Little League Umpire Test 6

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Fl15ua
F
Fl15ua
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 10 | Total Attempts: 11,798
Questions: 10 | Attempts: 921

SettingsSettingsSettings
Little League Umpire Quizzes & Trivia

LLHQ Umpire Exam from the Umpire School, Williamsport


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    51) Charles is scheduled to bat but Daniel steps into the box and promptly strokes a double to right center field. The defensive team appeals to the home plate umpire before the next pitch or play. The umpire recognizes that Charles was scheduled to bat and that Daniel batted out of turn. The umpire calls Daniel out and removes him from the second base. (Rule 6.07(b))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    According to Rule 6.07(b) in baseball, if a batter bats out of turn and it is appealed before the next pitch or play, the umpire should correct the mistake by calling the proper batter out and any runners who advanced due to the incorrect batter out. In this scenario, the umpire should have called Charles out and removed him from the second base, not Daniel. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    52) The 4th batter in the batting lineup is scheduled to bat, but the 5th batter bats instead (and gets good wood (?)on the ball) and strokes a triple. The defense manager is asking the assistant coach if that was the proper batter. While the assistant coach is checking the scorebook the 6th batter steps into the box. The first pitch is delivered to the 6th batter when the defensive dugout finds that the 5th batter did in fact bat out of turn. They call “Time” and inform the umpire, the umpire calls the 5th batter out and removes him/her from third base. (Rule 6.07(c))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The correct answer is False because according to Rule 6.07(c), if a batter bats out of turn and the defensive team appeals before the next pitch or play, the correct batter is the one who should have batted. In this scenario, the 6th batter stepped into the box before the appeal was made, so the 6th batter is the proper batter and the 5th batter is not called out. Therefore, the answer is False.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    53) The 4th batter is scheduled to bat but the 5th batter hits a single. The 7th batter now bats and takes ball 1. The defensive team calls “Time” and tells the umpire something is wrong. The umpire looks over the lineup card and sees that indeed 4 should have batted; but because of the pitch to the 7th batter the umpire rules that the next proper batter is the 6th batter and should get in the box with a 1-0 count. (Rule 6.07(d))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 4. 

    54) The batter is set in the box and the pitcher winds up and fires. The pitch is high and inside and clips the batter’s uniform sleeve. The defensive manager argues that it did not hit the batter it hit the uniform shirt. The umpire agrees and tells the batter to stay in the box and hit. (Rule 6.08(b))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    According to Rule 6.08(b), if a pitched ball touches the batter's clothing, it is considered a hit-by-pitch. In this scenario, even though the ball hit the batter's uniform sleeve, it still counts as hitting the batter. Therefore, the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    55) Runner on third base, no outs and a 3-2 count on the batter. As the pitch is delivered the batter takes a mighty swing and clips the catcher’s glove as the ball is hit to deep leftfield. The ball is caught for the first out of the inning and the runner on third tags properly and scores. The umpire calls “Time” and calls the offensive manager out of the dugout. The umpire tells the manager he can have the run and the out or he can have the runner back on third base and a runner on first base because of the catchers interference. (Rule 6.08(c))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer is that according to Rule 6.08(c), if the batter's swing clips the catcher's glove and the ball is caught for an out, the offensive manager has the option to either have the run count and the out stand, or have the runner return to third base and have a runner placed on first base due to catcher's interference. Therefore, the statement "True" is correct.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    56) In a Junior Baseball/Softball game there are runners on second and third base and the pitcher delivers a pitch in the dirt that the batter swings and misses. The umpire rules that since the catcher caught the ball on the bounce the batter is not allowed to run to first, only when the ball is dropped is the batter allowed to run to first. Rule 6.09(b) Baseball and 6.09(h) Softball)

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The explanation for the correct answer, which is False, is that according to Rule 6.09(b) in Baseball and 6.09(h) in Softball, if the batter swings and misses a pitch in the dirt and the catcher catches it on the bounce, the batter is indeed allowed to run to first base. The umpire ruling mentioned in the question is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    57) The batter crushes a fastball down the left field line that has extra bases written all over it. The leftfielder thinks the same thing and throws his/her glove at the ball and hits the ball with the  glove. Unfortunately this knocks the ball even further away from the leftfielder. The batter-runner puts it into high gear and scores just ahead of the throw for an inside the park home run. However, the umpire sends the batter-runner back to third base because the rule calls for only a three-base award for throwing equipment and hitting a batted ball. (Rule 7.05(c))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The batter-runner is not sent back to third base because the rule calls for only a three-base award for throwing equipment and hitting a batted ball. The correct answer is False.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    58) The throw in from the outfielder skips past the pitcher as the runner touches second base. The catcher has the mask in the right hand and reaches out and scoops up the ball in the mask.  The umpire sees that all play is over and by rule awards the runner home, a two-base award.  (Rule 7.05(d))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 9. 

    59) The first baseman has responsibility for being the cut-off on the throw from the outfielders to the plate. The run scores as the throw comes in on one bounce to the first baseman, but it takes a bad hop over the first baseman’s head. The first baseman throws his/her glove at and hits the ball as it goes over his/her head. The batter-runner has just tagged first base so the umpire, by rule, awards the batter-runner 3d base. (Rule 7.05(e))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 10. 

    60) Groundball to the shortstop who comes up firing, trying to get the speedy runner. But in the shortstop’s haste to throw the runner out, the ball is overthrown. The umpire places the runner at third base. (Rule 7.05(g))

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 22, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 01, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Fl15ua
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.