Little League Umpire Test 3

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Fl15ua
F
Fl15ua
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 10 | Total Attempts: 11,798
Questions: 10 | Attempts: 652

SettingsSettingsSettings
Little League Umpire Quizzes & Trivia

LLHQ Umpire Exam from the Umpire School, Williamsport.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    21) The batter hits a hard ground ball to the shortstop. While waiting to field the ball, the runner on second is attempting to advance to third base. However, while running to third base the runner stows down and times it so that he/she is directly in front of the shortstop when the ball gets there, which causes the shortstop to miss the ball. The umpire calls “Time, the runner is out for interference”. (Rule 2.00 — Interference (a))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 2. 

    22) The batter hit a ball into deep center field. While the lead runner who was on first is rounding second base on the way to third base, the shortstop gets in the way and makes the lead runner change direction and go around. This change of direction gets the lead runner thrown out at third base.  The umpire rules that obstruction cannot be called because there was no contact between the two players. (Rule 2.00 — Obstruction)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 3. 

    23) The count on the batter is 2 balls and 2 strikes. The pitcher delivers ball 3 to the batter and the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher. While the batter is adjusting his/her batting glove the pitcher toes the pitcher’s plate and fires strike 3. The manager of the offensive team argues that this is a quick return pitch and should not be allowed. (Rule 2.00 — Quick Return)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The manager of the offensive team argues that this is a quick return pitch and should not be allowed. According to Rule 2.00 - Quick Return, a quick return pitch is not allowed. In this scenario, the batter was adjusting their batting glove when the pitcher delivered strike 3. Since the batter was not ready and the pitcher quickly delivered the pitch, it can be considered a quick return pitch. Therefore, the manager's argument is valid and the statement "True" is the correct answer.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    24) The batter gets set to hit the next pitch. But the batter sets up with both arms in the strike zone. The pitch is made and hits the batter’s arms.  The umpire awards the batter 1st base. (Rule 2.00 — A Strike (f))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because according to Rule 2.00, a strike is defined as a pitch that is swung at and missed, a pitch that is fouled off, or a pitch that is not swung at but passes through the strike zone. In this scenario, the batter did not swing at the pitch and the pitch hit the batter's arms, so it would not be considered a strike. Therefore, the umpire would not award the batter 1st base.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    25) The count on the batter is 3 balls and 2 strikes. The batter attempts to bunt the next pitch down the third base line, however, it goes foul. The batter steps back into the box and is ready for the next pitch. The umpire tells the batter that he/she is out for bunting foul on the third strike. (Rule 2.00 — A Strike (d))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is true because according to Rule 2.00 - A Strike (d), if the batter attempts to bunt the ball with two strikes and the ball goes foul, it is considered a strikeout. In this case, the batter had three balls and two strikes, attempted to bunt, and the ball went foul, resulting in a strikeout.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    26) The strike zone is that space over home plate, which is between the letters on the uniform and the top of the knees. (Rule 2.00 — Strike Zone)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the strike zone is not defined as the space between the letters on the uniform and the top of the knees. According to Rule 2.00, the strike zone is the space over home plate between the batter's armpits and the top of their knees when they assume a natural stance.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    27) A player in the starting line-up can be removed from the line-up anytime, even before the first pitch of the game. (Rule 3.03)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 8. 

    28) The starter plays innings one, two and three. In the fourth inning a substitute is brought in for that starter. In the top of the fifth inning the starter is brought back in to replace another starter.  The scorekeeper says this is legal and the umpire agrees. (Rule 3.03(2))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 9. 

    29) The starting lineups are exchanged and the visiting team has their ace listed as the starting pitcher. The visiting team scores 10 runs in their top half of the first inning. The visiting team manager now wants to save the ace pitcher for a game later in the week. The manager replaces the listed starting pitcher with someone else. This is allowed by rule because the pitcher did not warm up. (Rule 3.05(a))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 10. 

    30) The relief pitcher warms up and the game is resumed. The substitute pitcher throws the first two (2) pitches high over the catcher’s head. The manager does not like what is happening and wishes to bring in the second baseman to pitch. The umpire does not allow this change. (Rule 3.05(b))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer, which is True, is that according to Rule 3.05(b) in baseball, once a relief pitcher enters the game and throws a pitch, the manager is not allowed to make another pitching change unless the current pitcher is injured. In this scenario, the substitute pitcher throws the first two pitches high over the catcher's head, indicating that he is not injured. Therefore, the manager's attempt to bring in the second baseman to pitch is not allowed by the umpire.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 22, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jan 30, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Fl15ua
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.