Little League Umpire Test 8

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Fl15ua
F
Fl15ua
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 10 | Total Attempts: 11,563
Questions: 10 | Attempts: 253

SettingsSettingsSettings
Little League Umpire Quizzes & Trivia

LLHQ Umpire Exam from the Umpire School, Williamsport


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    71) Ground ball to the second baseman with a runner on first the runner from first bumps into the second baseman as the defender is about to field the ball. The ball goes through the legs of the second baseman and into right field. The umpire should allow play to continue because the contact was very minor. (Rule 7.09(l))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The umpire should not allow play to continue because according to Rule 7.09(l), if a runner intentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to make a play, the runner is out and the play is dead. In this scenario, the runner from first bumped into the second baseman, causing interference and allowing the ball to go through the second baseman's legs. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    72) All appeals must be made verbally by the defense before it leaves fair territory. (Rule 7.10 — NOTE: (1))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    According to Rule 7.10, all appeals must be made verbally by the defense before it leaves fair territory. This means that if the defense wants to make an appeal, they must do so by speaking up before the ball or the player leaves the fair territory. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    73) The runner on first base leaves before the pitch has reached the batter. The batter hits a fly ball to center field and the runner properly tags up and advances after the catch. The umpire should call “Time” and put the runner back to first base for leaving early. (Rule 7.13)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 4. 

    74) The runner on second scores on the base hit, but fails to touch third on the way home. The ball is finally thrown to the infield and the defense requests “Time”. After time is called the defense appeals to the umpire that the runner who just scored missed third base. The umpire agrees and calls the runner out for missing third base. (Rule 7.10(b))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 5. 

    75) From the windup position the pitcher may not throw to a base in an attempt to pick off a runner while in contact with the pitcher’s plate. (Rule 8.01(a)(2))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 6. 

    76) In a Little League Major Division game the pitcher may pitch from the set position, however the pitcher is required to come to a complete stop when pitching from the stretch. (Rule 8.01(b) NOTE)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 7. 

    77) The penalty for bringing the hand in contact with the mouth or lips while in the 10-foot circle is immediate removal from the game. (Rule 8.02(a)(1))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 8. 

    78) Under no circumstances may a pitcher have more than eight preparatory pitches in one minute. (Rule 8.03))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 9. 

    79) Any umpire’s decision which involves judgment can be protested if the manager and/or coach feels the umpire missed the call. (Rule 9.02(a))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    According to Rule 9.02(a), any umpire's decision that involves judgment cannot be protested, even if the manager and/or coach feel that the umpire missed the call. Therefore, the statement "Any umpire's decision which involves judgment can be protested if the manager and/or coach feels the umpire missed the call" is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    80) Any umpire’s decision that involves the interpretation of a playing rule is not protestable by the manager and/or coach, even if the interpretation is wrong. (Rule 9.02(b))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 17, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 01, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Fl15ua
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.