Stump The Ump Quiz 2

5 Questions | Total Attempts: 562

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Stump The Ump Quiz 2

Stump the Ump! Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). Some may be Florida Specific. The West Florida Fast Pitch Softball Umpires Association, of which I'm a member, contracts with schools in Manatee & Sarasota Counties. Please Enter your First and Last Name to begin.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    With bases loaded and 1 out, B5 has a 3 ball 2 strike count.  On the next pitch, a 3rd strike is called and the ball gets by F2.  The batter takes off for 1st base. All runners are attempting to advance.  F2 retrieves the ball throwing the ball to F1 who steps on home before R1 arrives.  F1 then throws the ball to F5 who steps on 3rd before before R2 arrives.  F5 rolls the ball to the pitchers circle and the defense leaves the field.  Thinking there are not 3 outs, the 3rd base coach has all his runners including the batter touch all bases including home.
    • A. 

      There is 1 out with 4 runs scoring.

    • B. 

      There are 2 outs with 3 runs scoring.

    • C. 

      There are 2 outs and score only the runner from 3rd since all the rest of the runners crossed the plate after the defense left the field.

    • D. 

      There are 3 outs with no runs scoring because of the force at home and 3rd.

  • 2. 
    In the bottom of the first inning, Smith is the pitcher and Jones is the catcher.  Jones gets a base hit and the coach enters White (#5) as the courtesy runner.  In the top of the 4th inning, the coach moves Smith to catcher and Jones to pitcher. In the bottom of the inning, Jones gets another base hit.  And once again, the coach uses White (#5) as the courtesy runner for Jones.
    • A. 

      Illegal. Since Jones is now the pitcher, White (#5) cannot courtesy run for her

    • B. 

      Illegal. White (#5) can only be used once as a courtesy runner.

    • C. 

      Illegal. A courtesy runner can only be used for the catcher.

    • D. 

      Legal. Continue play

  • 3. 
    R1 attempts to steal second.  F2, upon receiving the pitch, throws a pop-up to F6.  F5 yells, "Get Back, Get Back!"  R1 thinks B2 has hit a pop-up and starts back to first where she is tagged out.
    • A. 

      This is a "Delayed Dead Ball" and verbal obstruction. At the conclusion of the play, R1 should be awarded 2nd.

    • B. 

      This is a "Delayed Dead Ball" and verbal interference. At the conclusion of the play, R1 should be awarded 2nd.

    • C. 

      Since R1 did not continue to 2nd base, she should be awarded 1st base.

    • D. 

      R1 is out.

    • E. 

      This is an immediate dead ball and R1 should be awarded 2nd. The defense should receive a team warning.

  • 4. 
    With R1 on 3rd and R2 on 2nd base, F2 attempts a pickoff of R1 with a quick throw behind B3 who is legally occupying the right handed batter's box and and in the umpire's judgement, did nothing intentional to prevent the throw.  The thrown ball from F2 glances off B3's helmet and flies up over the dugout into dead ball territory.
    • A. 

      Neither baserunner is awarded bases because B3 caused the ball to go into dead ball territory.

    • B. 

      B3 is out for not moving out of the way and the runners stay where they were at the time of the pitch.

    • C. 

      Since B3 did not make an attempt to get out of the way, R1 (the runner closest to home) is out and R2 remains at 2nd.

    • D. 

      R1 and R2 are both awarded home.

    • E. 

      R1 is awarded home and R2 is awarded 3rd.

  • 5. 
    With no outs, R1 is on 3rd, R2 on 1st and a 1-1 count on B3:F1 is in the circle behind the pitcher's rubber when she takes a signal from F2.  F1 then steps on the pitcher's plate immediatley bringing her hands together.F1 pauses to simulate taking a signal from F2.Then F1 delivers the pitch. B3 swings and misses.
    • A. 

      Illegal pitch. Ball on B3. R2 is awarded 2nd. R1 is awarded home.

    • B. 

      Illegal pitch. Ball on B3. R2 is awarded 2nd. R1 stays at 3rd since she was not forced by the award of R2.

    • C. 

      Illegal pitch. Count remains 1-1 on B3. R2 is awarded 2nd. R1 is awarded home.

    • D. 

      Since B3 swung at an illegal pitch, the illegal pitch is negated. The count is now 1 ball and 2 strikes.

    • E. 

      Nothing was wrong with the pitch.. Count on B3 is 1 ball 2 strikes.