Trivia Questions Quiz: What Do You Know About Pickleball Referee?

51 Questions | Total Attempts: 103

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Trivia Questions Quiz: What Do You Know About Pickleball Referee?

Trivia Questions Quiz: What Do You Know about Pickleball Referee? One can confuse tennis with pickleball, but they are totally different in the way they are played and the rules involved. If you want to see just how much you know about refereeing such games? How about you give the quiz a try and get to refresh your understanding!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    In a serve motion, it is legal to have the paddle face above the wrist as long as contact with the ball is made below the waist.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    A Pickleball net should be set at 38 inches at the net post and 36 inches at centre court.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    The server has 10 seconds to serve the ball after the score is called.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    A receiver may indicate his partner is not ready by holding up his paddle arm at any time before the ball is actually served
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 5. 
    Each team is allowed 2 one minute timeouts during a game.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 6. 
    If the ball bounces on the court of the non receiving player and then hits the player, it is consider a point for the serving team because the ball hit the player.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 7. 
    If a player goes out of bounds to return a ball that bounced in his court and returns the ball around the net pole below net height and into the opposing team's court, this is a legal return?
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 8. 
    If a player returns a ball on the bounce but their forward momentum takes them into the non volley zone this is a fault.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    A server can verify with the referee the correct call of the score if they have not served the ball and the receiver can do the same if they have not returned the serve.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    A receiving player can return the serve and start the rally and then stop play to verify the correct score with the referee without any loss of point.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    If a player yells OUT to his partner, but the partner proceeds to play the ball anyway, this will be deemed to be a distraction and a let serve or redo of the serve allowed.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 12. 
    If one team cannot decide whether the ball is in or out they can ask the referee for a redo or a let serve.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 13. 
    If a referee notices that a player is about to serve from the wrong court, they must inform the player or it is not a fault.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 14. 
    An opposing player or team can query a player directly about a high serve.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 15. 
    If a team calls a time out the, the referee should insist that all players put their paddles on the court and the server should place the ball on their paddle.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 16. 
    If after the referee checks the receiver to make sure they are ready, the receiver can not raise their paddle hand to stop play before the serve is made.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 17. 
    If a player discovers a ball is cracked at the end of a rally, they can request a replay of that rally through the referee.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    A coloured sticker attached to a player's clothing, an arm band or other  method can be used to identify a player starting the game in the right hand court.  This helps the referee keep track of whether the server is serving from the correct court.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 19. 
    If a player throws a paddle in such a fashion that it injured another players on the court or caused damaged to the court, a technical warning should be issued by the referee but no point awarded to the opposing team.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 20. 
    If a referee discovers a player serving from the wrong court, they can take away the serve plus any points earned while the player was serving from the wrong court.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 21. 
    If a ball hits the receiving player, even though they are standing out of bounds, it is a point for the serving team as long as the ball did not contact the court surface first.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 22. 
    The team that wins the toss at the beginning of a match has the right to chose serve or side but not both.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 23. 
    A ball hitting the paddle hand of a player is consider a dead ball and results in loss of serve or a point being awarded to the opposing team.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 24. 
    A 15 minute time out is allowed between games in a best 2 out of 3 match.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 25. 
    In the third game of a 2 out of 3 match, the teams switch ends when the total score of each team adds up to 6. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

Back to Top Back to top