National Federation High School Basketball Exam

Reviewed by Danielle Shafer
Danielle Shafer, Basketball Coach |
Review Board Member
Danielle Shafer holds a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham and a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012.
, Basketball Coach
By Jdmump12
J
Jdmump12
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 7,707
| Attempts: 7,707 | Questions: 92
Please wait...
Question 1 / 92
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. AN OFFICIAL CALLS A FOUL AGAINST TEAM B AND OBSERVES 0:07 ON THE GAME CLOCK WHEN HE BLOWS THE WHISTLE. AFTER REPORTING THE FOUL TO THE SCORER’S BENCH, THE OFFICIAL NOTICES THE CLOCK SHOWS 0:03. THE OFFICIAL SHALL HAVE 0:07 PLACED BACK ON THE CLOCK BEFORE RESUMING PLAY.

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that according to the rules, when an official calls a foul and observes a certain time on the game clock, that time should be maintained and put back on the clock after reporting the foul. In this case, the official noticed that the clock showed a different time after reporting the foul, so the correct action is to have the original time (0:07) placed back on the clock before resuming play. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
National Federation High School Basketball Exam - Quiz

The "National Federation High School Basketball Exam Quiz" is a valuable resource for individuals involved in high school basketball, including referees, coaches, and enthusiasts. This quiz provides a... see morecomprehensive test of your knowledge and understanding of the rules, regulations, and nuances of high school basketball. It covers a wide range of topics, from game mechanics and player positions to rule interpretations and officiating techniques. Whether you're a seasoned official looking to stay sharp or a coach seeking a deeper understanding of the game, this quiz offers an engaging way to enhance your expertise and test your proficiency in high school basketball rules and scenarios. see less

2. If jumpers A1 and B1 simultaneously commit jump-ball violations, the toss shall be repeated.

Explanation

If both jumpers A1 and B1 commit jump-ball violations at the same time, it means that both players have violated the rules for the jump-ball. In this case, the toss, which determines which team gets possession of the ball, will be repeated. This ensures fairness and gives both teams an equal chance to gain possession of the ball.

Submit
3. An airborne shooter is considered to be in the act of shooting.

Explanation

An airborne shooter is considered to be in the act of shooting because they are in the air and actively shooting. This implies that the shooter is in the process of firing their weapon while airborne.

Submit
4. An unsporting foul consists of unfair, unethical or dishonorable conduct.

Explanation

An unsporting foul refers to a foul in sports that involves unfair, unethical, or dishonorable behavior. This behavior goes against the principles of fair play and sportsmanship. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
5. The torso of the team jersey shall be the same single solid color for all team members.

Explanation

The statement suggests that the torso of the team jersey should have a consistent color for all team members. This ensures uniformity and helps in identifying team members easily. Having a single solid color for the torso also promotes a sense of unity and teamwork among the team members. It eliminates any confusion or distraction caused by different colors and allows the focus to be on the game or activity at hand.

Submit
6. During a charged time-out, the head coach and assistant coaches may rise and confer with team personnel within the confines of the bench area.

Explanation

During a charged time-out, the head coach and assistant coaches are allowed to stand up and discuss strategies or communicate with team members within the designated bench area. This allows the coaching staff to provide guidance and instructions to the players during the break in play.

Submit
7. It is a violation if A1 dives for a loose ball and gains control on the floor.

Explanation

The statement says that it is a violation if A1 dives for a loose ball and gains control on the floor. However, this statement is incorrect. Diving for a loose ball and gaining control on the floor is not considered a violation in basketball. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

Submit
8. The head coach may use electronic voice communication equipment to communicate with players.

Explanation

The statement is false because in most sports, the head coach is not allowed to use electronic voice communication equipment to communicate with players during the game. This is to ensure fair play and prevent any unfair advantage that could be gained by the coach. Communication between the coach and players is typically limited to timeouts, halftime, or designated breaks in the game.

Submit
9. An official may immediately suspend play when necessary to protect an injured player.

Explanation

An official may immediately suspend play when necessary to protect an injured player. This is because the safety and well-being of the players is a top priority in any sport. If a player is injured and in need of medical attention or if there is a risk of further injury, the official has the authority to suspend play to ensure the player's safety. This allows the injured player to receive the necessary medical treatment and prevents any potential aggravation of the injury.

Submit
10. B5 IS MAKING A THROW-IN FROM OUT OF BOUNDS UNDER HER OFFENSIVE BASKET. A4 HAS HER BACK TURNED TO B5 SO B5 DEFLECTS THE BALL OFF A4’S BACK AND LEGALLY POSITIONS HERSELF IN BOUNDS PRIOR TO SECURING THE BALL. SHE THEN SHOOTS AND MAKES A BASKET. LEGAL AND PLAY CONTINUES.

Explanation

The explanation for the correct answer is that the action described in the scenario is legal. B5, who is making the throw-in, deflects the ball off A4's back, which is allowed. B5 then positions herself in bounds before securing the ball, which is also within the rules. Finally, B5 shoots and makes a basket, indicating that the play continues.

Submit
11. The thrower-in is not permitted to touch the ball in the court before it touches another player.

Explanation

The statement is true because according to the rules of the game, when a player is throwing the ball in from out of bounds, they are not allowed to touch the ball in the court before it has been touched by another player. This rule is in place to ensure fair play and prevent any advantage or disadvantage for either team.

Submit
12. If a thrower-in does not have a minimum of 3 feet of unobstructed space, the administering official shall impose an imaginary restraining line.

Explanation

If a thrower-in does not have a minimum of 3 feet of unobstructed space, the administering official shall impose an imaginary restraining line. This means that if the thrower-in is not able to take a throw-in without any obstruction within a distance of 3 feet, the official will establish an imaginary line to mark the area where the throw-in must be taken from. This ensures that the throw-in is taken from a fair and consistent position, even if there are obstacles present.

Submit
13. When the throw-in team violates the provisions of the throw-in, the opponents are awarded the ball for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

Explanation

When the throw-in team violates the provisions of the throw-in, such as stepping on or over the boundary line, the opponents are awarded the ball for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot. This is a correct statement because, according to the rules of the game, if the throw-in team commits a violation, the opposing team gains possession of the ball for a throw-in from the same spot where the violation occurred.

Submit
14. The torso of the team jersey is an area from the base of the neck to the bottom of the jersey and from side insert to side insert.

Explanation

The given statement is true. The torso of the team jersey refers to the area of the jersey that covers the upper body, starting from the base of the neck and extending to the bottom of the jersey. It also includes the area from side insert to side insert, which means it covers the width of the jersey from one side seam to the other. Therefore, the statement is correct.

Submit
15. The three-point line is a semi-circle measured 19 feet 9 inches from a point directly below the center of the basket to the outside edge of the line.

Explanation

The statement is true. The three-point line in basketball is a semi-circle that is measured 19 feet 9 inches from a point directly below the center of the basket to the outside edge of the line. This line is used to determine whether a shot is worth 2 or 3 points.

Submit
16. The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is legally touched by, another player inbounds.

Explanation

The statement is true. In a throw-in, the ball is considered in play once it is touched by another player who is inbounds. This means that if the ball is thrown in and a player from either team touches it before it goes out of bounds again, the throw-in is complete and the game continues.

Submit
17. A held ball occurs when an opponent places his or her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

Explanation

The statement is true. A held ball happens when an opponent uses their hand(s) to hold the ball and stops an airborne player from throwing or releasing it during a try. This action is considered a violation in basketball as it prevents fair play and disrupts the flow of the game.

Submit
18. A4 DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL AND SECURES POSSESSION WHILE LYING ON THE FLOOR. A4 THEN STANDS UP AND THEN PASSES THE BALL TO TEAMMATE A2. LEGAL?

Explanation

The action described is not legal. According to the rules of basketball, once a player gains possession of the ball while on the floor, they must either pass, shoot, or call a timeout. Standing up and then passing the ball is a violation of this rule. Therefore, the correct answer is false.

Submit
19. No teammate of the free thrower may occupy the first marked lane spaces that are above and adjacent to the neutral-zone markings.

Explanation

Teammates of the free thrower are not allowed to be in the first marked lane spaces that are above and adjacent to the neutral-zone markings. This means that they cannot position themselves in those specific areas during a free throw. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
20. All common fouls in the last two minutes of the game are automatically intentional.

Explanation

This statement is false. Common fouls in the last two minutes of the game are not automatically intentional. Common fouls can be unintentional and occur due to a player's negligence, recklessness, or lack of skill. Intentional fouls, on the other hand, are deliberate actions by a player to gain an advantage or stop the clock.

Submit
21. If A1 grasps the ring to prevent injury, the grasping is ignored, and no technical foul is charged.

Explanation

According to the NBA Official Rulebook, grasping the ring is considered a violation of the rules. However, if a player grasps the ring to prevent injury, the grasping is ignored, and no technical foul is charged.

Submit
22. The head coach is permitted to rise off the bench at any time to signal players to request a time-out.

Explanation

The statement is true because the head coach is allowed to stand up from the bench during a game to signal the players to request a time-out. This is a common practice in sports, where the coach uses physical gestures or calls out to the players to communicate instructions or strategies. Standing up from the bench gives the coach better visibility and enables them to convey their message more effectively.

Submit
23. The coach or captain shall designate which player(s) shall attempt the free throws for a technical foul.

Explanation

The statement is true because according to the rules, it is the responsibility of the coach or captain to designate which player or players will attempt the free throws for a technical foul. This ensures that there is a clear decision-making process and avoids any confusion or disputes on the court.

Submit
24. It is permissible to have the school logo or mascot on the face of the backboard.

Explanation

The statement is false because it is not permissible to have the school logo or mascot on the face of the backboard. The backboard should be free from any distractions or additional markings that may interfere with the players' focus or visibility during the game.

Submit
25. THE SIGNAL OF SPREADING THE ARMS SHALL BE USED WHEN NEEDED TO COMMUNICATE THAT A DEFENSIVE PLAYER IS NOT IN A CLOSELY-GUARDED POSITION RELATIVE TO THE PLAYER IN POSSESSION OF THE BALL.

Explanation

The statement is true because the signal of spreading the arms is used to communicate that a defensive player is not in a closely-guarded position relative to the player in possession of the ball. This signal is commonly used in basketball to indicate that the defender is not within arm's length of the offensive player, which affects the rules and restrictions on the defender's movements and actions.

Submit
26. Correctable errors include failure to award a merited free throw.

Explanation

Correctable errors in basketball refer to mistakes made by the officials that can be fixed or corrected. One example of a correctable error is the failure to award a merited free throw. This means that if a player is fouled and should have been given a free throw, but the officials miss it, they have the ability to correct their mistake and award the free throw to the player. This ensures fairness and accuracy in the game.

Submit
27. A headband is defined as any item that goes around the entire head.

Explanation

A headband does NOT cover the entire circumference of the head, it typically just covers the hair line. Indicating this statement is false.

Submit
28. The visiting team has its choice of baskets for pre-game practice and for the first half of play.

Explanation

According to the NBA Official Rulebook, the visiting team has the choice of baskets for the first half. The basket selected by the visiting team when it first enters the court shall be its basket for the first half. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
29. When worn, a team's headbands and wristbands must all be the same color.

Explanation

The statement is true because when a team wears headbands and wristbands, they must all be the same color. This rule ensures uniformity and helps to easily identify the team members. If each player were allowed to wear different colored headbands and wristbands, it could create confusion and make it difficult to distinguish between teammates and opponents. Therefore, to maintain consistency and clarity, it is necessary for the team's headbands and wristbands to be the same color.

Submit
30. Headbands and wristbands must be the same dominant color of the team jersey, white, black or beige.

Explanation

The statement is true because it states that headbands and wristbands must be the same dominant color as the team jersey, which can be white, black, or beige. This means that players are required to wear headbands and wristbands that match the color of their team jersey, ensuring a uniform and cohesive look for the team.

Submit
31. HEADBANDS MUST BE WHITE, BLACK, BEIGE, OR THE COLOR OF THE TORSO OF THE UNIFORM JERSEY AND MUST BE THE SAME FOR ALL TEAMMATES WHO WEAR ONE.

Explanation

The given statement is true. According to the statement, headbands must be white, black, beige, or the color of the torso of the uniform jersey. Additionally, all teammates who wear headbands must have the same color.

Submit
32. A technical foul can be assessed to a head coach for using profane language in the team huddle during a time-out.

Explanation

A technical foul can be assessed to a head coach for using profane language in the team huddle during a time-out. This is because coaches are expected to maintain professionalism and set a good example for their players. Using profane language goes against the code of conduct and can be considered disrespectful and unsportsmanlike behavior. Therefore, the correct answer is true.

Submit
33. An intentional foul should be called when illegal contact occurs away from the ball specifically designed to stop the clock.

Explanation

An intentional foul should be called when there is illegal contact away from the ball that is deliberately done to stop the clock. This means that a player intentionally commits a foul in order to stop the game clock and gain an advantage. This can be done by grabbing, holding, or pushing an opponent who is not in possession of the ball. The intentional foul is called to penalize the player for their deliberate action and to discourage such behavior in the game.

Submit
34. It is basket interference if a pulled-down, movable basket ring contacts the ball before it returns to its original position.

Explanation

If a pulled-down, movable basket ring contacts the ball before it returns to its original position, it is considered basket interference. This means that if the ring is still in motion and makes contact with the ball, it is interfering with the shot and the basket should not count.

Submit
35. The throw-in ends when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

Explanation

The statement is true. A throw-in is awarded when the ball goes out of bounds over the touchline. The throw-in ends when the team taking the throw commits a throw-in violation, such as lifting a foot off the ground or not taking the throw from the correct position. Once a violation occurs, the opposing team is awarded a throw-in instead. Therefore, the throw-in ends when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

Submit
36. A turnover is an accidental loss of player control.

Explanation

False. A turnover in basketball refers to the loss of possession of the ball to the opposing team. It can result from various actions such as a bad pass, traveling violation, double dribble, stepping out of bounds, or other rule infractions. While turnovers can occur accidentally, they are not limited to accidental situations; intentional actions or mistakes can also lead to turnovers.

Submit
37. A1's free throw ends when A2 commits a lane violation.

Explanation

If A2 commits a lane violation during A1's free throw, it means that A2 has entered the restricted area before the ball has hit the rim. This violation results in the end of A1's free throw attempt, regardless of whether the shot was successful or not. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
38. No violation occurs when, during a throw-in by A1 following a goal, A1 goes out of bounds to receive a pass and attempt the throw-in.

Explanation

According to the rules of basketball, there is no violation when a player goes out of bounds to receive a pass during a throw-in following a goal. This is because during a throw-in, players are allowed to move freely on the court, including going out of bounds, as long as they establish both feet back inbounds before making the throw-in. Therefore, it is not considered a violation in this scenario.

Submit
39. A restraining line may be used as a boundary line when space is limited, and may extend the entire length or width of the court.

Explanation

A restraining line can be used as a boundary line when there is limited space in a court. It can extend either the entire length or width of the court. This means that a restraining line can be used to define the boundaries of the court in situations where there is not enough space for traditional boundary lines.

Submit
40.  It is a technical foul if a player places a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage.

Explanation

Placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage is considered a technical foul. This rule is in place to ensure fair play and prevent players from using the backboard to gain an unfair advantage, such as altering the trajectory of a shot or interfering with the ball. By penalizing this action, the game remains fair and allows for equal opportunities for all players.

Submit
41. AFTER TEAM B HAS USED SEVEN SECONDS IN THE BACKCOURT TRYING TO ADVANCE THE BALL, B2 REQUESTS AND IS GRANTED A TIME-OUT. FOLLOWING THE TIME-OUT, TEAM B WILL HAVE THREE SECONDS TO GET THE BALL INTO THEIR FRONT COURT.

Explanation

True. In most basketball leagues, including NBA rules, if Team B is in the backcourt and has used seven seconds of their eight-second backcourt violation count and then calls for a timeout, they are allowed to inbound the ball from the backcourt. However, following the timeout, they will have only three seconds to advance the ball into the frontcourt. This rule ensures that teams do not gain an unfair advantage by using the timeout to reset the eight-second backcourt violation count entirely. The three-second count after the timeout is a continuation of the original backcourt violation.

Submit
42. A technical foul is assessed if, due to confusion, A1 attempts a free throw to which he or she was not entitled.

Explanation

The statement is false. A technical foul is not assessed if A1 attempts a free throw to which he or she was not entitled due to confusion. A technical foul is typically assessed for unsportsmanlike conduct or violations of the game's rules, not for confusion or mistakes made during gameplay.

Submit
43. If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw of a penalty is unsuccessful, players shall not take positions along the free-throw lane.

Explanation

If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw of a penalty is unsuccessful, it means that the play will stop and no further action will be taken. In this case, players would not need to take positions along the free-throw lane as there will be no continuation of play. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
44. Only one unused time-out from regulation may be carried over to an overtime period.

Explanation

The statement is false. In most sports, unused time-outs from regulation cannot be carried over to an overtime period. Each period, whether regulation or overtime, usually has its own set of time-outs that can be used by the teams. Therefore, any unused time-outs from regulation would not carry over to the overtime period.

Submit
45. An indirect technical foul is assessed to the head coach when bench personnel are charged with a technical foul.

Explanation

When bench personnel are charged with a technical foul, an indirect technical foul is assessed to the head coach. This means that even though the head coach may not have committed the foul themselves, they are still held responsible for the actions of their team members on the bench. The head coach is expected to maintain control and discipline amongst their team, and if their bench personnel are behaving inappropriately, the head coach is penalized as well.

Submit
46. A designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation.

Explanation

The statement is true because it states that a designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation. This means that when a player takes a throw-in, they must do so from a spot that is 3 feet wide. There is no restriction on how far back the player can stand, meaning they can be as close to the sideline as they want.

Submit
47. WHILE THE BALL IS LIVE AND IN PLAY (CLOCK IS RUNNING), A COACH IS STANDING DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF HIS TEAM BENCH QUIETLY WATCHING THE ACTION. UNLESS HE OR SHE IS ADDRESSING THE OFFICIALS STANDING OUT OF THE COACHING BOX, LEGAL AND PLAY CONTINUES.

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that as long as the coach is standing in front of the team bench and quietly watching the action, they are allowed to do so during the game. The only time they need to address the officials is if they are standing outside of the coaching box. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
48. If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, and then illegally contacts B1, he or she has committed a team-control foul.

Explanation

If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting and then illegally contacts B1, it is considered a team-control foul. This means that A1, while in the air, made a pass and then committed a foul against B1. This type of foul is categorized as a team-control foul because A1's team still had control of the ball when the foul was committed.

Submit
49. If the optional coaching box is being utilized, the first technical foul charged directly or indirectly to the head coach results in loss of the coaching-box privileges for the remainder of the game.

Explanation

If the optional coaching box is being utilized, the first technical foul charged directly or indirectly to the head coach results in loss of the coaching-box privileges for the remainder of the game. This means that if the head coach receives a technical foul, they will no longer be allowed to coach from the designated coaching box for the rest of the game.

Submit
50. An intentional foul may be either personal or technical.

Explanation

An intentional foul can be either personal or technical. This means that a player can intentionally commit a foul either by physically making contact with an opponent (personal foul) or by violating the rules of the game in a non-physical manner (technical foul).

Submit
51. Either team may be granted consecutive time-outs prior to the expiration of playing time in the fourth quarter.

Explanation

Both teams are allowed to take consecutive time-outs before the end of the fourth quarter. This means that they can request a time-out one after another without any restrictions until the end of the game.

Submit
52. Once a designated spot throw-in begins, the original thrower may be replaced by a teammate to attempt the throw-in.

Explanation

In a designated spot throw-in, the original thrower cannot be replaced by a teammate. Once the throw-in begins, the original thrower must complete the throw-in and cannot be substituted by another player. Therefore, the statement is false.

Submit
53. The head coach is assessed a maximum of one direct technical foul when a player is discovered wearing an illegal uniform.

Explanation

When a player is found wearing an illegal uniform, the head coach can be assessed a maximum of one direct technical foul. This means that the coach can be penalized with a technical foul for the violation. The technical foul is a penalty in basketball that results in free throw attempts for the opposing team and possession of the ball. However, the coach can only receive one direct technical foul for this specific violation, indicating that additional technical fouls will not be given for the same offense.

Submit
54. If Team A's player, A2, catches the in-bounds pass and shoots before the game clock reaches zero at the end of the third quarter, regardless of the outcome of the shot, the basket shall not count.

Explanation

In basketball, if a player catches the in-bounds pass and shoots before the game clock reaches zero, the shot does not count if released after the horn sounds. This rule ensures fairness and precision in determining the validity of a basket in relation to the timing of the game clock.

Submit
55. The time consumed prior to recognition of a correctable error cannot be restored even though the error is corrected.

Explanation

The statement is true because once a correctable error is recognized, the time that was initially consumed cannot be regained or restored, even if the error is subsequently corrected. This means that the time spent on identifying and rectifying the error is essentially lost and cannot be recovered.

Submit
56. The thrower may reach the ball through the throw-in boundary plane prior to releasing it on a throw-in pass.

Explanation

The statement is true because according to the rules of throw-ins in sports such as basketball or soccer, the thrower is allowed to reach over as long as part of their body or the ball is still behind or directly above the line when the throw is made. This means that the thrower can reach the ball through the throw-in boundary plane before releasing it, making the statement true.

Submit
57. It is a violation if, from A's frontcourt, A1 passes to A2, who jumps from A's backcourt, catches the ball while in the air, and lands in A's frontcourt.

Explanation

This statement is true because it describes a backcourt violation in basketball. According to the rules, once the ball crosses the half-court line into the frontcourt, it cannot be passed back to the backcourt. In this scenario, A1 passes the ball from the frontcourt to A2 in the backcourt, and when A2 catches the ball while in the air and lands in the frontcourt, it is considered a violation. Therefore, the answer is true.

Submit
58. The ball becomes live when it is at the free thrower's disposal.

Explanation

The statement is true because in basketball, a free throw becomes live or in play when the ball is at the free thrower's disposal. This means that once the player has the ball in their hands and is ready to shoot, the game is back in action and any players can attempt to rebound or defend against the shot.

Submit
59. A1 violates when a pass by A1 touches B1 who is standing on a sideline.

Explanation

The statement is saying that A1 violates when they pass by B1 and touch them while B1 is standing on a sideline. However, the correct answer is false because the statement is incorrect. There is no violation if A1 touches B1 while they are standing on a sideline.

Submit
60.  IT IS PERMISSIBLE FOR THE OFFICIATING CREW TO DETERMINE WHICH OFFICIAL WILL TOSS THE OPENING JUMP BALL---IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE THE REFEREE.

Explanation

The explanation for the given answer is that according to the rules, it is allowed for the officiating crew to decide which official will toss the opening jump ball. It is not necessary for the referee to be the one performing this task. This allows for flexibility and ensures that the jump ball is conducted fairly and impartially, regardless of which official is assigned to toss it.

Submit
61. A technical foul shall be charged whenever bench personnel are standing while the clock is running.

Explanation

The statement is false. A technical foul is not charged simply for bench personnel standing while the clock is running. There may be specific rules or circumstances that determine when a technical foul is charged, but standing while the clock is running is not one of them.

Submit
62. No violation occurs when B1 uses his or her thigh to intentionally deflect a pass by A1. 

Explanation

This statement is false because using any part of the body, including the thigh, intentionally to deflect a pass is considered a violation in most sports. In basketball, for example, intentionally using the thigh to deflect a pass would be considered a kickball violation. Therefore, the correct answer is false.

Submit
63. Continuous motion applies only if the player is in the air when fouled. 

Explanation

Continuous motion does not apply only if the player is in the air when fouled. Continuous motion refers to a rule in basketball where if a player is fouled while in the act of shooting, the shot attempt and any subsequent made baskets count even if the foul is called after the shot. This rule applies whether the player is in the air or on the ground when fouled. Therefore, the given statement is false.

Submit
64. In a false double foul, the fouls are committed by the same team.

Explanation

This statement is false. In a false double foul, the fouls are committed by players from opposing teams, not by the same team.

Submit
65. EACH TEAM MUST SUBMIT THE NAMES AND NUMBERS OF EACH TEAM MEMBER AND DESIGNATE THE FIVE STARTING PLAYERS AT LEAST THREE MINUTES PRIOR TO THE SCHEDULED GAME TIME.

Explanation

The statement is false because it states that each team must submit the names and numbers of each team member and designate the five starting players at least three minutes prior to the scheduled game time. According to the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials (IAABO), each team must supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players at least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time 

Submit
66. If B1 fouls A1, and before the clock starts B2 fouls A2, it is a false multiple foul.

Explanation

If B1 fouls A1 and before the clock starts B2 fouls A2, it would result in a false multiple foul. This means that two fouls were committed by the same team before the clock started. This is considered a false multiple foul because it is against the rules to commit multiple fouls before the game has officially begun. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
67. A jump ball ends when the tapped ball touches a jumper a second time. 

Explanation

A jump ball ends when the tapped ball touches the floor or any player on the court, not just the jumper.

Submit
68. When the error is a free throw by the wrong player, if corrected, the free throw and any common foul committed during such a free throw shall be canceled.

Explanation

According to the NBA Official Rulebook, if a free throw is attempted by the wrong player, the error can be corrected before the next legal or illegal free throw attempt by either team. If the error is corrected, the free throw and any common foul committed during such a free throw shall be canceled. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
69. A personal foul can only occur during a live ball. 

Explanation

This statement is True. A personal foul can occur during a live ball as well as during a dead ball. A personal foul is a type of foul that involves illegal contact or actions by a player against an opponent. It can occur at any time during the game, whether the ball is live or dead.

Submit
70. The head coach or any assistant coach may orally or visually request and be granted a time-out.

Explanation

The statement is false because only the head coach is allowed to request and be granted a time-out, not any assistant coach.

Submit
71. A free throw starts when the appropriate lane spaces are filled and the free thrower is ready.

Explanation

The statement is false. A free throw starts when the free thrower is ready, regardless of whether the lane spaces are filled or not. The filling of the lane spaces is not a requirement for the start of a free throw.

Submit
72. The head coach is assessed an indirect technical foul for each member of bench personnel who leaves the confines of the bench during a fight to get closer to the action. 

Explanation

The correct answer is F. This statement is false. The head coach is not assessed an indirect technical foul for each member of bench personnel who leaves the confines of the bench during a fight to get closer to the action.

Submit
73. Excessive swinging of arms or elbows without contacting an opponent can be either a foul or a violation.

Explanation

Excessive swinging of arms or elbows without contacting an opponent is not a foul or a violation.

Submit
74. Lane spaces on each side of the free-throw lane are two feet deep. 

Explanation

According to the NBA Official Rulebook, the lane space markings on each side of the free-throw lane are 2 inches by 6 inches. Therefore, the statement is false.

Submit
75. A dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before or after the pivot foot is lifted. 

Explanation

The statement is false because a dribble can only be started by pushing, throwing, or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. After the pivot foot is lifted, the player cannot start a dribble.

Submit
76. Thrower A1 violates if he or she passes the ball so it is touched by A2, who is inbounds while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.

Explanation

Thrower A1 violates if they pass the ball to A2, who is inbounds, while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. This means that A1 is not allowed to pass the ball to A2 if A2 is closer to the out-of-bounds side of the boundary plane than A1. This rule is in place to ensure fair play and to prevent teams from gaining an unfair advantage by passing the ball in a way that goes against the boundaries of the game.

Submit
77. The maximum width of the side seam inserts on the team jersey is 6 inches. 

Explanation

The maximum width of the side seam inserts on the team jersey is 4 inches.

Submit
78. WHILE TEAM A HAS POSSESSION OF THE BALL, A DOUBLE FOUL IS CALLED AGAINST A1 AND B1 IN THE POST AREA. THE FOUL SHALL BE ASSESSED TO EACH PLAYER AND TO EACH TEAM’S TOTAL FOULS AND THE BALL AWARDED TO WHICHEVER TEAM HAS THE POSSESSION ARROW AT THAT POINT.

Explanation

The statement is false. According to the given scenario, when a double foul is called against A1 and B1 in the post area, the fouls are assessed to each player and to each team's total fouls. However, the ball is not awarded to whichever team has the possession arrow at that point. The possession arrow is only used to determine the team that will have the next alternating possession when a jump ball situation occurs.

Submit
79. Only the referee is authorized to correct the erroneous awarding of a score. 

Explanation

The statement is false because it is not only the referee who is authorized to correct the erroneous awarding of a score. Other officials, such as video assistant referees or goal-line technology systems, can also be involved in the decision-making process to correct any scoring mistakes. Therefore, it is not solely the responsibility of the referee to rectify scoring errors.

Submit
80. A team only needs control of the possession to be able to request and be granted a time-out.

Explanation

False. In most basketball leagues, a team needs to have both possession of the ball and be in a state of player control to request and be granted a timeout. This means that a player needs to be holding or dribbling the ball while the timeout is being requested. The idea is to prevent teams from calling timeouts during chaotic or disputed situations where they may not have full control of the ball.

Submit
81. A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the player is notified by an official.

Explanation

The statement is false. A player does not become bench personnel when they are officially disqualified and notified by an official. When a player is disqualified, they are usually removed from the game and must leave the playing area. Bench personnel refers to coaches, trainers, and other team members who are not actively playing in the game.

Submit
82. If the free throw for a personal foul, other than intentional or flagrant, is successful, the ball remains live.

Explanation

If the free throw for a personal foul, other than intentional or flagrant, is successful, the ball does not remain live. This means that after a successful free throw, the opposing team will gain possession of the ball and the game will resume from there.

Submit
83. The initials or jersey number of a recently deceased player may appear in a patch worn above the neckline or in the side insert of the jersey.  

Explanation

The statement is True. The initials or jersey number of a recently deceased player may appear in a path worn above the neckline or in the side insert area of the jersey, as long as it is approved by the state's associations.

Submit
84. The head coach may leave the coaching box to go to the scorer's table to rectify a scoring mistake only if beckoned by an official.

Explanation

The statement is false. The head coach does not need to be beckoned by an official to leave the coaching box and go to the scorer's table to rectify a scoring mistake. The head coach has the authority to go to the scorer's table at any time to address any scoring errors without needing to be called over by an official.

Submit
85. An item used to control the hair must be the same dominant color of the team jersey, white, black or beige.

Explanation

It is a legal rule that hair items like a headband have to be the same color as the rest of the team, and these colors can be white, black, beige, or the dominant color of the team's jerseys.

Submit
86. The throw-in is at the designated spot nearest the violation after a goaltending violation by B1. 

Explanation

When a violation occurs, the throw-in is at the spot closest to where the violation occurred.

Submit
87. The head coach is assessed an indirect technical foul when a disqualified player is removed and is subsequently discovered participating in the game.

Explanation

When a disqualified player is removed from the game, the head coach is not assessed an indirect technical foul if the player is subsequently discovered participating in the game. Therefore, the statement is false.

Submit
88. It is a technical foul if a player leaves the court for an unauthorized reason.

Explanation

The statement says that it is a technical foul if a player leaves the court for an unauthorized reason. However, this statement is false. Leaving the court for an unauthorized reason does not result in a technical foul.

Submit
89. It is a common foul when B1 fouls A1 as A1 is trying for a field goal. 

Explanation

The statement is false because a common foul is not called when B1 fouls A1 while A1 is trying for a field goal. In basketball, a common foul is called when a player makes illegal physical contact with an opponent, but it does not necessarily have to occur during a field goal attempt.

Submit
90.  A correctable error includes permitting the wrong team to attempt a throw-in

Explanation

True. In basketball, permitting the wrong team to attempt a throw-in is considered a correctable error. If such an error is recognized by the officials before the next live ball or free throw attempt, the mistake can be corrected, and the team that should have had possession is awarded the correct throw-in. The goal is to rectify errors that may impact the fair outcome of the game.

Submit
91. In order to correct an error made with the clock running and the ball dead, the error must be recognized before the first live ball after the error. 

Explanation

To correct an error made with the clock running and the ball dead, the error does not have to be recognized before the first live ball after the error. This statement is false.

Submit
92. A team-control foul can also be intentional or flagrant.

Explanation

The statement is false. A team-control foul cannot be intentional or flagrant. Intentional and flagrant fouls are personal fouls committed by individual players, not by the team as a whole. A team-control foul is a type of foul that is committed by a player on the team that is in control of the ball.

Submit
View My Results
Danielle Shafer |Basketball Coach |
Danielle Shafer holds a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham and a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012.

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Feb 12, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Feb 12, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team

    Expert Reviewed by
    Danielle Shafer
  • Nov 30, 2008
    Quiz Created by
    Jdmump12
Cancel
  • All
    All (92)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
AN OFFICIAL CALLS A FOUL AGAINST TEAM B AND OBSERVES 0:07 ON THE GAME...
If jumpers A1 and B1 simultaneously commit jump-ball violations, the...
An airborne shooter is considered to be in the act of shooting.
An unsporting foul consists of unfair, unethical or dishonorable...
The torso of the team jersey shall be the same single solid color for...
During a charged time-out, the head coach and assistant coaches may...
It is a violation if A1 dives for a loose ball and gains control on...
The head coach may use electronic voice communication equipment to...
An official may immediately suspend play when necessary to protect an...
B5 IS MAKING A THROW-IN FROM OUT OF BOUNDS UNDER HER OFFENSIVE BASKET....
The thrower-in is not permitted to touch the ball in the court before...
If a thrower-in does not have a minimum of 3 feet of unobstructed...
When the throw-in team violates the provisions of the throw-in, the...
The torso of the team jersey is an area from the base of the neck to...
The three-point line is a semi-circle measured 19 feet 9 inches from a...
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is legally touched...
A held ball occurs when an opponent places his or her hand(s) on the...
A4 DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL AND SECURES POSSESSION WHILE LYING ON THE...
No teammate of the free thrower may occupy the first marked lane...
All common fouls in the last two minutes of the game are automatically...
If A1 grasps the ring to prevent injury, the grasping is ignored, and...
The head coach is permitted to rise off the bench at any time to...
The coach or captain shall designate which player(s) shall attempt the...
It is permissible to have the school logo or mascot on the face of the...
THE SIGNAL OF SPREADING THE ARMS SHALL BE USED WHEN NEEDED TO...
Correctable errors include failure to award a merited free throw.
A headband is defined as any item that goes around the entire head.
The visiting team has its choice of baskets for pre-game practice and...
When worn, a team's headbands and wristbands must all be the same...
Headbands and wristbands must be the same dominant color of the team...
HEADBANDS MUST BE WHITE, BLACK, BEIGE, OR THE COLOR OF THE TORSO OF...
A technical foul can be assessed to a head coach for using profane...
An intentional foul should be called when illegal contact occurs away...
It is basket interference if a pulled-down, movable basket ring...
The throw-in ends when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
A turnover is an accidental loss of player control.
A1's free throw ends when A2 commits a lane violation.
No violation occurs when, during a throw-in by A1 following a goal, A1...
A restraining line may be used as a boundary line when space is...
 It is a technical foul if a player places a hand on the...
AFTER TEAM B HAS USED SEVEN SECONDS IN THE BACKCOURT TRYING TO ADVANCE...
A technical foul is assessed if, due to confusion, A1 attempts a free...
If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw of a penalty is...
Only one unused time-out from regulation may be carried over to an...
An indirect technical foul is assessed to the head coach when bench...
A designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation.
WHILE THE BALL IS LIVE AND IN PLAY (CLOCK IS RUNNING), A COACH IS...
If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, and then illegally...
If the optional coaching box is being utilized, the first technical...
An intentional foul may be either personal or technical.
Either team may be granted consecutive time-outs prior to the...
Once a designated spot throw-in begins, the original thrower may be...
The head coach is assessed a maximum of one direct technical foul when...
If Team A's player, A2, catches the in-bounds pass and shoots...
The time consumed prior to recognition of a correctable error cannot...
The thrower may reach the ball through the throw-in boundary plane...
It is a violation if, from A's frontcourt, A1 passes to A2, who...
The ball becomes live when it is at the free thrower's disposal.
A1 violates when a pass by A1 touches B1 who is standing on a...
 IT IS PERMISSIBLE FOR THE OFFICIATING CREW TO DETERMINE WHICH...
A technical foul shall be charged whenever bench personnel are...
No violation occurs when B1 uses his or her thigh to intentionally...
Continuous motion applies only if the player is in the air when...
In a false double foul, the fouls are committed by the same team.
EACH TEAM MUST SUBMIT THE NAMES AND NUMBERS OF EACH TEAM MEMBER AND...
If B1 fouls A1, and before the clock starts B2 fouls A2, it is a false...
A jump ball ends when the tapped ball touches a jumper a second...
When the error is a free throw by the wrong player, if corrected, the...
A personal foul can only occur during a live ball. 
The head coach or any assistant coach may orally or visually request...
A free throw starts when the appropriate lane spaces are filled and...
The head coach is assessed an indirect technical foul for each member...
Excessive swinging of arms or elbows without contacting an opponent...
Lane spaces on each side of the free-throw lane are two feet...
A dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to...
Thrower A1 violates if he or she passes the ball so it is touched by...
The maximum width of the side seam inserts on the team jersey is 6...
WHILE TEAM A HAS POSSESSION OF THE BALL, A DOUBLE FOUL IS CALLED...
Only the referee is authorized to correct the erroneous awarding of a...
A team only needs control of the possession to be able to request and...
A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when...
If the free throw for a personal foul, other than intentional or...
The initials or jersey number of a recently deceased player may appear...
The head coach may leave the coaching box to go to the scorer's table...
An item used to control the hair must be the same dominant color of...
The throw-in is at the designated spot nearest the violation after a...
The head coach is assessed an indirect technical foul when a...
It is a technical foul if a player leaves the court for an...
It is a common foul when B1 fouls A1 as A1 is trying for a field...
 A correctable error includes permitting the wrong team to...
In order to correct an error made with the clock running and the ball...
A team-control foul can also be intentional or flagrant.
Alert!

Advertisement