Take A Quiz On The Rules Of Golf

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Miketurf
M
Miketurf
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 4 | Total Attempts: 5,650
| Attempts: 356 | Questions: 10
Please wait...
Question 1 / 10
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1.
Which is correct regarding ground under repair?

Explanation

Deep cracks in the earth are not automatically considered ground under repair. This means that just because there are deep cracks in the earth, it does not necessarily mean that the area is designated as ground under repair. Other factors or conditions may need to be present for an area to be considered ground under repair.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Take A Quiz On The Rules Of Golf - Quiz

This quiz focuses on the intricate rules of golf, assessing knowledge on penalties, ball handling, and course-specific situations. It is designed for golfers seeking to understand and apply... see morethe official rules effectively during play. see less

2.
A player’s ball lies in a bunker completely covered by sand and
loose impediments. In searching for the ball, he accidentally
moves and completely uncovers it. What is the ruling?

Explanation

If a player accidentally moves and completely uncovers their ball while searching for it in a bunker, there is no penalty. The player must replace the ball and recover it so that only part of the ball is visible. This means that the ball should be partially covered by sand and loose impediments, as it was before it was accidentally uncovered.

Submit
3.
In stroke play, a player lifts his ball without authority, substitutes
a new ball on the original spot to aid in identification, and plays it.
What is the ruling?

Explanation

The player receives a two-stroke penalty for improper substitution because they substituted a new ball without authority. However, there is no additional penalty for lifting the ball without authority.

Submit
4.
A player’s ball comes to rest inside a paper cup on the putting
green. Then, the wind moves the paper cup with the ball inside
to a new position. What is the ruling?

Explanation

The ruling is that the player must lift the ball and place it as close as possible to the spot directly under where it was inside the cup before the wind moved it. This is because the wind is not considered an outside agency in golf, so the ball cannot be played from its new position. The player must replace the ball to its original position before the wind moved it.

Submit
5.
Which is correct regarding the player cleaning his ball?

Explanation

The correct answer is that the player may not remove cut grass adhering to the ball lying through the green. This means that if there is cut grass stuck to the ball while it is on the fairway, the player is not allowed to clean it off before playing their shot.

Submit
6.
In stroke play, a player’s ball lies on a putting green. As he
approaches the ball, the wind blows it into a nearby bunker.
He replaces the ball on the putting green, holes out and tees
off on the next hole. What is the ruling?

Explanation

The player is disqualified because in stroke play, Rule 9.4b states that if a player's ball at rest is moved by the wind after the player has addressed it, the player must play the ball as it lies without penalty. However, if the player replaces the ball and then plays it, they are considered to have played from a wrong place and incur a two-stroke penalty. In this case, the player not only replaced the ball but also holed out and teed off on the next hole, which further reinforces that they played from a wrong place. Therefore, the correct ruling is that the player is disqualified.

Submit
7.
In stroke play, a player searches for his ball for five minutes
and does not find it. He looks for another minute, finds his
ball and plays it. What is the ruling?

Explanation

According to the rules of golf, if a player cannot find their ball within the five-minute search time, the ball is considered lost. If the player then plays a different ball, it is considered a wrong ball and incurs a two-stroke penalty. In this scenario, the player found a ball after the initial search time and played it, which means they played a wrong ball and should be penalized accordingly.

Submit
8.
In stroke play, a player is in the process of taking relief
from ground under repair through the green. Before he
drops the ball, he removes sand and loose soil from the
area in which he is to drop the ball. What is the ruling?

Explanation

When taking relief from ground under repair through the green, a player is not allowed to remove any loose impediments, including sand and loose soil, from the area where they are going to drop the ball. By removing the sand and loose soil before dropping the ball, the player has breached the rules of golf and incurs a two-stroke penalty.

Submit
9.
Which is correct regarding a player taking relief under the
unplayable ball Rule?

Explanation

The correct answer is that a player may drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot directly under the place where it lies, if it lies in a tree. This is in accordance with the unplayable ball Rule, which allows a player to take relief by dropping a ball within two club-lengths of the original spot. If the ball is in a tree, the player can drop the ball directly under the tree within the specified distance.

Submit
10.
In stroke play, a player’s ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark
in a closely mown area through the green. He takes relief under
the embedded ball Rule, but, before dropping the ball, he
repairs the pitch-mark. What is the ruling?

Explanation

If a player's ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark in a closely mown area through the green, they are allowed to take relief under the embedded ball Rule. However, in this scenario, the player repairs the pitch-mark before dropping the ball. According to the rules, if a player improves the conditions affecting the stroke by repairing the pitch-mark, they incur a two-stroke penalty. Therefore, the ruling in this case is that there is a two-stroke penalty.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jun 28, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Miketurf
Cancel
  • All
    All (10)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
Which is correct regarding ground under repair?
A player’s ball lies in a bunker completely covered by sand and...
In stroke play, a player lifts his ball without authority,...
A player’s ball comes to rest inside a paper cup on the putting...
Which is correct regarding the player cleaning his ball?
In stroke play, a player’s ball lies on a putting green. As he...
In stroke play, a player searches for his ball for five minutes and...
In stroke play, a player is in the process of taking relief from...
Which is correct regarding a player taking relief under the unplayable...
In stroke play, a player’s ball is embedded in its own pitch-markin...
Alert!

Advertisement