WFTDA Rules Study Test

45 Questions

Settings
Please wait...
WFTDA Quizzes & Trivia

WFTDA Written Rules Test - Women's Flat Track Derby Association Rules Test based on rules update from May 26, 2010. This is to be used as a study guide. An explanation follows every answer. The questions are also hyperlinked to the corresponding sections in the rule book. Any bolded words were added as a study function and do not appear in bold on the test. After taking the test, you can print out your full results or review them and jot down any questions you may have missed (they're in the same order as the WFTDA test available for downl


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Team A’s Jammer is not on the track prior to the jam starting whistle. Team A is allowed to send their Jammer from their bench onto the track to play in the in-progress jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    Skaters may legally re-enter the track in front of the opponent who forced them out-of-bounds, if that opponent went out-of-bounds herself at any point after the initiating block.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    Which part of the body is considered an illegal blocking zone?
    • A. 

      Chest

    • B. 

      Upper Arm

    • C. 

      Hip

    • D. 

      Above the Shoulder

  • 5. 
    How many timeouts does each team have per game?
    • A. 

      One

    • B. 

      Two

    • C. 

      Three

    • D. 

      None

  • 6. 
    Which of the following must a skater do when re-entering the track from the penalty box?
    • A. 

      Re-enter at the front of the pack

    • B. 

      Skate onto the track immediately, regardless of where the pack is

    • C. 

      Re-enter at the back of the pack

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 7. 
    • A. 

      False start

    • B. 

      Too many skaters on the track

    • C. 

      Improper uniform

    • D. 

      Removing required safety equipment

    • E. 

      All of the above

  • 8. 
    When initiating a block, a skater must be in-bounds, but she may pick up momentum from out-of-bounds prior to returning to the track.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    A Jammer must legally pass an on-the-track opponent to score points on players not on the track (NOTT).
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    A skater who is Lead Jammer can call off the jam as she is being removed from play due to a penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    What is the maximum number of skaters from one team that can be seated in the penalty box at one time?
    • A. 

      Three

    • B. 

      Four

    • C. 

      Five

    • D. 

      Two

  • 12. 
    What happens when a Jammer who has not been declared Lead Jammer successfully calls off the jam?
    • A. 

      She receives a minor penalty

    • B. 

      She receives a major penalty

    • C. 

      The team captain receives a minor penalty

    • D. 

      Nothing

  • 13. 
    What is the referee whistle signal for a major penalty?
    • A. 

      No whistle signal

    • B. 

      Two rapid whistle blasts

    • C. 

      One long whistle blast

    • D. 

      Two long whistle blasts

  • 14. 
    At most, how many seconds can elapse after a timeout before the next jam begins?
    • A. 

      15

    • B. 

      20

    • C. 

      30

    • D. 

      60

  • 15. 
    A Jammer must stay in-bounds to remain Lead Jammer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 16. 
    Helmet Covers may be retrieved while skating in which direction?
    • A. 

      Clockwise

    • B. 

      Counter clockwise

    • C. 

      Neither

  • 17. 
    • A. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Minor

    • C. 

      Major

    • D. 

      Ejection

  • 18. 
    It is a major penalty to touch an opponent with forearms or hands for three or more seconds.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 19. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 20. 
    • A. 

      Failure to reform the pack

    • B. 

      Multi-Player Blocks

    • C. 

      Use of Hands

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 21. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: An in-bounds, upright, and skating skater re-enters the track from out-of-bounds in front of multiple in-bounds skaters during a no pack scenario, resulting in her having bettered her position.
    • A. 

      Minor Cutting the Track

    • B. 

      Major Cutting the Track

    • C. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • D. 

      Thumbs Up

  • 22. 
    Blockers that advance or chase the Jammer out of the Engagement Zone are considered part of and belonging to point totals of the previous (just completed) scoring pass.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 23. 
    Which referees are allowed to expel a skater?
    • A. 

      Any of the referee staff

    • B. 

      Only the Jammer Referees

    • C. 

      Only the Head Referee

    • D. 

      The Jammer Referees and the Head Referee

  • 24. 
    If a referee is not sure whether an action warrants a major or expulsion, it must be called as:
    • A. 

      No impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Minor

    • C. 

      Major

    • D. 

      Expulsion

  • 25. 
    Which of the following safety gear may be removed when seated in the penalty box?
    • A. 

      Helmet

    • B. 

      Mouth guard

    • C. 

      Both A and B

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 26. 
    A penalized skater’s teammates, managers, and coaches may not at any time physically enter the designated penalty box area to communicate with the penalized skater.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 27. 
    • A. 

      Captain

    • B. 

      Pivot

    • C. 

      Closest Blocker to referee who made the call

  • 28. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: A skater initiates contact or engages an opponent before the first whistle, forcing the receiving opposing skater off balance, forward or sideways, but does not cause her to lose her established starting position.
    • A. 

      No impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Minor

    • C. 

      Major

    • D. 

      No call, Legal scenario

  • 29. 
    • A. 

      20 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • B. 

      10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 10 feet in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • C. 

      20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater and 10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater.

  • 30. 
    • A. 

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 4 red Blockers.

    • B. 

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 3 red Blockers, and 1 red Blocker has been knocked out-of-bounds.

    • C. 

      3 green Blockers and 1 red blocker are more than 10 feet from 3 red Blockers and 1 green Blocker.

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 31. 
    A Blocker’s proximity to other Blockers is measured by her fingertips.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 32. 
    To legally regain position in the pack after having fallen behind or recovering from a fall, a skater must:
    • A. 

      Catch up to the back of the pack by skating within the track boundaries to be considered back in play.

    • B. 

      Skate outside track boundaries to stay out of the way until she can easily get to the back of the pack.

    • C. 

      Wait for the pack to come back around to enter from behind.

  • 33. 
    Which of the following is an example of a multi-player block?
    • A. 

      “Bowling” with a teammate by pushing her into an opponent.

    • B. 

      Impeding an opponent by holding onto the shirt of a teammate.

    • C. 

      Grabbing or holding a teammate’s arm while blocking.

  • 34. 
    If a skater jumps, it is illegal to hit her while she is in the air.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 35. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 36. 
    Standing during the last 10 seconds of a penalty is optional.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 37. 
    If a Jammer false starts but yields advantage, she will not receive any penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 38. 
    Gross misconduct includes which of the following?
    • A. 

      Punching another skater

    • B. 

      Choking another skater

    • C. 

      Jumping on a dog pile

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 39. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: A skater is called out on a penalty and she asks the referee why she’s being called off. She refuses to leave the track after the referee repeatedly calls the skater on the penalty.
    • A. 

      Insubordination major penalty

    • B. 

      No penalty

  • 40. 
    • A. 

      There is an injured skater on the track who cannot get up.

    • B. 

      Green team’s Jammer is called to the box, and red team failed to field a Jammer for that jam.

    • C. 

      Red team’s Jammer has scored 50 points in the jam (Mercy Rule).

    • D. 

      A and B only

  • 41. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 42. 
    A Blocker who lines up for a jam but is knocked out-of-bounds just prior to the first whistle may not participate in that jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 43. 
    A skater who leaves the penalty box during a team timeout to participate in the team huddle will receive an insubordination major penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 44. 
    Which of the following will result in a player fouling out of a game?
    • A. 

      Accruing more than 5 trips the penalty box in either period, or more than 10 trips in a game

    • B. 

      Accruing 7 trips to the penalty box in a game

  • 45. 
    If a safety hazard on the track has forced a referee to whistle a jam dead after the time on the period clock has run out but not before the jam clock has run out, the Head Referee may call for an additional jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False