Volleyball Rules: Toughest Trivia Quiz! Exam

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Jimcustin
J
Jimcustin
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 2,695
| Attempts: 2,724
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/97 Questions

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamTimer:The official timer shall test the timing device prior to the start of the match to be certain the device is in proper working order.

    • True
    • False
Please wait...
About This Quiz

The following is a practice exam for High School Volleyball. This exam is a practice exam that was pulled from the State of Florida. This is the practice test from the 2009-2010 Volleyball season.

Volleyball Rules: Toughest Trivia Quiz! Exam - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal Uniforms and Equipment:The libero must wear a uniform top that is immediately recognized from all angles as being in clear contrast to and distinct from the other members' uniform tops of the team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    4-2-2

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamIt is Legal (Proper Procedure):A written lineup shall be submitted in proper serving order.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    7-1-2

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSecond Referee:During the set, the second referee may determine, then notify the first referee of unsporting conduct violations by players, coaches or other team personnel.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-3-b(16)

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamScorer:The official scorer records in the Comments section of the scoresheet all warnings, penalties and disqualifications for unsporting conduct.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-5-3g

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamPlayer Positions:The libero, if used, must be designated on the lineup sheet prior to each set.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    7-1-2

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamMatch:The playing captin may request verification of the serving order for his/her team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-2-2c

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSecond Referee:Prior to checking the team lineup, the second referee must verify the lineup on the official scoresheet by using the lineup submitted by the coach of each team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-1d

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLine Judge:During the match, each line judge shall assist the first and second referees by determining at the moment of contact for the serve, whether the server touches the end line or the floor outside the lines marking the width of the serving area.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-8-3a

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal and Play Continues:Play continues when a player recovers a ball hit into the net and the team has not had more than three hits.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-6-2

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamUnnecessary Delay:Unnecessary delay is called when a team repeatedly uses improper substitution procedure.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-9-1g;10-2-7; Pen 1c

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamYellow and Red Cards for Misconduct:Yellow cards, red cards and disqualifications must be recorded in the Comments section of the scoresheet.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-5-3g

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamOfficial Signals:Double Hit- Hand and arm nearest violating team raised, showing two fingers.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Signal #12

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLine Judge:During the match, each line judge shall assist the first and second referees by indicating when a player touches a ball that is going out of bounds on the player's side of the net.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-8-3e

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLibero Tracker:During the set, the libero tracker shall record libero replacements and substitutions.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-6-3a

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamIt is Legal (Proper Procedure): Legal contact is a touch of the ball by any part of the player's body which does not allow the ball to visibly come to rest of involve prolonged contact with the player's body.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-4-5

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamIt is Legal (Proper Procedure):It is legal for the first referee to declare a replay under a variety of situations, as outlined by the authority the rules allow.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-8

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamScorer:Prior to each set of the match, the scorer shall provide the second referee with a lineup, which lists the players' numbers in serving order and the number of the libero, if being used by the team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-5-1c

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamTimer:The timer shall time the interval between sets (three minutes) beginning when the first referee signals the teams to report to the appropriate benches.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-7-3c

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLine Judge:By state association adoption, line judges may be required to use flags in all matches.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-8-4

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal Actions: It is legal for the team's coach or playing captain to request the team serving order while the ball is dead.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-3-6

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamYellow and Red Cards for Misconduct:A player directs profane or insulting language towards the second referee. The second referee notifies the first referee of the unsporting conduct violation and the first referee issues the cards.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    12-2-9 Procedure 2, 5-4-3(16)

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamFouls:When Team A's first contact is simultaneous contact by opponents, or an action to legally block the ball, Team A's next contact is considered the team's first hit.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-4-3

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamIt is Legal (Proper Procedure):A player standing in a playable area reaches over the bleachers to save a pass and then he/she falls into the bleachers following the contact. Legal and play continues.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    2-4-2

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSecond Referee:The second referee has the responsibility to inform the coach when his/her team's 15th through 18th substitutions have been reached.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-4-3b(14)

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSituations:Two substitutes approach the substitution zone together, to enter the set. R2 allows the first substitute into the substitution zone and without delay, requests the second substitute to wait outside the substitution zone until the first substitute enters the game. R2 then waves the second substitute into the substitution zone and permits him/her to proceed with the substitution.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-2-3

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamIt is Legal (Proper Procedure):Numbers on a uniform may have a contrasting color trim not to exceed 1/2 inch in width at its widest point.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    4-2-4c

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamMatch:The official's uniform shall consist of an all-white, short-sleeved collared polo shirt; black slacks; solid black athletic shoes; and black socks, unless modified by state association when dealing with extreme heat and humidity. Under these circumstances officials may wear black shorts.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-2-1, NOTE

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamTime Factors/Time-outs:Referees may use time-outs for any reason they deem necessary in the conduct of sets and matches.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    11-1-2

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamYellow and Red Cards for Misconduct:Nonplaying team members, on the team bench, must be seated except for specific situations outlined by the rules book.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    12-2-7

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLibero:A libero shall not block or attempt to block.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-5-6c

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamYellow and Red Cards for Misconduct:The head coach receives a yellow card for unsporting conduct when the referees cannot determine who the offender(s) was on the bench.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    12-2-9 Procedure 10

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamYellow and Red Cards for Misconduct:A player who refuses to remove jewelry discovered during the warm-up period is charged with unsporting conduct.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    4-1-6 PEN 1

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamScorer:When there is a discrepancy between the individual points being kept by the official scorer and the visible scoring device, the individual points shall be considered official and correct.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-5-4

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamUniforms:Any undergarment worn under the uniform top that is exposed must be of a single color similar to the predominant color of the uniform top.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    4-2-7

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamFouls:The captain for Team R addresses the first referee on a dead ball complaining that the RF on Team S is screening as he/she is standing close to the net and in front of the CF on Team R as the ball is served high over the RF on Team S. The R1 indicates legal, not screening.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-4-1a

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSubstitution and Replacement:A substitution is illegal when the substitute re-enters the set without assuming his/her original position in the serving order.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-3-3;10-3-7c(4)

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal Actions: After a timeout, it is legal for a libero replacement to take place after both teams are on the floor provided it is not a second replacement during the same dead ball.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-4-3

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamBack-row Player Action:When a back-row player who is close to the net and whose hands are above the height of the net, makes contact with the ball that is coming from the opponent, it is considered an illegal block.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-5-1c, 9-5-5a

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamBack-row Player Action:A back-row player on, or in front of, the attack line, cannot legally contact a ball that is completely above the height of the net to complete an attack.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    9-5-4

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamTime Factors/Time-outs:The use of artificial noisemakers is not allowed at matches.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    1-8

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamOfficial Signals:To indicate a point, the first referee shall extend the arm in the direction of the team that will serve next, palm perpendicular to the floor.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Signal #17

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamScorer:During the set, the official scorer shall verify the serving order to the first or second referee.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    5-5-3c

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSubstitution and Replacement:Points scored by the serving team are canceled when it is discovered that the Team S libero is an illegal replacement.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-4-5, PEN 2

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamSituations:S1 serves the ball under the net. The first referee whistles and signals net foul/net serve by holding the arm outstretched on the side of the violating team lightly touching the side of the net with an open hand, with palm toward the net.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    8-2-6a(1), Signal #6

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLibero:It is legal for the libero to serve in one rotation in the serving order.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6-3-2e

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamFouls:A service fault is called when a served ball touches any part of a backboard or its supports hanging in the vertical position, over a playable area outside the court.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    8-2-6c;2-3-1h

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal Actions: It is legal for coaches and nonplaying team members to leave their seats on the team bench to react spontaneously to an outstanding play by members of their own team.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    12-2-5d, 12-2-7a

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    Team S= Serving Team; Team R= Receiving TeamLegal Actions: An improper substitution may be corrected when a substitute and the outgoing player do not take correct exchange positions.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    10-2-6a

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jul 12, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Jimcustin
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.