Red Rock N Roller Derby 2013 Rules Test

43 Questions | Total Attempts: 328

Settings
Please wait...
Roller Derby Quizzes & Trivia

The following test uses the new 2013 WFTDA rules. You can view the rules on the following website. http://wftda. Com/rules/20130101. In order to pass your written minimum skills requirement you must recieve a minimum of 80% on the test. You are allowed to take the test 3 times between Nov. 28th and Dec. 2. Good luck!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    True or False: The Moon Shine Maiden's Jammer is not on the track prior to the jam starting whistle. Are the Maiden's allowed to send their Jammer from their bench onto the track to play in the in-progress jam?
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    True or False: Skaters may legally re-enter the track in front of the opponent who forced them out-of-bounds, if that opponent went out-of-bounds herself at any point after the initiating block.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    True or False: A downed skater who slides out-of-bounds and then back in-bounds while still down may be penalized for cutting.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    • A. 

      Chest

    • B. 

      Upper arm

    • C. 

      Hip

    • D. 

      The head

  • 5. 
    • A. 

      One

    • B. 

      Two

    • C. 

      Three

    • D. 

      None

  • 6. 
    • A. 

      None of the above

    • B. 

      Re-enter at the front of the pack

    • C. 

      Re-enter at the back of the pack

    • D. 

      Skate onto the track immediately, regardless of where the pack is.

  • 7. 
    A skater who is Lead Jammer can call off the jam as she is being removed from play due to penalty. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 8. 
    True or False: When initiating a block, a skater must be in-bounds, but she may pick up momentum from out-of-bounds prior to returning to the track.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    True or False: A Jammer must legally pass an on-the-track opponent to score points on players not on the track (NOTT).
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    • A. 

      Three

    • B. 

      Four

    • C. 

      Five

    • D. 

      Two

  • 11. 
    • A. 

      The team captain receives a major penalty

    • B. 

      She receives a major penalty

    • C. 

      Nothing

  • 12. 
    • A. 

      No whistle signal

    • B. 

      Two rapid whistle blasts

    • C. 

      Two long whistle blasts

    • D. 

      One long whistle blast

  • 13. 
    At most, how many seconds can elapse after a timeout before the next jam begins?
    • A. 

      15

    • B. 

      30

    • C. 

      60

  • 14. 
    True or False: A Jammer must stay in-bounds to remain Lead Jammer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 15. 
     Helmet Covers may be retrieved while skating in which direction?
    • A. 

      Clockwise

    • B. 

      Counter Clockwise

    • C. 

      Neither

    • D. 

      Any Direction

  • 16. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: Downed skater re-entering the track causes an opposing skater to stumble but not fall or lose relative position.
    • A. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Major

    • C. 

      Ejection

  • 17. 
    It is a major penalty to touch an opponent with forearms or hands for three or more seconds.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    True or False:  If a skater is illegally blocked outside of the engagement zone she may legally counter-block.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 19. 
    All referees must give you a warning before issuing which types of penalties:
    • A. 

      Failure to reform the pack

    • B. 

      Multi-Player Blocks

    • C. 

      Use of Hands

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 20. 
    Blockers that advance or chase the Jammer out of the Engagement Zone are considered part of and belonging to point totals of the previous (just completed) scoring pass.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 21. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: An in-bounds, upright, and skating skater re-enters the track from out-of-bounds in front of multiple in-bounds skaters during a no pack scenario, resulting in her having bettered her position.
    • A. 

      Major Cutting the Track

    • B. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • C. 

      Thumbs Up

  • 22. 
    • A. 

      Any of the referee staff

    • B. 

      Only the Jammer Referees

    • C. 

      Only the Head Referee

    • D. 

      The Jammer Referees and the Head Referee

  • 23. 
    If a referee is not sure whether an action warrants a major or expulsion, it must be called as:
    • A. 

      No impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Major

    • C. 

      Expulsion

  • 24. 
    • A. 

      Helmet

    • B. 

      Mouth guard

    • C. 

      Both A and B

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 25. 
    True or False: A penalized skater’s teammates, managers, and coaches may not at any time physically enter the designated penalty box area to communicate with the penalized skater.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 26. 
    • A. 

      Captain

    • B. 

      Pivot

    • C. 

      Closest Blocker to referee who made the call

  • 27. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario: A skater initiates contact or engages an opponent before the first whistle, forcing the receiving opposing skater off balance, forward or sideways, but does not cause her to lose her established starting position.
    • A. 

      No impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Major

    • C. 

      No call, Legal scenario

  • 28. 
    The engagement zone includes:
    • A. 

      20 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • B. 

      10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 10 feet in front of the foremost pack skater.

    • C. 

      20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater and 10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater.

  • 29. 
    • A. 

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 4 red Blockers.

    • B. 

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 3 red Blockers, and 1 red Blocker has been knocked out-of-bounds.

    • C. 

      3 green Blockers and 1 red blocker are more than 10 feet from 3 red Blockers and 1 green Blocker.

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 30. 
    A Blocker’s proximity to other Blockers is measured by her fingertips.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 31. 
    To legally regain position in the pack after having fallen behind or recovering from a fall, a skater must:
    • A. 

      Catch up to the back of the pack by skating within the track boundaries to be considered back in play

    • B. 

      Skate outside track boundaries to stay out of the way until she can easily get to the back of the pack

    • C. 

      Wait for the pack to come back around to enter from behind.

  • 32. 
    Which of the following is an example of a multi-player block?  
    • A. 

      “Bowling” with a teammate by pushing her into an opponent.

    • B. 

      Impeding an opponent by holding onto the shirt of a teammate.

    • C. 

      Grabbing or holding a teammate’s arm while blocking.

  • 33. 
    If a skater jumps, it is illegal to hit her while she is in the air.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 34. 
    If a skater re-enters the track from out-of-bounds in front of an opposing skater, bettering her position, she will not receive a cutting the track penalty as long as she yields the right of way.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 35. 
    Standing during the last 10 seconds of a penalty is optional.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 36. 
    Gross misconduct includes which of the following?
    • A. 

      Punching another skater

    • B. 

      Choking another skater

    • C. 

      Jumping on a dog pile

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 37. 
    A skater is called out on a penalty and she asks the referee why she’s being called off. She refuses to leave the track after the referee repeatedly calls the skater on the penalty.
    • A. 

      Insubordination major penalty

    • B. 

      No penalty

    • C. 

      Ejection

  • 38. 
    A Blocker who lines up for a jam but is knocked out-of-bounds just prior to the first whistle may not participate in that jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 39. 
    A skater who leaves the penalty box during a team timeout to participate in the team huddle will receive an insubordination major penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 40. 
    • A. 

      Accruing more than 5 trips the penalty box in either period, or more than 10 trips in a game

    • B. 

      Accruing 7 trips to the penalty box in a game

    • C. 

      Accruing 5 trips to the penalty box in a game

  • 41. 
    If a safety hazard on the track has forced a referee to whistle a jam dead after the time on the period clock has run out but not before the jam clock has run out, the Head Referee may call for an additional jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 42. 
    True or False: Jammers and blockers are released at the same time. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 43. 
    True or False: Skaters may cut one teammate without penalization. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False