IAABO: Hardest Trivia Quiz On Basketball

75 Questions | Total Attempts: 242

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
IAABO: Hardest Trivia Quiz On Basketball

Every fame has a set of rules to follow, and this being said, some people are put in place to ensure that they are followed to the letter to ensure fairness and a clean game. Below is a 2009-2010 IAABO Basketball Refresher Test for all non-candidates. Do give it a try and see if you stand a chance.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    A-1, while dribbling in the frontcourt, has the ball deflected into the backcourt by B-1.  When A-1 regains control in the backcour, the official begins the 10 second count.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      YES

    • B. 

      NO

  • 2. 
    A-1's throw-in is caught by B-2 while touching the boundary line.  The official rules a throw-in violation and awards the ball to Team B at the spot of the throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 3. 
    A-1's 2nd free throw hits the ring and comes to rest on the flange.  Since the ball is motionless, the official sounds the whistle.  The free throws were the result of A-1 being fouled by B-1 on an unsuccessful try.  The official rules this is a free throw violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 4. 
    A-5 is injured and directed to the bench.  The official instructs the timer to begin the 20 second replacement interval.  A-5 is replaced as the 20 second interval expires.  Prior to the official putting the ball into play, B-6 reports to enter the game.  The official denies B-6 from entering the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 5. 
    A held ball is ruled.  The possession arrow favors Team A.  Prior to the throw-in, the head coach of Team A is assessed with a technical foul.  The official awards the Team B two free throws, awards Team B the ball for a throw-in at the division line and rules Team A retains the possession arrow.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 6. 
    A-1 enters the game wearing an illegal jersey.  The official fails to recognize it until A-1 has been playing for 4 minutes.  The official stops play and charges the head coach with a direct technical foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 7. 
    While A-1's second free throw of two is in flight, the official assesses a double personal foul.  The try is successful.  The offical counts the free throw and awards the ball to Team B for the throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 8. 
    Free thrower A-1 fackes the release of the ball.  The fake does not cause any opponent to commit a violation.  The offical charges A-1 with a violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 9. 
    A-1's dribble strickes B-1's foot causing the ball to bounce away from A-1.  A-1 recovers the ball by catching with both hands and begins to dribble.  The official rules that this is a legal play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 10. 
    A-1 is attempting a throw-in.  Before the throw-in ends, B-2 fouls A-2.  Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in.  Thower-in A-1 commits a throw-in violation.  The official is now notified the the foul by B-2 was the 7th team foul.  The official awards A-2 the one and one with players occupying the marked lane spaces and plays of the make or miss.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 11. 
    While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a throw-in, A-2 is charged with a common foul.  Team B is in the bonus.  The official rules this a team control foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 12. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1.  The official awards the ball back to Team A and rules the throw-in is an alternating possession throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 13. 
    A-6 and A-7 leave the bench and enter the playing court because a fight has broken out between A-1 and B-1.  A-6 and A-7 participate in the fight.  No other bench personnel for either team enter the court.  B-1, A-1, A-6 and A-7 are charged with flagrant technical fouls.  Two indirect technical fouls are charged to Team A's head coach, three team fouls are charged to Team A and one team foul is charged to Team B.  Team B is awarded four free throws and the ball at the division line.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 14. 
    While the ball is in flight on a pass from A-1 to A-2, A-3 and B-3 commit a double personal foul.  The official awards the ball back to Team A nearest to where A-1 was last in contact with the ball.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 15. 
    One minute prior to starting the game, the Team A coach changes a designated starter.  It is not because of necessity.  The official assesses a technical foul to Team A.  Prior to the start of the second quarter the coach adds two names to the squad list.  The official assesses another technical foul to Team A.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 16. 
    A held ball is ruled.  The possession arrow favors Team A.  The official mistakenly gives the ball to Team B at Team A's basket.  B-1 inbounds the ball to B-2, who is confused and scores in Team A's basket.  The mistake is now recognized.  The official counts the basket for Team A, awards the ball to Team B and rules Team B may move along the end line and informs the coach and ths scorer that Team A will retain the arrow.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 17. 
    After the first half ends, the scorer informs the referee that player number 24, who was playing when the half ended, is not in the scorebook.  Number 24 did not score or commit a foul while in the game.  The referee informs the scorer that, if number 24 doesn't start the second half, no penalty will be assessed.  Is the referee correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 18. 
    As A-1 is chasing his/her interrupted dribble, A-1 steps on the boundary line.  When A-1 catches up to the ball and continues the dribble, the official rules A-1 is out of bounds and awards the ball to Team B.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 19. 
    While Team A is in control, a double personal foul is committed.  The official awards the ball back to Team A nearest to where the foul occurred.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 20. 
    Following a common foul by A-1 and prior to the bonus, the official is ready to put the ball in play but team B is huddling  and no player is available to take the ball.  The official assesses a technical foul to Team B for delaying the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 21. 
    During the intermission between the 1st and 2nd quarter, A-1 is assessed a technical foul and an indirect technical foul is charged to the head coach.  The coach questions why he/she is also charged.  the official informs the coach that during an intermission, team members are bench personnel.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 22. 
    While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2.  The ball enters the basket.  Team B is not in the bonus.  The official rules Team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 23. 
    A-1 and A-2 are injured on the same play.  The coacah wants to keep both players in the game.  The offical rules Team A will have to request a time-out for each player to keep both in the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 24. 
    A-1 is fouled by B-1.  It is Team B's 7th team foul of the half.  The official erroneously awards the player two free throws instead of the one and one.  A-1's first attempt is unsuccessful.  The missed free throw is rebounded by A-2 who scores while all the other players were inactive.  The mistake is recognized.  The official cancels the score and resumes play using the alternating possession procedure.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 25. 
    During an interrupted dribble, the official inadvertently blows the whistle.  the official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 26. 
    As the official bounces the ball to A-1 for his/her second free throw, B-2 steps into the lane and requests a time-out before A-1 catches the ball.  The official grants the request.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 27. 
    A-6 and B-6, who ave legally reported to eneter the game are at the scorer's table, when B-5 fouls A-5 and A-5 is awarded two free throws.  It is B-5's fifth foul.  The official allows the player who is replacing B-5 and A-6 and B-6 to enter the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 28. 
    Following a violation by Team A, Team A is granted a time-out.  As the teams come back on the floor, the official mistakenly awards the ball to Team A.  After the ball is legally touched inbounds, themistake is recognized.  The official rules the time frame to correct has expired and no correction can be made.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 29. 
    While the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1, the official notices that A-2, in a marked lane space does not have one foot near the outer edge of the free throw lane line.  The official rules this a violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 30. 
    While the ball is in the air on a jump ball to start the extra period, B-2 intentionally fouls A-2.  The official has the scorer set the possession arrow when he/she hands the ball to A-2 for the first free throw.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 31. 
    A-1's 2nd free throw hits the ring and comes to rest on the flange.  As the ball is motionless, the official sounds the whistle.  The free throws were the results of a technical foul.  The official resumes play by awarding the Team A the ball at the division line.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 32. 
    A-1 is fouled and erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds.  Following the throw-in, B-1 intercepts a pass, but fumbles the ball back to A-2.  The error is now recognized.  The offical awards A-1 his/her one and one with no players occupying the marked lane spaces and resumes play at the point of interruption.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 33. 
    A-1 is fouled and injured on the play.  A-6 replaces A-1.  Prior to A-6 entering the semi-circle to attempt the free throws awarded to A-1, A-7 reports to replace A-6.  The official beckons A-7 into the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 34. 
    A-1 and B-1 are injured and directed to the bench to be replaced.  Both coaches want to leave their players in the game.  Team A has one 60 second time-out remaining, Team B has only one 30 second time-ou remaining.  The offical rules Team B may not use a 30 second time-out to keep his/her player in the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 35. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in by A-1, A-1 commits a throw-in violation.  The official awards the ball to Team B and instructs the scorer to thru the arrow toward Team B's basket.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 36. 
    A common foul is charged to A-1, while Team A is in control.  The official rules this a team control foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 37. 
    While the lead official is about to bounce the ball to free thrower A-1, the coach of Team A tells the official he/she wants a time-out if A-1's attempt is successful.  A-1's try is successful and the official grants Team A a time-out as requested by Team A's coach prior to the free throw.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 38. 
    Following a score and while the ball is at the disposal of Team B, A-2 and B-2 are charged with a double personal foul.  The official charges the fouls, awards the ball back to Team B and rules Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 39. 
    Team A scores.  After the ball passes through the net, A-1 purposely grabs the ball and steps out of bounds and passes to A-2, who scores.  The official stops play, charges Team A with a technical foul, disallows the basket and puts the consumed time back on the game clock.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 40. 
    Before A-1's free throw hits the ring, backboard or the free throw ends, B-1 enters the lane followed by A-2.  Both were in a marked lane space.  the official rules this a double free throw violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 41. 
    While A-1's free throw is in flight, A-2 and B-2 commit a double personal foul followed by a free throw violation by A-1.  The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure because neither team was in control.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 42. 
    Team A has been in control of the ball for 7 seconds in the backcourt.  A-1 throws a pass which hits the floor in A's frontcourt at 9 seconds.  A-2 gains control at 11 seconds.  The official rules this a 10 second violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 43. 
    A-1's throw-in under the alternating possession procedure is caught simultaneously by A-2 and B-2 causing a held ball.  The official awards the ball to Team B.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 44. 
    A-1's first free throw of two hits the rign and comes to rest on the flange.  As the ball is motionless the official sounds the whistle.  The official rules the first try is unsuccessful and awards A-1 his/her second free throw and plays off the make or miss.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 45. 
    A-1 near a boundary line, jumps into the air and intercepts a pass from B-1.  A-1's momentum will cause him/her to land out of bounds.  A-1 requests a time-out.  The official denies the request.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 46. 
    With 3 tenths of a second remaining in the fourth quarter Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds under its basket with Team B leading 50-49.  Team A is not in the bonus.  A-1 lobs a pass to A-2, who taps the ball toward his/her basket and is fouled before the signal sounds indicating time has expired.  The tap is unsuccessful.  The official rules B-1's foul is considered in the act of tapping and awards two free throws.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 47. 
    A-1, dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt, has both feet in the frontcourt but is dribbling in the backcourt.  The official continues the 10 second count.  Prior to the official reaching the count of ten, B-1, who is in the frontcourt of Team A, bats the ball into the backcourt.  The official continues the ten second count.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 48. 
    During a designated spot throw-in, A-1 fumbles the ball which rolls several feet away.  A-1 leaves the designated spot, retrieves the ball, returns to the original throw-in spot and releases the ball prior to the five second count expiring.  The official rules this a legal play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 49. 
    A-1, prior to dribbling, passes the ball to A-2.  A-2 does not see the pass.  A-1 runs across the court and recovers the ball with both hands after the ball has hit the floor.  A-1 then begins a dribble.  The official rules this an illegal dribble.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 50. 
    Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ball is in control of Team A and while the ball is live and the clock is running.  The officials are unaware that Team B has 6 players in the game.  B-6 returns to the bench after which Team A commits a violation.  The scorer now informs the officials that Team B had 6 players on the court.  The referee rules no technical foul can be charged.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 51. 
    Following a score by Team A and while the ball is at the disposal of Team B, A-1 commits an intentional personal foul on B-2 near the end line.  The official awards B-2 two free throws, awards the ball b ack to Team B and rules that Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 52. 
    While A-1 has the ball to attempt a free throw, A-2 commits a common foul on B-2.  The official rules this a team control foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 53. 
    During A-1's interrupted dribble, a double personal foul is charged.  The official awards the ball back to Team A out of bounds nearest to where the ball was located.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 54. 
    While A-1's try is in flight, time expires in the third quarter.  Prior to the try ending, A-2 is charged with a technical foul.  The official starts the fourth quarter by administering the free throws for the technical foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 55. 
    Jumper A-1 taps the ball which is touched simultaneously by A-2 and B-2 and deflected out of bounds before either team gains control.  The official rules a jump ball involving the original jumpers.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 56. 
    A-1's throw-in is deflected by B-2.  While the ball is loose, A-2 commits a common foul on B-2.  Team B is in the bonus.  The official rules this a team control foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 57. 
    Following a goal by A-1, A-2 purposly grabs the ball and inbounds it to A-1, who scores, followed by a throw-in by Team B.  After a brief discussion the official rules the unauthorized throw-in is too late to correct because it had to be discovered before the next throw-in begins following the score by Team A.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 58. 
    While A-1 has the ball for a throw-in, the timer erroneously starts the game clock.  The official sounds the whistle and stops play.  As the official is having the timer put the time back on the clock, A-6 reports to enter the game.  The official beckons A-6 into the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 59. 
    While A-1 has control in the backcourt, A-1 passes the ball into the frontcourt where it hits an official and rebounds into the backcourt without the ball touching the floor and this is touched by A-1.  The official rules this is a backcourt violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 60. 
    B-1 is bleeding.  The official stops the game and directs B-1 to the bench.  As B-1 is being attended by the trainer, Team A requests and is granted a time-out.  Following the time-out, B-1 is ready to resume play and enters the court.  The official allows B-1 to continue to play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 61. 
    A-1 while airborne, taps the ball to the floor.  A-1, returns to the floor, catches the ball and begins a dribble.  The official rules this a double dribble.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 62. 
    Thrower-in A-1's pass is intentionally kicked by B-1.  The timer starts the game clock and one second elapses.  The official instructs the timer to put one second back on the clock.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 63. 
    The game ends with the score tied.  Team A has used all its time-outs in regulation play.  Team A requests to use the additional time-out prior to the ball becoming live in the extra period.  The official grants the time-out.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 64. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in, the official awards the ball to Team A instead of Team B.  Team A commits a violation before the ball is legally touched inbounds.  The official awards the ball to Team B and rules this is still an alternating possession throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 65. 
    A-1 is in the act of shooting when B-2 fouls A-2 away from the ball.  A-1 continues the motion and scores.  The official disallows the basket stating continuous motion only applies if the shooter is fouled.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 66. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in by Team A, B-1 breaks the plane of the boundary line.  The official stops play, issues a warning to Team B, awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still and alternating possession throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 67. 
    A-2 catches a pass from A-1 while airbourne.  A-2 throws the ball to the floor, returns to the floor, catches the ball with both hands and begins a dribble.  The official rules this a legal play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 68. 
    A-1 in the frontcourt passes to A-2 in the frontcourt.  The pass is muffed by A-2 and touches an official who is touching the division line.  A-2 catches the ball in the frontcourt without the ball touching the floor at any time.  The official rules this is a backcourt violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 69. 
    A-1 is fouled as the signal sounds indicating time has expired in the fourth quarter.  Team B is leading 60 to 59.  Team A is in the bonus.  Before A-1 attempts the first free throw, Team B requests and is granted a time-out.  The first free throw is administered and is successful.  Following the attempt, Team B requests another time-out.  The official grants the request ruling the ball became live between the two requests.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 70. 
    A-1 scores.  A-2 purposely grabs the ball and inbounds it to A-1 who is fouled by B-1.  It is now recognized that Team A had an unauthorized throw-in.  The official charges Team A with a technical foul, puts the consumed time back on the game clock and cancels B-1's common foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 71. 
    Team A is leading Team B by 5 points with 2 seconds remaining in the game.  Airborne player B-1 is attempting a 3 point try and is fouled by A-1.  B-1 releases the ball and prior to airborne shooter B-1 returning to the floor, A-2 is charged with a blocking foul on B-1 as time expires.  The official rules this is a false multiple foul, awards B-1 three free throws for each foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 72. 
    A-1 and B-1 both have blood on their uniforms and are directed to the bench.  The coach of Team A takes a time-out to keep A-1 in the game.  The coach of Team B chose to substitute for B-1.  The clock operator is directed to start the 20 second clock interval to replace B-1.  After the first horn sounds, the coach of Team B now informs the official he/she wants to take a time-out to keep B-1 in the game.  the official rules B-1 must be replaced.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 73. 
    The coach of Team A is signaling for a time-out both visibly and orally but is not able to get either official's attention.  The coach goes to the scorer's table and has the timer sound the horn.  The official stops play to confer with the coach, who informs them he/she has been trying to get a time-out.  The official charges the coach with a technical foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 74. 
    A-1 is straddling the division line while holding the ball.  A-1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt and then starts a dribble by pushing the ball to the floor in the backcourt.  When A-1 touches the ball after it bounces off the floor, the official rules this a backcourt violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 75. 
    As the official is checking the official score book, Team A has team members with No. 0 and No. 00.  No. 0 is listed as a starter.  With 4 minutes to remain in the first quarter, No. 00 replaces No. 0.  The official charges the head coach with a direct technical foul for an illegal uniform.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No