Chair Umpire Test 2

60 Questions | Total Attempts: 318

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Chair Umpire Test 2

Chair umpire is the final authority on all matters regarding a tennis match. The Chair Umpire quiz below tests your knowledge on the rules and history or tennis. This quiz can also be taken by non-tennis fans as well. Enjoy.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    During a Grand Slam best-of-five sets singles match, a player takes a toilet break at the end of the first set. He returns to his chair after 45 seconds of the set break have elapsed. How many more toilet breaks is this player allowed?
    • A. 

      None

    • B. 

      One

    • C. 

      Two

  • 2. 
    On a second serve, while the server is in his motion, a ball boy drops a ball and the receiver then puts up his hand and points to the dropped ball. The serve is good. What is the correct decision?
    • A. 

      Let, first serve

    • B. 

      Let, second serve

  • 3. 
    At a Grand Slam, if a Medical Time Out takes place off court, the 3 minutes fortreatment starts when the player leaves the court.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    At a Grand Slam, before a player is allowed to retire from the match the ChairUmpire must call for the trainer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 5. 
    In Davis Cup, the independent (neutral) doctor is allowed to:A Go on court to evaluate a player's medical condition if requested by theReferee
    • A. 

      Go on court to evaluate a player's medical condition if requested by the Referee

    • B. 

      Examine a player off court if requested by the Referee

    • C. 

      Both of the above

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 6. 
    In Davis Cup, players are allowed to wear an extra identification of their NationalTeam Sponsor on the back of their shirts and warm up jackets.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 7. 
    Can organisers of professional tournaments apply to have extended changeoversand set breaks (i.e. more than 90 seconds and 120 seconds respectively)?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 8. 
    It has been agreed in advance that a Deciding Match Tie-Break (10 points) willbe played instead of the final set. However, the Chair Umpire and players forgetto play the Deciding Match Tie-Break and start a normal set instead. The error isdiscovered at 30-0 in the first game of the set. What is the correct decision?
    • A. 

      Correct immediately to Deciding Match Tie-Break (ignore the two points that have been played)

    • B. 

      Correct immediately to Deciding Match Tie-Break (count the two points @ that have been played

    • C. 

      Play two games. If the score is 2-0, the player leading wins the match. If the score is 1-1, play a Deciding Match Tie-Break

    • D. 

      Play the best of four games. If a player wins 3 games, he/she wins the match. If the score reaches 2-2, play a Deciding Match Tie-Break

    • E. 

      Continue with the normal set for the rest of the match

  • 9. 
    During a point, Player A hits a ball that lands in his opponent, Player B's court.The ball spins back over the net towards Player A's court. Player B leans overthe net and hits the ball back into the net. Assuming Player A is unable to reachthe ball, when is the ball dead?
    • A. 

      When the ball hits the net

    • B. 

      When the ball bounces in Player A's court

    • C. 

      When the ball bounces twice in Player A's court

  • 10. 
    Which of the following announcements is correct when giving a Captain's Warning in Davis Cup or Fed Cup?
    • A. 

      Unsportsmanlike Conduct, Captain, First Warning, (Nation)

    • B. 

      Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, First Warning, (Nation) Captain

    • C. 

      First Warning, (Nation) Captain

    • D. 

      First Captain's Warning, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, (Nation)

  • 11. 
    A player takes a toilet break after the first and second sets in a Men's Singlesmatch at Wimbledon. The match is suspended at 1-0 in the third set. Howmany toilet breaks is the player allowed when the match resumes the next day?
    • A. 

      None

    • B. 

      One

    • C. 

      Two

  • 12. 
    Is writing allowed on a cap at Davis Cup?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 13. 
    Assume Davis Cup. What commercial identifications are allowed on player’s bags that are brought to court?
    • A. 

      2 x 3 sq. inches (19.5 sq.cm)

    • B. 

      2 x 4 sq. inches (26 sq.cm)

    • C. 

      2 x 12 sq. inches (78 sq.cm)

    • D. 

      No restriction

  • 14. 
    Writing on hats, headbands or wristbands is not allowed at Grand Slams events.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 15. 
    When should the Chair Umpire call “time” after a medical time out for a re-taping of the foot?
    • A. 

      Following the advice of “treatment complete”

    • B. 

      After the player has had time to replace the shoe and sock

    • C. 

      When the trainer leaves the court

  • 16. 
    The Team Sponsor identification usually placed on the sleeve for Davis Cup is allowed on the front of the shirt if the shirt is sleeveless.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 17. 
    If the electronic line calling system makes a clear mistake is the Chair Umpire allowed to overrule it?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 18. 
    At a WTA event can a player change their tennis attire while on an end of set toilet break?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 19. 
    Can a Code Violation be given to a player during the warm up?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 20. 
    A player goes for a toilet break at the end of the set. When she returns the Line Umpire reports to you that she washed her face but didn’t use the toilet. What do you do?
    • A. 

      Soft warn the player

    • B. 

      Give them a Code for Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C. 

      Nothing

  • 21. 
    At an ATP event using no ad scoring for doubles one team selects their choice of side for the deciding point. A let is then called in the middle of the point and the point is to be replayed. Can the receivers now change their choice of side to return from?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 22. 
    After losing a point a player comes to you pointing at one of the singles sticks, which is lying on the ground. She says that the point should be replayed. You do not know when the stick fell. What is your decision?
    • A. 

      Replay the point

    • B. 

      The point stands

  • 23. 
    A player arrives on court with their country’s name in large letters on the back of their tracksuit. What will you do?
    • A. 

      Nothing, it is OK.

    • B. 

      Ask him to remove it prior to warm up.

    • C. 

      Ignore it and hope no one notices.

  • 24. 
    In a doubles match A + B versus C + D Player A hits a ball very hard and close to Player C which then goes long and is called out. You award the point to team C + D. Player B then claims the ball hit Player C and asks him if it did indeed hit him. Player C confirms that it did hit him. What is your decision?
    • A. 

      Point to team A+ B

    • B. 

      Point to team C+ D

    • C. 

      Ask the team C + D if they wish to concede the point, and only award the point to team A + B if they agree

    • D. 

      Replay point

  • 25. 
    A Line Umpire comes to you at the end of a point and says that a player has come up to him and said “You should give this up mate, you’re a fucking disgrace”. No one else heard this. What will you do?
    • A. 

      Do nothing

    • B. 

      This is a default – call the supervisor

    • C. 

      Change line umpire

    • D. 

      Issue a code violation