The Rules Of Golf

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Steveefemey
S
Steveefemey
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 143
| Attempts: 143 | Questions: 20
Please wait...
Question 1 / 20
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. You hit a great drive down the 16th and the ball comes to rest near the road.  As you walk down the fairway (thinking, 'that was the best drive I hit all night') you see a dog pick up your ball and walk off the course.  What do you do?

Explanation

In this situation, the correct action is to drop a ball as close as possible to where the original ball was lying without penalty. This is in accordance with the rules of golf (Rule 18.1) which allows a player to take relief when their ball is moved by an outside agency, such as a dog. By dropping a ball without penalty, the player can continue the game without being unfairly penalized for the dog's interference.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
The Rules Of Golf - Quiz

How well do you know the rules?
Test your knowledge with this interactive quiz.
Add a comment below and tell us your score.

Tell us your name to personalize your report, certificate & get on the leaderboard!
2. You turn up to play the Summer Cup straight after work on a Tuesday night.  You rush down to the first tee with your usual 3 ball (not renowned for their fast play) to get ahead of the field.  By the time you get to the 4th the whole field is backed up behind you and the group behind have been waiting to play every shot.  What is the correct etiquette?

Explanation

The correct etiquette in this situation is to stand aside and let the group behind play through. Even though you arrived at the tee first, it is important to consider the pace of play and the inconvenience caused to other golfers. By allowing the group behind to play through, you can help maintain a smooth flow of play and prevent further delays for everyone involved.

Submit
3. In a match, Billy removed the flagstick, places it on the putting green behind the hole and putts. Alistair, believing that Billy's ball will strike the flagstick, picks it up, allowing Billy's ball to roll beyond the place where Billy and placed the flagstick. What is the ruling?

Explanation

Decision 17-1/7. Prior to 1st January 2008. Alistair would have lost the hole

Submit
4. Billy, thinking he was getting a bargain, bought a set of imitation Callaway irons from a golf sale in the Weigh Inn.  In the Saturday medal, playing his second shot at the first, the shaft of his 7 iron broke during his downswing. He continued his swing but missed the ball. Unfortunately, the separated fake clubhead fell on the ball and moved it. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Rule 14---See Decision 14/5

Submit
5. Your exact handicap is 9.4, but you had a poor round in the Saturday competition.  When you turn up play on Sunday the revised handicap sheet has not been published and you are not certain of the CSS for Saturday. What handicap do you play off?

Explanation

The correct answer is 9 because according to the given information, the revised handicap sheet has not been published and the CSS for Saturday is uncertain. In such a situation, the player is not allowed to increase their handicap, only decrease it. Therefore, the player would continue to play off their exact handicap of 9.4.

Submit
6. At the 7th hole Willie decides to lay up, but he hits a belter! His ball comes to rest on the bridge over the water hazard. He decides to play the ball as it lies but in so doing, he grounds his club at the address. What is the penalty?

Explanation

There is no penalty. He does not get a free relief from an immovable obstruction in a water hazard, but grounding his club on it, does not count as grounding his club in the hazard. Decision 13-4/30

Submit
7. You're on the 8th green with a long putt down the hill.  After setting the ball in motion you hear a shout of 'FORE' off the 10th tee.  The ball from the 10th rolls onto the green and collides with your ball, knocking it off line (it was probably on the wrong line anyway!).  What should you do?

Explanation

If another player's ball interferes with your ball on the putting green, you are allowed to replace your ball as close as possible to the original spot without incurring any penalty. This is covered under Rule 9.6 in the Rules of Golf, which states that if a ball at rest is moved by another ball, the moved ball must be replaced. In this situation, shouting verbal abuse or playing the ball from its new position would not be the correct course of action.

Submit
8. A player and fellow competitor signed his score card in the wrong place. What is the ruling?

Explanation

According to the rules of golf, if a player and fellow competitor sign the scorecard in the wrong place, the committee should still accept the card. This is because the signing of the scorecard is a formality to verify the player's score, and as long as the score is accurate, the committee should not penalize the players for signing in the wrong place. The focus is on the accuracy of the score, not the placement of the signature. Therefore, the committee should accept the card.

Submit
9. In a stroke play competition a competitor returns his scorecard correctly signed by his marker and himself. The hole by hole scores is correct, but he records a total score, which is two strokes lower than his actual score. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 6-6d/2

Submit
10. In a stroke play competition, Billy snap-hooks his drive off the first towards the out of bounds.  To play his next shot he removes a white stake, defining out of bounds, which is interfering with his swing. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 13-2/25

Submit
11. In a stroke play competition, before he plays, Alistair looks into Billy's bag to see which club Billy has used for his last stroke. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 8-1/10

Submit
12. In a stroke play competition, Alistair slices his drive up the 14th and lands in a rabbit scrape.  Having told Billy his intentions to take relief from the scrape, he removes sand and loose soil from the area where he intends to drop the ball. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 13-2/11

Submit
13. In a handicap match play competition, the conditions provide that the full difference between handicaps would be used. However the players in one match, unaware of conditions, use three-quarters of the difference between handicaps and the lower handicap player won giving his opponent 9 shots instead of 12. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 6-2a/6

Submit
14. In a stroke play event, a pool of casual water on the putting green lies between Colin's ball, which is on the green, and the hole. Rather than move his ball, Colin mops up the casual water with his conveniently placed towel. What is the ruling?

Explanation

See Decision 13-2/34

Submit
15. In preparation for the Safari Open, Ewan has been practicing all week.  On the day of the competition he walks on to the fourth tee after a level par start, only to discover he has left his spare wedge and driver in his bag and is carrying a total of 16 clubs.  What is the ruling?

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
16. In a stroke play Open competition, visitors Richard and Dick are confused after finishing the 7th hole and play from the 12th tee instead of the 8th.  After much scratching of heads they realised their error, collected their balls (that they had hooked onto the 11th fairway) and played from the 8th tee and completed their round. What is the ruling?

Explanation

see Decision 11-5/4

Submit
17. At the 3rd hole, Fred played his third shot into a stiff breeze and the ball came to rest a 6 feet from the hole leaving a tricky downhill putt. Fred marked the position of the ball, lifted and cleaned it, then replaced it. Without lifting the marker, the Fred prepared to make a nervy par putt, but before he had addressed the ball, it rolled into the hole. What is the ruling?

Explanation

Rule 20-3d. The fact that the marker was left in place is irrelevant

Submit
18. Elsie misses her birdie putt at the 10th, and in a fit a rage lashes out at the ball.  The ball comes to rest on the 14th fairway. What is the ruling?

Explanation

According to the rules of golf, when a player's ball is moved by the player in anger, the player must replace the ball to its original position and incur a one-stroke penalty. Therefore, Elsie must replace her ball and add one stroke to her score.

Submit
19. In a foursome stroke play competition, at the 9th hole Murray puts his tee shot into the right hand bunker. His partner, Lee, fails to get the ball out of the bunker with his shot and in throwing a tantrum hits the sand with his club. Murray rakes over Lee's footprints in the sand (without improving the lie of the ball or the area of his stance) before playing the ball from the bunker onto the green, where Lee holes out with a single putt. What is their score for the hole? 

Explanation

tee shot + bunker shot + 2 PS by Lee hitting sand while still in bunker + 2PS by Murray for raking sand before playing a shot from bunker + bunker shot + putt
See Rule 13-4 and Decision 29/5

Submit
20. In a stroke play competition, Murray moves one of the tee-markers before playing a stroke from the teeing ground because, in his view, the tee-markers are aimed in the wrong direction. The tee-marker is not replaced. What is the ruling?

Explanation

According to the rules of golf, moving a tee-marker before playing a stroke without replacing it is considered a breach of Rule 8.1a. This rule states that a player must not take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play or alter physical conditions with the potential to affect the playing of a hole. In this case, Murray's action of moving the tee-marker without replacing it is a violation of this rule. As a result, he is disqualified from the competition.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Feb 14, 2024 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Feb 14, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • May 11, 2011
    Quiz Created by
    Steveefemey
Cancel
  • All
    All (20)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
You hit a great drive down the 16th and the ball comes to rest near...
You turn up to play the Summer Cup straight after work on a Tuesday...
In a match, Billy removed the flagstick, places it on the putting...
Billy, thinking he was getting a bargain, bought a set of imitation...
Your exact handicap is 9.4, but you had a poor round in the Saturday...
At the 7th hole Willie decides to lay up, but he hits a belter! His...
You're on the 8th green with a long putt down the hill.  After...
A player and fellow competitor signed his score card in the wrong...
In a stroke play competition a competitor returns his scorecard...
In a stroke play competition, Billy snap-hooks his drive off the first...
In a stroke play competition, before he plays, Alistair looks into...
In a stroke play competition, Alistair slices his drive up the 14th...
In a handicap match play competition, the conditions provide that the...
In a stroke play event, a pool of casual water on the putting green...
In preparation for the Safari Open, Ewan has been practicing all...
In a stroke play Open competition, visitors Richard and Dick are...
At the 3rd hole, Fred played his third shot into a stiff breeze and...
Elsie misses her birdie putt at the 10th, and in a fit a rage lashes...
In a foursome stroke play competition, at the 9th hole Murray puts his...
In a stroke play competition, Murray moves one of the tee-markers...
Alert!

Advertisement