2021 Csoa-LA CLAssification Exam Bb

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Irvin Robertson
I
Irvin Robertson
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 364
| Attempts: 176
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/100 Questions

    R2 is on 2nd base as B3 bats with a two-strike count. B3 starts her swing but tries to stop her swing as the pitch is low and in the dirt. What is your call?

    • A. The plate umpire must ask for help on the swing if the catcher requests help.
    • B. The plate umpire may ask the base umpire for help on the swing without a request from the catcher.
    • C. The batter can require the plate umpire to ask for help in reversing a strike call.
    • D. The base umpire should always agree with the plate umpire on check swing appeals.
Please wait...
About This Quiz

.

Class Quizzes & Trivia

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    A strike is called on the batter when a pitched ball, in the umpire's judgment, is prevented from entering the strike zone by any action of the batter.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 3. 

    The batter is out when she throws her bat and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 4. 

    A team's lineup card must include each starting player's first initial and last name, jersey number, position and batting order.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 5. 

    Following batter's interference with the catcher, the batter is out and each runner must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 6. 

    The plate umpire notices that B1 steps into the batter’s box with an altered bat. What is your call?

    • A. The umpire will remove the altered bat from the game and will eject B1 and the head coach from the game.

    • B. The umpire will wait for an appeal from the defensive team.

    • C. The umpire will declare a penalty strike on B1.

    • D. There is no penalty unless B1 hits the ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. A. The umpire will remove the altered bat from the game and will eject B1 and the head coach from the game.
  • 7. 

    A state association may, on an individual basis, permit a player to participate while wearing a different style uniform for religious reasons.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 8. 

    Exposed undergarments are considered part of the official uniform and shall be black, white, gray or a solid school color.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 9. 

    It is legal for S1 to substitute for the starting pitcher F1 in the third inning, and then re-enter the original pitcher in the fifth inning in the same position in the batting order.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 10. 

    The pitcher has her choice of balls at the start of each half-inning unless both balls do not get put into play in the first half of the first inning.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 11. 

    A runner is considered to be in the three-foot running lane when she has one foot touching inside the lane and one foot touching on the line.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 12. 

    The batter-runner shall be declared out when she hits an infield fly, when the infield-fly rule is in effect, even if it is not initially called by the umpire.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 13. 

    No outs, R1 is on 2nd base and R2 is on 1st base. B3 hits a ground ball to F6. F6 throws to F4 to force R2 out at 2nd. F4 throws to 1st and the umpire declared B3 safe. B3, thinking she was out, walks off the base and enters her dugout before her coach yells at her to return to 1st. What is your call?

    • E. That is an appeal play.

    • B. B3 is out for abandonment.

    • C. B3 is allowed to return to 1st base provided she returns safely before being tagged out by the defense.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. B3 is out for abandonment.
  • 14. 

    A base runner establishes her own base path when she is not being played upon.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 15. 

    An intentional walk can be granted:

    • A. Only by the pitcher or catcher.

    • B. Only by the defensive coach.

    • C. When the defensive coach, pitcher or catcher makes the request.

    • D. By any defensive player.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. When the defensive coach, pitcher or catcher makes the request.
  • 16. 

    With R1 on 2nd base with no outs, B2 hits for extra bases. While the ball is in the outfield, R1 maliciously crashes into F2 who is standing between 3rd base and home. R1 continues on and touches home plate. What is your call?

    • A. Declare the ball dead immediately and eject R1 from the game.

    • B. Allow the run to score.

    • C. Eject F2 from the game for interference.

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Declare the ball dead immediately and eject R1 from the game.
  • 17. 

    With no outs, R1 is on 2nd base and R2 is on 1st base. B3 hits a ground ball to F4. F4 throws to F6 at 2nd for the force. F6 throws to F3 to try to turn the double play. B3 beats the throw by a step. B3, thinking she had been put out, walks off the field and enters her dugout. What is your call?

    • A. That is an appeal play.

    • B. B3 may return to 1st base.

    • C. B3 is out for abandonment.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. B3 is out for abandonment.
  • 18. 

    The pitching distance is measured from the rear tip of home plate to the back edge of the pitcher’s plate.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 19. 

    It is legal for the assistant coach or other team personnel to leave the dugout/bench area to record his/her players behind the backstop.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 20. 

    The pitcher may legally remove herself from the pitcher’s plate before or after the hands come together by stepping back from the plate with both feet.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 21. 

    While the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot circle, a batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but then must immediately return to first or attempt to advance non-stop to second base.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 22. 

    R1 occupies 1st base with no outs when B2 hits a ground ball to F4. When F4 attempts to tag the advancing R1, R1 retreats toward 1st base. F4 then fires to 1st to retire B2 but R1 maintained contact with 1st base. What is your call?

    • A. B2 is out.

    • B. R1 is out for running the bases in reverse order.

    • C. The ball is dead.

    • D. R1 committed a travesty of the game.

    Correct Answer
    A. A. B2 is out.
  • 23. 

    In the second inning with Team B at bat and one out, it is discovered that the pitching distance is incorrect. What is your call?

    • A. The distance will be corrected at the start of the next full inning.

    • B. The pitching distance will be corrected immediately and the game will continue.

    • C. The game will be forfeited to the visiting team.

    • D. The game will continue with the incorrect distance.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. The pitching distance will be corrected immediately and the game will continue.
  • 24. 

    Obstruction is called on F2 when she is about to receive the ball while blocking home plate, and comes in contact with the runner sliding into home.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 25. 

    A legal substitute may replace a courtesy runner on a base, but the substitute is actually replacing the pitcher/catcher in the lineup for whom the courtesy runner is running and the pitcher/catcher has left the game.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 26. 

    The use of the DP/FLEX is required.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 27. 

    What is the correct term to use when a runner contacts a fielder with involves excessive force?

    • A. Collision.

    • B. Aggressive physical contact.

    • C. Flagrant.

    • D. Malicious.

    Correct Answer
    A. D. Malicious.
  • 28. 

    With R1 on 1st, F1 begins her delivery but the ball slips from her hand and lands behind her. R1 advances to 3rd. What is your call?

    • A. The ball is dead when F1 loses control of the ball.

    • B. R1 is returned to 1st and a ball is added to the batter’s count.

    • C. R1’s advance is legal.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. R1’s advance is legal.
  • 29. 

    A courtesy runner may run for another courtesy runner.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 30. 

    A base-runner is not out:

    • A. When the runner steps off 2nd base to avoid a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ground ball, but unintentionally interfere with the fielder, causing her to misplay the ball.

    • B. When the runner, attempting to avoid, is inadvertently struck by a fly ball while in contact with 2nd base.

    • C. When the runner steps off 2nd base to avoid a fielder in the act of fielding a batted fly ball, but unintentionally interferes with the fielder, causing her to drop the ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. When the runner, attempting to avoid, is inadvertently struck by a fly ball while in contact with 2nd base.
  • 31. 

    The coach of the team at bat asks about the color of the pitcher’s glove. What is your call?

    • A. The pitcher may not use a white glove.

    • B. The pitcher may not wear a grey glove.

    • C. The pitcher may not wear a pink glove.

    • D. The pitcher may wear a multicolored glove of approved colors.

    Correct Answer
    A. D. The pitcher may wear a multicolored glove of approved colors.
  • 32. 

    A fielder is considered to be making an initial play if the batted ground ball deflects off the pitcher.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 33. 

    The batter must keep one foot in the batter's box between pitches.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 34. 

    B1 is annoyed after the plate umpire’s second-strike call on successive pitches. B1 obviously delays entering the batter’s box after being directed by the umpire to do so and delays the game. What is your call?

    • A. B1 is ejected from the game without warning.

    • B. The ball is live.

    • C. The batter is charged with a third strike and is declared out.

    • D. The ball must be pitched.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. The batter is charged with a third strike and is declared out.
  • 35. 

    The same courtesy runner may run for both the pitcher and the catcher.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 36. 

    Right-handed batter B1 hits a fair line drive down the right field line just beyond 1st base. With the slicing ball rolling down the line well into foul territory, a spectator picks up the ball. What is you call?

    • A. The ball is delayed dead.

    • B. The ball is immediately dead.

    • C. B1 is awarded three bases from the time of the pitch.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. The ball is immediately dead.
  • 37. 

    Media may be in live-ball area if properly marked by the home team or game management.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
  • 38. 

    B1 steps into the batter’s box with a Little League baseball bat. What is your call?

    • A. The bat is illegal.

    • B. B1 is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game.

    • C. B1 is allowed to remain in the game.

    Correct Answer
    A. A. The bat is illegal.
  • 39. 

    R3 is on 3rd with two outs when B4 hits a ground ball to F6. F6’s throw skips past F3 and R3 scores. B4 misses 1st base and makes 2nd safely. While running the ball back in, F3 inadvertently steps on 1st base. What is your call?

    • A. B4 should be declared out the instant F3 steps on 1st base.

    • B. The inadvertent touching of a base by a fielder does not qualify as an appeal for a missed base.

    • C. R3’s run is nullified.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. The inadvertent touching of a base by a fielder does not qualify as an appeal for a missed base.
  • 40. 

    Any adult coach may attend the pregame conference with the umpire(s) and verify that the team is in compliance with all NFHS rules.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 41. 

    The visiting coach asks about the home team’s pitcher’s feet in relation to the pitcher’s plate. What is your call?

    • A. Both the pivot foot and the non-pivot foot is required to be on the pitcher’s plate prior to delivery.

    • B. Two feet are required to be on or in contact with the pitcher’s plate prior to the delivery.

    • C. A backward step may be taken before the hands have been brought together.

    • D. No backward step may be taken.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. A backward step may be taken before the hands have been brought together.
  • 42. 

    R2 is on 2nd base with one out and a 1-2 count on B3. B3 swings and misses the next pitch, but the pitch strikes B3. R2 advances safely to 3rd and B3 arrives at 1st. What is your call?

    • A. B3 remains at 1st base.

    • B. R2 remains at 3rd base.

    • C. R2 is returned to 2nd base.

    • D. The ball is live and in play.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
  • 43. 

    B1 swings and hits a ball straight down on home plate in fair territory. The ball rebounds straight up and again strikes B1’s bat in fair territory. At the time of the second contact B1 has both feet in the batter’s box. What is your call?

    • A. B1 is out for again hitting a fair ball in fair territory.

    • B. The ball is live.

    • C. That is a foul ball.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. That is a foul ball.
  • 44. 

    B1 swings and hits a fair ball off the plate. As B1 is leaving the box, the ball strikes her. What is your call?

    • A. B1 is always out if she is struck by her own batted ball.

    • B. The ball is always ruled a foul ball.

    • C. B1 is out if she is struck by her own ball while she has a least one foot completely out of the batter’s box and on the ground when she is struck.

    • D. B1 is out and the ball is ruled a fair ball, if B1’s feet are within the lines of the batter’s box when she is struck.

    Correct Answer
    A. C. B1 is out if she is struck by her own ball while she has a least one foot completely out of the batter’s box and on the ground when she is struck.
  • 45. 

    It is an appeal play when:

    • A. Either teams believes the umpire has misinterpreted a playing rule.

    • B. A fielder with the ball informs the umpire and touches a base that a runner left before a caught fly ball was first touched.

    • C. R1 leaves 1st base before a pitch is released.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. A fielder with the ball informs the umpire and touches a base that a runner left before a caught fly ball was first touched.
  • 46. 

    R1 is on 3rd base and R2 is on 2nd base when B4 hits a ground ball to F6. While running to 3rd, R2 inadvertently hinders F6 who is fielding the ball. At the time of the hindrance, R1 had not reached the plate. What is your call?

    • A. The ball is dead and R2 is out.

    • B. The ball is delayed-dead.

    • C. The ball is live.

    • D. B4 is out.

    • E. R1 is awarded home.

    Correct Answer
    A. A. The ball is dead and R2 is out.
  • 47. 

    Who can make a dead ball appeal?

    • A. Only an infielder.

    • B. A coach.

    • C. Only the infielder involved in the play.

    • D. Any substitute player sitting on the bench.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. A coach.
  • 48. 

    It is a delayed-dead ball situation when an illegal pitch occurs, but no pitch has been delivered to the batter.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
  • 49. 

    When does F1’s pitch begin?

    • A. With the hands separated, the pitcher moves her hands to bring them together.

    • B. The instant the pitcher parts the hands after bringing them together.

    • C. When the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together.

    • D. When she steps onto the pitching plate.

    Correct Answer
    A. B. The instant the pitcher parts the hands after bringing them together.

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 13, 2021 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 13, 2021
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 03, 2020
    Quiz Created by
    Irvin Robertson
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.