Stump The Ump Quiz 1

5 Questions | Attempts: 440

Stump The Ump Quiz 1 - Quiz

Stump the Ump! Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). Some may be Florida Specific. The West Florida Fast Pitch Softball Umpires Association, LLC. Contracts with schools in Manatee & Sarasota Counties. Please Enter your First and Last�Name to begin.

Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    B1 enters the box with a wooden bat.  She drives the first pitch over the center field fence.  The defensive coach complains that the bat is illegal.  During your inspection of the bat, you notice it is all wood and does not have either the ASA 2000 or 2004 decal.
    • A. 

      The run does not score and eject B1.

    • B. 

      Everything is ok. The homerun counts.

    • C. 

      Eject both B1 and the head coach for allowing her to use an illegal bat. The run does not count

    • D. 

      The run counts but the batter is ejected for using an illegal bat.

  • 2. 
    With R1 on 1st, B2 hits a fair ground ball to F3.  With the ball in her posession, F3 moves toward B2 attempting to tag her out.  B2 notices R1 is only half way to 2nd base.  B2 stops then moves backward toward home plate to give R1 more time to reach the base.
    • A. 

      B2 may move as far back toward home with liability of being put out. R1 continues at her own risk.

    • B. 

      B2 is out for moving backward toward home. R1 continues at her own risk.

    • C. 

      B2 is out as soon as she moves backward toward home and R1 must return to 1st base.

    • D. 

      Since you determined that B2 was backing up to avoid a double play, both R1 and B2 are out.

  • 3. 
    On a windy day, B1 hits a high fly ball down the line to right field.  F9, with both feet clearly in fair territory, reaches across the foul line.  While the ball is still in the air totally over foul ground the ball deflects off F9's glove to the ground in fair territory.
    • A. 

      Foul Ball since the ball was over foul ground when touched.

    • B. 

      Fair Ball since both feet were clearly in fair territory when she touched the ball.

  • 4. 
    With B2 taking a pitch and R1 attempting to steal 2nd, the plate umpire bumps the catcher in her attempt to throw out R1 at 2nd.  The throw is late and R1 reaches 2nd safely.
    • A. 

      This is a delayed dead ball. Since R1 reached 2nd safely, she is permitted to stay on 2nd.

    • B. 

      Because there was umpire interference, this play would result in an immediate dead ball. R1 must return to 1st in any case.

    • C. 

      R1 must return to 1st.

    • D. 

      There is no such thing as umpire interference. Therefore R1 stays at 2nd.

  • 5. 
    The home team DP is in the 4th spot in the lineup.  The Flex is in the 10th position on the lineup card.  The Flex has been playing defense at short stop for 3 innings while the DP has been sitting the bench in the top half of each inning.  In the 4th inning with the Flex at short stop, the DP comes in to play 2nd base.
    • A. 

      Legal since the FLEX and DP can both play defense at the same time.

    • B. 

      Not legal. The Flex would have to come out of the game so the DP could come in.

    • C. 

      Not legal since this would force the DP to bat for the 2nd baseman.

Related Topics

Back to Top Back to top

Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.