Football (Soccer) Laws Of The Game 1

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Robs2107
R
Robs2107
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 5,034
Questions: 10 | Attempts: 5,037

SettingsSettingsSettings
Football (Soccer) Laws Of The Game 1 - Quiz

This quiz covers basic rules (Laws of the Game) of football (soccer). None of these questions are tricky or particularly difficult, however some questions cover areas where there commonly held misconceptions amongst some people.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    A defender near the goal line deliberately kicks the ball forward to the goal keeper near the penalty spot. The keeper picks up the ball in his hands. The referee should:

    • A.

      Award an indirect free kick.

    • B.

      Play on, no infringement

    • C.

      Award a penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. Award an indirect free kick.
    Explanation
    Law 12 An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper...touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

    There is no reference in the law to the direction of the kick, the term pass-back is not part of the laws of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    A red team forward kicks the ball very hard at goal, on target, the ball glances off the referee who can't get out of the way in time, the ball misses the goal and goes over the goal line without any further player contact. What is the restart? 

    • A.

      Red team corner kick

    • B.

      Blue team goal kick

    • C.

      Drop ball where the referee was standing

    • D.

      Indirect free kick to red team

    Correct Answer
    C. Drop ball where the referee was standing
    Explanation
    In soccer (football), if the ball hits the referee during play and does not result in any further player contact before going out of play (in this case, over the goal line), the restart is typically a dropped ball.
    The referee will stop play and drop the ball at the spot where it struck the referee, and players from both teams can contest for possession. This restart is a fair way to resume play when the referee's involvement in the game is accidental.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    In the Diagrams below the blue line indicates where the ball crosses the goal line after being last touched by the attacking team. The red indicates where the ball can be placed for the goal kick to restart play. Which diagram is correct.Diagram 1 Diagram 2 Diagram  3 Diagram  4 

    • A.

      Diagram 1

    • B.

      Diagram 2

    • C.

      Diagram 3

    • D.

      Diagram 4

    Correct Answer
    D. Diagram 4
    Explanation
    Law 16: The ball is kicked from any point within the goal area by a player of the defending team.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Which of the following is an offence under the laws of game of football? (All answers apply to field players, not goal keepers) Select all correct answers.

    • A.

      Accidental handball

    • B.

      Deliberately handling the ball

    • C.

      Accidental handball to the player's advantage

    • D.

      Ball strikes players arm when the arm is not by the player's side.

    • E.

      Deliberately punching the ball on the ground

    Correct Answer(s)
    B. Deliberately handling the ball
    E. Deliberately punching the ball on the ground
    Explanation
    Law 12 Handling the ball (which includes punching) deliberately is the only action from the list above that is an offence under the laws of the game.

    While the players and the crowd will often scream handball and professional television commentators will also talk about handball, they rarely talk about the actual rule of deliberate handling.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    A blue players deliberately kicks the ball back to his keeper, the kick is wayward and the keeper who is near the penalty spot dives and punches the ball over the goal line thereby preventing the ball entering the goal. What is the restart?

    • A.

      Corner

    • B.

      Goal kick

    • C.

      Indirect free kick

    • D.

      Indirect free kick + yellow card for keeper

    • E.

      Penalty + red card for keeper

    Correct Answer
    C. Indirect free kick
    Explanation
    Law 12: An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper,
    inside his own penalty area...
    - touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked
    to him by a team-mate

    There is no card that applies to this situation, while a red is shown for denying the opposing team a goal by deliberately handling the ball, Law 12 clearly states this does not apply to a goalkeeper within their own penalty area.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    At a drop ball restart, there must be

    • A.

      One player only from each team

    • B.

      At least one player from each team

    • C.

      No player requirement

    • D.

      At least one player, the team is irrelevant

    Correct Answer
    C. No player requirement
    Explanation
    Law 8: There is no player requirement for the dropped ball restart.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    In which of the following images is the ball first out of play?Image 1 Image 2 Image 3 Image 4 

    • A.

      Image 1

    • B.

      Image 2

    • C.

      Image 3

    • D.

      Image 4

    Correct Answer
    D. Image 4
    Explanation
    The ball is out of play when:
    - it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the
    ground or in the air
    In image 3 the ball has not wholly crossed the line, this situation shown specifically in a diagram in Law 12.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    The goes out of play over the touch line, last touched by a blue team player, A red player number 8 takes the through-in with correct procedure but the Assistant Referee indicates ball did not enter the field of play. Who can take the throw-in to restart play?

    • A.

      Red player number 8

    • B.

      Any red player

    • C.

      Any blue player

    Correct Answer
    B. Any red player
    Explanation
    In the "Interpretation" section it states If the ball touches the ground before entering the field of play, the throw-in is retaken by the same *team* from the same position provided that it was taken in line with the correct procedure

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Which of the following must the referee take into account when determing wether the ball was deliberately handled?

    • A.

      The distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)

    • B.

      The movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)

    • C.

      The position of the hand

    • D.

      Whether the ball ended up advantaging the player

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. The distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
    B. The movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
    Explanation
    Law 12: "Interpretation" section: Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact
    with the ball with his hand or arm. The referee must take the following
    into consideration:
    • the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
    • the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
    • the position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    The blue team keeper kicks the ball but skies the ball. As ball drops a blue defender swings his leg, calls out keeper and contacts the ball mid-thigh. Without further player contact the travels back to the keeper who picks the ball up. What should the referee do?

    • A.

      Allow play to proceed, no infringement.

    • B.

      Indirect free kick

    • C.

      Indirect free kick and yellow card the defender

    • D.

      Indirect free kick and yellow card the keeper

    Correct Answer
    A. Allow play to proceed, no infringement.
    Explanation
    The referee should allow play to proceed without any infringement. In this situation, the blue defender made contact with the ball after it dropped from the sky, and then the ball traveled back to the keeper who picked it up. Since there was no further player contact and the ball was not deliberately played by the keeper's hands, there is no violation of the rules. Therefore, the referee should let the game continue without any penalty or card.

    Rate this question:

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.