New Jersey Driving Practice Test

100 Questions | Total Attempts: 6515

SettingsSettingsSettings
New Jersey Driving Practice Test - Quiz

Are you ready to get a driving license in New Jersey? You can take this New Jersey driving practice test and see how much you have understood the traffic rules in New Jersey. We have designed a quiz where you can practice before going for the final test. This practice test lets you see how much you know and what you need to learn. Go for it and find out your score. All the best for this test as well as your license.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    What is the stopping distance on a dry road at 50 m.p.h?
    • A. 

      243 ft

    • B. 

      600 ft

    • C. 

      200ft

    • D. 

      150 ft

  • 2. 
    What is the proper distance you may park from the curb?
    • A. 

      6 inches or less

    • B. 

      As close to the curb as possible

    • C. 

      0 inches

    • D. 

      10 inches

  • 3. 
    Points are only issued for 
    • A. 

      Skipping bail

    • B. 

      Not paying fines

    • C. 

      Not paying child support

    • D. 

      Moving violations

  • 4. 
    Who is responsible if a student commits a driving offense?
    • A. 

      The instructor

    • B. 

      The student

    • C. 

      Licensed driver

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 5. 
    What is a good practice when driving into the city?
    • A. 

      Check intersections ahead for signals

    • B. 

      Yield to oncoming traffic

    • C. 

      Stay to the center lane

  • 6. 
    What lights should you be using when driving in the fog?
    • A. 

      Fog lights

    • B. 

      Headlights

    • C. 

      Low beams

    • D. 

      A and c

  • 7. 
    What papers must you have when operating a motor vehicle?
    • A. 

      License

    • B. 

      Registration

    • C. 

      Insurance card

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 8. 
    Special permits may be issued to a 16 year old when
    • A. 

      They are enrolled in a behind the wheel driver education course

    • B. 

      Are enrolled in a commercial driving education course

    • C. 

      When the permit is purchased by a state approved driving instructor

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 9. 
    You are required by nj law to keep to the right except
    • A. 

      When on a one sided street

    • B. 

      When passing

    • C. 

      When it is impractical to travel on that side of the roadway

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 10. 
    You should always yield to 
    • A. 

      Other vehicles already in the intersections

    • B. 

      Pedestrians

    • C. 

      Emergency vehicles

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 11. 
    Whether your blood alcohol content raises above the legal limit depends on 
    • A. 

      How fast you drank

    • B. 

      Your weight

    • C. 

      How much you drank

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 12. 
    Drugs that may affect basic driving skills are
    • A. 

      Cold medicines

    • B. 

      Tranquilizers

    • C. 

      Some prescription drugs

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 13. 
    The first conviction penalty for driving under the influence of alcohol or drug is
    • A. 

      250-400 fine

    • B. 

      Imprisonment of 30 days

    • C. 

      Loss of license 6months- 1 year

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 14. 
    When must you signal before making a turn?
    • A. 

      At least 100 ft

    • B. 

      75 ft

    • C. 

      25 ft

    • D. 

      10 ft

  • 15. 
    How close may you park to a stop sign?
    • A. 

      35 ft

    • B. 

      75 ft

    • C. 

      50 ft

    • D. 

      20 ft

  • 16. 
    How close may you park next to a corner?
    • A. 

      10 ft

    • B. 

      25 ft

    • C. 

      75 ft

    • D. 

      80 ft

  • 17. 
    How close may you park to a fire hydrant?
    • A. 

      10 ft

    • B. 

      5 ft

    • C. 

      20 ft

    • D. 

      0 ft

  • 18. 
    What are the penalties for driving without insurance?
    • A. 

      Suspension of liscense

    • B. 

      Fine of 300 dollars

    • C. 

      Suspension of license and registration and fines

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 19. 
    Serious accidents causing death, injury, or $200 damage must be reported within 5 days till when?
    • A. 

      The police

    • B. 

      A division of motor vehicle office

    • C. 

      The mayor

    • D. 

      The hospital

  • 20. 
    When will you be given a proposed license suspension notice?
    • A. 

      After receiving 12 points

    • B. 

      After one year

    • C. 

      3-6 months

    • D. 

      1 month

  • 21. 
    What is the penalty for driving with a suspended license - first offense?
    • A. 

      90 days in jail

    • B. 

      30 days community service

    • C. 

      Fine of $500 and up to 6 months additional license suspension

    • D. 

      $100 fine

  • 22. 
    What is the penalty for not telling the truth when applying for a license?
    • A. 

      $200 fine and up to 6 months in jail

    • B. 

      $150 fine 90 days in jail

    • C. 

      $250 fine and 180 days community service

    • D. 

      $50 fine 30 days in jail

  • 23. 
    Up to 3 points may be subtracted from your record if you receive no moving violations for how long?
    • A. 

      1 year

    • B. 

      6 months

    • C. 

      90 days

    • D. 

      2 years

  • 24. 
    What is the penalty for refusing the breath test?
    • A. 

      6 month suspension - first offense

    • B. 

      60 day community service

    • C. 

      30 day license suspension 30 days community service

    • D. 

      45 day community service

  • 25. 
    What should you do if approaching a steady yellow or amber signal?
    • A. 

      Stop

    • B. 

      Speed up

    • C. 

      Slow down and stop before nearing the intersection only if possible

    • D. 

      Run away

Back to Top Back to top
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.