensures fair play and sets an example that violent behavior will not be tolerated in the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    At a stoppage, you instruct a player who is bleeding from a wound to leave the field.  The player leaves, is treated, and re-enters the field while the ball is in play and without the referee’s permission or the permission of any assistant referee or the fourth official.

    • Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.

    • Send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • First show a yellow card and then send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • For this incident neither a caution nor a send-off is directed by the Laws of the Game.

    Correct Answer
    A. Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is to caution and show the guilty player a yellow card. According to the Laws of the Game, a player who re-enters the field without the referee's permission while the ball is in play should be cautioned and shown a yellow card. This is considered unsporting behavior and a breach of the rules.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    A player injures himself/herself while taking a shot on goal.  As the ball is being retrieved, the player is being treated off the field. Just before the ensuing goal kick can be taken, the player is ready to return to the field. The referee may allow the player to return before the goal kick is taken.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The player injured himself/herself while taking a shot on goal and was being treated off the field. However, just before the ensuing goal kick, the player is ready to return to the field. In this situation, the referee may allow the player to return before the goal kick is taken. This is because the player's injury was not severe enough to warrant them being off the field for an extended period of time. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    A field player changes jerseys with the goalkeeper during half-time without informing you.  When the new goalkeeper touches the ball with his/her hands during the second half, you realize the change was made.  You should award a penalty kick for handling the ball within the penalty area.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The explanation for the answer "False" is that according to the Laws of the Game in soccer, a field player cannot change jerseys with the goalkeeper during half-time without informing the referee. If such a change occurs without the referee's knowledge, it would be considered a violation of the rules. Therefore, if the new goalkeeper touches the ball with their hands during the second half, it would not result in a penalty kick for handling the ball within the penalty area.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    A player, just before taking a penalty kick, tried to throw the goalkeeper off balance with a little stutter step. He/she then kicked the ball into the goal. As the referee you should restart play with a:

    • Corner Kick

    • Goal Kick

    • Throw-In

    • Dropped Ball

    • Kick-off

    Correct Answer
    A. Kick-off
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the player successfully executed a penalty kick by throwing off the goalkeeper's balance with a stutter step and then scoring a goal. Since the ball crossed the goal line and a goal was scored, the appropriate restart of play is a kick-off. The kick-off is taken from the center of the field by the team that conceded the goal, allowing the game to resume after a goal has been scored.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    At the taking of a penalty kick, the kicker approached the ball to kick it, but slipped and fell on the wet grass. He/she barely managed to kick the ball forward. An alert teammate, who had been standing just outside the penalty arc, ran up and kicked the ball across the goal line and into the net. As the referee you should restart play with a:

    • Corner Kick

    • Goal Kick

    • Throw-In

    • Dropped Ball

    • Kick-off

    Correct Answer
    A. Kick-off
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the kicker slipped and fell while attempting to take a penalty kick. However, the alert teammate ran up and kicked the ball into the net. Since the ball crossed the goal line and a goal was scored, the appropriate restart of play is a kick-off. A kick-off is used to start the game or restart play after a goal has been scored, so it is the correct choice in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    An attacking player, in an offside position, intercepts a pass from a defender intended for that defender’s goalkeeper.

    • The player is guilty of offside

    • The player is NOT guilty of offside

    Correct Answer
    A. The player is NOT guilty of offside
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the attacking player is not guilty of offside because the Laws of the Game state that a player cannot be penalized for being in an offside position if they receive the ball directly from a goal kick, corner kick, or throw-in. Since the pass from the defender was intended for the goalkeeper, it can be considered as a pass from a teammate and not an opponent, therefore the offside rule does not apply.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    When a throw-in is being taken, an opponent unfairly distracts or impedes the thrower.

    • Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.

    • Send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • First show a yellow card and then send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • For this incident neither a caution nor a send-off is directed by the Laws of the Game.

    Correct Answer
    A. Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.
    Explanation
    If an opponent unfairly distracts or impedes the thrower during a throw-in, the correct action is to caution and show the guilty player a yellow card. This is in accordance with the Laws of the Game, which state that unsporting behavior should result in a caution. A yellow card serves as a warning to the player and indicates that further misconduct could result in a send-off and a red card.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    Any player who impedes the progress of an opponent, but does not make physical contact, is guilty of an indirect free kick foul.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    If a player hinders the advancement of an opponent without making physical contact, it is considered an indirect free kick foul. This means that the player has obstructed the opponent's progress in some way, such as blocking their path or impeding their movement, without actually making any physical contact. This type of foul results in an indirect free kick being awarded to the opposing team. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    A championship game is still tied after the overtime periods and has gone into kicks from the penalty mark to determine the winner.  While waiting for their turn to kick, two players from the same team are sent off immediately after the first kick is taken.  The other team must reduce their number of players to account for the two opposing players that were sent off.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    In a penalty shootout, if players from the same team are sent off after the first kick is taken, the other team does not need to reduce their number of players. Each team takes turns to kick, and the number of players on each team remains the same throughout the shootout. Therefore, the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    A player falls to the ground after being held by an opponent. The player rolls around grabbing his/her ankle while screaming at the referee that the opponent should be cautioned.  The referee decides that the player is only simulating.

    • Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.

    • Send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • First show a yellow card and then send off and show the guilty player a red card.

    • For this incident neither a caution nor a send-off is directed by the Laws of the Game.

    Correct Answer
    A. Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Caution and show the guilty player a yellow card." In this scenario, the player is simulating or feigning an injury in order to deceive the referee. According to the Laws of the Game, simulation is considered unsporting behavior and should result in a caution. Therefore, the referee should caution the player by showing a yellow card as a disciplinary action.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    You have awarded a corner kick.  Before the kick can be taken, time runs out for the first half.  What action should you take?

    • Extend time for the taking of the corner kick.

    • Start the second half with a corner kick.

    • Declare the half over because time has expired. Do not allow the corner kick to be taken.

    Correct Answer
    A. Declare the half over because time has expired. Do not allow the corner kick to be taken.
    Explanation
    When time runs out for the first half before a corner kick can be taken, the correct action is to declare the half over because time has expired and not allow the corner kick to be taken. In soccer, the referee is responsible for keeping track of time and ensuring that the game is played within the allotted time. Once the half is over, no further actions can be taken, including taking a corner kick. Therefore, the correct decision is to declare the half over and proceed to the second half.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    From a throw-in, the ball went directly into the opponent’s goal without being touched by another player. As the referee you should restart play with a:

    • Corner Kick

    • Goal Kick

    • Throw-In

    • Dropped Ball

    • Kick-off

    Correct Answer
    A. Goal Kick
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the ball went directly into the opponent's goal from a throw-in without being touched by another player. According to the laws of the game, when the attacking team is the last to touch the ball before it crosses the goal line and goes out of play, the defending team is awarded a goal kick. Therefore, as the referee, you should restart play with a goal kick.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    Before a penalty kick was taken, the goalkeeper moved to his/her right and then to his/her left, but remained on the goal line.  The kick was taken and the goalkeeper deflected the ball over the crossbar. As the referee you should restart play with a:

    • Corner Kick

    • Goal Kick

    • Throw-In

    • Dropped Ball

    • Kick-off

    Correct Answer
    A. Corner Kick
    Explanation
    After the goalkeeper deflected the ball over the crossbar, the correct restart of play would be a corner kick. A corner kick is awarded to the attacking team when the defending team is the last to touch the ball before it goes out of play over the goal line, either on the ground or in the air, without a goal being scored. Since the goalkeeper deflected the ball over the crossbar, it indicates that the attacking team had a shot on goal and the defending team was the last to touch the ball. Therefore, a corner kick should be given to the attacking team.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    A player attempted to punch an opponent, but missed.

    • Direct Free Kick

    • Penalty Kick

    • Indirect Free Kick

    • Dropped Ball

    Correct Answer
    A. Direct Free Kick
    Explanation
    If a player attempts to punch an opponent but misses, it is considered a direct free kick. A direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team when a player commits a foul, such as punching, without making contact with the opponent. This gives the opposing team a chance to gain an advantage by taking a free kick from the spot where the foul occurred.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    A player ran between an opponent and the ball so as to slow down the opponent rather than trying to play the ball.  No contact was made between the player and the opponent.

    • Direct Free Kick

    • Penalty Kick

    • Indirect Free Kick

    • Dropped Ball

    Correct Answer
    A. Indirect Free Kick
    Explanation
    The player intentionally positioned themselves between the opponent and the ball in order to impede the opponent's progress, rather than attempting to play the ball. This action is considered unsporting behavior and is a violation of the rules. Since no contact was made between the player and the opponent, it does not warrant a penalty kick. Instead, it is classified as an indirect free kick, where the opposing team is awarded a free kick and must touch the ball before a goal can be scored.

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    A player, after taking a penalty kick, headed the ball out of the goalkeeper’s reach after it rebounded from the crossbar.

    • Direct Free Kick

    • Penalty Kick

    • Indirect Free Kick

    • Dropped Ball

    Correct Answer
    A. Indirect Free Kick
    Explanation
    When a player takes a penalty kick and the ball rebounds off the crossbar, if another player on the same team then heads the ball into the goal, it is considered a goal. However, if the player heads the ball out of the goalkeeper's reach, it is not considered a goal. In this scenario, the correct answer is an Indirect Free Kick. This means that the opposing team will be awarded a free kick from the spot where the player headed the ball, and the ball must touch another player before a goal can be scored.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    There is a foul that is not seen by the referee.  Before signaling for the foul, the lead AR should determine whether the referee would have applied advantage and allowed play to continue if the referee had seen it.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The lead AR should determine whether the referee would have applied advantage and allowed play to continue if the referee had seen the foul that was not seen. This means that the lead AR needs to assess the situation and make a judgment call on whether the foul was significant enough to warrant stopping play or if it was a minor infraction that could have been overlooked in favor of allowing the game to continue. This decision-making process helps to maintain the flow of the game and ensure fairness in the application of the rules.

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    A substitute who has not completed the substitution process by setting foot onto the field of play should be permitted to restart play by taking a throw-in or a corner kick.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    A substitute who has not completed the substitution process by setting foot onto the field of play should not be permitted to restart play by taking a throw-in or a corner kick. This is because according to the rules of the game, a substitute must enter the field of play before being allowed to participate in any form of play. Therefore, the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    While the ball was in play, you temporarily stopped the game because of thunder and lightning.  After the weather improves and play can be resumed safely, how should you restart the game?

    • Corner Kick

    • Goal Kick

    • Throw-In

    • Dropped ball

    • Kick-off

    Correct Answer
    A. Dropped ball
    Explanation
    After temporarily stopping the game due to thunder and lightning, the correct way to restart the game is by using a dropped ball. A dropped ball is a method of restarting play when the game was stopped for reasons other than a foul or a violation. The referee drops the ball from waist height between two opposing players, and once it touches the ground, the game resumes. This ensures fairness and allows both teams to have an equal chance of gaining possession of the ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    The jerseys of the two goalkeepers are the same color and neither has another jersey to change into.  As the referee, you should:

    • Not allow the game to start until a different color jersey is found

    • Allow play to begin

    • None of the above

    Correct Answer
    A. Allow play to begin
    Explanation
    In this situation, the jerseys of the two goalkeepers are the same color and neither of them has another jersey to change into. However, this does not violate any specific rule or regulation of the game. Therefore, as the referee, you should allow play to begin.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    The goalkeeper, within his/her penalty area, played the ball with his/her hands after receiving it directly from a teammate's throw-in.

    • Direct Free Kick

    • Penalty Kick

    • Indirect Free Kick

    • Dropped Ball

    Correct Answer
    A. Indirect Free Kick
    Explanation
    When a goalkeeper plays the ball with their hands after receiving it directly from a teammate's throw-in, it is considered a violation of the rules. According to the Laws of the Game, a goalkeeper cannot use their hands if the ball has been deliberately thrown to them by a teammate. This offense results in an indirect free kick for the opposing team, where the ball must touch another player before a goal can be scored. Therefore, the correct answer is Indirect Free Kick.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    In the 59th minute of play you award a goal and restart the game with a kick-off. In the 61st minute, play is stopped for a goal kick. While the ball is retrieved for the kick, an assistant referee informs you that the ball had passed over a touchline prior to the goal you awarded in the 59th minute.  You must decide that the goal stands and restart play with the goal kick.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer is that according to the Laws of the Game, once a goal has been awarded and play has restarted with a kick-off, the goal cannot be overturned. Even if it is later discovered that the ball had gone out of play before the goal was scored, the goal still stands. The ball being out of play does not affect the validity of the goal that was already awarded. Therefore, the goal stands and play should be restarted with a goal kick.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Jun 28, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Jun 28, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Apr 23, 2011
    Quiz Created by
    Adminmsr
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.