Stump The Ump Quiz 6

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Tlctimfl
T
Tlctimfl
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 6 | Total Attempts: 2,981
| Attempts: 251 | Questions: 5
Please wait...
Question 1 / 5
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. With R1 at 1st, while beginning her pitch to B2, F1 loses control of the ball in her backswing.  The ball hits her hip and rolls toward the 1st base dugout but comes to a stop and does not cross the foul line. F1 retrieves the ball and attempts to make a play on R1 who is safe at 2nd on the play.

Explanation

Rule 6.2.6 When the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the backswing or forward motion, it is a pitch. EFFECT: A ball is awarded to the batter, and the ball remains in play and runners may advance with liability to be put out. A defensive player may immediately retrieve the ball as long as the batter has no opportunity to contact the pitch.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
NFHS Quizzes & Trivia

Stump the Ump!
Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). The West Florida Fast Pitch Softball Umpires Association, LLC. Contracts with schools... see morein Manatee & Sarasota Counties (Florida).

Please Enter your First and Last Name to begin. see less

2. After the pregame conference ends, Team A's coach decides not to start F1 and reports a substitution to the plate umpire

Explanation

Casebook 3.3.2 SITUATION D Ruling: Lineups become official after they have been exchanged, verified and then accepted by the plate umpire during the pregame conference. F1 may re-enter the game at any position.

Submit
3. While taking her warm-up pitches prior to the start of the fourth inning, F1 develops a blister on the tip of her index finger and is replaced as pitcher. S1 takes seven warmup pitches.

Explanation

Casebook 6.2.5 SITUATION B: F1 could re-enter as pitcher.
Rule 6.2.5 Note 2: Umpire is authorized to allow more pitches when weather is inclement or if pitcher was removed due to an injury.

Submit
4. With 1 out, R3 is on 2nd and R2 on 3rd, the pitch gets by F2 and rolls to the backstop. B4 steps back completely out of the batters box and waves runner home. In the process, F2 tosses the ball toward F1 who is covering home. The ball hits the batter in the back and falls to the ground. B2 then crosses the plate safely.

Explanation

Rule 8.2.6 states that the batter is out if she intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box. Rule 8.2.7 says the batter-runner is out when she interferes with a play at home plate in an attempt to prevent an obvious out at home plate. Since her action was not intentional and she was vacating homeplate to get out of the way of the play, therefore not attempting to prevent the out, the ball would remain alive and R2 would be safe.

Submit
5. With bases loaded, B4 hits a line drive up the middle. The ball ricochets off the pitcher and hits R2 who is off the base. The ball, which never hits the ground, is then caught by the shortstop.

Explanation

Rule 2.9.5e A catch shall not be credited if: The ball strikes anything or anyone other than a defensive player while it is in flight. In this case the ball is ruled a ground ball.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Mar 11, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Tlctimfl
Cancel
  • All
    All (5)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
With R1 at 1st, while beginning her pitch to B2, F1 loses control...
After the pregame conference ends, Team A's coach decides not to start...
While taking her warm-up pitches prior to the start of the fourth...
With 1 out, R3 is on 2nd and R2 on 3rd, the pitch gets by F2 and rolls...
With bases loaded, B4 hits a line drive up the middle. The ball...
Alert!

Advertisement