IAABO Trivia Quiz: Can You Pass This Basketball Exam?

Reviewed by Danielle Shafer
Danielle Shafer, Bachelor Degree - Sports Management |
Basketball Expert
Review Board Member
Danielle holds a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham and a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012. As our basketball aficionado, she brings her A-game to review our hoops quizzes. With a slam dunk career in sports marketing and a passion for the game, she ensures our basketball quizzes hit nothing but net. Let Dainelle be your guide to the ultimate basketball quiz experience!
, Bachelor Degree - Sports Management
Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Images8660
I
Images8660
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 5 | Total Attempts: 2,520
Questions: 40 | Attempts: 1,459

SettingsSettingsSettings
IAABO Trivia Quiz: Can You Pass This Basketball Exam? - Quiz

Most people believe that just because someone plays the game, they have proper knowledge of all the rules, and they adhere to them at all times. Are you on a basketball team or planning to join one? Take up this Iaabo quiz and get to test your knowledge on basketball and our chance at thriving at a team.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    A-1 's throw-in is on the basket ring when B-2 takes it off the ring. The official rules basketball interference. ls the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, once the ball has touched the basket ring during a throw-in, it is considered in play. Therefore, if B-2 takes the ball off the ring after it has touched the ring, it is not considered basketball interference. The ball is live and play should continue as normal. Therefore, the official's ruling of basketball interference is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    The head coach of Tem A goes to the scorer's table to confer with the officials to try and prevent or rectify a correctable error. After a brief discussion, it is determined there was no error. Team A has no 60-second time-outs remaining but has one 30-second time-out. The official rules Team A may use the 30-second time- out to avoid the penalty. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    According to NFHS Rule 5-8-4, a head coach may indeed request a timeout to prevent or rectify a correctable error. When such a timeout is requested and a correctable error is recognized as a result, no timeout is charged. Therefore, if the official determined that there was no error after the head coach's appeal, Team A would be allowed to use the 30-second timeout to avoid the penalty, as no timeout would be charged in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    Three minutes before the game, the head coach of Team B adds one name to the squad list and Team B is assessed a technical  foul. Just before the toss, the scorer informs the referee that two Team B designated starters are not starting. The referee assesses Team B With another technical foul. ls the referee correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, the addition of a player's name to the squad list after the specified deadline typically results in a technical foul assessed to the team. However, the failure to start designated starters does not warrant another technical foul just before the game toss. While it may indicate a violation of league or competition rules, it is not typically penalized with a technical foul at that moment. Therefore, the referee's decision to assess Team B with another technical foul in this scenario is not correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    During a free throw by A-1, Team B players occupy the first marked lane spaces on each side. Team A players leaves the second marked lane spaces vacant. B-3 occupies one of the second marked lane spaces while B-4 occupies one of the third marked lane spaces on the other side. The official rules the alignment is illegal. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, during a free throw attempt, players must be properly aligned in the marked lane spaces. Typically, defensive players occupy the first marked lane spaces on each side, while offensive players occupy the second and third marked lane spaces. However, if the offensive team chooses to leave the second marked lane spaces vacant, defensive players may not occupy these spaces. Therefore, if B-3 and B-4 occupy the second marked lane spaces while Team A players leave them vacant, the alignment is indeed illegal, and the official's ruling is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    A-1, while moving, catches the ball on one foot, jumps, and lands on both feet simultaneously. A-1 lifts the right foot and returns it to the floor before releasing the ball on a try. The official rules this is a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, a player is allowed to jump off of one foot, land on both feet simultaneously, and then jump again to attempt a try (shot). However, once a player lifts one foot off the floor, they are not allowed to return it to the floor before releasing the ball on a try. Doing so would constitute a traveling violation, as the player would have lifted their pivot foot and returned it to the floor before releasing the ball. Therefore, the official should have ruled this as a traveling violation, not a legal play.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    B-1 secures a rebound at A's basket and passes to B-2 near the division line. A-2 intercepts the pass while airborne from the frontcourt and lands in the backcourt. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, a backcourt violation occurs when a team in possession of the ball moves the ball from the frontcourt to the backcourt and then back to the frontcourt without the ball touching the frontcourt or an opponent. In the scenario described, A-2 intercepted the pass while airborne from the frontcourt, which means possession was established in the frontcourt. Therefore, when A-2 lands in the backcourt after intercepting the pass, it does not constitute a backcourt violation since possession was initially established in the frontcourt.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    A-1 has the ball for a throw-in with 2 seconds on the game clock. While A-1's inbound pass is in flight and before the ball is touched or touches a player, the timer starts the clock, and time expires. A-1's pass goes directly out of bounds with no players touching the ball. The official sounds his/her whistle, places 2 seconds on the clock, and re-administers the throw-in to Team A at the spot of a throw-in. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when the game clock starts before the inbound pass is touched or touches a player, and time expires before the ball is legally touched inbounds, the play is considered dead, and the period ends. In this scenario, since time expired before the ball was legally touched inbounds, the play should be ruled as over, and the period should end. The official should not place additional time on the clock or re-administer the throw-in to Team A. Therefore, the official's ruling is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    While A-1 is dribbling, A-2 is charged with a common foul. This is Team A's seventh foul of the half. Official awards Team B a one and one. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a team commits a certain number of fouls within a specific period (usually a half), the opposing team enters the bonus situation. The bonus situation typically occurs on the opponent's fifth team foul in a quarter or half, depending on the league or level of play. In this scenario, Team A has committed its seventh foul of the half, which means Team B should be awarded two free throws, not a one-and-one situation. Therefore, the official should award Team B two free throws, as they have reached the bonus.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Team B scores, making the score Team A-81 and Team B-80. Team A has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with 7 seconds remaining in the game. Official starts the 5-second count. When the official's count has reached 4 seconds, A-1 throws the ball straight into the air. The ball does not cross the plane of the boundary line. The official continues the count and rules a violation on Team A. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    The official's ruling is correct. According to the specified rule, if the ball does not cross the plane of the boundary line during a throw-in, it is considered a violation. Therefore, in this scenario, where the ball was thrown straight into the air and did not cross the boundary line, the official appropriately ruled a violation on Team A.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    A fight breaks out between A-1 and B-1. The head coach enters the court to help restore order and prevent the situation from escalating. The official charges the head coach with a technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    Based on the rules of the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS), the official's decision to charge the head coach with a technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned is incorrect. According to the NFHS rules, head coaches are allowed to enter the court in situations where they are attempting to prevent fights or keep situations from escalating.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Team B is issued a delay-of-game warning after B-1 reaches through the plane of the boundary line. Later in the game, B-2 interferes with the ball following a goal. The official issues another warning. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In accordance with NBA rules, a delay-of-game violation is indeed called for interfering with the ball after a successful field goal or free throw. The penalty for a delay-of-game violation is a warning for the first offense and a technical foul for subsequent offenses. Therefore, since Team B had already received a delay-of-game warning earlier in the game, the official was correct to issue a technical foul when B-2 interfered with the ball following a goal.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    While Team A is in control, A-1 and B-1 begin to fight. A-6 and B-6 enter the court, but do not participate in the fight. Official ejects A-1, B-1, A-6, and B-6 and banishes them to the bench. The official charges each head coach with one indirect technical foul, Team A and Team B with two team fouls and resumes play at the point of interruption. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a fight breaks out between players on opposing teams, all players involved in the fight are typically ejected from the game and are banished to the bench. Additionally, the head coaches of both teams are usually charged with indirect technical fouls for failing to control their players. Furthermore, each team is assessed two team fouls as a result of the altercation. Resuming play at the point of interruption is standard procedure after such incidents to maintain fairness and order in the game. Therefore, the official's actions in this scenario align with standard basketball rules and procedures.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    A-1, driving for a layup, jumps into the air and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A-1 and B-1 before airborne shooter A-1 returns to the floor. One official rules a blocking foul on B-1, and a different official rules a player-control foul on A-1. The try is successful. Officials rule a double personal foul and disallow the basket. Is this correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    According to NBA rules, when a double personal foul occurs during a shooting attempt and the shot is successful, the points scored during the play should count. The ball is then put in play at the point of interruption. Therefore, if A-1's shot was successful despite the fouls, the basket should count, and the ball should be put in play at the point of interruption. In this case, the officials were incorrect to disallow the basket.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    A-1, who is at the free throw line, has the ball and is preparing for a free throw attempt when A'-2 commits a common foul against B-2. The official rules this a team control foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, a team control foul occurs when an offensive player commits a foul, and his team is in control of the ball. However, in this scenario, A-1 is preparing for a free throw attempt, which means the ball is not yet in play and possession has not been established by either team. Therefore, the foul committed by A'-2 against B-2 should be ruled as a common foul, not a team-control foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    During an interrupted dribble by A-1, A-2 commits a common foul against B-2. Team B is in the bonus. official awards B-2 a one and one. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a player commits a common foul against an opponent while the opponent is in the act of dribbling, it is typically treated as a live-ball foul. If the fouled team is in the bonus (or penalty), the fouled player is awarded free throws. In this scenario, since Team B is in the bonus, B-2 should be awarded a one-and-one opportunity at the free-throw line due to the common foul committed by A-2 against B-2 during the interrupted dribble by A-1. Therefore, the official's decision to award B-2 a one-and-one is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    While A-1 is in the act of shooting a bonus free throw and prior to releasing the ball, a double personal foul is ruled. A-1 continues the motion and scores. Official disallows the free throw and re-administers A-1 's free throw with players occupying the marked lane spaces. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a double personal foul occurs during a free throw attempt and the shooter continues the motion and scores, the basket should count. The free throw should be considered successful, and play should resume accordingly. Therefore, the official should not disallow the free throw and re-administer A-1's free throw with players occupying the marked lane spaces. The correct ruling would be to count the basket and continue play as usual.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    A-1, while airborne, catches a pass from A-2. A-1 throws the ball to the floor. A-1 returns to the floor, catches the ball, and starts a dribble. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, once a player catches a pass while airborne, they are not allowed to throw the ball to the floor and then catch it again to start a dribble. This would constitute a violation known as a double dribble, where a player dribbles the ball with two hands consecutively or stops dribbling and then begins dribbling again. Therefore, the official should have ruled this sequence as a double dribble violation, not a legal play.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    Official stops the game because A-1 is bleeding and directs A-1 to the bench. Team A takes a 30-second time-out. Following the time-out A-1's bleeding has been stopped and A-1 enters the court ready to play. Official denies A-1 from entering the game stating it takes a 60-second time-out to keep A-1 in the game. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when uniform infractions occur, they are typically handled individually and not treated as simultaneous violations. Each infraction should be addressed separately based on when it occurred. In this scenario, Team member A-1 bringing the wrong uniform and switching with a teammate happened earlier in the game than the discovery that starter B-1 was wearing the wrong jersey. Therefore, the official should address each infraction separately rather than issuing a double technical foul. The game should resume at the point of interruption for each individual infraction.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    Following a score, A-1 has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in when B-1 breaks the plane of the boundary line. Official issues a warning to Team B. Official rules Team A no longer has the privilege of moving along the end line. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, after a warning has been issued for a delay of game violation, the offending team loses the privilege of entering the playing court during a throw-in, not the privilege of moving along the end line. Therefore, the official's ruling that Team A no longer has the privilege of moving along the end line is incorrect. The correct action would be to prevent Team B from breaking the plane of the boundary line during future throw-ins and to enforce the penalty for a subsequent violation, such as a technical foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in. A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1. The official awards the ball back to Team A and rules Team A retains the arrow following the completion of the throw-in. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, when the ball is awarded on an alternating possession throw-in, the possession arrow is not reset until after the throw-in is completed. If during the throw-in, the ball is intentionally kicked by a defensive player, the ball remains with the team awarded the throw-in, and the possession arrow remains unchanged. Therefore, the official's ruling that Team A retains the arrow following the completion of the throw-in is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    A-1 is intentionally fouled as the signal sounds indicating time has expired in the third quarter. The possession arrow favors Team B. Official administers the free throws as part of the third quarter and starts the fourth quarter awarding Team A the ball nearest the spot of the intentional foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a player is intentionally fouled as time expires in a quarter, the free throws are typically administered as part of the following quarter. However, the possession arrow should not influence the decision regarding which team is awarded possession at the start of the next quarter. Instead, the team that was fouled should be awarded possession of the ball at the nearest spot to where the foul occurred, regardless of the possession arrow. Therefore, the official should have awarded Team A the ball nearest the spot of the intentional foul at the start of the fourth quarter, regardless of the possession arrow favoring Team B.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    While A-1's throw-in is in flight and prior to any control inbounds, A-2 and B-2 are assessed with a double personal foul. Official re-administers the throw-in to Team A. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a double personal foul occurs during a throw-in and before any player has established control inbounds, the play is nullified, and the throw-in is re-administered to the team originally awarded the throw-in. This is because the foul occurred before the ball was legally in play, so the possession does not change. Therefore, the official's decision to re-administer the throw-in to Team A is correct in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    Following a successful field goal, B-1 's throw-in is touched by B-2 but not controlled and rolls toward the comer in the backcourt. Official starts the 10-second count. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, once the ball has been touched by a player from the team that is entitled to throw it in (in this case, team B), the 10-second count for the team to advance the ball into the frontcourt begins. If the ball is touched but not controlled by the player designated to throw it in, as in the scenario described with player B-2, the count still starts. As the ball is rolling towards the backcourt, it indicates that team B has not successfully advanced the ball into the frontcourt within the allocated 10 seconds, thus the official is correct in starting the 10-second count.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    During A-1 's free throw, B-1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane.A-2 then steps into the lane prior to the ball hitting the ring, backboard, or the free throw ending. A-2 then commits basket interference. Official awards A-1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct'?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    According to basketball rules, players from the opposing team (Team B in this case) are not allowed to enter the lane until the ball hits the rim or backboard, or until the free throw ends. In the scenario described, B-1 entered the lane prematurely, followed by A-2. Subsequently, A-2 committed basket interference, which is a violation. In such cases, the official awards the shooting team (Team A) a substitute free throw, as the original free throw attempt was disrupted by the violations. Therefore, the official's decision to award A-1 a substitute free throw is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    After rebounding the basketball, A-1 has the elbows extended in a stationary position when contact occurs with B-1. The official has the option of ruling the contact was incidental or a common foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a player rebounds the basketball and has their elbows extended in a stationary position, contact with an opponent can occur. The official has the discretion to determine whether the contact was incidental or a common foul based on the severity and nature of the contact. Incidental contact refers to minor or unintentional contact that does not affect the play, while a common foul is called for more significant contact that impacts the opponent's ability to play. Therefore, the official's decision to rule the contact as incidental or a common foul is correct, as it depends on the specific circumstances of the play.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    B-1 commits his/her fifth foul, but the scorer fails to notify the officials. Later in the quarter, B-1 is fouled and awarded two free throws. Following the first free throw, which is successful, the scorer notifies the official that B-1 is playing with five fouls. The official rules that Rule 2-10 applies; cancels the first free throw and have B-1 's substitute attempt the two free throws. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    According to Rule 2-10 in basketball, if a player attempts a free throw after committing their fifth foul without the scorer notifying the officials, the points scored from the free throw stand, and the game continues. The player should not be disqualified until the next dead ball or the game ends. Therefore, the official should not cancel the first free throw and have B-1's substitute attempt the two free throws. The points scored from the first free throw should count, and play should continue until the next dead ball or the end of the game, at which point B-1 would be disqualified.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    After a field goal by Team A, B-1 has the ball out of bounds when A-2 and B-2 commit a double personal foul. The official awards the ball back to Team B and rules the throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, when a double personal foul occurs during a dead ball situation, the team that has the possession arrow in their favor is typically awarded the ball for a designated spot throw-in. The possession arrow is a mechanism used to determine which team gets possession of the ball after alternating possessions. Therefore, if the official awards the ball back to Team B for a designated spot throw-in after the double personal foul, it is consistent with standard basketball rules and procedures.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    A-1 is fouled and unable to attempt the free throws because he/she is injured. A-6 replaces A-1. After A-6 is beckoned into the game the coach is told by one of the assistants that A-7 is a better free throw shooter. Coach sends A-7 to the scorer's table to replace A-6. Official allows A-7 to replace A-6. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, once a substitute player has been beckoned into the game to replace an injured player, they must enter the game before any further substitutions can occur. Therefore, the coach cannot send another player to replace the substitute player who has already been beckoned into the game. The official should not allow A-7 to replace A-6 at the scorer's table in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    Team A starters enter the court with jerseys that have a manufacturer's logo located near the shoulder seam. The official rules a manufacturer's logo may not be placed on a team jersey. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, manufacturer's logos are commonly placed on team jerseys, typically near the shoulder seam or on other designated areas. These logos are a standard part of team uniforms and are not typically considered a violation of the rules. Therefore, the official's ruling that a manufacturer's logo may not be placed on a team jersey is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    While A-1's free throw is in flight, B-1 in a marked lane space enters the lane. A-1's free throw hits the ring and bounces straight up, and hits a wire over the basket. The official rules a double free-throw violation.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    According to basketball rules, a free throw violation occurs when a non-shooter steps into or out of the lane before the ball leaves the shooter's hand. In this scenario, if B-1 entered the lane prematurely and the free throw was unsuccessful, the shooter should be awarded a substitute free throw.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    The fourth quarter ends with the score tied. Team A has used all its time-outs in regulation play. Team A requests to use the additional time-out in the extra period prior to the ball becoming live. Official grants the extra period time-out. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, teams are not allowed to use additional timeouts during overtime periods if they have already exhausted their timeouts during regulation play. Once regulation play ends and the game goes into overtime, no additional timeouts are permitted. Therefore, the official should not grant Team A's request for an extra period timeout in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    While A-1's throw-in is in flight, A-2 commits a common foul on B-2. Team B is in the bonus. The official rules a team control foul. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, a team control foul occurs when an offensive player commits a foul and his team is in control of the ball. However, in this scenario, A-1 is in the process of throwing the ball in, which means possession has not been established by either team yet. Therefore, the foul committed by A-2 on B-2 should be ruled as a common foul, not a team-control foul. Since Team B is in the bonus, B-2 should be awarded free throws for the foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    A-5 is charged with his/her fifth foul. The official notifies the head coach and instructs the timer to start the replacement interval of time. Prior to A-6 reporting, B-6 and B-7 report to enter the game. The official denies B-6 and B-7 from entering the game. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    According to basketball rules, coaches are allowed to substitute players on and off the court during dead-ball situations, such as after fouls, violations, timeouts, free throws, etc. Therefore, if A-5 commits their fifth foul and a dead-ball situation is created, the coach of Team B should have the opportunity to substitute players, including B-6 and B-7, into the game. The official was incorrect to deny B-6 and B-7 from entering the game during this dead-ball situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    To start the first extra period, jumper A-1 taps the ball. Before either team gains control, A-2 commits an intentional personal foul. The official instructs the scorer to set the possession arrow when he/she places the ball at the disposal of the free thrower. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when an intentional personal foul occurs before either team gains control of the ball, the possession arrow should not be set. Instead, the ball should be put back into play with a jump ball situation at the center circle. Therefore, the official should not instruct the scorer to set the possession arrow in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    A-1 intercepts a pass and, while in the air, throws the ball to the floor. A-1 returns to the floor and continues the dribble. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, a player is allowed to intercept a pass and throw the ball to the floor while in the air as long as they release the ball before returning to the floor themselves. If the player returns to the floor and continues the dribble without traveling or committing any other violation, it is considered a legal play. Therefore, the official's ruling in this scenario is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a free throw, B-1 leaves the first marked lane space and heads to the bench. Free thrower A-1 passes the ball to the official. The official rules a double free throw violation. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, leaving the marked lane space before the ball is released by the shooter during a free throw attempt constitutes a lane violation, not a double free throw violation. Additionally, if B-1 left the lane space before the ball was released, the correct ruling would be a lane violation against Team B. The shooter should be given another free throw attempt if the original attempt was missed, or the point should be awarded if the original attempt was successful. Therefore, the official's ruling of a double free throw violation is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    A-1 is fouled and erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds instead of a one and one. A-1 inbounds the ball to A-2, who is tied up, resulting in a held ball. The error is now recognized. The possession arrow favors Team A. The official awards A-1 the one and one with players occupying the marked lane spaces. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when an error is recognized, the game should be corrected to the best of the officials' ability. In this scenario, since A-1 was erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds instead of a one-and-one opportunity, the correct action would be to nullify the previous play and award A-1 the one-and-one free throw opportunity. The fact that players are currently occupying the marked lane spaces does not affect this ruling. Therefore, the official should not award A-1 the one-and-one with players occupying the marked lane spaces, but rather correct the error by awarding A-1 the one-and-one opportunity.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    A-1 is injured and directed to leave the game. The official notifies the coach that a replacement is required. The official instructs the timer to start the 20 second clock. Following the start of the clock, the head coach now requests a time-out to keep A-1 in the game. The official grants the request. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, once a player is directed to leave the game due to injury and the replacement process has begun, a timeout cannot be used to keep the injured player in the game. Once the replacement process has started, it must be completed, and the injured player cannot return until the next opportunity for substitution. Therefore, the official should not have granted the coach's request for a timeout to keep A-1 in the game once the replacement process had begun.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    Team A's school colors are red and green. A-1 enters the court wearing a white headband and wristband and a red leg compression sleeve. The official rules the leg sleeve must be the same color as the headband and wristband. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, according to the rules regarding uniform and equipment, players are generally allowed to wear accessories such as headbands, wristbands, and leg sleeves as long as they do not pose a safety risk or provide a competitive advantage. However, there is typically no requirement for these accessories to match the team's colors. As long as the accessories do not violate any other uniform rules, such as being too large or containing inappropriate logos, they are usually permitted. Therefore, the official's ruling that the leg sleeve must match the colors of the headband and wristband is not correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    Team member A-1 brought the wrong uniform. With 8 minutes on the clock, he/she switches with a teammate. With 2 minutes on the clock, it is discovered that starter B-1 is wearing a jersey different from the one indicated in the scorebook. The official rules the infractions are treated as occurring at approximately the same time, rule a double technical foul, and resume play at the point of interruption. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In basketball, when uniform infractions occur, they are typically handled individually and not treated as simultaneous violations. Each infraction should be addressed separately based on when it occurred. In this scenario, Team member A-1 bringing the wrong uniform and switching with a teammate happened earlier in the game than the discovery that starter B-1 was wearing the wrong jersey. Therefore, the official should address each infraction separately rather than issuing a double technical foul. The game should resume at the point of interruption for each individual infraction.

    Rate this question:

Danielle Shafer |Bachelor Degree - Sports Management |
Basketball Expert
Danielle holds a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham and a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012. As our basketball aficionado, she brings her A-game to review our hoops quizzes. With a slam dunk career in sports marketing and a passion for the game, she ensures our basketball quizzes hit nothing but net. Let Dainelle be your guide to the ultimate basketball quiz experience!

Related Topics

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.