Emloa 2010 Refresher Test

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Brberiau
B
Brberiau
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 235
| Attempts: 235 | Questions: 98
Please wait...
Question 1 / 98
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1.  If there is lightning or thunder with a “flash to bang” of less than 30 seconds, the correct procedure is:  

Explanation

If there is lightning or thunder with a “flash to bang” of less than 30 seconds, the correct procedure is to clear the field immediately. Play should not resume until at least 30 minutes after the last “flash to bang” of less than 30 seconds. This is important for the safety of the players and everyone involved in the game. Lightning poses a significant risk, and waiting for a sufficient amount of time after the last occurrence reduces the chances of any potential danger.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Online Exam Quizzes & Trivia

This is the EMLOA 2010 Refresher Test. The questions appear 1 at a time. Select the answer you perceive to be correct and... see moreclick on the SUBMIT ANSWER button. Let the page refresh before continuing. Please complete ALL questions.

At the end of the test, email the Certificate of Completion to dbenson1@comcast. Net and Print the Certificate of Completion and bring it to your next scheduled EMLOA meeting. Turn it in to your trainor for credit.

Please enter your name LASTNAME, FIRSTNAME for reporting purposes. Thanks. see less

2. Penalty flags should be thrown:    

Explanation

Penalty flags should be thrown straight up into the air. This is because when a referee throws a penalty flag, it is a signal to stop the play and indicate that a penalty has occurred. By throwing the flag straight up into the air, it ensures that all players and officials can see the flag and understand that a penalty has been called. Additionally, throwing the flag straight up into the air helps to prevent any potential interference with the play or players on the field.

Submit
3.  Players must wear a mouthpiece.

Explanation

Wearing a mouthpiece is necessary for players. This is likely because it helps protect their teeth and jaw from potential injuries that may occur during physical contact or impact while playing sports. It is a safety measure to reduce the risk of dental and oral injuries.

Submit
4. The home team shall provide ball retrievers or an adequate supply of balls at each end line.

Explanation

The statement is true because according to the given information, the home team is responsible for providing ball retrievers or an adequate supply of balls at each end line. This implies that it is the home team's duty to ensure that there are enough balls available for the game, either through ball retrievers or by having a sufficient number of balls ready at each end line.

Submit
5. A player with possession is declared out of bounds if one foot touches the sideline.

Explanation

If a player with possession of the ball touches the sideline with one foot, they are declared out of bounds. This means that they have crossed the boundary of the playing area and are no longer eligible to continue playing.

Submit
6. It is illegal to body check an opponent while he is lying on the ground.

Explanation

Body checking an opponent while they are lying on the ground is considered illegal in most sports, as it poses a significant risk of injury. This rule is in place to protect the safety and well-being of the players involved. By prohibiting body checking in this situation, the rules aim to prevent unnecessary harm and maintain fair play on the field or court.

Submit
7.  When the official cannot determine which team should be awarded the ball alternate possession should be used.

Explanation

When the official cannot determine which team should be awarded the ball, alternate possession should be used. This means that instead of making a subjective decision, the possession of the ball is determined by a predetermined alternating sequence, such as a jump ball or a coin toss. This ensures fairness and avoids any bias or favoritism towards either team.

Submit
8.  In sudden-victory overtime, the teams shall play four-minute periods until a goal is scored.

Explanation

In sudden-victory overtime, the teams continue playing four-minute periods until a goal is scored. This means that the game does not end until one team scores a goal, regardless of how many periods it takes. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
9. Which of the following would result in a penalty for a cross-check?

Explanation

Both option a and b would result in a penalty for a cross-check. In option a, B1 thrusts his crosse into A1, hitting with the portion between his hands, which is considered a cross-check and against the rules. In option b, B1 holds his crosse extended and runs into A1 with the portion between his hands, which is also a cross-check and would result in a penalty. Both actions involve using the crosse in an illegal manner and making contact with the opponent, leading to a penalty.

Submit
10. When the defense gains possession, the 4-second count (if any) and 20second count are covered by the:    

Explanation

When the defense gains possession, the 4-second count and 20-second count are covered by the New Trail official.

Submit
11. The goal crease is 9 ft in radius.

Explanation

The goal crease in ice hockey is indeed 9 ft in radius. This is a standard measurement for the goal crease, which is the area directly in front of the goal where only the goaltender is allowed to be. The crease helps to define the boundaries for the goaltender and prevent other players from interfering with their ability to defend the goal.

Submit
12. A team may have a maximum of 5 players using long crosses in the game at one time.

Explanation

There is no specific rule in the question or in general that limits the number of players using long crosses in a game to a maximum of 5. Therefore, the statement is false and there is no restriction on the number of players who can use long crosses in a game.

Submit
13. The game is played in four 12-minute periods.

Explanation

The statement is true because the game is indeed played in four 12-minute periods. This means that the total duration of the game is 48 minutes. Each period allows the teams to compete and score points within the given time frame. This format is commonly used in various sports such as basketball, where the game is divided into quarters to ensure a fair and organized competition.

Submit
14. While inspecting a player's Crosse, the official finds that the stick is too short, the head is too narrow, and the pocket is too deep.  Ruling:  Player is locked in for 7 minutes.

Explanation

The ruling mentioned in the question is not accurate. If a player's Crosse is found to be in violation of the rules, there are penalties that can be imposed, but being locked in for 7 minutes is not one of them. Therefore, the correct answer is false.

Submit
15. The coach requests a stick check on Al after Al scores a goal.  The stick is found to be illegal.  Ruling:  no goal.

Explanation

The coach requests a stick check on Al after Al scores a goal. The stick is found to be illegal. As per the ruling, if a player's stick is found to be illegal, any goal scored with that stick will not count. Therefore, in this scenario, since Al's stick is illegal, the goal he scored will not be counted. Hence, the statement "no goal" is true.

Submit
16. The penalty for tripping is normally a one-minute personal foul.

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that in most sports, including football and ice hockey, tripping is considered a foul. When a player intentionally or unintentionally trips an opponent, it is seen as a violation of fair play and can result in a penalty. The penalty for tripping is typically a one-minute personal foul, which means that the offending player must spend one minute in the penalty box, leaving their team short-handed for that duration. Therefore, the statement "The penalty for tripping is normally a one-minute personal foul" is true.

Submit
17. What is the correct signal for a “nonreleasable” penalty?

Explanation

The correct signal for a "nonreleasable" penalty is both hands clasped above the head. This signal indicates to the players and officials that the penalty cannot be released or reduced, and the player must serve the full penalty time.

Submit
18. What is the correct signal for a “loose ball”?

Explanation

The correct signal for a "loose ball" is both hands or one hand pointing to the ground. This signal is commonly used in sports to indicate that the ball is loose and not in possession of any player. By pointing to the ground, the referee or official is signaling that the ball is free and up for grabs. This signal helps players and other officials to quickly identify the situation on the field or court.

Submit
19.  In which of the following situations is regular substitution not allowed?

Explanation

Regular substitution is not allowed after an end line out of bounds because the team that caused the ball to go out of bounds retains possession and is allowed to make substitutions before resuming play. Therefore, the opposing team is not allowed to make substitutions until the play has resumed.

Submit
20. Goals must be 7 feet high.

Explanation

The statement "Goals must be 7 feet high" is false. Goals in various sports can have different heights depending on the rules and regulations of the specific sport. For example, in basketball, the standard height for a goal is 10 feet, while in soccer, the height of the goal is 8 feet. Therefore, the statement is incorrect as it assumes that all goals must be 7 feet high.

Submit
21.  The 51.    The player is permitted to bend or camber the handle of the Crosse as long as it is only a little bit.

Explanation

The player is not permitted to bend or camber the handle of the Crosse, regardless of the degree.

Submit
22. On a face-off the wing area players are released on the whistle.

Explanation

On a face-off, the wing area players are released on the whistle, which means that they are allowed to move and engage in the play as soon as the referee blows the whistle. This is true because the face-off is a critical moment in the game where players from both teams compete for possession of the puck, and allowing the wing area players to be released on the whistle ensures fair play and equal opportunity for both teams to gain control of the puck.

Submit
23.  During a special substitution, the player entering the game must wait until the exiting player is off the field of play, and the substitute may not delay his entry onto the field.

Explanation

During a special substitution, it is true that the player entering the game must wait until the exiting player is off the field of play. Additionally, the substitute is not allowed to delay his entry onto the field. This ensures a smooth transition and prevents any potential disruptions or advantages for either team during the substitution process.

Submit
24. What is the correct signal for “withholding the ball from play”?

Explanation

The correct signal for "withholding the ball from play" is hands parallel to the ground in front of the body with one hand over the top of the other. This signal indicates that the ball is being held and not being passed or played.

Submit
25. Team A has possession in its offensive end and the 10-second count is on. A1 steps into the attack area, then throws a pass out of the attack area to A2. Which of the following is true?      

Explanation

When A1 steps into the attack area and throws a pass out of the attack area to A2, a new 10-second count starts when A2 catches the pass. This means that Team A is not guilty of stalling and they have a fresh 10 seconds to continue their offensive play. The other options are incorrect as they do not accurately describe the situation described in the question.

Submit
26. An example of an illegal body check is:    

Explanation

All of the options listed in the question are examples of illegal body checks. Body checking an opponent who is not in possession of the ball or within 5 yards of a loose ball is illegal. Avoidable body checking of an opponent after they have passed or shot the ball is also illegal. Additionally, body checking an opponent from the rear or below the waist is considered an illegal body check. Therefore, all of the options mentioned in the question are correct and qualify as illegal body checks.

Submit
27. Balls of white, yellow and orange rubber are legal.

Explanation

The statement implies that balls of white, yellow, and orange rubber are allowed or permissible. This means that there are no restrictions or rules prohibiting the use of balls in these colors and material, making the statement true.

Submit
28.  The head of the Crosse at its widest point shall be at least 6 1/2 inches.

Explanation

The statement is asking whether the head of the Crosse at its widest point should be at least 6 1/2 inches. The answer is true because it is stating a requirement or standard that the head of the Crosse must meet.

Submit
29. Team A is leading in the last two minutes, but has a player in the penalty box, thus they are not required to keep the ball in the attack area.

Explanation

In a game, if Team A is leading in the last two minutes and has a player in the penalty box, they are still required to keep the ball in the attack area. This is because having a player in the penalty box does not exempt a team from the rules of the game. The team must continue to play and maintain possession of the ball in the attack area to prevent the opposing team from having an opportunity to score. Therefore, the statement "Team A is not required to keep the ball in the attack area" is false.

Submit
30. Defenseman B2 has the ball checked out of his stick in the defensive zone.  The referee should re-set his 20-second beeper.

Explanation

If the defenseman B2 has the ball checked out of his stick in the defensive zone, it does not warrant a re-set of his 20-second beeper. The 20-second beeper is typically used in lacrosse to indicate the time limit a team has to advance the ball into the offensive zone. It is not directly related to a player losing possession of the ball in their defensive zone.

Submit
31. A player who accumulates 4 personal fouls is disqualified from the game.

Explanation

A player who accumulates 4 personal fouls is not disqualified from the game.

Submit
32. Which of the following is an illegal stick length (goalie’s crosse not included)?

Explanation

The maximum allowed stick length for field lacrosse is 72 inches, while the minimum allowed stick length is 40 inches. Therefore, any stick length between 40 and 72 inches is legal. However, 50 inches is not within this range, making it an illegal stick length.

Submit
33. Team A wins the coin toss. What is the correct procedure?

Explanation

When Team A wins the coin toss, they have the option to choose either the first alternate possession or the choice of goal to defend first. This means that they can either choose to start with the ball or choose which end of the field they want to defend. So, the correct procedure for Team A is to either get the first alternate possession or choose which goal to defend first.

Submit
34.  Team B is clearing and the 20-second count is on. Which of the following does not end the count?   

Explanation

The 20-second count is only ended if the ball crosses the midfield line, Team A gains possession, or the ball goes out of bounds. If the ball becomes loose, the count continues until one of these conditions is met.

Submit
35. When a goal is scored, the goal signal normally should be given by:      

Explanation

The correct answer is "The Lead." The lead official is responsible for signaling a goal when it is scored.

Submit
36.  In a settled situation, the lead official should normally be positioned:     

Explanation

In a settled situation, the lead official should normally be positioned on the goal line extended, as close to the goal as play allows. This positioning allows the lead official to have a clear view of the goal and any potential scoring opportunities. Being on the goal line extended also ensures that the official is in a good position to make accurate calls and judgments regarding the game.

Submit
37. During the last two minutes of play, regardless of the score of the game, the referee must warn both teams to keep the ball in their respective goal areas.

Explanation

During the last two minutes of play, regardless of the score of the game, the referee does not have to warn both teams to keep the ball in their respective goal areas.

Submit
38. An offensive player, Al, outside the attack goal area, passes the ball over the attack goal area to another offen­sive player, A2, who is also outside of the attack goal area.  In this situation, the referee begins a new 10-second count because the ball was in flight over the attack goal area.

Explanation

The referee does not begin a new 10-second count when the ball is passed over the attack goal area to another offensive player outside of the attack goal area. The 10-second count only applies when the offensive team gains possession of the ball inside the attack goal area. Since both players, Al and A2, are outside of the attack goal area, the 10-second count does not reset. Therefore, the statement is false.

Submit
39. It is a technical foul to step on the Crosse of an opponent.

Explanation

Stepping on the Crosse of an opponent is considered a technical foul in lacrosse. The Crosse is the stick used by players to catch, carry, and pass the ball. Stepping on it can be seen as a deliberate action to impede the opponent's ability to play the game. This rule is in place to ensure fair play and prevent unnecessary harm or obstruction during the game. Therefore, the statement "It is a technical foul to step on the Crosse of an opponent" is true.

Submit
40.    51.    The officials shall ensure that each team has 10 players, including those in the penalty area, at the start of the game.

Explanation

The statement is true because it states that the officials have the responsibility to ensure that each team has 10 players on the field, including those in the penalty area, at the beginning of the game. This is a standard rule in most sports, including soccer, to ensure fair play and equal competition between the teams.

Submit
41. The official, and only the official, has the responsibility of determining whether or not a thrown ball is a shot.

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer, which is True, is that the official, and only the official, is responsible for determining whether a thrown ball is a shot or not. This means that the official has the authority to make the final decision on whether the ball was intended as a shot or not, based on the rules and regulations of the game. Other individuals or players do not have the power to make this determination, highlighting the importance of the official in maintaining fairness and accuracy in the game.

Submit
42. A1 has possession of the ball and is being guarded by B1, and A2 sets an offensive screen. Which of the following is a technical foul on A2?       

Explanation

A technical foul on A2 would be called if A2 is moving when B1 makes contact with him or if A2 is motionless but has his crosse extended away from his body. In both cases, A2 is either not properly set or not in control of his equipment, which can result in an unfair advantage or potential danger to other players.

Submit
43. Team B commits a loose-ball technical foul, and there is a play-on. Which of the following does not result in a whistle?      

Explanation

When Team B commits a loose-ball technical foul and there is a play-on, a whistle is not blown when Team A gains possession. This means that even though Team B committed the foul, the play continues without a stoppage in play. The other options would result in a whistle being blown: if Team B gains possession, it indicates a change of possession and play would stop; if Team A commits a foul, it would result in a whistle and a change of possession; if neither team gains possession after several seconds, it suggests a jump ball situation and play would be stopped.

Submit
44. During a clear, the Lead should stay:        

Explanation

During a clear, the Lead should stay at least one zone ahead of the ball. This means that the Lead should position themselves in a strategic location on the field that allows them to anticipate the movement of the ball and be in a position to support their teammates. By staying ahead of the ball, the Lead can effectively read the play, make quick decisions, and provide assistance to their team in both offensive and defensive situations.

Submit
45.  The center of the field should be marked with a circle.

Explanation

The statement is false because the center of a field is typically marked with a square or rectangle, not a circle. In many sports, such as soccer or American football, the center of the field is marked with a center circle or a center square. However, it is not marked with a circle as stated in the question.

Submit
46. Arm pads are required equipment for the goalies.

Explanation

The statement "Arm pads are required equipment for the goalies" is false. Arm pads may be recommended or commonly used by goalies, but they are not required equipment. The requirements for goalie equipment may vary depending on the league or organization, but arm pads are not universally mandated.

Submit
47.  The ball is loose in front of the crease, and as goalkeeper B1 reaches out of the crease for the ball, A1 checks his crosse outside the crease. The correct ruling is:       

Explanation

In this scenario, the goalkeeper B1 is reaching out of the crease to grab the loose ball, while player A1 checks his crosse outside the crease. According to the correct ruling, there is no foul in this situation. This means that both players are allowed to make their respective moves without any penalty.

Submit
48. The break between the 1st and 2nd periods is 3 minutes.

Explanation

The statement is false because the break between the 1st and 2nd periods is not 3 minutes.

Submit
49.  B leaps into the air while driving to the goal.  While he is in the air, his Crosse makes contact with the goal post before the ball enters the goal.  Ruling:  no goal.

Explanation

The given statement is true. According to the explanation, B leaps into the air while driving to the goal. While he is in the air, his Crosse makes contact with the goal post before the ball enters the goal. As per the ruling, this action results in no goal. Therefore, the correct answer is true.

Submit
50. The goalie in the crease is the only player who may touch the ball with the palm of his hand.

Explanation

The goalie in the crease is the only player who may touch the ball with the palm of his hand. This is true because according to the rules of the game, the goalie is allowed to use their hands to catch or block the ball within the boundaries of their designated area, known as the crease. Other players on the field are not allowed to touch the ball with their hands, unless they are taking a throw-in or if they are the goalie outside of the crease.

Submit
51. Team A has possession and it is discovered that B1 is not wearing shoulder pads. What penalty should be applied?

Explanation

If it is discovered that player B1 from Team B is not wearing shoulder pads while Team A has possession, the penalty that should be applied is a 1 Minute Non-Releasable foul. This means that B1 will be off the field for 1 minute and cannot be substituted by another player during that time. This penalty is given to ensure the safety of the players and to maintain fair play.

Submit
52. Which of the following is a violation of the rules for special substitution?       

Explanation

All of the given options are violations of the rules for special substitution. A1 waiting in the special substitution area before a face-off is a violation because players are not allowed to enter the substitution area until their teammate has completely left the field. A1 stepping onto the field while the teammate he is subbing for is still on the field is also a violation because substitutions should only be made when the player being substituted for has left the field. A1 putting on his gloves before entering the scrimmage area is a violation because players should not put on any equipment until they are in the scrimmage area. Therefore, all of the options mentioned violate the rules for special substitution.

Submit
53. Which of the following is a slash?  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
54. For a face-off, the wing official should:   

Explanation

The correct answer is "All of the above." This means that the wing official should position himself at the end of the wing line, have the primary responsibility of covering his own goal, and signal the face-off official when the field is ready by pointing toward the goal the wing official will be covering.

Submit
55.  If the goalkeeper is penalized, the official will allow for a one-minute warm-up of the replacement goalkeeper.

Explanation

If the goalkeeper is penalized, it is true that the official will allow for a one-minute warm-up of the replacement goalkeeper. This means that if the goalkeeper commits a foul or breaks a rule, they may be penalized and temporarily taken out of the game. During this time, the replacement goalkeeper is given one minute to warm up before taking their place in the game.

Submit
56.   A1 scores the winning goal in sudden victory overtime. Team B’s head coach requests an equipment check on A1. What is the correct action to take?        

Explanation

Once the winning goal has been scored in sudden victory overtime, the game is considered over. Therefore, no equipment check is allowed as it would be irrelevant to the outcome of the game.

Submit
57. What is the correct signal for a “conduct foul” ?

Explanation

The correct signal for a "conduct foul" is a single arm spread to the side parallel to the ground. This signal is used by officials to indicate a conduct foul, which typically refers to unsportsmanlike behavior or misconduct by a player or coach. By spreading a single arm to the side parallel to the ground, the official is signaling that a conduct foul has occurred. This signal is standardized and understood by all participants and spectators in the game.

Submit
58. Goalkeeper B1 attempts to clamp the ball and breaks his stick. A1 is in position to scoop the ball and shoot.  This situation should result in:

Explanation

In this situation, the goalkeeper B1's stick breaks while attempting to clamp the ball. As a result, A1 is in a position to scoop the ball and shoot. The broken stick could potentially lead to dangerous play or an unfair advantage for A1. Therefore, the correct response would be for the referee to blow the whistle immediately to stop play and assess the situation.

Submit
59. A1 is serving a penalty. A2 throws a pass to A3, and the ball is in flight when the horn sounds to end the period. A3 catches the pass after the horn. The next period will start with:      

Explanation

In lacrosse, when a period ends while the ball is in flight, the next period starts with a face-off. This means that none of the teams will be in possession of the ball and the game will restart with a neutral face-off to determine which team gets possession. Therefore, the correct answer is a face-off.

Submit
60.  A1, with possession of the ball, has both hands on his crosse. B1 beats repeatedly on A1’s lower gloved hand to inflict punishment.    

Explanation

B1 is slashing and should serve 1 to 3 minutes because he is repeatedly beating on A1's lower gloved hand, which is considered a slashing penalty in lacrosse.

Submit
61. With A1 is in possession of the ball, defenseman B1 initiates violent contact with A1’s helmet using his own helmet. Which of the following is a possible penalty for this?

Explanation

The correct answer is "Flag down, personal foul; B1 serves 1 minute non-releasable." In this scenario, defenseman B1 initiates violent contact with A1's helmet using his own helmet. This action is considered a personal foul because it involves dangerous and illegal contact. As a result, B1 will receive a penalty and serve 1 minute non-releasable, meaning that he will not be allowed to return to the game even if the opposing team scores.

Submit
62. B1 goalkeeper makes a save. A1 covers him while he is in his crease. In an attempt to gain a free clear, B1 throws a pass over A1’s head, and, on the follow-through, B1 violently strikes A1 on the helmet. There are no Team B players in the area where B1 throws the ball. What is the correct call?        

Explanation

The correct call is that B1 is slashing and it is a 1-minute foul. This is because B1 violently strikes A1 on the helmet during the follow-through of his pass. This action constitutes a slashing foul, which results in a 1-minute penalty for B1.

Submit
63.  Goalkeeper A1 is flagged for a penalty.      

Explanation

Based on the given information, it is stated that A1 serves the penalty. There is no mention of any specific foul or condition that would change this outcome. Therefore, the correct answer is that A1 serves the penalty.

Submit
64. When a penalty occurs and the ball is in the offended team’s defensive half of the field the ball is award at the center “x”.

Explanation

When a penalty occurs and the ball is in the offended team's defensive half of the field, the ball is awarded at the center "x". This means that if a penalty is committed by the defending team in their own half, the ball is placed at the center of the field for the attacking team to take the penalty kick. This ensures a fair and equal opportunity for the attacking team to score.

Submit
65. Which of the following will result in a player fouling out of the game?

Explanation

A player will foul out of the game if they accumulate five personal fouls, resulting in a total of 5 penalty minutes. This means that option B, "A1 accumulates five personal fouls for a total of 5 penalty minutes," is the correct answer.

Submit
66. Team A has possession when an inadvertent flag is thrown. When the officials realize the flag is inadvertent, the correct procedure is for:        

Explanation

The correct answer is "All of the above." When an inadvertent flag is thrown and the officials realize their mistake, the correct procedure is to blow the whistle immediately, unless Team A has an imminent scoring opportunity. In this case, the play will continue. The ball will be awarded to Team A, and play will restart from the spot where the ball was when the flag was thrown. Therefore, all of the options mentioned are correct.

Submit
67. When the ball crosses midfield, the first offensive 10-second count should be done by:       

Explanation

When the ball crosses midfield, the first offensive 10-second count should be done by the Lead official.

Submit
68. What is the correct signal for a “stalling warning”?

Explanation

The correct signal for a "stalling warning" is one arm raised straight in the air, with the other arm pointing to the endline parallel to the ground. This signal is commonly used in sports such as wrestling or martial arts to indicate that a player is being warned for stalling, or not actively engaging in the game. By raising one arm straight up and pointing the other arm towards the endline, the referee is signaling to the player that they need to increase their activity level to avoid penalties or disqualification.

Submit
69. During a face-off, the player's left foot and handle may not cross the centerline of the field.  The player's entire body must be to the left of the throat of his Crosse.  The Crosse may not touch the ball.  The player may lean over the centerline.

Explanation

During a face-off in lacrosse, there are certain rules that the player must follow. According to the given information, the player's left foot and handle should not cross the centerline of the field. Additionally, the player's entire body must be positioned to the left of the throat of his Crosse. The Crosse itself should not touch the ball during the face-off. However, the player is allowed to lean over the centerline. Based on these rules, the statement "During a face-off, the player's left foot and handle may not cross the centerline of the field. The player's entire body must be to the left of the throat of his Crosse. The Crosse may not touch the ball. The player may lean over the centerline." is true.

Submit
70.  During an equipment inspection on A1, officials find a crosse that measures 6 ¼ ” across the top of the head and that the pocket is too deep. What is the correct penalty?     

Explanation

The correct penalty is for A1 to serve 3 non-releasable minutes. This is because the equipment inspection found that the crosse measures 6 ¼ ” across the top of the head and that the pocket is too deep. These violations warrant a penalty of 3 non-releasable minutes according to the rules.

Submit
71. All crosses must have a guard stop.

Explanation

The statement "All crosses must have a guard stop" is not true. It implies that every cross, regardless of the context or situation, must have a guard stop, which is not accurate. While guard stops are often used at crossings for safety reasons, not all crosses require them. For example, in less busy areas or private properties, guard stops may not be necessary. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

Submit
72.  The goalie places his stick over a ball, which is on the ground outside of the crease.  No attack player may touch the goalie's stick.

Explanation

The statement is false because according to the rules of hockey, an attack player is allowed to touch the goalie's stick if it is outside of the crease. The goalie's stick is not considered off-limits to the opposing team as long as it is outside of the designated crease area.

Submit
73. Which of the following is sufficient for determining that a goal has been scored?

Explanation

The given options do not provide a sufficient condition for determining that a goal has been scored. The first option states that the ball comes to rest on the goal line, but this alone does not guarantee that the ball has crossed the goal line entirely. The second option mentions the ball hitting the goalpost and crossbar, but it does not specify if the ball has crossed the goal line. The third option talks about the ball breaking the plane formed by the rear edges of the goalposts, crossbar, and goal line, but it does not mention if the ball has crossed the goal line. Therefore, none of the given options are sufficient for determining that a goal has been scored.

Submit
74. A1 has 3 seconds remaining on a penalty just before a face-off. Team A does not bring a player up to fill the wing area for the face-off. Which of the following is true?       

Explanation

When a player's penalty ends, they are allowed to re-enter the field of play immediately. In this scenario, A1 has 3 seconds remaining on their penalty just before a face-off. Once those 3 seconds are up, A1's penalty will be over, and they can enter the field as soon as it ends. There is no requirement for possession to be called or for Team B to score a goal before A1 can enter the field.

Submit
75. During a loose ball, which of the following would not result in a play-on?       

Explanation

A slash by B1 would not result in a play-on because a slash is considered a violation of the rules and would typically result in a penalty or a turnover of possession.

Submit
76. A player who participates in the game without a stick would normally be called for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Explanation

A player who participates in the game without a stick would not normally be called for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Submit
77.  In a play-on situation, the referee should count to five. If neither team has gained possession by the time the referee has reached five, he should blow his whistle.

Explanation

In a play-on situation, the referee does not need to count to five. The play-on rule allows the referee to let play continue after a foul or infringement if the non-offending team has an advantage. The referee should only blow the whistle if the non-offending team does not gain possession or an advantage within a reasonable amount of time. Therefore, the statement that the referee should count to five and blow the whistle if neither team has gained possession is false.

Submit
78.    A1 drops the ball, and defenseman B1 gains possession near his crease. B1 carries the ball beyond the restraining line, then back into Team A’s attack area. What is the correct action?

Explanation

In lacrosse, when a defenseman gains possession of the ball in his defensive zone and carries it beyond the restraining line into the opposing team's attack area, it is considered a legal play. However, the 20-second timer count continues, meaning that the offensive team still has 20 seconds to take a shot on goal. This is because the defenseman did not clear the ball out of his defensive zone within the original 10-second count. Therefore, the correct action is that play continues, but the 20-second timer count continues as well.

Submit
79.  Which of the following is true regarding the face-off. 

Explanation

The correct answer is that the face-off official tells the players "Down" and then blows the whistle. This means that the players are instructed to get ready for the face-off by crouching down, and then the whistle is blown to start the play. This is a common procedure in many sports, where the official gives a signal to indicate that the players should prepare themselves before the game resumes.

Submit
80. In which of the following situations can the ball restart inside Team B’s attack area?      

Explanation

The ball can restart inside Team B's attack area after an end line out-of-bounds. This means that if the ball goes out of bounds on the end line, the opposing team will have the opportunity to restart the play from inside Team B's attack area. This can happen regardless of whether the out-of-bounds was caused by Team A or Team B.

Submit
81. A flag down at the end of a period denotes possession.

Explanation

In sports, a flag down at the end of a period is commonly used to indicate which team has possession of the ball or puck. This signal is often seen in games such as football or lacrosse, where officials use a flag to mark the spot where the possession changes. By placing the flag at the end of a period, it is clear that the team in possession at that moment will retain it when the next period begins. Therefore, the statement "A flag down at the end of a period denotes possession" is true.

Submit
82. Goalkeeper B1 and his crosse are in the crease area playing a loose ball when attackman A1 contacts B1’s crosse. The official calls for a “play on,” and as B1 tries to scoop the ball he knocks it into the goal. Play will be restarted:    

Explanation

In this situation, the goalkeeper B1 and his crosse are in the crease area playing a loose ball when attackman A1 contacts B1's crosse. The official calls for a "play on," indicating that the contact was legal and the play should continue. As B1 tries to scoop the ball, he accidentally knocks it into the goal. According to the rules, when the defensive team (Team B) unintentionally scores a goal, play is restarted with the offensive team (Team A) being awarded possession of the ball. The restart will occur twenty yards laterally from the goal, with Team A in possession.

Submit
83. The dimensions of the playing field are:

Explanation

The correct answer is 110 yards by 53 1/3 to 60 yards. This is because the question states that the dimensions of the playing field are between 100 to 110 yards by 53 1/3 to 60 yards. The only option that falls within this range is 110 yards by 53 1/3 to 60 yards.

Submit
84. Which of the following is not true regarding the attack/goal area?

Explanation

The attack/goal area has dimensions of 35 yards by 40 yards and the goal line should be 15 yards from the end line. However, the sides of the attack/goal area should not be marked with a dashed line.

Submit
85.  It is legal for players to throw their sticks at a loose ball.

Explanation

It is not legal for players to throw their sticks at a loose ball. This action is considered dangerous and can result in penalties or even ejections from the game. Players are expected to use their sticks to make controlled and legal contact with the ball during play. Throwing the stick can cause harm to other players and is therefore not allowed.

Submit
86. A1 is serving two 1-minute penalties for slashing. Team B scores a goal after A1 has served 30 seconds. Which of the following is true?     

Explanation

After serving 30 seconds of the first penalty, A1's penalties are both released. This is because in ice hockey, a player's penalty time is reduced by the amount of time their team is scored on during a power play. Since Team B scored a goal after A1 served 30 seconds, the penalty time is reduced to zero and both penalties are released.

Submit
87. A team may call a time-out when the ball is dead or when the team has possession of the ball anywhere on the field.

Explanation

A team may call a time-out when the ball is dead or when the team has possession of the ball anywhere on the field. This statement is false. In most sports, a team can only call a time-out when the ball is dead, meaning that play has stopped. They cannot call a time-out while they have possession of the ball and play is still ongoing.

Submit
88. B1 goalkeeper is clearing the ball outside of his crease. A1 runs through the crease in an attempt to catch the goalkeeper. What is the correct call?       

Explanation

If the B1 goalkeeper is clearing the ball outside of his crease and A1 runs through the crease in an attempt to catch the goalkeeper, the correct call is a flag down. A1 will serve 30 seconds in the penalty box, and Team B will be awarded a free clear. This means that A1 will be temporarily removed from the game, and Team B will have the opportunity to clear the ball without any defensive pressure.

Submit
89. During a clear, the Trail should stay:  

Explanation

During a clear, the Trail should stay with the ball. This means that the Trail official should position themselves in close proximity to the ball, ensuring they are able to closely observe and make accurate calls related to the play. Staying with the ball allows the Trail to effectively monitor the game and contribute to the overall officiating process.

Submit
90. B1 is playing A1. A1, running at full speed, cuts around A2, who had set up a screening position. B1, while playing A1, contacts A2 violently. What is the correct call?

Explanation

The correct call is both a. and b. are correct. This means that it is legal if B1 was concentrating on A1, but it is also unnecessary roughness against B1 if B1 deliberately ran into A2. This suggests that B1 can only avoid a penalty if they were focused on playing A1 and did not intentionally make violent contact with A2.

Submit
91.  A1 makes a shot while diving, and the ball enters the goal. In which case is the goal allowed:      

Explanation

If A1's body passes through the airspace of the crease without touching anything and then lands outside of the crease, the goal is allowed. This means that as long as A1 does not touch the crease with their body before or after the ball enters the goal, the goal will be counted.

Submit
92.  Penalties should be reported to the table area by the:     

Explanation

Penalties should be reported to the table area by the trail official.

Submit
93. A1 received a non-releasable unsportsmanlike conduct foul in the first quarter. In the third quarter, he maligns the official and receives a second non-releasable unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. The result will be:

Explanation

If a player receives a second non-releasable unsportsmanlike conduct penalty after already receiving one earlier in the game, they will be expelled from the game. Additionally, the in-home player will serve a 3-minute non-releasable expulsion penalty. This means that A1 will no longer be able to participate in the game, and the in-home player will serve a 3-minute penalty without the possibility of being released from it early.

Submit
94.  Fouls should be reported as follows:      

Explanation

The correct answer is "Color, number, foul, penalty time." This sequence is the most logical and clear way to report fouls. By starting with the color of the player committing the foul, followed by their number, the specific foul, and finally the penalty time, it provides a clear and organized report of the incident. The other options either have a different order or include unnecessary elements such as "personal or technical" that are not mentioned in the question.

Submit
95. When team A has possession during a live ball, they can call timeout:     

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
96. In a slow whistle situation, the official shall withhold his whistle until the other team controls the ball.

Explanation

In a slow whistle situation, the official does not withhold his whistle until the other team controls the ball. This statement is false because in a slow whistle situation, the official actually blows the whistle immediately when a foul or violation occurs, but delays making a decision until the play is completed. The purpose of this is to allow the team that committed the foul or violation to potentially benefit from their actions, rather than immediately penalizing them.

Submit
97. During play, B1 slashes A1, flag down. A1 throws the ball out of bounds and the whistle blows to stop play. During the dead ball, A1 and then A2 commit conduct fouls. The correct enforcement is:    

Explanation

During the dead ball, A1 and A2 commit conduct fouls. According to the correct enforcement, B1 serves 1 minute (with the first 30 seconds non-releasable), A1 serves no time, A2 serves 30 seconds non-releasable, and Team B is awarded possession. This means that B1 will serve a penalty for 1 minute, with the first 30 seconds being non-releasable, meaning they cannot return to the game even if the opposing team scores. A1 does not serve any time for their conduct foul, while A2 serves 30 seconds non-releasable. As a result of the fouls and penalties, Team B is awarded possession.

Submit
98. A team may call a time-out when the ball is dead or when the team has possession of the ball anywhere on the field.

Explanation

A team is allowed to call a time-out when the ball is dead or when they have possession of the ball anywhere on the field. This means that they can pause the game and strategize during these moments.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Mar 05, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Brberiau
Cancel
  • All
    All (98)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
 If there is lightning or thunder with a “flash to bang” of...
Penalty flags should be thrown:    
 Players must wear a mouthpiece.
The home team shall provide ball retrievers or an adequate supply of...
A player with possession is declared out of bounds if one foot touches...
It is illegal to body check an opponent while he is lying on the...
 When the official cannot determine which team should be awarded...
 In sudden-victory overtime, the teams shall play four-minute...
Which of the following would result in a penalty for a cross-check?
When the defense gains possession, the 4-second count (if any) and...
The goal crease is 9 ft in radius.
A team may have a maximum of 5 players using long crosses in the game...
The game is played in four 12-minute periods.
While inspecting a player's Crosse, the official finds that the stick...
The coach requests a stick check on Al after Al scores a goal. ...
The penalty for tripping is normally a one-minute personal foul.
What is the correct signal for a “nonreleasable” penalty?
What is the correct signal for a “loose ball”?
 In which of the following situations is regular substitution not...
Goals must be 7 feet high.
 The 51.    The player is permitted to bend...
On a face-off the wing area players are released on the whistle.
 During a special substitution, the player entering the game must...
What is the correct signal for “withholding the ball from play”?
Team A has possession in its offensive end and the 10-second count is...
An example of an illegal body check is:    
Balls of white, yellow and orange rubber are legal.
 The head of the Crosse at its widest point shall be at least 6...
Team A is leading in the last two minutes, but has a player in the...
Defenseman B2 has the ball checked out of his stick in the defensive...
A player who accumulates 4 personal fouls is disqualified from the...
Which of the following is an illegal stick length (goalie’s crosse...
Team A wins the coin toss. What is the correct procedure?
 Team B is clearing and the 20-second count is on. Which of the...
When a goal is scored, the goal signal normally should be given...
 In a settled situation, the lead official should normally be...
During the last two minutes of play, regardless of the score of the...
An offensive player, Al, outside the attack goal area, passes the ball...
It is a technical foul to step on the Crosse of an opponent.
  ...
The official, and only the official, has the responsibility of...
A1 has possession of the ball and is being guarded by B1, and A2 sets...
Team B commits a loose-ball technical foul, and there is a play-on....
During a clear, the Lead should...
 The center of the field should be marked with a circle.
Arm pads are required equipment for the goalies.
 The ball is loose in front of the crease, and as goalkeeper B1...
The break between the 1st and 2nd periods is 3 minutes.
 B leaps into the air while driving to the goal.  While he...
The goalie in the crease is the only player who may touch the ball...
Team A has possession and it is discovered that B1 is not wearing...
Which of the following is a violation of the rules for special...
Which of the following is a slash?  
For a face-off, the wing official should:   
 If the goalkeeper is penalized, the official will allow for a...
  A1 scores the winning goal in sudden victory overtime. Team...
What is the correct signal for a “conduct foul” ?
Goalkeeper B1 attempts to clamp the ball and breaks his stick. A1 is...
A1 is serving a penalty. A2 throws a pass to A3, and the ball is in...
 A1, with possession of the ball, has both hands on his crosse....
With A1 is in possession of the ball, defenseman B1 initiates violent...
B1 goalkeeper makes a save. A1 covers him while he is in his crease....
 Goalkeeper A1 is flagged for a penalty. ...
When a penalty occurs and the ball is in the offended team’s...
Which of the following will result in a player fouling out of the...
Team A has possession when an inadvertent flag is thrown. When the...
When the ball crosses midfield, the first offensive 10-second count...
What is the correct signal for a “stalling warning”?
During a face-off, the player's left foot and handle may not cross the...
 During an equipment inspection on A1, officials find a crosse...
All crosses must have a guard stop.
 The goalie places his stick over a ball, which is on the ground...
Which of the following is sufficient for determining that a goal has...
A1 has 3 seconds remaining on a penalty just before a face-off. Team A...
During a loose ball, which of the following would not result in a...
A player who participates in the game without a stick would normally...
 In a play-on situation, the referee should count to five. If...
   A1 drops the ball, and defenseman B1 gains possession...
 Which of the following is true regarding the face-off. 
In which of the following situations can the ball restart inside Team...
A flag down at the end of a period denotes possession.
Goalkeeper B1 and his crosse are in the crease area playing a loose...
The dimensions of the playing field are:
Which of the following is not true regarding the attack/goal area?
 It is legal for players to throw their sticks at a loose ball.
A1 is serving two 1-minute penalties for slashing. Team B scores a...
A team may call a time-out when the ball is dead or when the team has...
B1 goalkeeper is clearing the ball outside of his crease. A1 runs...
During a clear, the Trail should stay:  
B1 is playing A1. A1, running at full speed, cuts around A2, who had...
 A1 makes a shot while diving, and the ball enters the goal. In...
 Penalties should be reported to the table area by...
A1 received a non-releasable unsportsmanlike conduct foul in the first...
 Fouls should be reported as...
When team A has possession during a live ball, they can call...
In a slow whistle situation, the official shall withhold his whistle...
During play, B1 slashes A1, flag down. A1 throws the ball out of...
A team may call a time-out when the ball is dead or when the team has...
Alert!

Advertisement