Little League Umpire Test 5

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Fl15ua
F
Fl15ua
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 10 | Total Attempts: 12,083
| Attempts: 407 | Questions: 8
Please wait...
Question 1 / 8
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. 41) Sharp ground ball hit toward the shortstop accidentally hits the runner advancing from second base to third base. The umpire places the batter-runner on second base for a two-base award. (Rule 5.09 (f))

Explanation

According to Rule 5.09 (f), if a ground ball hits a runner who is advancing from one base to another, the batter-runner is not awarded two bases. Instead, the ball is considered dead and the runner is called out. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Little League Umpire Quizzes & Trivia

This quiz tests knowledge of Little League umpiring rules, including game scenarios, player conduct, and umpire decisions.

2. 43) With a runner on second the pitch is fouled off and goes into the parking lot. The umpire gives the catcher a new ball and the catcher throws it to the second baseman covering second base to pick off the runner who has not gotten back to second yet. The base umpire calls the runner out. (Rule 5.11)

Explanation

According to Rule 5.11, if a ball goes out of play and a runner has not yet reached the base that they are advancing to, the runner is awarded that base. In this scenario, the runner would be awarded third base since the ball went into the parking lot. Therefore, the correct answer is False.

Submit
3. 50) The pitch is delivered with a runner on third base and the catcher misses it.  While the catcher is chasing after the ball the pitcher comes in to cover the plate. The catcher gets the ball and turns to throw to the pitcher covering. The batter sees that the runner from third is going to be a dead duck, so the batter moves in front of the pitcher while trying to look like it is a move to get out of the way. The umpire calls the runner safe at home and no interference. (Rule 6.06(c))

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
4. 46) The pitcher is painting the outside corner of the plate and the umpire is calling strikes. The batter is concerned about missing an outside pitch with the count 0-2 and crowds the plate.  The pitcher and catcher see this and decide to pitch to the inside corner. The pitch is made inside and the batter swings; however, the ball hits the batter on the arm. The umpire awards the batter 1st base. (Rule 6.05(e))

Explanation

The statement is false. According to Rule 6.05(e), if a batter is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone, it is considered a strike, not a hit by pitch. Therefore, the batter would not be awarded 1st base in this situation.

Submit
5. 48) The batter tops the ball and it goes straight down and hits the plate and then rolls in front of the plate. The catcher pounces on the ball and gets set to throw to first. The batter-runner is running inside the first base line toward first base only a quarter of the way down the line. The catcher does not throw the ball for fear of hitting the runner. The runner is called safe at first. (Rule 6.05(j))

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
6. 49) The batter is frustrated by the pitcher and is officially hitless during this particular game. In an effort to try something to increase the odds of getting a hit, the batter steps from one batters box to the other while the pitcher is winding up. The umpire calls the batter out. (Rule 6.06(b))

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
7. 45) When the batter takes his/her position in the batter’s box both feet must be within the batter’s box lines. (Rule 6.03)

Explanation

According to Rule 6.03, when the batter takes their position in the batter's box, both feet must be within the batter's box lines. This means that the batter cannot have any part of their feet outside of the designated area. Therefore, the correct answer is True.

Submit
8. 44) The batter is not happy with the ball and strike calls of the umpire. To show his/her displeasure with the umpire the batter refuses to get into the batter’s box when told to do so by the umpire.  The umpire calls a strike without the need for a pitch to be delivered. (Rule 6.02(c))

Explanation

According to Rule 6.02(c) in baseball, if a batter refuses to get into the batter's box when instructed by the umpire, the umpire has the authority to call a strike without the need for a pitch to be delivered. Therefore, in this scenario, since the batter refuses to get into the batter's box, the umpire can call a strike.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 20, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 20, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jan 31, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Fl15ua
Cancel
  • All
    All (8)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
41) Sharp ...
43) ...
50) The ...
46) The ...
48) The ...
49) The ...
45) ...
44) The ...
Alert!

Advertisement