Stump The Ump Quiz 4

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Tlctimfl
T
Tlctimfl
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 6 | Total Attempts: 2,981
| Attempts: 985 | Questions: 5
Please wait...
Question 1 / 5
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. With R1 on second base with one out, B3, a right handed batter, receives ball 4.  As B3 runs toward first base, F2 fumbles the ball in front of home plate and under B3's feet.  The ball apparently unintentionally tangles-up in B3's feet as she is running toward 1st base.  R1 steals 3rd base and in the umpires opinion F2 may have been able to otherwise recover the fumbled ball and thrown out B3 at third base. 

Explanation

Rule Book 8.8.7.a The Runner is not out when touched while off a base with a ball not securely held by a fielder.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
NFHS Quizzes & Trivia

Stump the Ump!
Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). The West Florida Fast Pitch Softball Umpires Association, LLC. Contracts with schools... see morein Manatee & Sarasota Counties.

Please Enter your First and Last Name to begin. see less

2. With bases loaded and no outs,  F5 and F6 are playing inside the baseline for a possible play at home.  B4 hits a line drive in the hole passed both F5 and F6 but the ball hits the foot of R2 while running to 3rd.

Explanation

Casebook Page 62
8.6.12 SITUATION: With R1 on second, B2 hits between F5 and F6, both of whom are playing close for a possible bunt. The ball touches R1 and deflects to foul ground. F6 was in such a position that there was no chance to play the ball.
RULING: If R1 accidentally touched the ball, it is ignored because the batted ball passed a fielder and no other fielder had an opportunity to make an out.

Submit
3. B2 has a 3-2 count with R1 attempting to steal 2nd. Ball 4 goes off the shin guard of F2 and into the dugout.

Explanation

Rules Book Page 62 8.4.3c
c. (F.P.) a wild pitch or passed ball lodges in or goes under, over or through the backstop.
PENALTY: (Art. 3c) The ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base only. The batter is awarded first base only on the fourth ball.
My note: Awarded bases are from the time of the pitch. So it does not matter that R1 was stealing 2nd.

Submit
4. R1 is at third base. S1 bats for B2 without reporting to the umpire and gets a hit driving in R1. Before the next pitch, the defensive coach brings this to the attention of the plate umpire.

Explanation

Casebook Page 30 3.6.7 Situaton A
The first time an unreported substitute is detected in the game, the offending team is issued a "team warning," and all action on the play stands. The unreported substitute is now officially in the game. (2-57-2)

Submit
5. With bases loaded and 2 outs (R1 on 3rd base, R2 on 2nd base, R3 on 1st base), B6 hits a home run over the fence.  In her excitement, R2 misses 3rd base.  With a proper appeal R2 is out, how many runs score?

Explanation

CASE BOOK 9.1.1.Situaton L PROPER APPEAL RESULTS IN A 3RD OUT FORCE PLAY. NO RUNS SCORE.
Rule Book 8.6.7 The runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases in regular or reverse order and the ball is returned to the infield and properly appealed. If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, this is a force out.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 19, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 19, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 26, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Tlctimfl
Cancel
  • All
    All (5)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
With R1 on second base with one out, B3, a right handed...
With bases loaded and no outs,  F5 and F6 are playing inside...
B2 has a 3-2 count with R1 attempting to steal 2nd. Ball 4 goes off...
R1 is at third base. S1 bats for B2 without reporting to the ...
With bases loaded and 2 outs (R1 on 3rd base, R2 on 2nd base, R3...
Alert!

Advertisement