Chair Umpire Test 2

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Officiaiting
O
Officiaiting
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 3,854
Questions: 60 | Attempts: 1,222

SettingsSettingsSettings
Chair Umpire Test 2 - Quiz

Chair umpire is the final authority on all matters regarding a tennis match. The Chair Umpire quiz below tests your knowledge on the rules and history or tennis. This quiz can also be taken by non-tennis fans as well. Enjoy.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    During a Grand Slam best-of-five sets singles match, a player takes a toilet break at the end of the first set. He returns to his chair after 45 seconds of the set break have elapsed. How many more toilet breaks is this player allowed?

    • A.

      None

    • B.

      One

    • C.

      Two

    Correct Answer
    B. One
    Explanation
    During a Grand Slam best-of-five sets singles match, players are typically allowed one toilet break per match. In this scenario, the player has already taken one toilet break at the end of the first set. Therefore, the player is allowed one more toilet break.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    On a second serve, while the server is in his motion, a ball boy drops a ball and the receiver then puts up his hand and points to the dropped ball. The serve is good. What is the correct decision?

    • A.

      Let, first serve

    • B.

      Let, second serve

    Correct Answer
    A. Let, first serve
  • 3. 

    At a Grand Slam, before a player is allowed to retire from the match the ChairUmpire must call for the trainer.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because at a Grand Slam, a player is not required to wait for the Chair Umpire to call for the trainer before retiring from the match. A player can retire at any time during the match without needing any permission or intervention from the Chair Umpire.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    At a Grand Slam, if a Medical Time Out takes place off court, the 3 minutes fortreatment starts when the player leaves the court.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    At a Grand Slam, if a Medical Time Out takes place off court, the 3 minutes for treatment does not start when the player leaves the court. This means that the time for treatment only begins once the player returns to the court and is ready to resume play. Therefore, the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    In Davis Cup, the independent (neutral) doctor is allowed to:A Go on court to evaluate a player's medical condition if requested by theReferee

    • A.

      Go on court to evaluate a player's medical condition if requested by the Referee

    • B.

      Examine a player off court if requested by the Referee

    • C.

      Both of the above

    • D.

      None of the above

    Correct Answer
    C. Both of the above
    Explanation
    In Davis Cup, the independent (neutral) doctor is allowed to go on court to evaluate a player's medical condition if requested by the referee. Additionally, the doctor is also permitted to examine a player off the court if requested by the referee. Therefore, both options are correct, as the doctor can perform medical evaluations both on and off the court if requested by the referee.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    In Davis Cup, players are allowed to wear an extra identification of their NationalTeam Sponsor on the back of their shirts and warm up jackets.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    In Davis Cup, players are not allowed to wear an extra identification of their National Team Sponsor on the back of their shirts and warm-up jackets.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Can organisers of professional tournaments apply to have extended changeoversand set breaks (i.e. more than 90 seconds and 120 seconds respectively)?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Organisers of professional tournaments can apply to have extended changeovers and set breaks. This means that they have the option to request for more than the standard 90 seconds for changeovers and 120 seconds for set breaks during the tournament. This flexibility allows organisers to tailor the tournament experience and schedule according to their specific needs and requirements.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    It has been agreed in advance that a Deciding Match Tie-Break (10 points) willbe played instead of the final set. However, the Chair Umpire and players forgetto play the Deciding Match Tie-Break and start a normal set instead. The error isdiscovered at 30-0 in the first game of the set. What is the correct decision?

    • A.

      Correct immediately to Deciding Match Tie-Break (ignore the two points that have been played)

    • B.

      Correct immediately to Deciding Match Tie-Break (count the two points @ that have been played

    • C.

      Play two games. If the score is 2-0, the player leading wins the match. If the score is 1-1, play a Deciding Match Tie-Break

    • D.

      Play the best of four games. If a player wins 3 games, he/she wins the match. If the score reaches 2-2, play a Deciding Match Tie-Break

    • E.

      Continue with the normal set for the rest of the match

    Correct Answer
    D. Play the best of four games. If a player wins 3 games, he/she wins the match. If the score reaches 2-2, play a Deciding Match Tie-Break
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to play the best of four games. If a player wins 3 games, he/she wins the match. If the score reaches 2-2, a Deciding Match Tie-Break should be played. This is because the error of forgetting to play the Deciding Match Tie-Break was discovered at 30-0 in the first game of the set. Therefore, the match should continue with the normal set for the rest of the match until a player wins 3 games or the score reaches 2-2.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    During a point, Player A hits a ball that lands in his opponent, Player B's court.The ball spins back over the net towards Player A's court. Player B leans overthe net and hits the ball back into the net. Assuming Player A is unable to reachthe ball, when is the ball dead?

    • A.

      When the ball hits the net

    • B.

      When the ball bounces in Player A's court

    • C.

      When the ball bounces twice in Player A's court

    Correct Answer
    C. When the ball bounces twice in Player A's court
    Explanation
    When the ball bounces twice in Player A's court, it is considered dead. This means that Player A has lost the point because the ball has bounced twice on their side of the court without them being able to return it.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Which of the following announcements is correct when giving a Captain's Warning in Davis Cup or Fed Cup?

    • A.

      Unsportsmanlike Conduct, Captain, First Warning, (Nation)

    • B.

      Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, First Warning, (Nation) Captain

    • C.

      First Warning, (Nation) Captain

    • D.

      First Captain's Warning, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, (Nation)

    Correct Answer
    A. Unsportsmanlike Conduct, Captain, First Warning, (Nation)
    Explanation
    In Davis Cup or Fed Cup, the correct announcement for a Captain's Warning is "Unsportsmanlike Conduct, Captain, First Warning, (Nation)." This means that the warning is being issued for unsportsmanlike conduct, it is being given by the captain, it is the first warning issued, and it is being issued to the player representing a specific nation.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    A player takes a toilet break after the first and second sets in a Men's Singlesmatch at Wimbledon. The match is suspended at 1-0 in the third set. Howmany toilet breaks is the player allowed when the match resumes the next day?

    • A.

      None

    • B.

      One

    • C.

      Two

    Correct Answer
    A. None
    Explanation
    The player is not allowed any toilet breaks when the match resumes the next day. This is because the player has already taken a toilet break after the first and second sets, and the match was suspended before the player could take another break in the third set. Therefore, no further toilet breaks are allowed when the match resumes.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Is writing allowed on a cap at Davis Cup?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    Writing is not allowed on a cap at Davis Cup.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Assume Davis Cup. What commercial identifications are allowed on player’s bags that are brought to court?

    • A.

      2 x 3 sq. inches (19.5 sq.cm)

    • B.

      2 x 4 sq. inches (26 sq.cm)

    • C.

      2 x 12 sq. inches (78 sq.cm)

    • D.

      No restriction

    Correct Answer
    B. 2 x 4 sq. inches (26 sq.cm)
    Explanation
    Players are allowed to have commercial identifications on their bags that are brought to court, and the maximum allowed size for these identifications is 2 x 4 sq. inches (26 sq.cm).

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    Writing on hats, headbands or wristbands is not allowed at Grand Slams events.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    Writing on hats, headbands, or wristbands is allowed at Grand Slam events.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    When should the Chair Umpire call “time” after a medical time out for a re-taping of the foot?

    • A.

      Following the advice of “treatment complete”

    • B.

      After the player has had time to replace the shoe and sock

    • C.

      When the trainer leaves the court

    Correct Answer
    B. After the player has had time to replace the shoe and sock
    Explanation
    After a medical time out for a re-taping of the foot, the Chair Umpire should call "time" after the player has had time to replace the shoe and sock. This is because re-taping the foot requires the player to remove their shoe and sock, and it is important to give them enough time to properly replace them before resuming the match. Calling "time" after the player has replaced their shoe and sock ensures that they are ready to continue playing without any discomfort or hindrance.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    The Team Sponsor identification usually placed on the sleeve for Davis Cup is allowed on the front of the shirt if the shirt is sleeveless.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is true because it states that the Team Sponsor identification, which is usually placed on the sleeve for Davis Cup, is allowed on the front of the shirt if the shirt is sleeveless. This means that if the shirt does not have sleeves, the Team Sponsor identification can be placed on the front of the shirt instead of the sleeve.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    If the electronic line calling system makes a clear mistake is the Chair Umpire allowed to overrule it?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    The explanation for the answer "No" is that the Chair Umpire is not allowed to overrule a clear mistake made by the electronic line calling system. The electronic line calling system is considered to be accurate and reliable, and its decisions are generally final. The Chair Umpire's role is to oversee the match and make decisions on other aspects of the game, such as player conduct and rule violations, but they do not have the authority to overrule the electronic line calling system's decisions.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    Can a Code Violation be given to a player during the warm up?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    During warm-up, players are expected to follow certain rules and regulations set by the governing body of the sport. If a player fails to comply with these rules, such as using inappropriate language, engaging in unsportsmanlike behavior, or disrespecting officials, they can be given a code violation. This penalty serves as a warning or punishment for the player's misconduct, even before the actual game or match begins. Therefore, it is possible for a player to receive a code violation during the warm-up period.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    A player goes for a toilet break at the end of the set. When she returns the Line Umpire reports to you that she washed her face but didn’t use the toilet. What do you do?

    • A.

      Soft warn the player

    • B.

      Give them a Code for Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C.

      Nothing

    Correct Answer
    B. Give them a Code for Unsportsmanlike Conduct
    Explanation
    Based on the given scenario, the player went for a toilet break but did not actually use the toilet. This behavior can be considered unsportsmanlike conduct as it goes against the rules and fair play. Therefore, giving the player a Code for Unsportsmanlike Conduct would be an appropriate response to address this behavior and ensure fair play in the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    At a WTA event can a player change their tennis attire while on an end of set toilet break?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    At a WTA event, a player is allowed to change their tennis attire during an end-of-set toilet break. This break is a designated time for players to take a short break and attend to personal needs, including changing their attire if necessary.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    At an ATP event using no ad scoring for doubles one team selects their choice of side for the deciding point. A let is then called in the middle of the point and the point is to be replayed. Can the receivers now change their choice of side to return from?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    In a doubles match using no ad scoring, each team is allowed to choose their side for the deciding point. However, if a let is called in the middle of the point and the point is replayed, the receivers cannot change their choice of side to return from. Once the initial choice of side is made, it remains the same for the entire point, even if it is replayed. Therefore, the answer is no.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    After losing a point a player comes to you pointing at one of the singles sticks, which is lying on the ground. She says that the point should be replayed. You do not know when the stick fell. What is your decision?

    • A.

      Replay the point

    • B.

      The point stands

    Correct Answer
    B. The point stands
    Explanation
    The correct decision in this situation would be to let the point stand. Since the player cannot provide any evidence or prove that the stick falling affected the outcome of the point, it would be unfair to replay the point based solely on their claim. Without any concrete information about when the stick fell or how it influenced the game, it is reasonable to maintain the original outcome of the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    A player arrives on court with their country’s name in large letters on the back of their tracksuit. What will you do?

    • A.

      Nothing, it is OK.

    • B.

      Ask him to remove it prior to warm up.

    • C.

      Ignore it and hope no one notices.

    Correct Answer
    A. Nothing, it is OK.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Nothing, it is OK." In sports, it is common for players to represent their country and show their national pride. Wearing their country's name on the back of their tracksuit is a way for them to do so. There is no harm or violation in this action, so there is no need to ask the player to remove it or ignore it.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    In a doubles match A + B versus C + D Player A hits a ball very hard and close to Player C which then goes long and is called out. You award the point to team C + D. Player B then claims the ball hit Player C and asks him if it did indeed hit him. Player C confirms that it did hit him. What is your decision?

    • A.

      Point to team A+ B

    • B.

      Point to team C+ D

    • C.

      Ask the team C + D if they wish to concede the point, and only award the point to team A + B if they agree

    • D.

      Replay point

    Correct Answer
    C. Ask the team C + D if they wish to concede the point, and only award the point to team A + B if they agree
    Explanation
    In this situation, Player B claims that the ball hit Player C, and Player C confirms that it did indeed hit him. Since Player C admits that the ball hit him, it means that the ball was not out as initially called. Therefore, the point should be awarded to team A + B. However, to ensure fairness and sportsmanship, it is appropriate to ask team C + D if they wish to concede the point. If they agree to concede, the point should be awarded to team A + B.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    A Line Umpire comes to you at the end of a point and says that a player has come up to him and said “You should give this up mate, you’re a fucking disgrace”. No one else heard this. What will you do?

    • A.

      Do nothing

    • B.

      This is a default – call the supervisor

    • C.

      Change line umpire

    • D.

      Issue a code violation

    Correct Answer
    D. Issue a code violation
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the line umpire has reported that a player made a disrespectful and offensive comment towards them. As a referee or supervisor, it is important to maintain a respectful and fair environment for all participants. Issuing a code violation to the player who made the comment is necessary to address their inappropriate behavior and uphold the standards of sportsmanship. This action sends a clear message that such language and behavior will not be tolerated on the court.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    In a singles match played with singles sticks Player A is out wide and attempts to hit around the netpost. The ball hits the netpost halfway down, but it is the slightest of touches, and it continues into court past the opponent (Player B) who cannot reach it. What is your decision?

    • A.

      Player A wins point

    • B.

      Player B wins point

    Correct Answer
    B. Player B wins point
    Explanation
    Player B wins the point. According to the rules of tennis, if the ball hits the netpost and continues into the opponent's court without being touched by the opponent, the player who hit the ball (Player A) loses the point. Since Player B cannot reach the ball, Player A's shot is considered out and Player B is awarded the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    It is a Grand Slam and 6 balls are in play. How many balls can you go down to before you have to stop play in order to replace them?

    • A.

      Two

    • B.

      Three

    • C.

      Four

    Correct Answer
    B. Three
    Explanation
    In a Grand Slam, there are typically six balls in play. As the balls get worn out or lost during the game, they need to be replaced. Since there are only six balls to begin with, you can go down to three balls before you have to stop play in order to replace them.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    As a player hits a shot a ball falls out of his pocket. You call a let but then realise that the shot went into the net. What is your decision?

    • A.

      Replay the point and advise the player that if it happens again he will lose the point.

    • B.

      Award point to the opponent

    Correct Answer
    B. Award point to the opponent
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the correct decision is to award the point to the opponent. The player's shot went into the net, which means that the ball falling out of his pocket did not affect the outcome of the point. Since the shot was not successful, the opponent should be awarded the point. Additionally, it is important to advise the player that if the same situation occurs again, he will lose the point, in order to maintain fairness and discourage any potential rule violations.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    It is a Medical Time Out and no supervisor has come to the court. The tournament doctor is present and he tells you that treatment will have to take place off court as he needs to give the player a pain killing injection. What is your decision?

    • A.

      Allow both player and doctor to leave the court.

    • B.

      You do not allow the treatment – this type of injection is not allowed

    • C.

      Insist on waiting for the supervisor being involved as this will need to be authorised first.

    Correct Answer
    B. You do not allow the treatment – this type of injection is not allowed
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "You do not allow the treatment – this type of injection is not allowed." This decision is based on the fact that the type of injection being suggested, a pain-killing injection, is not allowed according to the rules or regulations of the tournament. Therefore, it is important to adhere to the rules and not allow the treatment to take place.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    A player is wearing glasses during a match on a clay court.  At 5-4, 30-15 in the 1st set, the player falls over and his glasses break.  He asks for extra time to leave the court and change his glasses to contact lenses.  What is the correct decision? 

    • A.

      Allow the player to leave court to get contact lenses- 5 minutes maximum

    • B.

      Allow the player to leave court to get contact lenses- 15 minutes maximum

    • C.

      Allow the player to leave court to get contact lenses - “Reasonable time” allowed

    Correct Answer
    C. Allow the player to leave court to get contact lenses - “Reasonable time” allowed
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to allow the player to leave the court to get contact lenses within a "reasonable time" allowed. Since the player's glasses have broken and he is unable to continue playing without them, it is necessary for him to switch to contact lenses. Allowing him to leave the court and change his glasses to contact lenses ensures that he can continue playing the match comfortably and without any hindrance. The specific time limit is not mentioned, but it is expected that the player will return within a reasonable time frame to resume the match.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    In an ATP event, a player receives a Time Violation. After another 25 seconds, if the player is still not ready to play, what is the correct decision?

    • A.

      Issue a Time Violation

    • B.

      Issue a Code Violation

    • C.

      Say "Let's Play"

    • D.

      Immediately default player

    Correct Answer
    B. Issue a Code Violation
    Explanation
    If a player receives a Time Violation in an ATP event and after another 25 seconds they are still not ready to play, the correct decision is to issue a Code Violation. This means that the player has exceeded the time limit allowed between points and will receive a penalty. It is important to enforce the rules and regulations of the game to maintain fairness and ensure that players adhere to the time constraints during matches.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    Player A is running towards a ball in play in a doubles match. Just before he attempts to return the ball, the Chair Umpire is blocked by his partner (Player B).  The ball is returned and in play but the opponents (Players C & D) claim a “Not Up” and stop play.  The Chair Umpire could not make the call because he/she was blocked.  What is the correct decision?

    • A.

      Play a let

    • B.

      Point to players A + B

    • C.

      Point to players C + D

    Correct Answer
    B. Point to players A + B
    Explanation
    The correct decision is to point to players A + B. Since the Chair Umpire was blocked and unable to make the call, the decision falls to the players involved in the play. In this case, Player A was running towards the ball and attempted to return it, so the point should be awarded to players A + B.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    During the Deciding Match Tie-Break of an ATP doubles match, the Chair Umpire realises at 5-3 that the serving team changed the order of serving for the last point.  Should this be corrected immediately? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, the order of serving should be corrected immediately. In tennis, the order of serving is crucial as it alternates between teams after each game. If the serving order is changed incorrectly, it can disrupt the fairness and integrity of the match. The Chair Umpire has the responsibility to ensure that the rules are followed correctly, so it is necessary for them to correct the mistake promptly to maintain the integrity of the match.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    In Davis Cup, a player not wearing National Colours can conform to the Team Identification rule by:

    • A.

      Wearing a shirt with his country’s flag on the front of the shirt

    • B.

      Wearing a shirt with the name of his country on the back

    • C.

      Either of the above is OK

    Correct Answer
    B. Wearing a shirt with the name of his country on the back
    Explanation
    A player not wearing National Colours can conform to the Team Identification rule by wearing a shirt with the name of his country on the back. This allows the player to represent his country even if he is not wearing the official national colors. Wearing a shirt with the country's name on the back helps to identify the player as a member of that particular country's team.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    At a Men’s Circuit Qualifying event, there are no Chair Umpires and the Designate Chair Umpires are working as Assistant Referees, supervising the courts.  An Assistant Referee is walking past a court and sees a player make a very bad “out” line call for the first time.  Is the Assistant Referee allowed to overrule the line call and award the point to the opponent? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    No, the Assistant Referee is not allowed to overrule the line call and award the point to the opponent. The Assistant Referee's role in this scenario is to supervise the courts, not make decisions on line calls. The absence of Chair Umpires means that the Assistant Referees are not authorized to overrule line calls.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    At a WTA Tour event, if a player is late back from the 10 minute break after the second set allowed in the Extreme Weather Conditions rule, she receives a Time Violation, followed by Code Violations, until she returns.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    If a player is late back from the 10 minute break after the second set allowed in the Extreme Weather Conditions rule, she does not receive a Time Violation followed by Code Violations until she returns.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    During an ITF Circuits event, if a spectator calls “out” during a rally and one player stops playing, the Chair Umpire should replay the point.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    If a spectator calls "out" during a rally and one player stops playing, the Chair Umpire should not replay the point. The correct answer is False. The Chair Umpire should only replay the point if there is an external disturbance, such as a ball from another court rolling onto the court, or if the Chair Umpire deems that the player was hindered by the spectator's call. In this case, since the player stopped playing voluntarily due to the spectator's call, the point should not be replayed.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    Following a three (3) minute Medical Time-Out the Chair Umpire has announced “Time”.  The player is still not ready to play after 30 seconds.  The Chair Umpire should issue a:

    • A.

      Time Violation

    • B.

      Code Violation

    Correct Answer
    B. Code Violation
    Explanation
    If the player is not ready to play after 30 seconds following a three-minute Medical Time-Out, the Chair Umpire should issue a Code Violation. This is because the player is not adhering to the rules and regulations of the game by not being ready to play within the specified time frame.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    A player receives her first changeover treatment (not a Medical Time-Out) during the second set break for cramping.  How much more treatment for cramping for that player is allowed during the match?

    • A.

      None

    • B.

      A medical timeout only

    • C.

      A medical timeout plus one changeover/set break

    • D.

      One

    Correct Answer
    D. One
    Explanation
    During the match, a player is only allowed to receive one changeover treatment for cramping in addition to a medical timeout. This means that after the first changeover treatment during the second set break, the player is not allowed to receive any more treatment for cramping throughout the rest of the match.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    After the first set tie-break in a Grand Slam women’s singles match, Player A is due to serve but, in error, Player B starts serving and the error is discovered by the Chair Umpire during the second game of the second set.  What should the Chair Umpire do? 

    • A.

      Correct the serving order immediately

    • B.

      Amend the ball change – one game earlier than scheduled

    • C.

      Amend the ball change – one game later than scheduled

    • D.

      Nothing

    Correct Answer
    C. Amend the ball change – one game later than scheduled
    Explanation
    In this scenario, Player B made an error by starting to serve instead of Player A. The Chair Umpire discovered this mistake during the second game of the second set. According to the correct answer, the Chair Umpire should amend the ball change - one game later than scheduled. This means that the ball change should be adjusted to occur after the next game instead of the current game. This ensures that the serving order is corrected without interrupting the ongoing game.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    At a Grand Slam, a player requests to see the trainer immediately at 3-1 in the fourth set tie-break.  The trainer arrives, evaluates the injury and tells the player that he can not treat the medical condition.  How much time does the player have to play after the Chair Umpire announces “Time”?

    • A.

      20 seconds

    • B.

      25 seconds

    • C.

      30 seconds

    • D.

      Reasonable Time

    Correct Answer
    A. 20 seconds
    Explanation
    After the Chair Umpire announces "Time," the player has 20 seconds to resume play. The fact that the trainer evaluated the injury and determined that they cannot treat the medical condition suggests that the player's injury is not severe enough to warrant additional time beyond the standard 20-second limit.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    At an ITF Pro Circuits event, after a ball mark inspection on a clay court, the player argues with the Chair Umpire and says that he/she is obviously unable to read ball marks.  The player asks to stop play for the Referee to come to the court and read the ball mark.  What is the correct decision? 

    • A.

      Stop play. The Referee is called to court to read the ball mark and, if necessary, overrule the Chair Umpire

    • B.

      Stop play. Call the Referee to calm down the player, but not read the ball mark.

    • C.

      Refuse to stop play

    Correct Answer
    C. Refuse to stop play
  • 43. 

    Singles match at an ITF Women’s Circuit event. A player loses her service game and requests a toilet break at 3-2 in the final set. This player has taken one (1) previous toilet break during this match. After a discussion with the player, the Chair Umpire allows the player to leave the court and informs the player that she is leaving the court on her own time and that delays will be penalised with back-to-back time violations. This is the correct way to handle the situation.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The correct way to handle the situation is False. The player has already taken one toilet break during the match, and according to the rules, players are only allowed one toilet break per match. Allowing the player to take another toilet break would be against the rules. Additionally, the Chair Umpire informing the player that delays will be penalized with back-to-back time violations is not the correct approach. The player should be given a reasonable amount of time for the toilet break, and any excessive delays can be penalized separately.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    At an ITF Men's Circuit event the server receives a Time Violation loss of serve. During his 2nd serve service motion a ball rolls onto the middle of the court and the Chair Umpire stops him by announcing "Wait please". The server is now entitled to a 1st serve.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    During a tennis match, if there is an interruption or distraction during the server's service motion, the server is entitled to a first serve. In this scenario, the ball rolling onto the middle of the court caused the Chair Umpire to stop the server, indicating that there was an interruption. Therefore, the server is correct in receiving a first serve.

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    At an ATP tournament players are allowed to wear a shirt with two (2) clothing manufacturer logos of 2 sq.in. (13cm²) on the front and one (1) commercial logo of 4 sq.in. (26 cm²) also on the front of the shirt.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    False. According to the given information, players are allowed to wear two clothing manufacturer logos of 2 sq.in. each and one commercial logo of 4 sq.in. on the front of the shirt. Therefore, the correct answer is false because the statement says "also on the front of the shirt," which implies that there are additional logos allowed on the front of the shirt, which is not true.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    Singles match at an ATP tournament. The server hits a 1st serve and the receiver plays a winning return. The server, who did not make an attempt to get to the return of serve, immediately challenges his own serve. Is this is allowed?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, this is allowed. In tennis, players are allowed to challenge any call, including their own serves. The server has the right to challenge the call if they believe it was incorrect. However, if the server challenges their own serve and the call is proven to be correct, they will lose one of their challenges.

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    At ATP, ITF, Grand Slam and WTA events when a player requests to see the physiotherapist the opponent must be informed of the reason for seeing the trainer and/or receiving medical treatment.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    False. The statement is incorrect. In ATP, ITF, Grand Slam, and WTA events, there is no requirement for the opponent to be informed of the reason when a player requests to see the physiotherapist or receives medical treatment.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    At a WTA event a player requests to see the physiotherapist at the following changeover. The physiotherapist comes on court at the start of the following changeover, evaluates the medical condition and suggests that the player takes a Medical Time Out (MTO) straight away. The player says that she prefers to finish the set and declines the MTO for the moment. Will the player be able to receive a MTO for that condition later in the match?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, the player will be able to receive a MTO for that condition later in the match. The player declined the MTO at that moment but did not refuse it altogether. Therefore, if the player's condition worsens or if she decides later on that she needs medical attention, she can still request and receive a MTO for that condition.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    At a WTA event it is part of the chair umpire’s responsibilities to check the drink supplies on court before the start of each match and make sure that any unsealed bottles + drinks and other products not provided by the tournament are removed from the court or coolers.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The chair umpire at a WTA event is responsible for checking the drink supplies on court before each match and ensuring that any unsealed bottles, drinks, and other products not provided by the tournament are removed from the court or coolers. This is to maintain fairness and ensure that only authorized and regulated items are present during the matches.

    Rate this question:

  • 50. 

    At a WTA event, a player has signed for On-Court Coaching. During the warm-up, the chair umpire notices that the coach is wearing a cap with a commercial patch on it. If requested by the player, would the coach be allowed to walk on-court with the cap on?

    • A.

      Yes, there are no restrictions regarding identification on clothing for coaches.

    • B.

      No, commercial identifications are not allowed on caps.

    • C.

      Yes, but only if the commercial identification is placed on the side of the cap and it is not bigger than 3sq.in.

    Correct Answer
    C. Yes, but only if the commercial identification is placed on the side of the cap and it is not bigger than 3sq.in.
    Explanation
    According to the given answer, the coach would be allowed to walk on-court with the cap on, but there are certain restrictions. The commercial identification should be placed on the side of the cap and it should not be bigger than 3 square inches. This implies that while commercial identifications are allowed, there are limitations on their size and placement.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 27, 2015
    Quiz Created by
    Officiaiting
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.