Roller Derby 2013 Rule Quiz Sections 1-3

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Lakelandladykill
L
Lakelandladykill
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 2 | Total Attempts: 184
Questions: 20 | Attempts: 93

SettingsSettingsSettings
Roller Derby 2013 Rule Quiz Sections 1-3 - Quiz


Quiz based on the new 2013 rule set to keep all players up to date


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    How does referee signal lead jam?

    • A.

      Two short whistle blasts

    • B.

      Yelling the jammer number and color

    • C.

      One short whistle blast

    • D.

      One long whistle

    Correct Answer
    A. Two short whistle blasts
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Two short whistle blasts." Referees signal a lead jam by blowing two short whistle blasts. This signal indicates that the jammer for one team has gained a significant advantage over the opposing team's jammer and is now considered the lead jammer. This allows the lead jammer to call off the jam at any time by placing their hands on their hips. The two short whistle blasts alert both teams and the spectators that the lead jammer has been established.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    A period is divided into multiple jams. There is a limit to the number of jams allowed in each period

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    2.4.1 There is NO limit to the number of jams allowed in each period

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    What happens to in bounds skaters that are on the track but not in position at the jam starting whistle?

    • A.

      They will receive nothing this is a no impact/no penalty situation

    • B.

      They will be asked to leave the track

    • C.

      They will be subject to false start penalties

    • D.

      They will receive a minor

    Correct Answer
    C. They will be subject to false start penalties
    Explanation
    2.4.4 If skaters are not in position at the jam starting whistle they will be subject to false start penalties (see section 6.13.1 and 6.13.22)

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Jammers are allowed to start a jam with their helmet cover in hand, not on their helmet

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    2.4.4.1 Jammers are permitted to put on their helmet covers after the jam has started. However, each Jammer must have their helmet cover on their head or in hand before the jam-starting whistle. A helmet cover cannot enter a jam in progress.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    A bout may end in a tie

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    2.5.1 - A bout may never end in a tie score. If the score is tied at the end of a bout, an overtime jam will determine the winner. After one minute, the teams will skate a full two-minute jam. This jam will have no Lead Jammer. Penalties will be called. Jammers will begin accruing points on their initial pass. The team with the most points at the end of the overtime jam is the bout winner. If the score remains tied, additional overtime jams will be played until the tie is broken. Additional overtime jams will begin one minute after the end of the previous jam.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    How many time outs per game  is each team allowed?

    • A.

      1

    • B.

      4

    • C.

      7

    • D.

      3

    Correct Answer
    D. 3
    Explanation
    2.6.1 - Each team is allowed 3 one-minute timeouts per game.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Can teams use separte penatly boxes?

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    2.7.2 - The penalty benches must be situated in an easily accessible, neutral area close to the track. Teams may use separate penalty boxe

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    When does the official period clock start?

    • A.

      When everyone is on the track

    • B.

      When the jammers signal they are ready whether the blockers are on the track or not

    • C.

      With the first jam starting whistle

    • D.

      When the host team's captain signals

    Correct Answer
    C. With the first jam starting whistle
    Explanation
    2.8.3.1 - The official jam clock starts on the jam-starting whistle.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Define A Blocker

  • 10. 

    A pivot is

    • A.

      A blocker that may become the jammer

    • B.

      The only blocker that may touch the pivot line

    • C.

      A blocker that can engage out of the engagement zone

    • D.

      A &B are correct

    Correct Answer
    D. A &B are correct
    Explanation
    3.2.1.1 - A Pivot Blocker’s privileges include:

    3.2.1.1.1 - Prior to the start of a jam, Pivots may line up on the Pivot Line, as specified in Section 4.2.2.

    3.2.1.1.2 - In certain circumstances, a Pivot may take over the position of Jammer for their team according to the specifications in Section 3.5 - Passing the Star.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Before the jam start whistle team Red's pivot lays on the track with her finger tips touching the pivot line, team Blue's blocker lines up behind the pivot line but in front of the Red pivots hips. The jam start whistle blows and the Blue blocker does not yeild but skates forward. Will the Blue blocker recieve a penalty?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    4.2.2 - Pivot starting position: Only the Pivots may line up on the Pivot Line. Pivots are considered on the Pivot Line when they are UPRIGHT and also touching the line.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    What happens when lead jammer removers her helemt cover, and then puts it back on?

    • A.

      Nothing happens

    • B.

      She loses lead jammer satus, until the cover is back on her helmet

    • C.

      She looses lead jammer status for the remainder of that jam

    • D.

      She is ineligible for lead status for the rest of the period

    Correct Answer
    C. She looses lead jammer status for the remainder of that jam
    Explanation
    .5.4 - Pass Procedure

    In order to transfer the Jammer position to the Pivot, a Jammer must remove the Jammer helmet cover and hand it to their team’s Pivot. The Jammer helmet cover may not be handed off via other skaters or thrown. The Jammer helmet cover may not be taken off the Jammer’s head by the Pivot or another skater. A Jammer who has removed, or whose teammate has removed, the Jammer helmet cover has forfeited:

    3.5.4.1 - The ability to accrue points, unless the Jammer returns the Jammer helmet cover to their head with visible stars.

    3.5.4.2 - The Lead Jammer status.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Who can recover a dropped helmet cover? (Check all that apply)

    • A.

      Any blocker

    • B.

      Pivot

    • C.

      Jammer

    • D.

      Coach

    • E.

      Team Captain

    Correct Answer(s)
    B. Pivot
    C. Jammer
    Explanation
    3.5.8 - Incomplete Star Passes and Recovery

    3.5.8.1 - If a Jammer helmet cover falls to the ground or is removed from play by any means, it may only be recovered by the Jammer or Pivot.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    Once jammer status is transfered in a legal star pass it ____________ be transfered back to the original jammer

    Correct Answer(s)
    cannot
    can't
    can not
    Explanation
    3.5.6 - Once Jammer status is transferred, it cannot be transferred back to the original Jammer.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    During a star pass, the Red jammer tried to pass  the star to the Red pivot. The  helmet cover is dropped as the red jammer gets a major penalty and is  sent to the box. The pivot skates clockwise and out of bounds to retrieve the helmet cover and puts it on her helmet. What will happen to the pivot

    • A.

      She gets a skating out of bounds penalty and is sent to the box the Red team goes without both players for the remainder of the jam

    • B.

      The Red jammer will serve the pivot's and her own penalty time (2 min total)

    • C.

      The pivot receives no penalty and starts scoring as soon as the stars are visible

    • D.

      The pivot receives no penalty and starts scoring points when the original jammer is released from the box and returns to play

    Correct Answer
    D. The pivot receives no penalty and starts scoring points when the original jammer is released from the box and returns to play
    Explanation
    3.5.8 - Incomplete Star Passes and Recovery

    3.5.8.1 - If a Jammer helmet cover falls to the ground or is removed from play by any means, it may only be recovered by the Jammer or Pivot.

    3.5.8.1.1 - The Pivot is eligible to obtain Jammer status by retrieving a dropped Jammer helmet cover and placing it on their helmet unless the Jammer is in the penalty box, in which case the Pivot will not be considered the Jammer until the original Jammer is released from the penalty box and legally returns to play.

    3.5.8.2 - A Jammer or Pivot may skate in any direction, including out of bounds, to retrieve the Jammer helmet cover.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    After a successful "pass the star" by the lead jammer and her pivot, can the pivot then call off the jam legally?

    • A.

      No

    • B.

      Yes

    Correct Answer
    A. No
    Explanation
    A Jammer who has removed, or whose teammate has removed, the Jammer helmet cover has forfeited :

    3.5.4.2 - The Lead Jammer status.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Skates may wear inline skates during a bout

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    3.9.1 - Skaters must wear quad roller skates only. Skaters may not wear inline or any other type of skate.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    What is the minium recommended  height for  uniform numbers be on the back of a skaters jersey?

    • A.

      2 inches

    • B.

      3 inches

    • C.

      4 inches

    • D.

      5 inches

    Correct Answer
    C. 4 inches
    Explanation
    The minimum recommended height for uniform numbers on the back of a skater's jersey is 4 inches. This height ensures that the numbers are easily visible and identifiable from a distance, allowing officials, teammates, and spectators to easily recognize and identify players on the ice. A smaller height may make it difficult to read the numbers, leading to confusion and potential errors in gameplay.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    What is the 2013 WFTDA rules say on jewelry? Check all that apply

    • A.

      May be worn

    • B.

      Is recommended to be taped or removed

    • C.

      Is worn at the risk of the wearer

    • D.

      Must not be tacky

    • E.

      Referees have the right to deem jewelry a hazard or unsafe and request it be taped or removed

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. May be worn
    B. Is recommended to be taped or removed
    C. Is worn at the risk of the wearer
    E. Referees have the right to deem jewelry a hazard or unsafe and request it be taped or removed
    Explanation
    3.8.1 - Jewelry may be worn during the bout unless deemed a safety hazard by the referees. It is recommended that jewelry be taped or removed. Jewelry must not interfere with play or cause danger to other skaters. Jewelry is worn at the risk of the wearer.

    Rate this question:

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.