2014 Roller Derby Rules Test

50 Questions | Total Attempts: 32

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
2014 Roller Derby Rules Test

.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Team A's jammer is not on the track prior the jam-starting whistle. Team A is allowed to send a jammer from their bench onto the track to play in the in-progress jam. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    Skaters may legally re-enter the track in front of the opponent who forced them out-of-bounds, if the opponent when out-of-bounds at any point after the initiating block. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    A cutting the track penalty will be issued for a skater who slides out-of-bounds and then back in bounds while still down. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    If a blocker lines up with any part of their skate touching the ground behind the jammer line after the jam starting whistle, the blocker: 
    • A. 

      Earns a false start and must serve 30 seconds in the penalty box.

    • B. 

      Must skate clockwise until the blocker has yielded to at least one blocker from the opposing team.

    • C. 

      Can engage other players immediately. Touching over the jammer line is considered "no impact/no penalty."

    • D. 

      Must yield to all skaters in proximity, including the opposing jammer, to avoid a false start penalty.

  • 5. 
    Which part of the body is considered an illegal target zone?
    • A. 

      Chest

    • B. 

      Upper arm

    • C. 

      Hip

    • D. 

      Above the shoulder

  • 6. 
    How many timeouts does each team have per game?
    • A. 

      One

    • B. 

      Two

    • C. 

      Three

    • D. 

      None

  • 7. 
    Which of the following must a skater do when re-entering the track from the penalty box?
    • A. 

      Re-enter at the front of the pack.

    • B. 

      Skate onto the track immediately, regardless of where the pack is.

    • C. 

      Re-enter behind all in-play blockers.

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 8. 
    Which of the following is an illegal procedure penalty? 
    • A. 

      Failure to yield

    • B. 

      Too many skaters on the track

    • C. 

      Improper uniform

    • D. 

      Removing safety equipment

    • E. 

      All of the above

  • 9. 
    When initiating a block, a skater must be in bounds, but may pick up momentum for the block from out of bounds prior to returning the track. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    Using an impenetrable wall to impede an opponent is illegal. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    A jammer must legally pass an on-the-track opposing blocker to score points on players not on the track. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 12. 
    A skater who is lead jammer can call off the jam while being removed from play due to a penalty. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 13. 
    What is the maximum number of skaters from one team that can be seated in the penalty box at one time? 
    • A. 

      Three

    • B. 

      Four

    • C. 

      Five

    • D. 

      Two

  • 14. 
    What happens when a jammer who has not been declared lead jammer successfully calls off the jam? 
    • A. 

      The jammer receives an Illegal Procedure penalty

    • B. 

      The Captain receives an Insubordination Penalty

    • C. 

      Nothing

  • 15. 
    What is the referee signal for a penalty?
    • A. 

      No whistle signal

    • B. 

      Two rapid whistle blasts

    • C. 

      One long whistle blast

    • D. 

      Two long whistle blasts

  • 16. 
    At most, how many seconds can elapse after the completion of a timeout, barring additional timeouts before the next jam begins? 
    • A. 

      15

    • B. 

      20

    • C. 

      30

    • D. 

      60

  • 17. 
    A jammer must stay in bounds to remain lead jammer. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    Helmet covers may be retrieved while skating in which direction?
    • A. 

      Clockwise

    • B. 

      Counter-clockwise

    • C. 

      Neither

    • D. 

      A and B

  • 19. 
    What is the result of the following scenario? A downed skater re-entering the track causes an opposing skater to stumble but not fall or lose relative position.
    • A. 

      No call, legal scenario

    • B. 

      Penalty

    • C. 

      Expulsion

  • 20. 
    A skater, having gone out of bounds or straddling who briefly and unintentionally completely returns to the track on one skate in their efforts to remain or return out of bounds will receive a cutting the track penalty. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 21. 
    When a jammer's helmet cover falls to the ground, the pivot can pick it up to become the active jammer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 22. 
    A legal star pass is completed when:
    • A. 

      The helmet cover leaves the Jammer's helmet

    • B. 

      When the jammer hands the star to the pivot and the pivot is in full possession

    • C. 

      After the jammer passes or tosses the helmet cover to the pivot and it is in the pivot's hand, or when the pivot picks up the jammer helmet cover from the floor and puts in on their helmet.

    • D. 

      When the pivot is in possession of the jammer helmet cover, in their hand or on their helmet, regardless of how it was transferred.

    • E. 

      When the helmet cover is on the former Pivot's helmet with the stars visible.

  • 23. 
    It is a penalty to touch an opponent with forearms or hands for three or more seconds.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 24. 
    If a skater is illegally blocked outside of the engagement zone, they may legally counter block. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 25. 
    A referee must give you a warning before issuing which types of penalties?
    • A. 

      Failure to return to the engagement zone

    • B. 

      Multi-Player Blocks

    • C. 

      Use of hands

    • D. 

      None of the above

Back to Top Back to top