Roller Derby 2013 Rule Quiz Sections 4-5

20 Questions | Total Attempts: 64

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Roller Derby Quizzes & Trivia

Continuation of previous test


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    The pack is defined as (check all that apply)
    • A. 

      All in-bounds Blockers and jammers

    • B. 

      In-bounds blockers skating or standing in proximity and containing members from both teams

    • C. 

      All skaters on the track (including jammers) that are not more the 10 ft (measured from the hips) in front of or behind the nearest pack skater

  • 2. 
    What happens in this situation?  One group of 3 Blue and 1 red, 11ft behind them there is 3 Red and 1 blue skating counter clockwise around the track
    • A. 

      Nothing, they are within in the engagement zone

    • B. 

      No pack is called

    • C. 

      The captain of the host team will receive a penalty

  • 3. 
    How is distance measured for determining the pack and engagement zone?
    • A. 

      Between the skaters hips

    • B. 

      Between the skaters fingertips

  • 4. 
    Who will receive a major illegal procedure false start in a jam for the team(s) that did not field enough blockers in proper pre jam position?
    • A. 

      The captain

    • B. 

      The pivot

    • C. 

      The blocker closest to the ref making the call

    • D. 

      The jammer

  • 5. 
    Proper pre jam positioning is all blockers in front of the jammers but behind the pivot line and in front of the jam line
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 6. 
    When do non pivot blockers have to line up behind the pivot's hips  in pre jam positioning?
    • A. 

      When the pivot is touching the line either upright or laying down on the track

    • B. 

      When the pivot is upright and touching the pivot line

    • C. 

      When the other team's jammer is in the penalty box

    • D. 

      All the time

  • 7. 
    Blockers need to  line up behind their pivots in their regular lane position (1-2-3-4) to avoid false start penalties
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 8. 
    A blocker that is more than 20 ft in front or behind  the pack must receive a warning from the referee before receiving an out of play penalty
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    A referee has called you our of play as you are more then 20ft in front of the pack. How do you get  back into the engagement zone from your current position?
    • A. 

      Skate like hell to get around the track and to the back of the pack to avoid penalties

    • B. 

      Drop back by skating backwards only

    • C. 

      Drop back by skating backwards or turning around skating clockwise

  • 10. 
    In-bounds jammers can only engage each other  while within the engagement zone
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    Jammers maybe accelerating at the jam starting whistle
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 12. 
    Out of play skaters may still positionally block opposing team members as long as there is no physical contact
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 13. 
    As an in-bounds,in play,  counter clockwise skating or stepping skater you may block or engage the following (check all that apply)
    • A. 

      Skaters that are stopped on the track

    • B. 

      Clock wise skating/stepping skaters

    • C. 

      Counter clockwise skating/stepping skaters

    • D. 

      Skaters with both skates off the floor

    • E. 

      Downed skaters

  • 14. 
    Check all the legal blocking zones
    • A. 

      Head

    • B. 

      Chest

    • C. 

      Fore arms

    • D. 

      Upper Thigh

    • E. 

      Back

    • F. 

      Booty

    • G. 

      Shins

    • H. 

      Skates

  • 15. 
    Check all legal target zones
    • A. 

      Head

    • B. 

      Shoulders

    • C. 

      Middle of the booty

    • D. 

      Back

    • E. 

      Inside of the bra strap line

    • F. 

      Outside of the bra strap line

    • G. 

      Chest

    • H. 

      Upper thighs

    • I. 

      Shins

    • J. 

      Skates

    • K. 

      Sides and front of hips

  • 16. 
    Who is responsible for the legality of a block?
    • A. 

      The initiator

    • B. 

      The receiver

    • C. 

      Both skaters: initiator and receiver

  • 17. 
    You are holding the inside line when the opposing jammer decides to jump the apex. As she is mid air with her chest facing you, you nail her hard with a shoulder to her sternum, sending her flying into the center of the track and taking out 2 NSO's What happens next? (check all that apply)
    • A. 

      The ref gives you a major penalty for hitting her when she had both feet off the ground

    • B. 

      You get a major for blocking to her sternum, an illegal target zone

    • C. 

      You get expelled from the game for hitting a player that hard when they were vulnerable

    • D. 

      You get high fives from all your team mates and that jammer will never try that again with you on the line

    • E. 

      You executed a legal hit on an in-bounds skater, there willbe no penalty issued

  • 18. 
    A skater may not execute  a block unless she has both skates on the floor
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

Back to Top Back to top