2012 Usssa Fast Pitch Rules Challenge

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Billymartin
B
Billymartin
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 2,764
| Attempts: 250
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/75 Questions

    The umpire who called the Illegal Pitch shall explain the violation to the coach if requested.

    • True
    • False
Please wait...
About This Quiz

This is the USSSA National Fast Pitch Umpire Test and Rules Challenge.
It's highly recommended as a fast umpire to take this test with a CLOSED BOOK, to challenge your knowledge of the rules. Upon submission, the test score and answers will be provided with rule references. You can use this as a learning tool, after seeing areas which might need additional study -- but keep the book closed - and challenge yourself !

Umpire Training Quizzes & Trivia

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    A ball that has been cooled is an altered ball and falls under the same rules in place for altered bats.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 2-3; 3-Altered Ball

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    If a batter swings and the ball hits the batter's hand, she is awarded First Base.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    No, this is a DEAD BALL STRIKE. Regardless of where the pitch hit her body, she swung at the ball and a strike is called and the ball is dead. 8-4-D.4

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Coaches must be neatly attired.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 2-8

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    If a runner is called out for violating the look back rule, any other runner who is stopped off base is also called out.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Only one runner is declared out. The ball is dead and not other outs can be recorded. (8-2-Effect)

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    The Three Foot running lane starts halfway between home plate and first base.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 1-2-G

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Any time a pitched ball hits the batter, it is a Dead Ball.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Always dead. Your partner can help in these situations too. 10-1-A

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    The leadoff hitter, Amy, strikes out. The next batter, Betty, is knocked unconscious by a wild pitch. Since the team has no eligible substitutions, Amy can replace Betty as the batter-runner and will be placed on 1st base.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    If the player leaving the game is the batter or a runner, they shall be declared out. Exception: If the injury is caused by a rule violation by the defensive team (for example batter hit by pitch, obstruction, malicious contact), the player may be replaced by the player not currently on base who had the last completed time at bat. This exception does not apply to any future time at bat. (5-2-A Exception)

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Interference by a batter, runner or retired runner is a dead ball.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Every time. 10-1-E

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    A chin strap is required on the batting helmet.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Chin straps are not required. (Rule 2-1)

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Regarding the use of a courtesy runner ... The team at bat may use a courtesy runner for the pitcher and/or catcher any time after they reach base other than by  substitution. The same courtesy runner may be used for both positions but not in the same inning. Neither the pitcher nor the catcher will be required to leave the lineup under such circumstances.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    All correct. (8-3-A)

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    A batter-runner who is running legally is hit by a thrown ball and incapacitated, she is awarded First Base.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    A batter runner is awarded first base if hit by a thrown ball while legally advancing which incapacitated the batter-runner prior to reaching 1st base. 8-5-E

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Unadorned bobby pins less than 2 inches in length are legal.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 2-5

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    The Flex must be listed in the last spot in the lineup, either the 10th spot (or the 11th or 12th spot if an Additional Player(s) is used).

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-B

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Each team may be granted one charged conference while on offense per inning.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    4-8-b

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    The DP can play defense for any of the other players in the lineup.  So both the DP and the FLEX can legally be on defense at the same time.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-F

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    The pitch is completed with a step toward the batter.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-1-F-4

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    A throat protector is not required on a catchers hockey style mask.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 2-2

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    The FLEX can play offense for any ot the other players in the lineup.  So both the DP and the FLEX can be legally on offense at the same time.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Placing the flex into one of the batting positions for someone other than the DP's position is considered an illegal substitution. (5-4-H)

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    The Penalty for excessive defensive conference is the pitcher may not pitch for the remainder of the game.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Penalty: After three charged conferences in a seven inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as a pitcher for the duration of the game.(Rule 4-8-A)

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    A player may return to pitch any number of times in one inning.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Return only once per inning. (5-5)

    A player may be removed as a pitcher and returned as a pitcher only once per inning. Provided the return as a pitcher does not violate either the pitching, substitution, or charged conference rule.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    The Umpire shall make awards to nullify spectator interference.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    8-14-E-1

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    If the batter-runner touches only the white portion and collides with the first baseman, it is interference.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Absolutely .. this is the whole reason there is a double base, to avoid this situation. 8.19.C

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    The ball must have the USSSA FASTPITCH CLASSIC label on it.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 2-3

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    If the FLEX runs for the DP ... the DP has left the game.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-D

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    Pam is one of five substitutes who have not participated at all in the game. Pam courtesy runs for the pitcher in the sixth inning and scores. In the same inning, Pam is allowed to pinch run for the shortstop but can no longer be used as a courtesy runner for the remainder of the game. Did the umpire handle this properly ?

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    No, a player may not run as a courtesy runner and be used as a substitute for another player in that HALF INNING.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    Double base ... A ground ball bounds off the first baseman into foul territory. The first baseman picks up the ball, dives and touches the orange base with the ball in her throwing hand, beating the runner. The runner is declared out.  Is this correct ?

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Case Book. Double First base D Ruling --- May use either side of the base on this situation when coming from foul territory.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    The Coaches Box is 8 feet from the foul lines.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 1-2-H

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    14U players are allowed to wear metal cleats.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    In all divisions 14 and under and younger, Metal cleats and metal toe plates are
    prohibited. (Rule 2-4)

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    Conferences not used carry over into extra innings.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Conferences are not cumulative (4-8-A)

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    It is a delayed dead ball when an illegal pitch is delivered.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-2-A

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    The pitcher must start with both feet on the pitching rubber.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-1-A

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Players may not wear casts while participating in the game.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Cast may be worn if padded. (Rule 2-6)

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    Pam comes to bat in the top of the first inning in the third position in the batting order and is wearing #8. The official line-up has Pam batting in the third position in the batting order but wearing #17. Number can be corrected with no warning or penalty.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Numbers on the lineup card may be corrected without penalty. Casebook 5-c

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    The pitching distance for Girls 14 and under is 40 ft.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Rule 1-1. Pitching distance for 13U on up will be 43 Ft since January 2011.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    Each team, when on defense, may be granted not more than two charged conferences without penalty during a seven-inning game.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Not more than three. (Rule 4-8-A)

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    The FLEX can be declared up until the DP bats for the first time.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Must be declared prior to the start of the game. (5-4)

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    The pitcher must release the ball the first time past the hip.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The ball does not have to be released the first time past the hip. (6-1-G-4)

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    With Fran on First, Beth hits a ground ball to the outfield. Fran (the lead runner) has not reached second and Beth has rounded first when the right fielder throws the ball.  At the time of the throw both runners were between 1st and 2nd base. The throw goes out of play. Beth (the trailing runner) is awarded third base moving Fran Home.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    If two runners are between the same bases, the award is based on the position of the lead runner. Therefore the two base award is given to Fran, the lead runner. She is awarded 3rd base on the two base award. 8-14-C-3; 8-14-C Note

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    A bat that has graphics added to the barrel should be considered an altered bat.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Rule 3-Altered Bat: The bat has had the surface of the barrel or the taper changed in any way such as by addition of graphics, painting, repainting, removal of bat material or paint by any means including but not limited to sandpapering or applying a solvent to the surface such as fingernail polish remover or by any other means.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    The role of the DP is terminated for the rest of the game when the FLEX bats.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The DP may re-enter which brings the lineup back to 10 again. This can happen more than once provided the substitution rules are complied with. (5-4-E)

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    An illegal pitch which is released is a dead ball and the penalty is invoked.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Illegal pitches which are released are considered a DELAYED DEAD ball and the play continues. (6-3)

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    Double base again ... The shortstop fields a ground ball and throws directly to first base. The first baseman catches the throw touching only the orange base before the batter runner reaches first. The batter runner is out.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The first baseman is considered to be off the base. The batter-runner is safe. 8-19-B

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    Pam is the only substitute. Pam is used as a courtesy runner. Karen bats Pam home but is injured sliding safely into second and cannot continue. Pam must substitute immediately for Karen.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    This is the EXCEPTION. If there is an injury and there is no substitute available, the courtesy runner must be used as a substitute and take the place of the injured player. Should the courtesy runner be on base, the pitcher or catcher for whom the courtesy runner is running must run in their place. (8-3-D)

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    The pitcher can only take a signal from the catcher.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    The pitcher may simulate taking the signal from the catcher. No requirement to have signals. No restrictions as to can give signals. (6-1-C)

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    A batter-runner who overruns first and delays in her attempt to advance to second is required to return to first base and stop.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    (8-2-para 4)

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    Defensive players may not wear batter's helmets.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    All players may wear protective equipment. (Rule 2-7)

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    Same situation ...With a runner on second base, the batter hits a fair ground ball. The batted ball bounds off the third baseman’s glove and goes to the shortstop, standing in the baseline attempting to field the deflection and hinders the runner going from second to third. Obstruction has occurred.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    The 3rd baseman made the initial play ... not the shortstop. This is obstruction. (3-39 and 8-13)

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    During the Pre-game conference, a team member must verify hall players are legally and properly equipped.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    Only a coach can verify. (4-8-D-4)

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Mar 04, 2012
    Quiz Created by
    Billymartin
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.