Softball Rules Trivia Test! Quiz

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Intotheblue77
I
Intotheblue77
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 3,869
Questions: 21 | Attempts: 3,915

SettingsSettingsSettings
Softball Rules Trivia Test! Quiz - Quiz

.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    The batter-runner overruns first base on a walk makes no attempt to second base and is tagged by the first baseman on her way back to first base.  The batter-runner shall be called out. 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The statement is false because according to the rules, if the batter-runner overruns first base on a walk and makes no attempt to second base, they cannot be tagged out by the first baseman on their way back to first base. In this situation, the batter-runner is considered safe and cannot be called out.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    The home team is supporting a charitable cause and has purchased pink softballs with the NFHS Authenticating Mark for use in a contest.  Legal?

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the use of pink softballs with the NFHS Authenticating Mark is not legal. According to the question, the home team has purchased these softballs for use in a contest. However, the NFHS (National Federation of State High School Associations) does not allow the use of pink softballs with their authenticating mark. Therefore, the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    With R1 on first, B2 hits a ground ball to F3 who tags R1 who is standing on first base.  F3 then steps on first prior to B2 reaching the base.  Both R1 and B2 are out. 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the play starts with R1 (a runner) on first base. B2 (the batter) hits a ground ball to F3 (the fielder) who tags R1 while he is still on first base. Then, F3 steps on first base before B2 reaches the base. According to the rules of baseball, if a fielder tags a runner before they reach a base and then steps on that base before the batter-runner reaches it, both the runner and the batter-runner are considered out. Therefore, the statement "Both R1 and B2 are out" is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Prior to the pitch, with no runners on base, the base umpire should be positioned 18-21 feet behind first base walking the line.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The statement is true because according to the standard positioning for base umpires, when there are no runners on base, the base umpire should be positioned 18-21 feet behind first base while walking the line. This positioning allows the umpire to have a clear view of the base and any potential plays that may occur.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    F1 steps on to the pitching plate with her hands together, takes a sign from the catcher, and then delivers the pitch.  Legal?  

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The given scenario describes the actions of F1, a pitcher in softball or baseball. When stepping on to the pitching plate with hands together, taking a sign from the catcher, and delivering the pitch, it is not legal. This is because the pitcher must have both hands separated and apart when stepping onto the pitching plate. Therefore, the correct answer is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    R1 is on third and R2 is on second with one out.  The defensive coach instructs the pitcher to intentionally walk B4 and sends F3 behind the plate to back up F2.  The pitcher then delivers the pitch.  Legal? 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The given scenario is not legal. Intentionally walking a batter means the pitcher throws four pitches outside the strike zone to allow the batter to advance to first base. However, in this scenario, the pitcher has already delivered the pitch before intentionally walking B4, which is not allowed. Therefore, the correct answer is FALSE.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    F1 pitches the ball.  B1 squares to bunt and (a) leaves the bat in the strike zone without making any movement towards the ball, or (b) makes a forward movement with the bat towards the ball.  In both cases, B1 misses the ball.  A strike shall be called in either case.  

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    In baseball, if a batter attempts to bunt the ball but fails to make contact with it, a strike is called. In this scenario, B1 either leaves the bat in the strike zone without moving towards the ball or makes a forward movement with the bat towards the ball but still misses it. In both cases, B1 misses the ball and therefore a strike is called. Hence, the statement "A strike shall be called in either case" is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    B1 swings and hits the ball. While running to first, she drops the bat in fair territory, and the rolling bat hits the ball.  The batter shall be called out, and the ball is dead.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    When B1 swings and hits the ball, she drops the bat in fair territory and the bat rolls and hits the ball. According to the rules, if a batter intentionally or unintentionally drops the bat and it hits the ball in fair territory, the batter shall be called out, and the ball is dead. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Team A has three players wearing pink headbands, two players wearing blue caps, two players wearing blue visors, two players wearing black headbands, and the remaining players wearing nothing on their heads. Legal? 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The given answer is TRUE because there is no rule or regulation mentioned that prohibits players from wearing different types of headgear. As long as the players are not violating any specific dress code or safety regulations, they are allowed to wear pink headbands, blue caps, blue visors, black headbands, or no headgear at all. Therefore, the arrangement of headgear described for Team A is legal.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Team B’s pitcher and third baseman are wearing protective masks while on defense.  Legal? 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The answer is TRUE because it is legal for players to wear protective masks while on defense. Wearing protective masks can help prevent injuries, especially in high-impact positions like pitcher and third baseman. It is a common practice in baseball to use protective gear to ensure the safety of the players.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

      After hitting a single, B1 rounds first base and immediately collides with F3.  The umpire judges there to be obstruction by F3, signals and verbalizes the obstruction, and awards B1 second base at the end of playing action.  This is proper procedure.  

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The given statement is true because according to the rules of baseball, if a defensive player obstructs a baserunner while he is advancing to the next base, the umpire should call obstruction and award the baserunner the next base. In this scenario, B1 collided with F3 after hitting a single, and the umpire correctly judged it as obstruction by F3, signaling and verbalizing the obstruction, and awarding B1 second base. This follows the proper procedure outlined in the rules of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    In the top of the third inning, a batter from Team A enters the batter’s box wearing a cracked helmet.  Team A has had no previous equipment infractions.  The illegal equipment shall be removed from the game and the umpire shall issue a warning to the head coach of Team A. 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    In this scenario, the batter from Team A enters the batter's box wearing a cracked helmet, which is considered illegal equipment. According to the given information, Team A has had no previous equipment infractions. Therefore, the correct answer is TRUE because in such a situation, the illegal equipment (cracked helmet) shall be removed from the game, and the umpire shall issue a warning to the head coach of Team A.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    After five innings of play, the score is 3-2 in favor of the home team.  The visiting team scores two runs to go-ahead 4-3 in the top of the sixth.  With one out in the bottom of the sixth, the game is ended due to thunderstorms.  The final score shall be 3-2 in favor of the home team.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The explanation for the given correct answer is that according to the rules of baseball, a game must complete at least 5 innings (or 4.5 innings if the home team is winning) to be considered official. In this scenario, the game was ended due to thunderstorms in the bottom of the sixth inning with one out remaining. Since the home team was winning 3-2 after five innings, and the game did not complete the sixth inning, the final score shall be 3-2 in favor of the home team. Therefore, the statement "The final score shall be 3-2 in favor of the home team" is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    In the top of the second inning, the DP plays defense for the left fielder.  Legal? 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    In baseball, the DP refers to the Double Play, which is a defensive play where two outs are made in one continuous play. In this scenario, it is stating that the DP plays defense for the left fielder in the top of the second inning. This statement is true because the DP can be any player on the field who is involved in executing a double play, regardless of their position. Therefore, it is legal for the DP to play defense for the left fielder in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    R1 is on third base with no outs, and F5 is playing behind the bag a few steps near the foul line.  B2 hits a hard one-hopper down the third-base line that freezes R1 on the base.  The ball hits R1, and the umpires judge that F5 could have made a play on the ball.  R1 shall be declared out, and B2 is awarded first base.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    In this scenario, R1 is on third base and B2 hits a hard one-hopper down the third-base line. The ball hits R1, and the umpires judge that F5 could have made a play on the ball. According to the rules, if a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory and the defensive player could have made a play on the ball, the baserunner is declared out. Therefore, the statement "R1 shall be declared out" is correct. However, the statement "B2 is awarded first base" is incorrect. When a baserunner is declared out due to interference, the batter-runner (B2) is not awarded first base.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    The proper “strike” signal by the plate umpire is to extend the right index finger straight out, parallel to the ground. 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The explanation for the answer being FALSE is that the proper "strike" signal by the plate umpire is not to extend the right index finger straight out, parallel to the ground. The correct signal for a strike in baseball is for the umpire to raise their right hand with a closed fist and make a punching motion. Therefore, the statement is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

     Due to illness, Team B arrives to the game site with only eight players.  The game may still legally begin. 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The statement is false because according to the rules of the game, a team must have a minimum of nine players on the field to legally begin a game. Since Team B only has eight players due to illness, they do not meet the requirement and the game cannot legally begin.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    With two strikes on B1, B1 swings at and misses the next pitch.  The pitch strikes her in the arm.  This is a dead-ball strike, and B1 is out.  

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    The given statement is true. According to the rules of baseball, if a batter has two strikes and swings at a pitch but misses, and the pitch strikes the batter, it is considered a dead-ball strike. In this case, B1 is out.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    With a runner on third and no outs, B2 hits a high fly in the infield above the second baseman’s head.  The base umpire erroneously calls, “Infield fly, the batter is out.”  The second baseman subsequently drops the ball.  The runner from third scores and the batter-runner ends up on second base.  The run counts and batter-runner is safe at second.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    False. In this scenario, the Infield Fly Rule was erroneously called by the base umpire. According to the Infield Fly Rule, the batter is automatically out if there are fewer than two outs, and there are runners on first and second or the bases are loaded. However, for the Infield Fly Rule to be invoked, the ball must be judged to be an easily caught ball, and the umpire's call is crucial.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

     With no outs and the bases empty, B1’s third strike is missed by F2 and the ball lodges between her body and her chest protector.  While F2 searches for the ball, B1 advances to first then the second base.  Legal? 

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    In baseball, if a batter swings and misses on a third strike and the catcher fails to catch the ball, it is considered a dropped third strike. In this scenario, since there are no outs and the bases are empty, B1 is allowed to run to first base. Additionally, since the ball is lodged between F2's body and her chest protector, it is not considered a dead ball, allowing B1 to advance to second base as well. Therefore, it is legal for B1 to advance to both first and second base in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    The FLEX, T. Jones, enters to bat for the first baseman. LEGAL?

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    B. FALSE
    Explanation
    The FLEX player in baseball is typically designated as a player who can both pitch and play a position in the field. In this scenario, the FLEX player, T. Jones, is entering to bat for the first baseman. This is not allowed as the FLEX player can only bat for the pitcher. Therefore, the statement "The FLEX, T. Jones, enters to bat for the first baseman" is false.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Jan 24, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • May 22, 2010
    Quiz Created by
    Intotheblue77
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.