Do You Know The Correct Answer?

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Franciscodavila
F
Franciscodavila
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 2 | Total Attempts: 3,645
Questions: 15 | Attempts: 2,088

SettingsSettingsSettings
Do You Know The Correct Answer? - Quiz

BEGINNER'S LEVEL
Do you think you have what it takes to be a good referee?
We invite you to prove your knowledge.
*Just log a name and click start.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    The Laws prohibit the goalkeeper from making throw-ins.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the laws of the game do not prohibit the goalkeeper from making throw-ins. In fact, the goalkeeper is allowed to make throw-ins just like any other player on the field. The laws of the game specify the rules and regulations for all players, including the goalkeeper, and there is no specific prohibition on goalkeepers making throw-ins.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    All free kicks must be played in a forward direction.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    This statement is not true. According to the rules of football, free kicks can be played in any direction, including both forward and backward. The direction in which the free kick is played depends on the player's strategy and the situation on the field. Therefore, the statement that all free kicks must be played in a forward direction is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A goalkeeper may play anywhere on the field.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    A goalkeeper is a player who is designated to protect the goal and prevent the opposing team from scoring. While their primary role is to stay in the goal area, they are not restricted to that position. In certain situations, a goalkeeper may leave the goal and play anywhere on the field, especially during attacking plays or when the team is in need of an extra player. This flexibility allows the goalkeeper to contribute to the team's overall strategy and assist in creating scoring opportunities.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    The team winning the coin toss gets to decide whether to take the kick-off or choose the goal they wish to defend.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The team winning the coin toss gets to decide whether to take the kick-off or choose the goal they wish to defend. This statement is false. In most sports, including football (soccer), the team winning the coin toss gets to choose whether to kick-off or choose the goal they wish to defend.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    The referee must not signal for the taking of the penalty kick until all players are placed correctly as required by Law.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The referee must wait until all players are in the correct positions as required by the rules before signaling for the penalty kick to be taken. This ensures fairness and adherence to the laws of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    Having applied advantage, the referee may punish the original foul if the advantage is not realized within a few seconds.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    When a foul occurs in a game, the referee has the option to play advantage if the team that was fouled still has an opportunity to maintain possession or score. If the advantage is applied, the referee allows play to continue and gives the fouled team the opportunity to benefit from the advantage. However, if the advantage is not realized within a few seconds, the referee can then go back and punish the original foul. This ensures that the team that was fouled does not lose out on a potential advantage if they were unable to capitalize on it immediately. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    The penalty mark is located 10 yards away from the goal line.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    The penalty mark is not located 10 yards away from the goal line. In fact, it is located 12 yards away from the goal line. This mark is used in soccer to indicate where a penalty kick is taken from.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    The ball strike the assistant referee who is inside the field next to the touch line. The referee stop play and restart play with a drop ball.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
  • 9. 

    Law 8 mention the duties of the referee and assistant referee

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    B. False
    Explanation
    Law 8 does not specifically mention the duties of the referee and assistant referee. Instead, Law 8 focuses on the start and restart of play, including the procedures for kick-off, dropped ball, free kicks, penalty kicks, and throw-ins. The duties of the referee and assistant referee are outlined in other laws of the game, such as Law 5 (Referee) and Law 6 (Assistant Referees). Therefore, the statement that Law 8 mentions the duties of the referee and assistant referee is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    When taking a kick-off, the kicker sends the ball directly into the opponents' goal. The restart is a kick-off for the opposing team.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    When taking a kick-off, the objective is to send the ball directly into the opponents' goal. This restarts the game and gives the opposing team a kick-off, allowing them to have possession of the ball and start their attack. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    A player who is lying on the ground kicks the ball. No other player is nearby. What is the restart?

    • A.

      Indirect free kick

    • B.

      None, there is no infringement.

    • C.

      Direct free kick

    Correct Answer
    B. None, there is no infringement.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "None, there is no infringement." When a player who is lying on the ground kicks the ball and no other player is nearby, it does not constitute an infringement or a foul. As long as the player does not use excessive force or commit any other foul play, they are allowed to kick the ball while on the ground. Therefore, there is no need for a restart or any penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    A Blue attacker kicks the ball toward the Red goal from about 35 yards away. A Red defender standing in the penalty arc attempts to kick the ball back toward midfield, but it slides off the side of her foot and rolls into the penalty area, where the Red goalkeeper picks it up. The referee should:

    • A.

      Stop play and award an indirect free kick to the Blue team at the point where the goalkeeper touched the ball.

    • B.

      Stop play and award a penalty kick to the Blue team.

    • C.

      Allow play to continue.

    Correct Answer
    C. Allow play to continue.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is to allow play to continue. In this scenario, the Red defender unintentionally mishit the ball, causing it to roll into the penalty area where the Red goalkeeper picked it up. Since there was no intentional handball or foul committed by the Red team, the referee should not stop play or award a free kick or penalty kick to the Blue team. The play should continue as normal.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    A player will be punished for misconduct while celebrating a goal if her action:

    • A.

      Is obscene.

    • B.

      Is provocative.

    • C.

      Any of the above.

    Correct Answer
    C. Any of the above.
    Explanation
    The correct answer is "Any of the above" because a player can be punished for misconduct while celebrating a goal if her action is obscene or provocative. This means that if the player's celebration involves any obscene or provocative gestures or behavior, she can be penalized by the officials.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    At the taking of an indirect free kick, the kicker shoots the ball directly into the opponents' goal without anyone else touching it. How is play restarted?

    • A.

      Kick-off

    • B.

      Indirect free kick for the opponents after cautioning the kicker for unsporting behavior.

    • C.

      Goal kick

    Correct Answer
    C. Goal kick
    Explanation
    When the kicker shoots the ball directly into the opponents' goal without anyone else touching it during an indirect free kick, play is restarted with a goal kick.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    During a sudden change in possession, the referee is caught in the middle of play in the center circle. The ball strikes the referee and rebounds to an attacking player. The referee should:

    • A.

      Stop play, award an indirect free kick to the opposing team, since the player to whom the ball rebounded received it unfairly.

    • B.

      Stop play and conduct a dropped ball.

    • C.

      Allow play to continue.

    Correct Answer
    C. Allow play to continue.
    Explanation
    In this situation, the referee is caught in the middle of play and the ball strikes them, rebounding to an attacking player. According to the rules, if the referee is accidentally hit by the ball and it rebounds to a player, play should be allowed to continue. The player did not intentionally gain an advantage from the ball hitting the referee, so there is no unfair play involved. Therefore, the correct decision is to allow play to continue.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 20, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Dec 30, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Franciscodavila
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.