Nc Scooter Laws & Safety Rules

14 Questions | Total Attempts: 115

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Transport Quizzes & Trivia

This quiz will test your knowledge of North Carolina scooter laws and safety rules as provided by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. For purposes of this quiz a scooter is considered to be no greater than 50cc. Your personal scooter information may vary but this quiz is intended for general information only. Good Luck!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    North Carolina defines a scooter as a ____________________.
    • A. 

      Motorized Bicycle

    • B. 

      Scooter

    • C. 

      Moped

    • D. 

      Motorcycle

    • E. 

      Nuisance

  • 2. 
    A scooter has certain restrictions as it pertains to it's engine size. To be able to ride in NC without a license a scooter's engine must be _____________________.
    • A. 

      No greater than 39cc

    • B. 

      No greater than 49cc

    • C. 

      No greater than 50cc

    • D. 

      No greater than 150cc

    • E. 

      Any cc engine is ok as long as it has no external gears or clutch

  • 3. 
    A scooter is legal to operate without a license as long as it has no _______________.
    • A. 

      External shifting device

    • B. 

      Passenger

    • C. 

      Passenger less than 12 years of age

    • D. 

      Enhanced engine

    • E. 

      Oversized tires

  • 4. 
    Legally, a scooter's top speed cannot exceed _______________ on a flat surface.
    • A. 

      20 mph

    • B. 

      25 mph

    • C. 

      30 mph

    • D. 

      35 mph

    • E. 

      Any speed because it is a scooter

  • 5. 
    In North Carolina there is an age restriction.  What is the minimum age required to legally operate a scooter in North Carolina?
    • A. 

      12

    • B. 

      13

    • C. 

      14

    • D. 

      15

    • E. 

      16

  • 6. 
    What type of helmet must be worn in North Carolina to be legal.
    • A. 

      Full face

    • B. 

      Motorcross

    • C. 

      Any style but DOT approved

    • D. 

      Any style DOT approval not required

    • E. 

      Helmets are optional

  • 7. 
    DWI laws are in place and enforced for all drivers of cars, trucks, vans and motorcycles.  Do DWI laws affect a scooter rider in any way? Choose the best answer.
    • A. 

      DWI laws do not apply to scooter riders

    • B. 

      You can be convicted if riding a scooter while intoxicated

    • C. 

      You cannot be convicted but police will stop you if drunk

    • D. 

      DWI laws affect licensed drivers only

    • E. 

      DWI laws are not enforcable on scooters

  • 8. 
     Which of the lanes pictured should a scooter rider drive in?
    • A. 

      Lane 1

    • B. 

      Lane 2

    • C. 

      Lane 3

    • D. 

      Either Lanes 1, 2 or 3

    • E. 

      Either Lanes 2 or 3

  • 9. 
    A scooter rider should use ____________________ when coming to a stop.
    • A. 

      Rear brake only

    • B. 

      Front brake only

    • C. 

      Both brakes at the same time

    • D. 

      Both brakes but in a "pulsating manner"

    • E. 

      Either Front or Rear

  • 10. 
    If your scooter starts to wobble you should move your weight forward and down.  Additionally you should ____________________________________________________. Choose the BEST answer. There may be more than one correct answer.
    • A. 

      Accelerate out of the wobble

    • B. 

      Use the brakes gradually

    • C. 

      Grip the handlebars firmly and close the throttle gradually

    • D. 

      Squeeze both brakes as hard as you can

    • E. 

      Stay calm

  • 11. 
    If you are chased by a dog you should:
    • A. 

      Kick it away

    • B. 

      Spray an animal repellant in it's face

    • C. 

      Stop until the animal loses interest

    • D. 

      Swerve around the animal

    • E. 

      Approach the animal slowly, then speed up

  • 12. 
    In North Carolina, an adult with a BAC of ___________% or above is considered intoxicated.
    • A. 

      0.04

    • B. 

      0.06

    • C. 

      0.08

    • D. 

      0.09

    • E. 

      0.10

  • 13. 
    If you are riding a scooter in North Carolina and are convicted of riding under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may receive any of the following penalties EXCEPT:
    • A. 

      License Suspension

    • B. 

      Fines

    • C. 

      Scooter priviledges revoked

    • D. 

      Community Service

    • E. 

      Costs (lawyer's fees, lost work time)

  • 14. 
    If you wait one hour per drink for the alcohol to be elimiated from your body before riding:
    • A. 

      You cannot be arrested for drinking and riding

    • B. 

      Your riding skills will not be affected

    • C. 

      Side effects from the drinking may still remain

    • D. 

      You will be okay as long as you ride slowly

    • E. 

      You are considered legally intoxicated