2019-rules Of Golf: Changes

Please wait...
Question 1 / 64
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. How long time do you have to search for your ball?

Explanation

See Rule 18.2a(1) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-2a). If the ball has not been found within these three minutes, then as a starting point it is lost, and you must proceed as follows:

1) If you have played a provisional ball, that ball is now the ball in play, and you must play on with it with a one stroke penalty.

2) If you have not played a provisional ball, you must either a) with a one stroke penalty play a ball from the spot, where you last played from* or b) (only if your club has introduced this alternative option in a Local Rule) with two penalty strokes drop a ball ahead (e.g. on the fairway) in accordance with the Local Rule.

*: When you are playing from where you last played, please be aware of this (Rule 14.6 - link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-6):

1) If you last played from the teeing area: You must play a ball from anywhere within the teeing area (you choose where), and you are allowed to tee the ball.

2) If you last played from the putting green: You must place a ball on the spot, where you last played from.

3) If you last played from other places (than the teeing area and the putting green): You must play a ball (must be dropped) within one club-length from the spot, where you last played (not nearer the hole).

In other words: Except on the putting green, you don’t have to play from that exact spot, you last played from!

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
2019-rules Of Golf: Changes - Quiz

This quiz is about the 2019 Rules of Golf.
It mainly concerns those Rules that has been modified (i. E. Where the answer in 2019 differs from the answer in 2018) and covers most of the basic Rules.
Thus the quiz is perfect to both 1) "learn to forget"... see morethe old (2018) Rules and to 2) learn the 2019-Rules!
You will get 5 random questions each time, from a database of 60+ questions (more will come) - so feel free to try the quiz several times.
When you are done with each quiz, you can see the correct answers - and to each answer there is a) a thorough explanation and b) a referral to relevant Rules.
Members of The Oswald Academy can get this quiz (for free) in a PDF-version as well as they can get the "embed code" (= so that the quiz can be placed on your golf club's website!).
Enjoy!
OSWALD ACADEMY
Brian Nygaard Oswald
bno@golfrules. Com see less

2.
We’ll put your name on your report, certificate, and leaderboard.
2. You putt from the putting green - with the flagstick in the hole - and the ball rolls into the hole! Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 13-2a(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-2a). This is different from the old Rules (2018) (where you would have incurred a two stroke penalty in stroke play and lost the hole in match play).

Submit
3. Your ball lies in a bunker. One inch behind the ball (also in the bunker) is a loose branch. Are you allowed to remove the branch before you make your stroke?

Explanation

See Rule 12.2a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-12#12-2a) and Rule 15.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-15#15-1a). Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a two stroke penalty (stroke play) or lost the hole (match play).

Submit
4. During search for your ball, you accidentally strike and move the ball after 30 seconds of searching. You replace the ball in accordance with the Rules, but are in doubt whether or not you have incurred any penalty?

Explanation

When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 2 (“E2") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are are not penalized:

E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
E2: If it happens during search.
E3: If it happens on the putting green.
E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

Exception 2 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened during search, and you must (just like you did) replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b) and Rule 7.4 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-7#7-4).

Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty.

Submit
5. Your ball is on the putting green. In your line of play there are some spike marks. Are you allowed to repair these spike marks before playing your stroke?

Explanation

See Rule 13.1c(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1c). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only allowed to repair spike marks that could not affect the movement of the ball (typically only those not situated on the “line of putt”).

Submit
6. Your ball is somewhere in thick rough - you cannot find it. You have not played a provisional ball. Your club has adopted the new Local Rule allowing you to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. Which one of these procedures is correct?

Explanation

It is not easy to find out where exactly to drop the ball. Therefore I will give you an “easy” way and a “difficult way” to find out:

1) “The EASY way”.
a. Find the spot, where you estimate the ball lies (“X”).
b. Find the nearest fairway spot not nearer the hole (“Y”).
c. Drop within two club-lengths of “Y” (not nearer the hole).

”The easy way” is correct, but only shows you a part of the correct relief area (“the difficult way” shows you the entire relief area - see below). Answer 3 is thus the “the easy way” (you are not allowed to drop closer to the hole than X - therefore answer 1 and 2 are both wrong).

2) “The DIFFICULT way”.
On the drawing in the top you can see the entire relief area (purple). This area is anyway between:

- A line from the hole through X (and within two club-lengths to the outside of that line), and
- A line from the hole through Y (and within two club-lengths to the fairway side of that line).

You are free to choose where in the purple area, you will drop.

—-o0o—-

Please note, that you must estimate, where the ball lies in the rough… which one could say is a bit weird since you don’t know, where the ball lies! But you must estimate as good as you can (if you are a man: remember, that you cannot drive 280 yard… so maybe the spot is not as far ahead as you might think :-)!).

Also please remember, that you can only invoke this Local Rule if you DON’T find the ball in time (i.e. within the three minutes of searching time) in the rough. If you FIND it in the rough in time (e.g. after having searched for two minutes), you must either a) play it as it lies, or 2) proceed under the unplayable ball Rule with a one stroke penalty.

Submit
7. Your ball is on the putting green. You accidentally touch the line of play for no apparent reason. Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

Under the old Rules (2018) answer number 1 was correct (two penalty strokes in stroke play and lost hole in match play).

Submit
8. In stroke play your ball lies 150 yards from the hole. Your fellow player (whose ball lies 220 yards from the hole) is calling a friend from his mobile phone, bragging about his 270 yards drive. Since your fellow player thus is not ready to play, you decide to play first. Are you allowed to do so, although it is not your turn to play?

Explanation

See Rule 6.4b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-6#6-4b) about “Ready Golf”. Thus in stroke play you are allowed to play out of turn, although you have not made an agreement with your fellow player about it, as long as you do it in a responsible way, such as 1) when you have a very short putt and want to hole out or 2) if you are ready to play (and your fellow player is not) and you don’t disturb/interfere/endanger anyone by playing out of turn. In match play “Ready Golf” is not available, but you can invite the opponent to play out of turn, or agree to the opponent’s request to play out of turn.

Submit
9. Are you - before you putt from the putting green - allowed to repair animal footprints on your line of play on the putting green?

Explanation

See Rule 13.1c(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1c). Please note that you are allowed to repair such damage no matter where the ball lies (i.e. you are allowed to repair it even if the ball lies outside the putting green). But please also note, that you are only allowed to repair damage on the putting green. Thus this Rule does not allow you to repair animal footprints in your line of play e.g. in the bunker or on the fairway (if you do so, you could be penalized for improving your line of play).

Submit
10. You make a stroke at your ball from the rough and thereby accidentally strike the ball twice (a double-hit). Which of the following statements is correct?

Explanation

See Rule 10.1a (link: Se Regel 10.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-10#10-1a). This is a change compared to the 2018-Rules, where answer no. 1 was correct (one stroke and one penalty stroke).

Submit
11. Your ball accidentally strikes your golf bag in a stroke. Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 11.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11-1). You must play the ball as it lies. This is a modification from the old (2018) Rules, under which you would have incurred a one stroke penalty.

Submit
12. Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the putting green. Is this procedure correct: 1) You mark the ball, 2) lift it, 3) repair the pitch-mark and 4) "replace" the ball (at the repaired spot)?

Explanation

See Rule 16.3a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3a) (and Rule 13.1c(2)). If the same had happened on the fairway, the procedure would be different: Drop a ball within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the pitch-mark.

Submit
13. You make a stroke from a fairway-bunker but unfortunately the ball strikes a tree and afterwards strikes you! Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 11.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11-1). You must play the ball as it lies. This is modified from the old (2018) Rules, where you would have incurred a one stroke penalty for striking yourself.

Submit
14. Your ball comes to rest against the flagstick in the hole. Half of the ball is below the surface of the putting green and half is above. Is it holed?

Explanation

If ANY part of the ball is under the surface, it is considered holed. See Rule 13.2c (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-2c). Under the old Rules (2018) the entire ball had to be below the surface, for the ball to be holed.

Please be aware, though, that if the flagstick is not in the hole, the Rules are the same as in 2018; the entire ball must be below the surface of the putting green (and at rest) for the ball to be holed (see the Definition of “Holed”: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions#definition-H).

Submit
15. Your ball is in a penalty area. It is lying OK in some low grass, and therefore you want to play it as it lies. You ground your club a few times before the stroke, thereby touching both the water and some grass inside the penalty area. Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

As of 2019 there are no specific prohibitions in a penalty area. Before a stroke to your ball in a penalty area, you are thus allowed to e.g. 1) ground your club, 2) touch loose grass in a practice swing, 3) remove loose impediments from the penalty area and 4) touch the water in the backswing for the stroke. These things you were not allowed to do under the old Rules (2018) (a “penalty area” did not exist - something similar was called a “water hazard”).

Submit
16. You take relief from temporary water. You drop the ball from shoulder heigth. Before you make your stroke, someone tells you, that you should have dropped from knee heigth. Have you incurred any penalty at this moment?

Explanation

In this situation you have dropped in a wrong way, but you can without penalty correct this error (by dropping from knee height) before you make a stroke. If you don’t correct the error before you make the stroke, you incur a one stroke penalty (if the ball furthermore in the drop came to rest outside the relief area, the penalty would increase to a total of two penalty strokes - lost hole in match play - for playing from a wrong place). See Rule 14.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b).

Submit
17. Your ball lies on the putting green. You accidentally strike it with your right foot, when you walk by it, whereby the ball moves 10 inches. The ball must be replaced. But did you incur any penalty?

Explanation

When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
E2: If it happens during search.
E3: If it happens on the putting green.
E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a Local Rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

Submit
18. Exactly how long is "one club-length"?

Explanation

Therefore one club-length is typically the length of you driver. Please note, that there is no obligation to use a specific club to measure with. You are allowed to measure with your putter or a 9-iron etc….but that still does not change the fact, that “one club-length” is the length of the longest club you brought, other than a putter. A headcover does not count - the length thus is measured without the headcover :-).

By the way you don’t have to measure - the only thing that counts is, that you drop inside a correct relief area.

See the Definition of “Club-length” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#clublength).

Submit
19. Do you have to drop precisely from knee height?

Explanation

See Rule 14.3b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b). If you don’t drop from knee height (but e.g. from shoulder height) you can without penalty correct the error (by dropping from knee height) before you make a stroke. If you don’t correct the error before you make a stroke, you incur a one stroke penalty.

Submit
20. Your ball is out of bounds - you have not played a provisional ball. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule allowing you to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. Which one of these procedures is correct?

Explanation

It is not easy to find out where exactly to drop a ball. Therefore I will give you an “easy” way and a “difficult way” to find out:

1) “The EASY way”.
a. Find the spot, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”).
b. Find the nearest fairway spot not nearer the hole (“Y”).
c. Drop within two club-lengths of “Y” (not nearer the hole).

”The easy way” is correct, but only shows you a part of the correct relief area (“the difficult way” shows you the entire relief area - see below). Answer 3 is thus the “the easy way” (you are not allowed to drop closer to the hole than X - therefore answer 1 and 2 are both wrong).

2) “The DIFFICULT way”.
On the drawing in the top you can see the entire relief area (purple). This area is anyway between:

- A line from the hole through X (and within two club-lengths to the outside of that line), and
- A line from the hole through Y (and within two club-lengths to the fairway side of that line).

You must drop in bounds. You are free to choose where in the purple area, you will drop.

Submit
21. You mark and lift your ball on the putting green, and replace it. You place the putter right behind the ball whereby you accidentally strike the ball, causing it to roll 10 inches. The ball must be replaced. Did you incur any penalty?

Explanation

When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
E2: If it happens during search.
E3: If it happens on the putting green.
E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a local rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

Submit
22. Are you allowed to use a distance-measuring device (to measure distance!) during your round? Your club does not have a Local Rule in operation about it.

Explanation

See Rule 4.3a(1) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-3a). As of 2019 you are allowed to use a distance-measuring device, unless it is prohibited in a Local Rule (contrary to 2018, where you were not allowed to use it, unless a Local Rule allowed it).

Submit
23. Your ball lies in a bunker. You are very tired, and therefore you ground your club in the sand a few yards from the ball (not in the line of play) and lean on the club to rest. Is that OK?

Explanation

See Rule 12.2b (link:https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-12#12-2b). Quite a few prohibitions from the old Rules (2018) thus have been repealed as of 2019, such as:

1) Touching/removing loose impediments in/from the bunker, when the ball lay in the bunker.
2) Grounding the club in the sand any other place than right in front of or right behind the ball.

You are therefore allowed to (as you did in this situation) ground the club in the sand, because you are tired and to lean on it to rest - as long as 1) it is not right in front of or right behind the ball and 2) you are not testing the sand (see no. 4 below).

There are still as of 2019 as a starting point four specific prohibitions, when your ball lies in a bunker:

1) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in a practice swing.
2) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the backswing to the stroke.
3) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the area right in front of or right behind the ball.
4) You are not allowed to deliberately touch the sand (e.g. with a hand, club, rake etc.) to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke.

Submit
24. You are playing "Maximum Score". At a certain hole, the maximum is 8 strokes. You take 10 strokes and therefore write 10 strokes on your scorecard. What should your club (Committee) do?

Explanation

See Rule 21.2b (at the bottom) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-21#21-2b). Normally the player should type the actual score for each hole on the scorecard. If the score is the same as or higher than the maximum score, the player can still write the actual score (whereafter the Committee then would adjust it to the maximum score) or the maximum score… or even not write any score (the Committee would then write the maximum score).

If the player does not hole out (e.g. because he/she lifts his ball when the maximum score is reached), he or she can simply write the maximum score (or don’t write anything).

Players are encouraged to stop playing, when their score has reached the maximum.

Submit
25. Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark in the rough (in the general area) after a stroke. Are you allowed to take relief without penalty (there is no Local Rule about this situation)?

Explanation

As of January 2019 you are allowed to take relief without penalty, when your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark everywhere in the “general area” (i.e. both on the fairway and in the rough)… unless your club has introduced a Local Rule limiting relief to closely-mown areas, i.e cut to fairway-height or less. See Rule 16.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only allowed relief without penalty if the ball was embedded in a closely-mown area “through the green”.

As of January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief in this situation - you were not allowed to do so in 2018.

By the way remember, that for you to take relief without penalty the ball must be embedded in its OWN pitch-mark. Thus you have to be pretty sure, that is your own pitch-mark… otherwise you are not allowed a free relief (See interpretation 16.3a(2)/1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-16-interpretations#16-3a-2-1)).

Submit
26. You mark your ball on the putting green, lift it, clean it, replace it, remove the ball-marker… and then walk 5 yards away. Now the ball begins rolling… and rolls into the hole! What now?

Explanation

The ball is considered moved by “natural forces” (wind, water etc.), unless it is known or virtually certain (i.e. at least 95 %!) that the ball is moved e.g. by the player, the opponent, a dog etc. In other words: Unless you are almost completely sure, that the ball is moved by the player or an opponent etc., then it is deemed to be moved by natural forces. So - in this situation the ball is considered moved by natural forces.

When a ball has been moved by natural forces, you must normally play the ball as it lies… but on the putting green there is a special Rule stating, that when you have (marked and) lifted the ball and replaced it, and it then moves, you must replace it (this must by the way be done no matter what caused the ball to move). See Rule 9.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-2b), 9.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-3) and 13.1d(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1d).

Submit
27. Your ball lies really bad in a bunker. Are you allowed to apply the unplayable ball Rule and take back-on-the-line-relief with penalty outside the bunker?

Explanation

See Rule 19.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-19#19-3b). This is new in 2019 - you did not have such an option under the old Rules (2018).

Please be aware, that when you apply the “back-on-the-line” Rule, you should find a spot on the line and place e.g. a tee on that spot… and then drop a ball within one club-length of that spot, not nearer the hole.

Submit
28. Your ball lies on the putting green (you have played four strokes). You make a practice swing close to the ball and accidentally strike the ball… whereby it rolls two feet away. Your club/Committee has no Local Rule about this situation. What now?

Explanation

You have not made a stroke, since it was not your intention to do so - see the Definition of a “Stroke” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#stroke).

Regarding a penalty: When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
E2: If it happens during search.
E3: If it happens on the putting green.
E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a local rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

Submit
29. Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the fairway. What is the procedure for taking relief without penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 16.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3b). This is a modification from the old Rules (2018), where answer 1 was the right one (drop at the spot right behind the “embed-hole”).

As of January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief in this situation - you were not allowed to do so in 2018.

By the way remember, that for you to take relief without penalty the ball must be embedded in its OWN pitch-mark. Thus you have to be pretty sure, that is your own pitch-mark… otherwise you are not allowed a free relief (See interpretation 16.3a(2)/1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-16-interpretations#16-3a-2-1)).

As of January 2019 you are allowed to take relief without penalty, when your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark everywhere in the “general area” (i.e. both on the fairway and in the rough)… unless your club has introduced a Local Rule limiting relief to closely-mown areas, i.e. cut to fairway-height or less. See Rule 16.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3). In 2018 you were only allowed relief without penalty if the ball was embedded in a closely-mown area “through the green”.

Submit
30. Your ball lies (in bounds) next to an out of bounds post - and your intended swing is interfered by the post. You remove the post. Immediately after, you are told that you were not allowed to remove it, and therefore you replace it and make a stroke at the ball. Did you incur any penalty?

Explanation

As a starting point you have made an illegal improvement (Rule 8.1a - https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-8#8-1a). Rule 8.1c (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-8#8-1c) though states, that in this situation you can avoid penalty, if you correct the error (= replace the post) before you make a stroke at the ball. Since you indeed did correct the error, before you made the stroke, you did not incur any penalty.

Under the old Rules (2018) you would have been penalized at the moment you removed the post, and could not avoid the penalty by subsequently correcting the error.

Submit
31. Which one of these is not an "Abnormal Course Condition"?

Explanation

See the definition of “Abnormal Course Condition” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions#definition-A) which states, that these are abnormal course conditions:

1) Ground under repair.
2) Animal hole.
3) Temporary water.
4) Immovable obstructions.

Everywhere on the course (except if the ball is in a penalty area or if the condition is out of bounds) you are allowed free relief from interference by an abnormal course condition (Rule 16.1 - link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/players-edition/rule-16#16-1a). Since a bunker is not an “abnormal course condition”, you are (unfortunately!) not allowed free relief from interference by a bunker!

The term “abnormal course condition” is new in 2019. Under the old (2018) Rules there was a term called “abnormal GROUND condition” which was casual water (now “temporary water”), ground under repair and holes from burrowing animals etc.

Submit
32. You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You don't play a provisional ball. Your club has adopted the new Local Rule allowing to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. What are your options now?

Explanation

You don’t have to invoke the Local Rule. Instead, you can go back with a one stroke penalty and play from the teeing area. See the Local Rule (model Local Rule E-5) in your club.

Submit
33. Your ball ends in some thick rough - and you are unable to find it. You haven't played a provisional ball. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule giving an option to drop (e.g. on the fairway) with a two stroke penalty. Which options are available now?

Explanation

You don’t HAVE to apply the Local Rule (see the Local Rule in your club (Model Local Rule E-5)). If you prefer, you can instead play a ball from where your previous stroke was made* with a one stroke penalty.

*: When you play from where your previous stroke was made, be aware of this (Rule 14-6 - available here: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-6):

1) If your previous stroke was made from the TEEING AREA: You can play a ball from anywhere inside the teeing area, and it may be teed.

2) If your previous stroke was made from the PUTTING GREEN: You must place a ball on the spot, where the previous stroke was made.

3) If you last played from OTHER PLACES (i.e. from the general area, a bunker or a penalty area) e.g. from the fairway: You must drop a ball within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the spot, where you last played from.

In other words: Except on the putting green, you don’t have to play from that exact spot, you last played from!

Submit
34. You are in doubt whether or not a ball in the rough is your ball, and therefore consider to mark and lift it to find out. Do you have to notify your fellow player before you do it?

Explanation

This is no longer a requirement (it was in 2018) - see Rule 7.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-7#7-3).

Submit
35. Your ball lies in a hole (in medium rough in the general area) made by a dog! Are you allowed to take relief without penalty?

Explanation

A hole made by a dog is an “animal hole”, which is an “abnormal course condition” that you are allowed to take relief without penalty from, if you are interfered by it, and if your ball lies e.g. in the general area (e.g. on the fairway or in the rough). See Rule 16.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-1). Under the old Rules (2018) a dog was not considered a “burrowing animal", and thus you were not allowed to take relief without penalty from interference by such a “dog hole”.

Submit
36. At a par-3 hole your first stroke is great: The ball ends on the putting green 6 yards from the hole. You walk towards the ball and immediately after having walked by it (approximately 10 inches from the ball) it begins to roll…and it rolls and rolls… and ends in the hole!! You are not sure what caused it to roll. Maybe your walking caused it, and maybe the wind (it was pretty windy) and maybe the fact that the ball lay on a steep part of the putting green. What shall you do now?

Explanation

In general the ball is deemed to have been moved by “natural forces” (wind, gravity etc.), except if it is known or virtually certain (i.e. at least 95 % certain!) that the ball was moved e.g. by the player. In your situation it is not at least 95 % certain that you moved the ball. Therefore natural forces moved it and you must play it without penalty from where it lies (i.e. it is in the hole!). See Rule 9.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-2b) and Rule 9.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-3).

Submit
37. You role in a long putt from the putting green. The flagstick was attended but he/she accidentally forgot to lift the flagstick. Does anyone incur a penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 13.2b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-2b). This is a modification of the old (2018) Rules, under which you would have incurred two penalty strokes (match play: lost hole).

Submit
38. What is "Maximum Score"?

Explanation

See the Definition of “Maximum Score” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#maximum-score):

A form of stroke play where a player’s or side’s score for a hole is capped at a maximum number of strokes (including strokes made and any penalty strokes) set by the Committee, such as two times par, a fixed number or net double bogey.

Such a stroke play form did not exist under the old Rules (2018).

Submit
39. You play your ball from the teeing area, and it ends somewhere in the rough (200 yards away). You search for one minute, but don't find it. You therefore decide to go back and play a provisional ball. Is that OK?

Explanation

See Interpretation 18.3a/2 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-18-interpretations#18-3a-2). Under the old Rules (2018) you were not allowed to play a provisional ball, if you had walked more than 50 yards towards the first ball to search for it. As of January 1st 2019 you are allowed to play a provisional ball, even if you have reached the area and have begun searching for the first ball.

I would recommend, though, that you play the provisional ball before you go forward to search for the first ball.

Remember by the way that if you DO play a provisional ball, you cannot invoke the new Local Rule (allowing you to drop with a two stroke penalty ahead, e.g. on the fairway). Therefore you should always think twice, before you play a provisional ball.

Submit
40. You play from the teeing area but unfortunately your ball looks like it is heading out of bounds. Therefore you play a provisional ball. You walk towards the ball, and find out that the first ball indeed is out of bounds. Since your club has introduced the new Local Rule, that allows you to drop a ball ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway, you consider to proceed under this Local Rule. Would that be OK?

Explanation

You can only invoke this Local Rule, when you have not played a provisional ball. See the wording of the Local Rule in your club (model Local Rule E-5). Therefore you must play on with the provisional ball, which is now the ball in play, and you have played three strokes and the next is number four.

Submit
41. Your ball lies on an artificially surfaced (gravel) path. You take relief without penalty, and when doing so, you substitute your ball. Is it OK to substitute your ball in this situation?

Explanation

See Rule 16.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-1). In 2018 (the old Rules) you were not allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief WITHOUT penalty; only when taking relief WITH penalty. But from January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief, no matter if it is with or without penalty.

Submit
42. Your ball is in a penalty area, and you decide to take relief with a one stroke penalty using the "back-on-the-line" relief option. You think the procedure is stupid and slow (i.e. finding a spot on the line, placing a tee on this spot and drop within one club-length of that) and therefore you don't really want to follow this procedure. Instead you simply just drop a ball directly on the line. Is that OK?

Explanation

When proceeding under the “back-on-the-line-relief" option you SHOULD find a spot on the line and then mark it e.g. with a tee. Thus it is a recommendation - not a requirement. It is therefore perfectly OK if you don’t follow the procedure, but instead simply drop a ball somewhere on (or within one club-length of) the line. See Rule 17.1d(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d).

Submit
43. Your ball lies just outside a wrong green, but your stance to the intended stroke is on the wrong green. Your club does not have a Local Rule about wrong greens. Do you have to - or are you allowed to - take relief without penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 13.1f (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1f). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only required to take free relief, if the ball lay on the wrong green. From 2019 you must take free relief if the ball lies on the wrong green or if the wrong green physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance (or intended swing). The club can though introduce a Local Rule stating that you are not required (or allowed) to take free relief if the wrong green interferes only the intended stance.

Submit
44. You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You have learned always to play a provisional ball in such a situation - so that is what you do. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule allowing to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. What are your options now?

Explanation

You cannot invoke this Local Rule, when you have played a provisional ball. See the Local Rule (model Local Rule E-5) in your club. Therefore you must play on with the provisional ball, which is now the ball in play, and your next stroke will be stroke number 4.

Submit
45. Your ball is in a red penalty area. You take relief with a one stroke penalty by applying the "back-on-the-line-relief" option: You place a tee on a spot on the line and drop a ball within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) this spot. In the drop the ball rolls 1,5 club-lengths perpendicular away from the hole (from where it first struck the course in the drop). Are you required do re-drop?

Explanation

You are required to re-drop, if the ball comes to rest outside the relief area. In this situation the relief area is ONE club-length from (not nearer the hole than) the tee, you placed on the line. Since it rolled 1,5 club-lengths, you are required to re-drop (no matter where it ended).

See Rule 17.1d(2) (“back-on-the-line-relief”) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d) and Rule 14.3c(2) (re-dropping) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3c)).

By the way please be aware, that “one club-length” is defined as the length of the longest club you have brought, other than a putter. Typically this club will be the driver. But you can measure with any club you like (a putter, a 9-iron etc.) - but it does not change the fact, that “one club-length” is the length of the longest club you have brought, other than a putter.

By the way you don’t HAVE to measure - the only thing that counts is, that you drop inside a correct relief area.

Submit
46. Have you played a provisional ball, when you state: "I am playing a ball under Rule 18.3!"?

Explanation

You have played a provisional ball if you either 1) use the word “provisional” or 2) otherwise clearly indicate, that you are playing the ball provisionally under Rule 18.3. The statement “I am playing a ball under Rule 18.3” is considered clear enough for the ball to be a provisional ball. See Rule 18.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-3b) and Interpretation 18.3b/2 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-18-interpretations#18-3b-2).

Submit
47. Due to a missed putt, you bend your putter in anger! Are you now allowed to a) play on with the putter and/or b) to replace it with another club (you had 14 clubs when starting the round)?

Explanation

See Rule 4.1b(3) (replace) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-1b) and Rule 4.1a(2) (play on with it) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-1a). This has been changed compared to 2018, where you in such a situation were not allowed to play on with it, and not allowed to substitute it with another club.

Submit
48. Stableford: "Professional Peter" 's gross score for hole 9 was 4, while "Amateur Adam" 's was 5. Professional Peter got two Stableford points, while Amateur Adam got three points! Who has the honour at hole 10 (they are both ready to play)?

Explanation

In contrary, under the old Rules (2018) it was the player with the highest number of Stableford points, who had the honour at the next hole. As of 2019 it does not matter, how many Stableford points they got - the player who has the lowest gross score at a hole, has the honour at the next hole. See Rule 6.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-6#6-4b).

Submit
49. You play from the fairway, but unfortunately your ball ends out of bounds. Your club has not introduced the new Local Rule (allowing players to drop ahead with a two stroke penalty e.g. in the fairway) and therefore you drop and play a ball with a one stroke penalty 10 inches from the spot (not nearer the hole), where you last played from (on the fairway). Was that OK?

Explanation

As of 2019 you must - when the ball has been played e.g. from the fairway - find the spot, from which you last played, and then drop a ball within one club-length from this spot (not nearer the hole). See Rule 18.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-2b) and Rule 14.6b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-6b). Thus this Rule has been modified; under the old (2018) Rules you had to play the ball from the exact same spot.

Remember, that if your club had introduced the new Local Rule allowing players to drop a ball with a two stroke penalty ahead e.g. on the fairway, you could instead have invoked this Local Rule.

Submit
50. Your ball lies in temporary water on fairway. You decide to take relief without penalty. When dropping, the ball first strikes the course but then rolls and accidentally strikes your left foot. (The ball ends in the correct relief area). What now?

Explanation

There is no penalty. You are not required to (and you must not) re-drop when the ball (as in this situation) strikes your foot in the drop AFTER it first struck the course. If, however, the ball strikes your foot BEFORE it strikes the course, you are required to re-drop (with no limit to the number of times you have to re-drop). See Rule 14.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b).

Submit
51. You play a round of "Maximum Score". You don't write any score at hole 7. Which score (if any) should the club (Committee) write for you?

Explanation

See Rule 21.2b (at the bottom) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-21#21-2b). Normally the player should type the actual score for each hole on the scorecard. If the score is the same as or higher than the maximum score, the player can still write the actual score (whereafter the Committee then would adjust it to the maximum score) or the maximum score… or even not write any score (the Committee would then write the maximum score).

If the player does not hole out (e.g. because he/she lifts his ball when the maximum score is reached), he or she can simply write the maximum score (or don’t write anything).

Players are encouraged to stop playing, when their score has reached the maximum.

Submit
52. Is an unmarked lake a red penalty area or a yellow penalty area?

Explanation

See the Definition of a “Penalty Area” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#penalty-area). Normally all penalty areas are marked e.g. with stakes. As of January 1st 2019 most penalty areas are red, which means that you have an extra relief option available (i.e. to drop within two club-club-lengths of the spot where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area, not nearer the hole).

Submit
53. You play from the teeing area, and the ball is heading for some heavy rough. You don't play a provisional ball. You walk towards the rough, and find your ball after 30 seconds of searching. You decide to invoke the new Local Rule (allowing to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway). Is that OK?

Explanation

You can only use this option, when you have NOT found your ball in time (i.e. within the three minute search time) in bounds (see the Local Rule (model Local Rule E-5) in your club). When you actually find the ball in bounds in time, you must either 1) play the ball as it lies or 2) proceed under the unplayable ball Rule.

Submit
54. Your ball is lying on the putting green. Are you allowed to mark the ball with your shoe?

Explanation

You must mark the ball with either 1) a club or 2) an artificial object (such as a tee, a coin or another small object). It is recommended that it is a small object (tee, coin etc.), but a shoe is OK. A non-artificial object is not OK (e.g. a twig). See Rule 14.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-1a) and the Definition of “Ball-Marker” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#ballmarker).

Submit
55. Your ball is in a penalty area, and you decide to take relief with a one stroke penalty using the "back-on-the-line" relief option. You don't want to follow the procedure (i.e. finding a spot on the line, placing a tee on this spot and drop within one club-length of that) - therefore you simply just drop a ball on the line. The ball rolls two inches closer to the hole in the drop. Do you have to re-drop?

Explanation

When proceeding under the “back-on-the-line-relief” option, you SHOULD find a spot on the line and mark it e.g. with a tee. But it is merely a recommendation - not a requirement. It is therefore perfectly OK if you (as in this situation) don’t follow the procedure, but instead simply drop a ball somewhere on (or within one club-length of) the line.

A problem can occur, though, if you don’t follow the procedure:

You must re-drop, if the ball rolls outside the relief area and ends outside the relief area. In this situation, where you have not marked a spot on the line, the relief area is deemed to be within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot on the line, in an equal distance from the hole than the spot where the ball landed in the drop. Since you dropped exactly on the line, the relief area (wherein the ball must land and come to rest) is within one club-length of the spot, where the ball landed, NOT NEARER THE HOLE.

Since the ball rolled two inches closer to the hole (i.e. it rolled outside the relief area) and came to rest there, you must re-drop.

I would therefore strongly recommend that you follow the procedure (i.e. by placing e.g. a tee somewhere on the line and then drop within one club-length of this, not nearer the hole).

See Rule 17.1d(2) (“back-on-the-line-relief”) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d) and Rule 14.3c(2) (re-dropping) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3c)).

Submit
56. You barely strike the ball in your first stroke from the teeing area (almost a whiff), and thus the ball only just falls down from the tee - and ends still within the teeing area! Are you allowed without penalty to lift the ball, place it on the tee and play your second stroke?

Explanation

See Rule 6.2b(6) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-6#6-2b). Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty if you played again from the tee, thereby making your THIRD stroke (thus in 2018 answer number 2 would have been the correct one).

Submit
57. Your 8-iron is damaged when playing a stroke very close to a tree. Are you allowed to replace it with another club, if you can do it fast (you had 14 clubs in your bag when you started the round)?

Explanation

See Rule 4.1b(3) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-1b). Under the old Rules (2018) you were allowed to replace it, if it was damaged during the “normal course of play”.

Submit
58. Your ball lies on the fairway. You approach the ball, carefully ground the club behind the ball (without touching the ball) and take your stance. Before you begin making the stroke the ball moves. The ball moves approximately 15 yards closer to the hole. You don't know what caused the ball to move - maybe it was you, maybe the steep slope and maybe the wind (it was very windy). What now?

Explanation

The ball is considered moved by “natural forces” (wind, water etc.), unless it is known or virtually certain (i.e. at least 95 %!) that the ball is moved e.g. by the player. In other words: Unless you are almost completely sure, that the ball in this situation was moved by you, it is deemed to be moved by natural forces.

In this situation it is not at least 95 % certain, that you moved the ball, since the movement very well could have been caused by the slope or the wind. Therefore natural forces moved it and you must play it without penalty from where it lies… even though it moved closer to the hole! See Rule 9.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-2b) and Rule 9.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-3).

Submit
59. Are you playing a provisional ball, when you state: "I'm going to play another just in case"?

Explanation

You have played a provisional ball if you either 1) use the word “provisional” or 2) otherwise clearly indicate, that you are playing the ball provisionally under Rule 18.3. The statement “I'm going to play another just in case” is considered clear enough for the ball to be a provisional ball. See Rule 18.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-3b) and Interpretation 18.3b/2 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-18-interpretations#18-3b-2).

Submit
60. Your ball lies on the fairway. You accidentally strike it with your right foot, when you walk by it, whereby the ball moves 10 inches. The ball must be replaced. But did you incur any penalty?

Explanation

When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball - see Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

There are four exceptions (neither of these apply in this situation), where you are are not penalized:

E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
E2: If it happens during search.
E3: If it happens on the putting green.
E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

Submit
61. You are putting from the putting green. After the stroke you realize, that the ball-marker was still lying in place, when you made your putt (you had forgotten to remove it before making the stroke). Do you incur any penalty?

Explanation

See Rule 14.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-1a). Therefore always remember to remove the ball-marker, after having replaced the ball, and before making the stroke!

Submit
62. Your ball is in a bunker. You take a practice swing three yards from the ball (in the bunker - not on the line of play), whereby you touch the sand with the club. Is that OK?

Explanation

See Rule 12.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-12#12-2b). Thus there are still as a starting point four specific prohibitions, when your ball lies in a bunker:

1) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in a practice swing.
2) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the backswing to the stroke.
3) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the area right in front of or right behind the ball.
4) You are not allowed to deliberately touch the sand (e.g. with a hand, club, rake etc.) to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke.

Quite af few prohibitions from the old Rules (2018) have been repealed as of 2019, such as:

1) Touching/removing loose impediments in/from the bunker, when the ball lay in the bunker.
2) Grounding the club in the sand any other place than right in front of or right behind the ball.

Submit
63. Your ball is in a red penalty area. Are you allowed with a one stroke penalty to take relief on the opposite side of the penalty area (i.e. the opposite side of the penalty area than where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area)?

Explanation

See Regel 17.1d at the bottom (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d). This is a change compared to the old Rules (2018), where you were always allowed (“water hazards”) to find a spot on the opposite side (compared to the spot where it last crossed the edge) at an equal distance from the hole and with a one stroke penalty drop a ball within two club-lengths (not nearer the hole). In 2019 this extra option is only available, if it has been introduced in a Local Rule.

Submit
64. Your ball is in a yellow penalty area. You take relief with a one stroke penalty by applying the "back-on-the-line-relief" option: You place a tee on a spot on the line and drop a ball within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) this spot. In the drop, the ball rolls two feet closer to the hole than the place, where the ball first struck the course in the drop. Are you required to re-drop?

Explanation

You are required to re-drop, if the ball comes to rest outside the relief area. In this situation the relief area is the area within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the tee, you placed on the line.

Therefore, the answer is “Maybe” since it depends on whether the ball came to rest outside the relief area (= re-drop) or inside the relief area (= no re-drop).

One club-length is defined as the length of the longest club you have brought, other than a putter, which most typically is the driver - and a driver is around 3-4 feet long. Since the ball rolled two feet, it could have come to rest outside the relief area (= re-drop) or inside the relief area (= no re-drop).

Please note that as of January 1st 2019 there is not a Rule stating, that you must always re-drop, if the ball in the drop rolls closer to the hole (than where it first landed on the course in the drop).

See Rule 17.1d(2) (“back-on-the-line-relief”) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d) and Rule 14.3c(2) (re-dropping) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3c)).

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 25, 2019
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jan 07, 2019
    Quiz Created by
Cancel
  • All
    All (64)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
How long time do you have to search for your ball?
You putt from the putting green - with the flagstick in the hole - and...
Your ball lies in a bunker. One inch behind the ball (also in the...
During search for your ball, you accidentally strike and move the ball...
Your ball is on the putting green. In your line of play there are some...
Your ball is somewhere in thick rough - you cannot find it. You have...
Your ball is on the putting green. You accidentally touch the line of...
In stroke play your ball lies 150 yards from the hole. Your fellow...
Are you - before you putt from the putting green - allowed to repair...
You make a stroke at your ball from the rough and thereby accidentally...
Your ball accidentally strikes your golf bag in a stroke. Do you incur...
Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the putting green. Is...
You make a stroke from a fairway-bunker but unfortunately the ball...
Your ball comes to rest against the flagstick in the hole. Half of the...
Your ball is in a penalty area. It is lying OK in some low grass, and...
You take relief from temporary water. You drop the ball from shoulder...
Your ball lies on the putting green. You accidentally strike it with...
Exactly how long is "one club-length"?
Do you have to drop precisely from knee height?
Your ball is out of bounds - you have not played a provisional ball....
You mark and lift your ball on the putting green, and replace it. You...
Are you allowed to use a distance-measuring device (to measure...
Your ball lies in a bunker. You are very tired, and therefore you...
You are playing "Maximum Score". At a certain hole, the maximum is 8...
Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark in the rough (in the...
You mark your ball on the putting green, lift it, clean it, replace...
Your ball lies really bad in a bunker. Are you allowed to apply the...
Your ball lies on the putting green (you have played four strokes)....
Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the fairway. What is...
Your ball lies (in bounds) next to an out of bounds post - and your...
Which one of these is not an "Abnormal Course Condition"?
You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You...
Your ball ends in some thick rough - and you are unable to find it....
You are in doubt whether or not a ball in the rough is your ball, and...
Your ball lies in a hole (in medium rough in the general area) made by...
At a par-3 hole your first stroke is great: The ball ends on the...
You role in a long putt from the putting green. The flagstick was...
What is "Maximum Score"?
You play your ball from the teeing area, and it ends somewhere in the...
You play from the teeing area but unfortunately your ball looks like...
Your ball lies on an artificially surfaced (gravel) path. You take...
Your ball is in a penalty area, and you decide to take relief with a...
Your ball lies just outside a wrong green, but your stance to the...
You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You...
Your ball is in a red penalty area. You take relief with a one stroke...
Have you played a provisional ball, when you state: "I am playing a...
Due to a missed putt, you bend your putter in anger! Are you now...
Stableford: "Professional Peter" 's gross score for hole 9 was 4,...
You play from the fairway, but unfortunately your ball ends out of...
Your ball lies in temporary water on fairway. You decide to take...
You play a round of "Maximum Score". You don't write any score at hole...
Is an unmarked lake a red penalty area or a yellow penalty area?
You play from the teeing area, and the ball is heading for some heavy...
Your ball is lying on the putting green. Are you allowed to mark the...
Your ball is in a penalty area, and you decide to take relief with a...
You barely strike the ball in your first stroke from the teeing area...
Your 8-iron is damaged when playing a stroke very close to a tree. Are...
Your ball lies on the fairway. You approach the ball, carefully ground...
Are you playing a provisional ball, when you state: "I'm going to...
Your ball lies on the fairway. You accidentally strike it with your...
You are putting from the putting green. After the stroke you realize,...
Your ball is in a bunker. You take a practice swing three yards from...
Your ball is in a red penalty area. Are you allowed with a one stroke...
Your ball is in a yellow penalty area. You take relief with a one...
Alert!

Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement