2009-10 Junior Tour Rules Quiz

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Rtjjuniorgolf
R
Rtjjuniorgolf
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 247
Questions: 20 | Attempts: 247

SettingsSettingsSettings
2009-10 Junior Tour Rules Quiz - Quiz

Please answer the following 20 questions about the rules of golf. You need to answer at least 15 correctly to pass. All players must pass the quiz before they can begin tournament play for the RTJ Junior Golf Association. Please make sure to enter your first and last name when taking the quiz. You can take the quiz multiple times.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    A player putted his ball from the fringe of the putting green and it struck the un-attended flagstick in the hole; in stroke play, there is a two stroke penalty, true or false?

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    Player did not putt from the putting surface.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    What is the proper recourse if you move your ball during a practice swing?

    • A.

      Count it as a stroke. Keep playing the ball.

    • B.

      One stroke penalty. Replace the ball in the original spot.

    • C.

      No penalty - you had not addressed the ball. Replace to original spot.

    Correct Answer
    B. One stroke penalty. Replace the ball in the original spot.
    Explanation
    Rule 18-2a(ii)

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A player drops the ball under Rule 26-1b because he is virtually certain his ball is in a water hazard. After dropping the ball, he finds his original ball outside the hazard.

    • A.

      He should play the original ball with a one stroke penalty.

    • B.

      He should play the original ball with no penalty.

    • C.

      Once he drops, he must play the new ball with a one stroke penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. He should play the original ball with a one stroke penalty.
    Explanation
    Decision 26-1/3.5

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    In stroke play, a competitor is responsible for each of the following EXCEPT:

    • A.

      Knowing the rules.

    • B.

      Starting at the time established by the committee.

    • C.

      Playing without delay.

    • D.

      Returning his/her scorecard to the committee with accurate totals (correct addition).

    Correct Answer
    D. Returning his/her scorecard to the committee with accurate totals (correct addition).
    Explanation
    Rule 6-6d

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Player A has given advice, in breach of Rule 8-1, in which of the following?

    • A.

      Player A tells Player B that his (B's) ball is 142 yards from the hole.

    • B.

      Player A tells Player B this his (B's) putt will break to the left about 12 inches.

    • C.

      Player A tells Player B that he (B) should play a provisional ball because his ball might be out of bounds.

    • D.

      Player A tells Player B that his (B's) ball is teed in front of the tee markers.

    Correct Answer
    B. Player A tells Player B this his (B's) putt will break to the left about 12 inches.
    Explanation
    Rule 8-1

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    The "nearest point of relief" is:

    • A.

      The point at which the ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard before coming to rest in the hazard.

    • B.

      The reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction, abnormal ground condition, or wrong putting green.

    • C.

      The nearest playable lie, not nearer the hole, than where the original ball came to rest in an unplayable lie.

    • D.

      A point two club lengths from where the dropped ball first strikes a part of the course.

    Correct Answer
    B. The reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction, abnormal ground condition, or wrong putting green.
    Explanation
    Definition of "nearest point of relief"

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    There is no penalty for moving a ball while searching for it in a hazard if the ball is covered with loose impediments.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 12-1

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    Loose impediments are natural objects such as stones, leaves, twigs and branches.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Definition of "loose impediments"

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    A player is disqualified in which of the following?

    • A.

      He starts a stipulated round with a non-conforming club in his bag.

    • B.

      He starts a stipulated round with twenty clubs in his bag.

    • C.

      He damages a club making a practice swing near a tree (changes the loft of the club), then uses that club for his next stroke.

    • D.

      He adds "anti-slice" solution to the face of the club, then makes a stroke with that club.

    Correct Answer
    D. He adds "anti-slice" solution to the face of the club, then makes a stroke with that club.
    Explanation
    Rule 4-2b

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Which is correct regarding a player proceeding under the unplayable ball Rule?

    • A.

      He is not required to identify a ball as his before he can deem it unplayable and drop a ball within two club lengths of where it lay.

    • B.

      He may drop a ball in a hazard, if he deems his ball to be unplayable through the green.

    • C.

      He may deem his ball unplayable anywhere on the course.

    Correct Answer
    B. He may drop a ball in a hazard, if he deems his ball to be unplayable through the green.
    Explanation
    Decision 28/4

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Soft, mushy earth is casual water whether or not water is visible.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    Decision 25/1

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Which is correct regarding a player addressing the ball?

    • A.

      If he places his club on the ground in front of the ball and takes his stance, he has addressed the ball.

    • B.

      On the putting green, if he grounds his club, takes his stance, and then moves away from the ball, he has not addressed the ball.

    • C.

      If he takes his stance in a bunker without a club, he has not addressed the ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. If he places his club on the ground in front of the ball and takes his stance, he has addressed the ball.
    Explanation
    Decision 18-2b/5.5

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Through the green, the player may lift his ball without penalty in which one of the following?

    • A.

      Another ball in motion, might be stopped or deflected by his ball.

    • B.

      The player thinks his ball will interfere with another player's play.

    • C.

      The player thinks his ball will assist another player's play.

    • D.

      The player is never entitled to lift his ball without penalty when it lies through the green.

    Correct Answer
    C. The player thinks his ball will assist another player's play.
    Explanation
    Rule 22-1

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    A player is allowed up to, but no more than, 14 clubs in the bag during a stipulated round.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is true because according to the rules of golf, a player is allowed to have up to 14 clubs in their bag during a stipulated round. This rule ensures fairness and equal opportunities for all players by limiting the number of clubs they can use. It also adds a strategic element to the game as players must carefully select the clubs that will best suit their playing style and the conditions of the course.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Any suggestion which could influence a player in determining his play is considered advice.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Definition of "advice"

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    The player hits his ball into a water hazard. His options to proceed include (select all that apply):

    • A.

      Play from the spot which it lies with no penalty

    • B.

      Play from the previous spot with a one stroke penalty

    • C.

      Take two club lengths relief from the point at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard with a one stroke penalty

    • D.

      Take two club lengths relief from the equidistant side of which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard with a one stroke penalty

    • E.

      Take the line at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and the flagstick and travel as far back on that line as the player prefers with a one stroke penalty

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. Play from the spot which it lies with no penalty
    B. Play from the previous spot with a one stroke penalty
    C. Take two club lengths relief from the point at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard with a one stroke penalty
    D. Take two club lengths relief from the equidistant side of which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard with a one stroke penalty
    E. Take the line at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and the flagstick and travel as far back on that line as the player prefers with a one stroke penalty
    Explanation
    The player has several options to proceed after hitting the ball into a water hazard. They can choose to play from the spot where the ball lies with no penalty. Alternatively, they can play from the previous spot with a one stroke penalty. They also have the option to take two club lengths relief from the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, again with a one stroke penalty. Additionally, they can take two club lengths relief from the equidistant side of where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, still with a one stroke penalty. Lastly, they can choose to take the line at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and the flagstick and travel as far back on that line as they prefer, again with a one stroke penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    The Rules specifically provide that a player must inform his opponent, marker or fellow-competitor that he intends to play a provisional ball. Which statement meets the requirements of the Rules for announcing a provisional ball?

    • A.

      "I will never find that one. I'll play another."

    • B.

      "This is a provisional ball."

    • C.

      "That might be lost. I am going to re-load."

    Correct Answer
    B. "This is a provisional ball."
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "This is a provisional ball." This statement meets the requirements of the Rules for announcing a provisional ball because it clearly and explicitly states that the ball being played is a provisional ball. It informs the opponent, marker, or fellow-competitor that the player intends to play a second ball in case the first ball is lost or out of bounds. The other statements do not fulfill the requirement of explicitly announcing a provisional ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    A player may play a provisional ball even if his ball may have come to rest in a water hazard provided that there is a reasonable possibility it is out of bounds.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Decision 27-2a/2.2

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    A player incurs the general penalty when he touches his line of putt in which one of the following?

    • A.

      He taps down spike marks on the line of putt.

    • B.

      He repairs a ball mark on the line of putt.

    • C.

      He removes loose impediments on the line of put with a towel.

    • D.

      He presses down a ball marker of a fellow-competitor that is on his line of putt.

    Correct Answer
    A. He taps down spike marks on the line of putt.
    Explanation
    Rule 16-1a

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    A player's ball is embedded in a fairway. He lifts the ball, cleans it and drops it in the fairway as near as possible to where it lay. The ball rolls into and comes to rest in a bunker. What is the ruling?

    • A.

      He has proceeded correctly and must play the ball as it lies.

    • B.

      He must re-drop the ball without penalty.

    • C.

      He must place the ball as near as possible to where it lay.

    Correct Answer
    B. He must re-drop the ball without penalty.
    Explanation
    Rule 20-2c

    Rate this question:

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.