IAABO: Trivia Quiz On Basketball

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Images8660
I
Images8660
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 5 | Total Attempts: 2,517
Questions: 35 | Attempts: 371

SettingsSettingsSettings
IAABO: Trivia Quiz On Basketball - Quiz

When it comes to a game, all participants are made aware of the rules they are expected to follow, and this does not mean that everyone will still handle themselves as they are expected to and some fouls will take place. The quiz below is for the Iaabo, and it is centered on basketball. Do give it a try and see what chances you stand.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    As A-1 is dribbling around B-1, B-2jumps in front of A-1, gets both feet down on the floor and is facing A-1 just before A-l contacts B-2 in the torso knocking B-2 to the floor. B-2 did not give A-1 time or distance to change direction. The official rules a blocking foul on B-2. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-7-2A, 4-23-2

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    A-1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in, but A-1 cannot find a teammate to pass to. A-1 throws the ball against an opponent, steps inbounds, and retrieves the ball. The official rules a throw-in violation. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-42-5A, 7-6-2

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    WhileA-1 's try is in flight, a double personal foul is committed. The ball contacts the backboard and goes directly out-of-bounds. The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-36-2C

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Team A is granted a time-out. As A-1 is heading to the bench, A-1 is assessed a technical foul. The official    1rules A-1 is bench personnel and charges an indirect technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-34-1

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    While the ball is in flight on a try for goal, the "signal sounds indicating time has expired for the first quarter.              , Prior to the ball becoming dead, A-1 is assessed a technical foul. The official starts the second quarter administering the free throws for the technical foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    5-6-2 EXP 3

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    Following a score, A-1 's throw-in is deflected out-of-bounds along the end line by B-1. The official awardsthe ball out-of-bounds to Team A and rules Team A retains the privilege of moving along the end line.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    7-5-2A

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    A-1 's throw-in is touched by B-1, who is standing on the boundary line. The official n:i1es a throw-in violation and awards Team B the ball at the spot of throw-in.  Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    7-2-2, 9-7-2

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    A-1 and B-1 get involved in a fight. The coach of Team A enters the court to help restore order and prevent the situation from escalating. The official rules the coach may enter the court without being beckoned. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    10-4-5

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    A-1 commits his/her fifth foul. Team A has no substitutes available to replace A-1. The coach wants to usethe 20-seconds interval of time to replace a disqualified player. The official rules the 20-seconds interval of time may not be used and that play shall resume immediately.  Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    10-5-2

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    A-1 ends his/her dribble then attempts a pass to A-2, but the ball contacts the official. A-1 runs across the court and is the first to touch the ball. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-15-3/4A, 9-5-3

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Prior to A-1 's free throw being released, B-2, located in a marked lane space, enters the lane. This is followed by A-2, who is in a marked lane space, entering the lane. The official rules a double free throw violation. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-1-PEN 4A

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    One official rules a blocking foul and the other official rules a foul on the airborne shooter. The ball enters the basket. The officials rule a double personal foul. The officials cancel the basket and use the alternatingpossession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-36-2B, 6-7-7 EXP-A

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    A-1 is bleeding and the official directs A-1 to the bench to be replaced. Team A requests and is granted a time-out. Following the time-out, A-1 enters the court ready to play. The official rules A-1 may not enter   ' until the next opportunity to substitute. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    3-3-7

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    A-1 has the ball for a free throw attempt when A-2 commits a common foul against B-2. The official rules a team control foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-12-1/2A, 4-19-7

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    While A-l's second of two free throws is in flight, the official assesses a double personal foul. The try isunsuccessful. The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-36-2C

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    A-2, located in the frontcourt, deflects A-1 's throw-in into the backcourt. A-3 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. The official rules it a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    9-9-1

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    A-1 is erroneously awarded a one and one. WhileA-1 's unsuccessful attempt is in flight, B-2 foulsA-2. While reporting the foul, the scorer advises the official that Team A was not in the bonus. The official cancels the common foul and resumes play with the alternating possession procedure.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    2-10-16, 2-10-4, 4-36-2B, CASEBOOK 2.10.1 SIT H-A/B

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    A-1, while attempting a jump shot, is fouled by B-1. As the whistle sounds, the horn also sounds indicating that the time for the quarter has expired. A-1 continues the try, releases the ball and the try is successful. The official cancels the goal and awards A-2 two free throws. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    5-6-2 EX3, 10-6- PEN 5A

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    A-1 is disqualified for committing his/her fifth foul and is banished to the bench. While on the benchA-1 acts in an unsportsmanlike manner. The official assesses a direct technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    10-4-1 PEN

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    While the official's toss of the ball is in flight during a jump ball to start the first extra period, B-2 intentionallyFouls A-2. The official instructs the scorer to set the alternating possession arrow when free thrower A-2 has control of the ball for the first free throw. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-3-3B

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    Team A has the ball out of bounds for an alternating possession throw-in. B-1, who is guarding A-1 on the throw-in, breaks the boundary line plane. The official sounds the whistle and issues a warning to Team B. The official awards the ball back to Team A, and instructs the scorer not to change the alternating possession arrow when the throw-in is completed because it is not an alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    CB 4.42.5, 6.4.4,

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    A-1 and B-1 are directed to the bench because of a blood problem. Team A requests a time-out to keep A-1 in the game. Team B elects to substitute for B-1. The official grants the time-out before B-1 's replacement reports to enter the game. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-2-10 PEN 58-3B

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    A-1 secures a defensive rebound underneath the backboard.  A-1 then jumps to make an outlet pass, the ball is jarred loose when his/her hands and the ball contact the padding on the bottom of the backboard. A-1 recovers the ball and begins a dribble. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-21

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    A-1 is fouled by B-1 and is awarded a one and one. After the successful first free throw, the official recognizesthat Team A players occupied the first free throw lane line spaces. The official cancels the free throw and resumes play by awarding Team B the ball for a throw-in.  Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-1-2 PEN 2B

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    B-1 has the ball out of bounds after Team A has scored. Prior to completing the throw-in, A-2 and B-2 commita double personal foul. The possession arrow favors Team B. The official awards the ball back to Team Bat the end line and rules Team B may move along the end line.  Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-36-2B

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    The game ends in a tie score. At the end of the fourth quarter the possession arrow favored Team A. The official starts the first overtime period with an alternating possession throw-in by Team A.  Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-28-1

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    When the official is ready to administer the free throw toA-1, A-1 is huddling with teammates by the bench area. The official assesses Team A with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    10-3

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    While A-1 's throw-in is in flight and prior to player/team control inbounds, A-2 and B-2 are assessed a double personal foul. The official re-administers the throw-in to Team A. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-19-8, 4-36-2B

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    While A-1 is dribbling past an opponent the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A-1. A-1 catches the ball and begins another dribble. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-15-4A, 9-5-2

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    While A-1 is in the act of shooting, B-1 pushes A-2 into A-1. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official rules the goal successful and rules a common foul on B-1. Team A is in the bonus. A-2 is awarded the one and one. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-11-1/2, 4-19-7

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    As A-1 is dribbling, B-1 places a hand on A-1 and immediately removes it, then places his/her hand on A-1 again. The official rules a hand-checking foul on B-1. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    10-6-12D

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    Thrower-in A-1 rolls the ball up the floor in the backcourt. While the ball is rolling, A-2 pushes B-2 and is assessed a common foul. Team B is in the bonus. The official awards B-2 a one and one because team control is not established until a player obtains control.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-12-2A, 4-19-7

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Airborne A-1 's try for goal is unsuccessful. As A-1 returns to the floor, he/she steps on B-2's foot and is injured. B-1 rebounds the ball and passes to B-2, who releases the ball on a try for goal. While the ball is in flight, the official sounds the whistle. The try is not successful. The Team B coach believes the official should have allowed play to continue. The official informs the coach that he/she was correct in stopping play once the ball was released on the try. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    5-8-2 NOTE

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    Thrower-inA-1 places the ball through the plane of the boundary line. B-1 slaps the ball out of A-1 's hands.The official rules the clock starts when the ball is released from the hands of A-I. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    5-9-4, CASEBOOK 5.9.4

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    A-1 attempts to dunk, the ball pops straight up into the imaginary basket cylinder. The net flipped up and became caught on the basket ring. The ball comes down into the basket and remains resting on the net. Half the ball is below the ring level and the other half of the ball is above the ring level. The official rules no goal since the ball did not pass completely through the basket. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    5-1-1

    Rate this question:

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.