The Rules Of Flat Track Roller Derby March 1st, 2014 Edition Skater Rules Test

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Serial Kilter
S
Serial Kilter
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 202
Questions: 50 | Attempts: 202

SettingsSettingsSettings
Roller Derby Quizzes & Trivia

Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    TEAM A’S JAMMER IS NOT ON THE TRACK PRIOR TO THE JAM-STARTING WHISTLE. TEAM A IS ALLOWED TO SEND A JAMMER FROM THEIR BENCH ONTO THE TRACK TO PLAY IN THE IN-PROGRESS JAM.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    1.5.4 – Any skaters who are not completely in bounds at the jam-starting whistle will not be
    permitted to join the jam in progress. No penalty will be issued.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    SKATERS MAY LEGALLY RE-ENTER THE TRACK IN FRONT OF THE OPPONENT WHO FORCED THEM OUT-OF-BOUNDS, IF THE OPPONENT WENT OUT-OFBOUNDS AT ANY POINT AFTER THE INITIATING BLOCK.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    No penalty is to be issued if the skater returns in bounds in front of an opponent who blocked that skater out of bounds.
    5.11.1.2 – When the initiating skater goes out of bounds at any timeafter the initiating block.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A CUTTING THE TRACK PENALTY WILL BE ISSUED FOR A SKATER WHO SLIDES OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THEN BACK IN BOUNDS WHILE STILL DOWN.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    See 5.11 – Cutting the Track. Downed skaters are not to be penalized with Cutting the Track
    penalties (until upright), but are still subject to Low Blocking and Out of Bounds
    Engagement penalties.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    IF A BLOCKER LINES UP WITH ANY PART OF THEIR SKATE TOUCHING THE GROUND BEHIND THE JAMMER LINE AFTER THE JAM-STARTING WHISTLE, THE BLOCKER:

    • A.

      Earns a False Start and must serve 30 seconds in the Penalty Box.

    • B.

      Must skate clockwise until the Blocker has yielded to at least one Blocker from the opposing team

    • C.

      Can engage other players immediately. Touching over the Jammer Line is considered “no impact / no penalty.”

    • D.

      Must yield to all skaters in proximity, including the opposing Jammer, to avoid a False Start penalty.

    Correct Answer
    D. Must yield to all skaters in proximity, including the opposing Jammer, to avoid a False Start penalty.
    Explanation
    3.2.8 – Skaters who line up fully in bounds but in an illegal starting position (while touching their
    legal starting area) are considered to have committed a False Start, and will receive a False
    Start warning. Once warned, skaters who False Start must cease all forward motion until they
    have yielded to all skaters in the immediate vicinity by ceding relative position to those skaters,
    or they may be issued a penalty (see also Section 5.13.9).

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    WHICH PART OF THE BODY IS CONSIDERED AN ILLEGAL BLOCKING ZONE?

    • A.

      Chest

    • B.

      Upper arm

    • C.

      Hip

    • D.

      Above the shoulder

    Correct Answer
    D. Above the shoulder
    Explanation
    See 4.2.2.1 – A skater may not be hit above the shoulders.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    HOW MANY TIMEOUTS DOES EACH TEAM HAVE PER GAME?

    • A.

      One

    • B.

      Two

    • C.

      Three

    • D.

      None

    Correct Answer
    C. Three
    Explanation
    1.7.1 – Each team is allowed three one-minute timeouts per game.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING MUST A SKATER DO WHEN RE-ENTERING THE TRACK FROM THE PENALTY BOX?

    • A.

      Re-enter at the front of the pack

    • B.

      Skate onto the track immediately, regardless of where the pack is

    • C.

      Re-enter behind all in-play Blockers

    • D.

      None of the above

    Correct Answer
    C. Re-enter behind all in-play Blockers
    Explanation
    5.13.20 – A skater exiting the Penalty Box who re-enters the track in a manner that would
    constitute a penalty for cutting (see Section 5.11 - Cutting the Track), given that all in-bounds
    and upright Blockers are assumed to have superior position to a skater returning from the box.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS AN ILLEGAL PROCEDURE PENALTY?

    • A.

      False Start

    • B.

      Too many skaters on the track

    • C.

      Improper uniform

    • D.

      Removing required safety equipment

    • E.

      All of these

    Correct Answer
    E. All of these
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "All of these." All of the mentioned actions are considered illegal procedure penalties in their respective contexts. A false start, too many skaters on the track, improper uniform, and removing required safety equipment are all violations of the rules and regulations, resulting in penalties.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    WHEN INITIATING A BLOCK, A SKATER MUST BE IN BOUNDS, BUT MAY PICK UP MOMENTUM FOR THE BLOCK FROM OUT OF BOUNDS PRIOR TO RETURNING TO THE TRACK.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    5.8.2 – Skaters may not pick up momentum for a block until in bounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    USING AN IMPENETRABLE WALL TO IMPEDE AN OPPONENT IS ILLEGAL.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5.7.10 – Two teammates forming an impenetrable wall that, upon a physical challenge by an
    opponent, prevents said opponent from passing between said teammates.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    A JAMMER MUST LEGALLY PASS AN ON-THE-TRACK OPPOSING BLOCKER TO SCORE POINTS ON PLAYERS NOT ON THE TRACK (NOTT).

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    7.2.1.1 – The Jammer earns a point for each opponent who is not on the track immediately
    upon scoring the first point on any opposing Blocker in each scoring pass, including those opposing Blockers who are still physically on the track but have been directed to the Penalty Box.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    A SKATER WHO IS LEAD JAMMER CAN CALL OFF THE JAM WHILE BEING REMOVED FROM PLAY DUE TO A PENALTY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    6.2.3.2.2 – The moment the penalized skater is directed off the track, the skater is considered “in the box” for scoring, Lead Jammer, Passing the Star, and Cutting the Track rule purposes, and is no longer considered part of the pack for purposes of pack definition.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    WHAT IS THE MAXIMUM NUMBER OF SKATERS FROM ONE TEAM THAT CAN BE SEATED IN THE PENALTY BOX AT ONE TIME?

    • A.

      Three

    • B.

      Four

    • C.

      Five

    • D.

      Two

    Correct Answer
    A. Three
    Explanation
    6.2.3.2 – No team may have more than two Blockers and one Jammer seated in the Penalty Box at a time.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A JAMMER WHO HAS NOT BEEN DECLARED LEAD JAMMER SUCCESSFULLY CALLS OFF THE JAM?

    • A.

      The Jammer receives an Illegal Procedure penalty

    • B.

      The Captain receives an Insubordination penalty

    • C.

      Nothing

    Correct Answer
    A. The Jammer receives an Illegal Procedure penalty
    Explanation
    5.13.17 – A Jammer successfully calling off a jam without establishing Lead Jammer status.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    WHAT IS THE REFEREE WHISTLE SIGNAL FOR A PENALTY?

    • A.

      No whistle signal

    • B.

      Two rapid whistle blasts

    • C.

      One long whistle blast

    • D.

      Two long whistle blasts

    Correct Answer
    C. One long whistle blast
    Explanation
    See Section 1.10 Whistles.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    AT MOST, HOW MANY SECONDS CAN ELAPSE AFTER THE COMPLETION OF A TIMEOUT, BARRING ADDITIONAL TIMEOUTS BEFORE THE NEXT JAM BEGINS?

    • A.

      10

    • B.

      20

    • C.

      30

    • D.

      60

    Correct Answer
    C. 30
    Explanation
    1.7.3.1 – The next jam can start as soon as skaters are lined up, but no more than 30 seconds should elapse after a timeout.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    A JAMMER MUST STAY IN BOUNDS TO REMAIN LEAD JAMMER.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    2.4.1.1.1 – A Jammer must be in bounds to become Lead Jammer. A Jammer does not have to stay in bounds to remain Lead Jammer.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    HELMET COVERS MAY BE RETRIEVED WHILE SKATING IN WHICH DIRECTION?

    • A.

      Clockwise

    • B.

      Counter-clockwise

    • C.

      Neither

    • D.

      Clockwise and Counter-clockwise

    Correct Answer
    D. Clockwise and Counter-clockwise
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Clockwise and Counter-clockwise". This means that helmet covers can be retrieved while skating in either direction. It does not matter if the skater is moving in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction, they can still retrieve their helmet cover.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    WHAT IS THE RESULT OF THE FOLLOWING SCENARIO? A DOWNED SKATER RE-ENTERING THE TRACK CAUSES AN OPPOSING SKATER TO STUMBLE BUT NOT FALL OR LOSE RELATIVE POSITION.

    • A.

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B.

      Penalty

    • C.

      Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/No Penalty
    Explanation
    5.3.3 – [Example of legal play] A downed skater returning to the track who causes an opponent to stumble but not fall or lose relative position.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    WHEN A JAMMER’S HELMET COVER FALLS TO THE GROUND, THE PIVOT CAN PICK IT UP TO BECOME THE ACTIVE JAMMER.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    2.5.4.1 – If the Pivot recovers the Star in this manner, the Pivot may not place it on their own helmet. Doing so shall be considered illegal initiation of a Star Pass.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    A LEGAL STAR PASS IS COMPLETED WHEN:

    • A.

      The helmet cover leaves the Jammer’s helmet.

    • B.

      When the Jammer hands the Star to the Pivot and the Pivot is in full possession.

    • C.

      After the Jammer passes or tosses the helmet cover to the Pivot and it is in the Pivot’s hand, or when the Pivot picks up the Jammer helmet cover from the floor and puts it on their helmet.

    • D.

      When the Pivot is in possession of the Jammer helmet cover, in their hand or on their helmet, regardless of how it was transferred.

    • E.

      When the helmet cover is on the former Pivot’s helmet with the stars visible.

    Correct Answer
    B. When the Jammer hands the Star to the Pivot and the Pivot is in full possession.
    Explanation
    2.5.1 – Pass Procedure: In order to transfer the Jammer position to the Pivot, a Jammer must
    hand their helmet cover (the “Star”) to the Pivot. (Removing the Star will make the Jammer
    inactive; see Section 2.3.3) The Pivot must be grasping the Star when the Jammer releases it. Upon the Jammer releasing the Star, the Pivot will be considered the Jammer, and the prior Jammer will be considered a Blocker. They retain these new roles until the end of the jam.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    A SKATER, HAVING GONE OUT OF BOUNDS OR STRADDLING, WHO BRIEFLY AND UNINTENTIONALLY COMPLETELY RETURNS TO THE TRACK ON ONE SKATE IN THEIR EFFORTS TO REMAIN OR RETURN OUT OF BOUNDS IS ISSUED A CUT PENALTY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    5.11.8 – [No Pass/No Penalty] A skater, having gone out of bounds or straddling, that briefly and unintentionally completely returns to the track on one skate in their efforts to remain or return out of bounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    IT IS A PENALTY TO TOUCH AN OPPONENT WITH FOREARMS OR HANDS FOR THREE OR MORE SECONDS.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5.5.6 – [Penalty] Extended touching (lasting three seconds or more) with the forearms or hands to an opponent’s legal and/or illegal target zone.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    IF A SKATER IS ILLEGALLY BLOCKED OUTSIDE OF THE ENGAGEMENT ZONE THEY MAY LEGALLY COUNTER-BLOCK.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5.10.3 – No skater may initiate a block while out of play, or to a skater who is out of play. It is, however, legal to counter-block in such a situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    A REFEREE MUST GIVE YOU A WARNING BEFORE ISSUING WHICH TYPES OF PENALTIES:

    • A.

      Failure to Return to Engagement Zone

    • B.

      Multi-Player Blocks

    • C.

      Use of Hands

    • D.

      None of the above

    Correct Answer
    A. Failure to Return to Engagement Zone
    Explanation
    8.3.1.1 – A warning does not have to be issued in order for a penalty to be given. The exception to this is Out of Play penalties for failure to reform and failure to return, before which warnings must be given.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    WHAT KIND OF PENALTY WOULD BE ISSUED IN THE FOLLOWING SCENARIO?   AN UPRIGHT SKATER RE-ENTERS THE TRACK FROM OUT-OF-BOUNDS IN FRONT OF MULTIPLE IN-BOUNDS SKATERS DURING A NO PACK SCENARIO, RESULTING IN THE SKATER HAVING BETTERED THEIR POSITION.

    • A.

      Illegal Procedure

    • B.

      Cutting the Track

    • C.

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • D.

      Thumbs Up

    Correct Answer
    B. Cutting the Track
    Explanation
    5.11.2.2 – [Example of Cutting the Track] An in-bounds, upright, and skating skater who returns
    completely in bounds (having previously been out of bounds) in front of one or more in-bounds and upright skaters during a No Pack scenario, which results in the offending skater having bettered their position relative to that/those in-bounds skater(s).

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    BLOCKERS WHO ADVANCE OR CHASE THE JAMMER OUT OF THE ENGAGEMENT ZONE ARE CONSIDERED PART OF AND BELONGING TO POINT TOTALS OF THE PREVIOUS (JUST COMPLETED) SCORING PASS.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    7.1.3.5.1 – Blockers who advance or chase forward ahead of the Engagement Zone are considered part of and belonging to point totals of the previous (just completed) scoring pass.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    WHICH REFEREES ARE ALLOWED TO EXPEL A SKATER?

    • A.

      Any of the referee staff

    • B.

      Only the Jammer Referees

    • C.

      Only the Head Referee

    • D.

      The Jammer Referees and the Head Referee

    Correct Answer
    C. Only the Head Referee
    Explanation
    6.4.2.1 – A skater may be expelled from the game at the Head Referee’s discretion for serious
    physical violence or any action deemed by the Officials to cause an extraordinary physical threat to others. Only the Head Referee may expel a skater, coach, or manager. The Head Referee’s decision is binding.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    IF A REFEREE IS NOT SURE WHETHER AN ACTION WARRANTS A PENALTY OR EXPULSION, IT MUST BE CALLED AS:

    • A.

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B.

      Penalty

    • C.

      Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    B. Penalty
    Explanation
    8.3.5 – If the referee is not sure whether an action warrants an expulsion, an expulsion will not be assessed.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING SAFETY GEAR MAY BE REMOVED WHEN SEATED IN THE PENALTY BOX?

    • A.

      Helmet

    • B.

      Mouth guard

    • C.

      Both Helmet and Mouth guard

    • D.

      None listed

    Correct Answer
    B. Mouth guard
    Explanation
    6.2.7 – Penalized skaters may remove only their mouth guard once they are seated in the Penalty Box. No other equipment may be removed while a skater is in the designated Penalty Box Area (see Section 5.13.14).

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    A PENALIZED SKATER’S TEAMMATES, MANAGERS, AND COACHES MAY NOT AT ANY TIME PHYSICALLY ENTER THE DESIGNATED PENALTY BOX AREA TO COMMUNICATE WITH THE PENALIZED SKATER.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6.2.5.1 – A penalized skater’s teammates, managers, and coaches may not physically enter the
    designated Penalty Box Area to communicate with the penalized skater at any time (see Section 5.13.12 and Section 5.13.13).

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    A JAM GETS CALLED OFF FOR HAVING TOO MANY SKATERS ON THE TRACK AND THE OFFENDING TEAM DID NOT FIELD A PIVOT. AS THE REFEREES ARE UNSURE WHO THE LAST BLOCKER ON THE TRACK WAS, WHO GETS THE PENALTY?

    • A.

      Captain

    • B.

      Pivot

    • C.

      Closest Blocker to referee who made the call

    • D.

      No one

    Correct Answer
    C. Closest Blocker to referee who made the call
    Explanation
    5.13.15 – Forcing a jam to be called off due to too many skaters on the track. Per Section
    8.2.1.1.1, if too many skaters are on the track, the referees will direct a skater off the track. If a skater does not leave the track and the jam is called off due to too many skaters being on the track, that skater will receive the penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    WHAT KIND OF PENALTY WOULD BE ISSUED IN THE FOLLOWING SCENARIO?   A SKATER INITIATES CONTACT OR ENGAGES AN OPPONENT BEFORE THE FIRST WHISTLE, FORCING THE RECEIVING OPPOSING SKATER OFF BALANCE, FORWARD OR SIDEWAYS, BUT DOES NOT CAUSE THEM TO LOSE THEIR ESTABLISHED STARTING POSITION.

    • A.

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B.

      Penalty

    • C.

      No call, legal scenario

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/No Penalty
    Explanation
    5.13.7 – A skater initiating contact or engaging an opponent after the fourth whistle ending the jam that forces the opponent slightly off balance, forward, or sideways but does not cause the opponent to fall.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    THE ENGAGEMENT ZONE INCLUDES:

    • A.

      20 feet (6 meters) behind the rearmost pack skater and 20 feet (6 meters) in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • B.

      10 feet (3 meters) behind the rearmost pack skater and 10 feet (3 meters) in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • C.

      20 feet (6 meters) in front of the foremost pack skater and 10 feet (3 meters) behind the rearmost pack skater.

    Correct Answer
    A. 20 feet (6 meters) behind the rearmost pack skater and 20 feet (6 meters) in front of the foremost pack skater.
    Explanation
    See the Glossary. Engagement Zone
    The zone in which Blockers may legally engage and be engaged. The legal Engagement Zone extends from 20 feet (6 meters) behind the rearmost pack skater to 20 feet (6 meters) in front of the foremost pack skater, between the inside and outside track boundaries.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS A “NO PACK” SITUATION?

    • A.

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet (3 meters) away from 4 red Blockers.

    • B.

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet (3 meters) away from 3 red Blockers, and 1 red Blocker has been knocked out-of-bounds.

    • C.

      3 green Blockers and 1 red Blocker are more than 10 feet (3 meters) from 3 red Blockers and 1 green Blocker.

    • D.

      All listed

    Correct Answer
    D. All listed
    Explanation
    See 3.1 Pack Definition

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    A BLOCKER’S PROXIMITY TO OTHER BLOCKERS IS MEASURED BY THEIR FINGERTIPS.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    3.1.1.2 – Proximity is defined as not more than 10 feet (3 meters) (as measured from the hips) in
    front of or behind the nearest pack skater.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    TO LEGALLY REGAIN POSITION IN THE PACK AFTER HAVING FALLEN BEHIND OR RECOVERING FROM A FALL, A SKATER MUST:

    • A.

      Catch up to the back of the pack by skating within the track boundaries to be considered back in play.

    • B.

      Skate outside track boundaries to stay out of the way until they can easily get to the back of the pack.

    • C.

      Wait for the pack to come back around to enter from behind.

    Correct Answer
    A. Catch up to the back of the pack by skating within the track boundaries to be considered back in play.
    Explanation
    3.3.3.2.2 – To regain position after having fallen behind, a Blocker must return to the back of the Engagement Zone by skating within the track boundaries to legally return to play.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS AN EXAMPLE OF A MULTI-PLAYER BLOCK?

    • A.

      “Bowling” with a teammate by pushing them into an opponent.

    • B.

      Preventing an opponent from passing between Blockers by holding each other’s clothing.

    • C.

      Grabbing or holding a teammate’s arm while blocking.

    Correct Answer
    B. Preventing an opponent from passing between Blockers by holding each other’s clothing.
    Explanation
    5.7.8 – [Penalty] Grasping a teammate in a manner that, upon a physical challenge by an opponent, prevents said opponent from passing between said teammates.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    IF A SKATER JUMPS, IT IS ILLEGAL TO HIT THEM WHILE THEY ARE IN THE AIR.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    It is legal to hit a jumping skater if she jumped from an in-bounds position.
    5.8.7 – If a skater jumps and ceases all contact with the ground, the skater’s prior in-bounds/out-of-bounds status is maintained until contact with the ground re-establishes in-bounds/out-of-bounds status.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    IF A SKATER RE-ENTERS THE TRACK FROM OUT-OF-BOUNDS IN FRONT OF AN OPPOSING SKATER, BETTERING THEIR POSITION, THEY WILL NOT RECEIVE A CUTTING THE TRACK PENALTY AS LONG AS THEY YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    5.11.2.1 – [Example of cutting] An in-bounds, upright, and skating skater who returns completely in bounds (having previously been out of bounds) in front of one or more in-play and uppright skaters, which results in the offending skater having bettered their position.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    STANDING DURING THE LAST 10 SECONDS OF A PENALTY IS OPTIONAL.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    6.2.4.1.2 – If a skater does not stand when instructed, the Penalty Timer will stop the penalty clock until the skater stands.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    IF A JAMMER FALSE STARTS BUT YIELDS ADVANTAGE, THEY WILL NOT RECEIVE A PENALTY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    3.2.8 – Skaters who line up fully in bounds but in an illegal starting position (while touching their legal starting area) are considered to have committed a False Start, and will receive a False Start warning. Once warned, skaters who False Start must cease all forward motion until they have yielded to all skaters in the immediate vicinity by ceding relative position to those skaters, or they may be issued a penalty (see Section 5.13.9).

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    GROSS MISCONDUCT INCLUDES WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING?

    • A.

      Illegal interference in game play by skaters or support staff not involved in the jam.

    • B.

      Crashing into the Penalty Box and causing a chair to hit a Non-Skating Official

    • C.

      Repetitive and excessive use of obscene language directed at an opponent

    • D.

      All listed

    Correct Answer
    D. All listed
    Explanation
    See Section 5.16 Expulsion (Gross Misconduct)

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    WHAT KIND OF PENALTY WOULD BE ISSUED IN THE FOLLOWING SCENARIO?   A SKATER IS CALLED OUT ON A PENALTY AND ASKS THE REFEREE WHY THEY ARE BEING CALLED OFF. THE SKATER REFUSES TO LEAVE THE TRACK AFTER THE REFEREE REPEATEDLY CALLS THE SKATER ON THE PENALTY.

    • A.

      Insubordination

    • B.

      No penalty

    • C.

      Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. Insubordination
    Explanation
    [Penalty] 5.14.2 – Willfully failing to leave the track for a penalty

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    REFEREES WILL WHISTLE A JAM DEAD IF:

    • A.

      There is an injured skater on the track who cannot get up.

    • B.

      Green team’s Jammer is called to the box, and red team failed to field a Jammer for that jam.

    • C.

      Red team’s Jammer has scored 50 points in the jam.

    • D.

      There is an injured skater on the track who cannot get up & Green team’s Jammer is called to the box, and red team failed to field a Jammer for that jam.

    Correct Answer
    D. There is an injured skater on the track who cannot get up & Green team’s Jammer is called to the box, and red team failed to field a Jammer for that jam.
    Explanation
    8.2.6.1.2 – Injury: Referees will only call off a jam in the case of a serious injury or an injury that could endanger another skater.
    6.3.6 – If one team’s Jammer does not make it on to the track in time to participate in the jam and during the course of that jam the opposing team’s Jammer is sent off for a penalty, the jam will be whistled dead when the penalized Jammer is seated in the Penalty Box.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    AFTER SERVING A PENALTY, A JAMMER WHO RE-ENTERS THE TRACK  BEHIND ALL IN-PLAY BLOCKERS BUT IN FRONT OF THE OPPOSING JAMMER, SHOULD RECEIVE A PENALTY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    6.2.8 – After being released from the Penalty Box, a penalized skater may return to the track. A skater may skate clockwise in the clearance around the outside of the track when exiting the Penalty Box. When returning to play, the skater must return behind the rearmost pack skater (see Section 5.13.20).

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    A BLOCKER WHO LINES UP FOR A JAM BUT IS KNOCKED OUT-OF-BOUNDS JUST PRIOR TO THE FIRST WHISTLE MAY NOT PARTICIPATE IN THAT JAM.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    5.13.1 – A skater who establishes legal starting position on the track before the jam-starting whistle, but is blocked out of bounds or out of legal starting position prior to or as the jamstarting whistle blows. This skater will be allowed to remain in the jam, and is not considered to have committed a False Start.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    A SKATER WHO LEAVES THE PENALTY BOX DURING A TEAM TIMEOUT WILL RECEIVE AN INSUBORDINATION PENALTY.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    This action is an Illegal Procedure, not Insubordination.
    5.13.11 – A penalized skater who leaves the Penalty Box during either a team or Official Timeout.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING WILL RESULT IN A PLAYER FOULING OUT OF A GAME?

    • A.

      Accruing more than 5 trips to the Penalty Box in either period, or more than 8 trips in a game.

    • B.

      Accruing 7 trips to the Penalty Box in a game.

    • C.

      Accruing more than 5 trips to the Penalty Box in either period.

    • D.

      Using obscene or abusive language directed at an Official.

    Correct Answer
    B. Accruing 7 trips to the Penalty Box in a game.
    Explanation
    6.4.1 – Fouling Out: A skater fouls out from the game when seven penalties have been assessed to that skater.

    Rate this question:

  • 50. 

    IF A SAFETY HAZARD ON THE TRACK HAS FORCED A REFEREE TO WHISTLE A JAM DEAD AFTER THE TIME ON THE PERIOD CLOCK HAS RUN OUT, BUT NOT BEFORE THE JAM CLOCK HAS RUN OUT, THE HEAD REFEREE MAY CALL FOR AN ADDITIONAL JAM.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    8.2.6.3 – In the event that any jam (including an overtime jam) is called off prior to its natural conclusion (for example Sections 8.2.6.2.3–8.2.6.2.8) with time remaining on the jam clock but not on the period clock, the points from the jam will remain and an additional jam may occur at the Head Referee’s discretion. Such a jam will follow the rules for overtime jams (Section 1.6 - Overtime).

    Rate this question:

Related Topics

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.