IAABO: Hardest Trivia Quiz On Basketball

75 Questions | Total Attempts: 262

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
IAABO: Hardest Trivia Quiz On Basketball

Every fame has a set of rules to follow, and this being said, some people are put in place to ensure that they are followed to the letter to ensure fairness and a clean game. Below is a 2009-2010 IAABO Basketball Refresher Test for all non-candidates. Do give it a try and see if you stand a chance.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    A-1, while dribbling in the frontcourt, has the ball deflected into the backcourt by B-1.  When A-1 regains control in the backcour, the official begins the 10 second count.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      YES

    • B. 

      NO

  • 2. 
    A-1's throw-in is caught by B-2 while touching the boundary line.  The official rules a throw-in violation and awards the ball to Team B at the spot of the throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 3. 
    A-1's 2nd free throw hits the ring and comes to rest on the flange.  Since the ball is motionless, the official sounds the whistle.  The free throws were the result of A-1 being fouled by B-1 on an unsuccessful try.  The official rules this is a free throw violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 4. 
    A-5 is injured and directed to the bench.  The official instructs the timer to begin the 20 second replacement interval.  A-5 is replaced as the 20 second interval expires.  Prior to the official putting the ball into play, B-6 reports to enter the game.  The official denies B-6 from entering the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 5. 
    A held ball is ruled.  The possession arrow favors Team A.  Prior to the throw-in, the head coach of Team A is assessed with a technical foul.  The official awards the Team B two free throws, awards Team B the ball for a throw-in at the division line and rules Team A retains the possession arrow.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 6. 
    A-1 enters the game wearing an illegal jersey.  The official fails to recognize it until A-1 has been playing for 4 minutes.  The official stops play and charges the head coach with a direct technical foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 7. 
    While A-1's second free throw of two is in flight, the official assesses a double personal foul.  The try is successful.  The offical counts the free throw and awards the ball to Team B for the throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 8. 
    Free thrower A-1 fackes the release of the ball.  The fake does not cause any opponent to commit a violation.  The offical charges A-1 with a violation.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 9. 
    A-1's dribble strickes B-1's foot causing the ball to bounce away from A-1.  A-1 recovers the ball by catching with both hands and begins to dribble.  The official rules that this is a legal play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 10. 
    A-1 is attempting a throw-in.  Before the throw-in ends, B-2 fouls A-2.  Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in.  Thower-in A-1 commits a throw-in violation.  The official is now notified the the foul by B-2 was the 7th team foul.  The official awards A-2 the one and one with players occupying the marked lane spaces and plays of the make or miss.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 11. 
    While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a throw-in, A-2 is charged with a common foul.  Team B is in the bonus.  The official rules this a team control foul.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 12. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in, A-1's throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1.  The official awards the ball back to Team A and rules the throw-in is an alternating possession throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 13. 
    A-6 and A-7 leave the bench and enter the playing court because a fight has broken out between A-1 and B-1.  A-6 and A-7 participate in the fight.  No other bench personnel for either team enter the court.  B-1, A-1, A-6 and A-7 are charged with flagrant technical fouls.  Two indirect technical fouls are charged to Team A's head coach, three team fouls are charged to Team A and one team foul is charged to Team B.  Team B is awarded four free throws and the ball at the division line.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 14. 
    While the ball is in flight on a pass from A-1 to A-2, A-3 and B-3 commit a double personal foul.  The official awards the ball back to Team A nearest to where A-1 was last in contact with the ball.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 15. 
    One minute prior to starting the game, the Team A coach changes a designated starter.  It is not because of necessity.  The official assesses a technical foul to Team A.  Prior to the start of the second quarter the coach adds two names to the squad list.  The official assesses another technical foul to Team A.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 16. 
    A held ball is ruled.  The possession arrow favors Team A.  The official mistakenly gives the ball to Team B at Team A's basket.  B-1 inbounds the ball to B-2, who is confused and scores in Team A's basket.  The mistake is now recognized.  The official counts the basket for Team A, awards the ball to Team B and rules Team B may move along the end line and informs the coach and ths scorer that Team A will retain the arrow.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 17. 
    After the first half ends, the scorer informs the referee that player number 24, who was playing when the half ended, is not in the scorebook.  Number 24 did not score or commit a foul while in the game.  The referee informs the scorer that, if number 24 doesn't start the second half, no penalty will be assessed.  Is the referee correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 18. 
    As A-1 is chasing his/her interrupted dribble, A-1 steps on the boundary line.  When A-1 catches up to the ball and continues the dribble, the official rules A-1 is out of bounds and awards the ball to Team B.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 19. 
    While Team A is in control, a double personal foul is committed.  The official awards the ball back to Team A nearest to where the foul occurred.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 20. 
    Following a common foul by A-1 and prior to the bonus, the official is ready to put the ball in play but team B is huddling  and no player is available to take the ball.  The official assesses a technical foul to Team B for delaying the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 21. 
    During the intermission between the 1st and 2nd quarter, A-1 is assessed a technical foul and an indirect technical foul is charged to the head coach.  The coach questions why he/she is also charged.  the official informs the coach that during an intermission, team members are bench personnel.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 22. 
    While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2.  The ball enters the basket.  Team B is not in the bonus.  The official rules Team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 23. 
    A-1 and A-2 are injured on the same play.  The coacah wants to keep both players in the game.  The offical rules Team A will have to request a time-out for each player to keep both in the game.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 24. 
    A-1 is fouled by B-1.  It is Team B's 7th team foul of the half.  The official erroneously awards the player two free throws instead of the one and one.  A-1's first attempt is unsuccessful.  The missed free throw is rebounded by A-2 who scores while all the other players were inactive.  The mistake is recognized.  The official cancels the score and resumes play using the alternating possession procedure.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 25. 
    During an interrupted dribble, the official inadvertently blows the whistle.  the official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play.  Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No