Scvaa Basketball Referee Quiz

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Kenkenson
K
Kenkenson
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 2,720
| Attempts: 2,720 | Questions: 38
Please wait...
Question 1 / 38
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. RED P1 steals the ball and dribbles down court for a fast break layup.  Before he puts the shot up, WHITE P1 pushes him from behind hard into the end wall and he is too injured to continue.  RED P2 comes in and pushes the player that just committed the foul.

Explanation

Answer: B. A hard push from behind is a flagrant foul (even if the player was NOT hurt. Retaliation is never allowed, therefore a 2nd Technical is also called. If RED P2 takes swing or throws an elbow, he too would get a flagrant foul.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Scvaa Basketball Referee Quiz - Quiz

In the following game scenarios, circle the proper call that should be made. Note: RED=Team Red, WHITE=Team White, P1=Player 1, P2=Player 2, ….

2.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

Double dribble refers to a violation in basketball where a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or stops dribbling and then starts again. This signal is used by referees to indicate that a double dribble has occurred during the game.

Submit
3.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

Traveling

Submit
4.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to a technical foul. A technical foul is called when a player or coach violates certain rules or displays unsportsmanlike conduct. The signal is used by the referee to indicate that a technical foul has been assessed against a player or coach.

Submit
5.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to the action of blocking in a sports game. Blocking is a defensive move where a player uses their body or hands to impede the progress of an opponent. It is often used in sports like basketball or volleyball to prevent the opposing team from scoring or gaining an advantage.

Submit
6.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

The signal "5...5...5 dollar foot long!" is referring to the 5 second rule. This signal is commonly used in basketball games to indicate that a player has held the ball for more than 5 seconds, resulting in a turnover. The other options mentioned, such as palming and double dribble, are also basketball violations but are not related to the specific signal mentioned in the question.

Submit
7.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to the act of "Holding" in a sports game. Holding typically refers to a player using their hands or arms to restrict the movement of an opponent, which is considered a foul in many sports such as basketball, football, and rugby. The signal is used by referees to indicate that a holding foul has been committed by a player during the game.

Submit
8.  RED P1 is passing the ball inbounds from under her own basket.  Before she can pass it in bounds, WHITE P1 slaps the ball out of her hands.

Explanation

Answer: B. I was actually corrected on this. If the defensive player slaps the ball out the passers hands it should be a Technical Foul (no warning given). If the defensive player reaches across the vertical plane of the out-of-bounds line, a team warning is given, followed by a Technical on the 2nd occurrence. Be sure to clearly tell all players and coaches when you give this warning. Also, be sure to give the passer adequate room, by backing up the defensive player if there is not enough room on the sideline (like at SJHS).

Submit
9. WHITE P1 shoots a shot from the baseline.  The shot hits the side of the backboard and comes right back to P1.  She puts another shot up and makes the basket.

Explanation

Answer: B. The side of the basket is in play, unless it bounces behind the basket.

Submit
10. RED P1 steals the ball and dribbles down court for a fast break layup.  As he puts the shot up, WHITE P1 fouls him hard while trying to block the shot.  RED P2 comes in and takes a punch at the player that just committed the foul because he said “it was a cheap foul”.

Explanation

Answer: C. The player attempted to block the shot, so it most cases it would be a normal foul. The retaliation foul was a punch and is therefore a flagrant foul. The 2 free throws should be shot with no one in the rebounding lane positions, since WHITE automatically gets the ball.

Submit
11. RED shoots a free throw that hits the front of the rim, then bounces up and this the top of the backboard, then it falls down and goes in without hitting anything else

Explanation

Answer: B.

Submit
12. RED P1 sets a good screen near mid-court.  WHITE P1 doesn’t see the screen and runs into it hard, causing him to fall down and get hurt.  The WHITE coach yells for a flagrant foul.

Explanation

Answer: D. If the screen was legal, there is no call. If the defender knocks the screening player to the ground, a foul would be called on the defender.

Submit
13.

Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to a foul in the game.

Submit
14.

Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

3 seconds in lane.

Submit
15.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to the visible count.

Submit
16. RED P1 is shooting 2 free throws.  RED P2 & P3 are positioned properly in their rebounding blocks. The ref hands P1 the ball, then RED P4 comes in the lane to trade places with RED P2 before the shot.  P1 then shoots and makes the free throw.

Explanation

Answer: B. Once the ball is handed to the shooter, players may not move in or out of the their lane positions.

Submit
17. RED P1 travels with the ball.  What should referee do?

Explanation

Answer: C. Remember, it is a 4 stop process – take your time. We tend to hurry too much.

Submit
18. Why do I want to referee VAA basketball?

Explanation

Answer: D Here’s a freebie. We want you to improve, so you can give the players, coaches and fans what they deserve – a well officiated basketball game. Oh, the cash doesn’t hurt either.

Submit
19.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to a hand check. A hand check is a defensive move where a player uses their hand(s) to impede the progress of an offensive player. The referee signals a hand check by extending one arm horizontally and making a pushing motion with their hand.

Submit
20. RED P1 is taking the ball out under his own basket.  His teammate P5 is 6’5” and standing right in the middle of the lane and does not move.  P1 waits a full 4 seconds and lobs it to P5, who makes 2 dribbles to the basket and scores an easy layup.  WHITE coach yells for a 3 second lane violation.

Explanation

Answer: B. The 3 seconds in the lane does not start until the ball is in play. Once player in the lane receives the pass, he is given additional time, as long as he is progress towards the basket.

Submit
21. RED P1 passes the ball to P2, who drops it then picks it up off the bounce with both hands.  He then makes a dribble drive to the basket.  The WHITE coach yells for a double dribble call.

Explanation

Answer: B. A drop to the floor is not considered a dribble, since it was not intentional. However, if the player dribbles it to retain possession, then it would be considered a dribble. This was also a rule change several years ago, so coaches may not be aware of this.

Submit
22. After a made basket by RED, WHITE P1 goes beyond the base line and legally passes to P2.  P2 says, “I’m supposed to take the ball out”, and he walks beyond the base line and legally passes back to P1.

Explanation

Answer: C. The ball is in play once it is legally passed in. This happens a lot in VAA.

Submit
23. P1 drives and takes a short 6-foot shot. Her shot is well short and does not hit the rim. The same player, P1, gets the rebound, dribbles one time, and makes a short shot. What is the correct call?

Explanation

Since Player 1 (P1) took a shot that did not hit the rim, got the rebound herself, and then dribbled before making another shot, there is no violation. A player is allowed to retrieve their own missed shot and dribble again, as long as the ball was not passed to themself or intentionally fumbled. Thus, the correct call is "No call."

Submit
24.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to an intentional foul.

Submit
25.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to a violation.

Submit
26. RED is down 3 points with 2 minutes left and calls a time out.  When they return, they bring in their best player as a substitute.  No one notices the substitution, until the players hits a 3 pointer with 1 minute remaining, at which time the WHITE head coach objects to the substitution.

Explanation

Answer: A. Again, this is not a NHSL rule, but it is a VAA rule. It is not the ultimate responsibility of the referee to enforce substitutions, and we don’t require players to check-in with the book. It is really up to the coaches, their assistants or scorekeeper to detect this. In the VAA rules, the penalty is a Bench Technical Foul.

Submit
27.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to the action of Palming.

Submit
28.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to a Timeout.

Submit
29.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

This signal refers to the call of "Player control".

Submit
30. A VAA 4th grade game is tied with 2 minutes left.  RED applies a full court man-to-man press.  WHITE P1 knows the defense cannot steal off the dribble, so he casually dribbles up court, but RED P5 is playing such tight defense that the offensive player dribbles it off the defensive players foot and it rolls back to the baseline, at which time 10 seconds have been run off the clock.

Explanation

Answer: D In 4th grade, you can press the last 2 minutes of the game, however, you still cannot steal off the dribble until the free throw line extended. In this case, the defender did not steal the ball, he only played tough defense, therefore, it should be a 10 second violation. To be a kicking violation, the defender would have had to play it with his foot. In this case, the tough defense caused the dribbler to bounce it off the defenders foot.

Submit
31.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

A double foul occurs when two opposing players commit fouls against each other simultaneously. This means that both players are at fault and the penalties cancel each other out. Therefore, the signal for a double foul refers to a situation where two players have committed fouls against each other at the same time.

Submit
32. RED P1 dribbles across mid-court and the defensive player swipes at the ball, knocking it off P1’s arm and into the backcourt.  P1 retrieves the ball and dribbles back into the front court.

Explanation

Answer: B. This is over-and-back, since RED had the last possession, and they were also the last team to touch it before it went into the backcourt. If it had not touched RED’s hand before going into the backcourt, there would be no call.

Submit
33. Defensive player P1 dives on a loose ball, quickly gets up and starts his dribble up court.  After he crosses center court, he is bumped backwards by his own teammate P2 and touches the center court line.

Explanation

Answer: C. You cannot get up from a knee or laying position, unless you dribble the ball while doing so. Be sure to explain this to all players when it happens. It likely won’t happen again the rest of the year.

Submit
34. RED hits a basket with 8 seconds left to tie the game.  An assistant coach on WHITE immediately calls a timeout, so the ref blows his whistle and awards the timeout.  It is then discovered that both teams have already used their game allotment of 2 timeouts.

Explanation

Answer: C. Be sure who the Head Coach is and look for the timeout signal, rather than just listening.

Submit
35. In a “No press allowed game situation”, RED makes a basket.  WHITE P1 attempts to make a pass to P2 at half court, but hits a retreating defender in the back.  Another defender picks up the loose ball and goes in for a layup.  What’s the call?

Explanation

Answer: C. The key question here is; is this considered a backcourt press? It is a bit strange, because the retreating player is not trying to press, but the aggressiveness of the offensive team pushing the ball upcourt. However, I have seen it called this way more than once in MYAS & Traveling tournaments. This, obviously, is not a NHSL rule.

Submit
36.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

Pushing/charging

Submit
37. In a 3rd or 4th grade game, RED is ahead by 1 point with 18 seconds left on the clock.  The ball has been advanced across mid-court and passed to P2.  If a defender is guarding him 3 feet away, and stays within that range the whole time, how much time can P2 burn off the clock before a 5 second closely guarded violation is enforced?  (count in whole seconds only)

Explanation

Answer: C. 13 seconds. He can hold it 4 seconds, then dribble for 4 seconds, then hold it for 5 seconds before the 5 second closely guarded rule would be applied. Remember this rule only applies while in the front-court, not the backcourt.

Submit
38.
Which call does this signal refer to?

Explanation

Illegal hand use

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Sep 1, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Sep 01, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Mar 11, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Kenkenson
Cancel
  • All
    All (38)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
RED P1 steals the ball and dribbles down court for a fast break...
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
 RED P1 is passing the ball inbounds from under her own...
WHITE P1 shoots a shot from the baseline.  The shot hits the side...
RED P1 steals the ball and dribbles down court for a fast break...
RED shoots a free throw that hits the front of the rim, then bounces...
RED P1 sets a good screen near mid-court.  WHITE P1 doesn’t see...
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
RED P1 is shooting 2 free throws.  RED P2 & P3 are positioned...
RED P1 travels with the ball.  What should referee do?
Why do I want to referee VAA basketball?
Which call does this signal refer to?
RED P1 is taking the ball out under his own basket.  His teammate...
RED P1 passes the ball to P2, who drops it then picks it up off the...
After a made basket by RED, WHITE P1 goes beyond the base line and...
P1 drives and takes a short 6-foot shot. Her shot is well short and...
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
RED is down 3 points with 2 minutes left and calls a time out. ...
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
Which call does this signal refer to?
A VAA 4th grade game is tied with 2 minutes left.  RED applies a...
Which call does this signal refer to?
RED P1 dribbles across mid-court and the defensive player swipes at...
Defensive player P1 dives on a loose ball, quickly gets up and starts...
RED hits a basket with 8 seconds left to tie the game.  An...
In a “No press allowed game situation”, RED makes a basket. ...
Which call does this signal refer to?
In a 3rd or 4th grade game, RED is ahead by 1 point with 18 seconds...
Which call does this signal refer to?
Alert!

Advertisement