MPCBUA Entrance Exam: Quiz!

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Ctraber
C
Ctraber
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 77
| Attempts: 77 | Questions: 105
Please wait...
Question 1 / 105
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1.  R1, R2, one out. B4 hits a high pop up between first base and the pitcher's mound. The umpires call the infield fly correctly. Both F3 and F1 think the other is going to field the fly ball. At the last second, F1 dives for the ball. It hits him on the head while the ball is over fair territory, rebounds and hits F3 over foul territory and then touches the ground in foul territory. B4 proceeds to second base while R1 is thrown out at third before R2 touches home.  

Explanation

In this scenario, B4 is out because the pop-up was caught by F1, even though it hit him on the head. R1 is also out because he was thrown out at third base before R2 touched home. According to the rules, the infield fly was correctly called, so the batter is automatically out. Since R1 was thrown out before R2 touched home, the run does not count. Therefore, the correct answer is that B4 is out, R1 is out, and no run scores.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
MPCBUA Entrance Exam: Quiz! - Quiz

This exam has been designed as the entrance exam for the Metropolitan Philadelphia Collegiate Baseball Umpires Association. The MPCBUA is affiliated with the CBUAO (Collegiate Baseball Umpires... see moreAssigning Organization).
see less

2. R1, R2, R3, no outs. The batter hits a pop-up in a swirling breeze, which the umpires call "infield fly" correctly. The infielder does not touch the ball and it hits the ground in front of second base, bounces past the fielder and glances off R2's leg. R2 has one foot touching second base. All runners advanced one base before the ball was retrieved.  

Explanation

The correct answer is "Legal play." In this scenario, the umpires correctly called the pop-up as an infield fly. The ball became dead when it touched R2, but since R2 had one foot touching second base, he was not required to be tagged out. All runners advanced one base before the ball was retrieved, which is allowed in this situation. Therefore, the play is legal.

Submit
3.  R1, R2, one out, 3-2 count, bottom of the ninth, V-5;H-4. R1 and R2 are running on the pitch. The batter hits a sharp ground ball between F3 and F4. F4 makes a great diving stop on the ball, jumps to his feet and throws toward F3. The throw is wide. F3 deflects the ball toward the first base dugout. R2 is half-way home and R1 has touched third base when the ball enters the dugout.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that R1 is awarded third base and the batter-runner is awarded second. This is because when the ball was deflected by F3 and entered the dead-ball area (the first base dugout), the base runners are awarded one base from where they were when the ball entered the dead-ball area. R2 was halfway home and R1 had touched third base, so R1 is awarded third base and the batter-runner is awarded second base.

Submit
4.  R1, R3, two outs, bottom of the ninth. The ball is hit where either F3 or F4 could field it. F3 misses but F4 fields the ball and throws to the F6 covering second. F6 misplays the throw and the ball rolls far enough away for R1 to go to third and R3 to score. During his attempt to go to second, the BR was obstructed by F3. The defense appeals that the BR missed first base. The umpire rules that the BR touched first base.  

Explanation

The umpire's ruling that the BR touched first base means that the BR is considered to have successfully reached first base. Therefore, the correct answer is to award the BR second base, R1 third base, and R3 home. This is because the obstruction on the BR occurred after he touched first base, so his advancement to second base is allowed. R1 is able to advance to third base because the ball rolled far enough away during the obstruction, and R3 is able to score because he was already on base when the obstruction occurred.

Submit
5.  The game has just ended and as the umpires are leaving the game site, the previously ejected F3 directs unsportsmanlike language at the plate umpire.  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
6.  After fielding a ground ball, the infielder's throw is wide of the first baseman and sticks in the protective screen in front of the dugout. The catcher is backing up the play and quickly grabs the ball to prevent the batter-runner from advancing.  

Explanation

When the infielder's throw goes wide and sticks in the protective screen, the ball is considered dead immediately. In this situation, the batter-runner is awarded second base because they are allowed to advance one base when the ball becomes dead due to a defensive player's throw going out of play.

Submit
7. The bases are empty and the pitch clock shows only three seconds left before a penalty is enforced. Though prompted by the umpire to enter the batter's box, the batter has yet to enter the box to prepare to hit. The 20-second time expires.  

Explanation

The correct answer is A strike is called on the batter for violating the 20-second pitch clock rule. This is because the batter has not entered the batter's box within the allotted 20 seconds, resulting in a violation of the pitch clock rule. As a consequence, a strike is called on the batter.

Submit
8.  Type 1 Obstruction is:  

Explanation

Type 1 Obstruction is an immediate dead ball. This means that if there is an obstruction on a runner who is not being played upon, the play is immediately stopped and considered dead.

Submit
9. Coach of Team A goes to the mound to talk with his starter. After the starter gives up another hit, the coach returns to the mound and replaces the starter. Once the reliever has finished his eight warm-up pitches, a pinch hitter is announced. Team A coach then requests and is granted another time out to talk to his new relief pitcher.

Explanation

The correct answer is that the mound conference is legal. The coach does not have to remove the relief pitcher after he pitches to one batter or the side is retired, since this is the coach's first conference with his new pitcher. This means that the coach is allowed to have a conversation with the relief pitcher without any consequences, such as having to remove him from the game.

Submit
10.  About a "chalked-off" area on the home plate side of the dugout that is used for ball persons:  

Explanation

The correct answer is that this area is not to be used by any uniformed player. This means that players who are currently in uniform are not allowed to use this area. It is specifically designated for ball persons or coaches who may stand there to observe the game. If a ball person leaves the area, then a uniformed player may use it to loosen up.

Submit
11. What is the penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new 20-second clock protocol?

Explanation

The penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new 20-second clock protocol is a warning that applies only to that pitcher. Additionally, the initial violation by other pitchers from that team is also penalized with a warning. This means that the pitcher who committed the first violation will receive a warning, and if any other pitchers from the same team commit a violation, they will also receive a warning.

Submit
12. R1, R3, no outs, 1-1 count. The batter squares for a suicide squeeze but F1 pitches out when he sees R3 beginning his movement towards home. The batter attempts to bunt the ball but steps in front of the plate with his foot completely on the ground outside of the batter's box. The pitch is fouled off. R3 crosses the plate and R1 advances to 2nd.

Explanation

In this scenario, the batter stepped out of the batter's box with his foot completely on the ground and attempted to bunt the ball. According to the rules, a batter must have both feet within the batter's box when attempting to bunt. By stepping out of the box, the batter has illegally batted the ball. Therefore, the correct action is to return R1 and R3 to their respective bases and call the batter out for illegally batting the ball.

Submit
13.  R3, R2, no outs. After fielding a ground ball, the shortstop's throw is in time for the catcher to receive the ball and tag out R3. Prior to R3 touching home plate, he slides maliciously into the catcher in an attempt to dislodge the ball. R2 moves up to third but had not touched third when the contact occurred. The batter-runner takes second base in all the confusion.  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
14.  R1, R2, R3, two outs. The batter hits an inside-the-park home run. The defense announces that it is appealing R1's missing third base. The pitcher contacts the rubber and steps off legally. However, the pitcher throws the ball over the third baseman's head but the ball stayed in live ball territory. The ball was retrieved and:  

Explanation

If the appeal on R1 is upheld, only two runs score because an inside-the-park home run is considered a play that allows the batter and all runners to advance at their own risk. Therefore, if R1 missed third base and the defense successfully appeals it, R1 would be called out, but the batter's home run would still count. Since there were already two outs, the only runner that would be affected by the appeal is R1, resulting in only two runs scoring.

Submit
15.  When a pitcher chooses to wear a neoprene sleeve he must:  

Explanation

The correct answer is to wear a uniform undershirt over the neoprene sleeve that is of the same color as that of his teammates. This ensures that the pitcher's attire matches that of his teammates, creating a cohesive and uniform appearance on the field.

Submit
16. The jurisdiction of the umpires, as it relates to any personal confrontation or unsportsmanlike conduct toward the umpires, begins and ends:

Explanation

The jurisdiction of the umpires, as it relates to any personal confrontation or unsportsmanlike conduct toward the umpires, begins when they arrive at the game site and ends when they depart from the game site. This means that they have authority over any such behavior from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave.

Submit
17. R2, no outs, bottom of the last inning. F2 interferes with the batter's attempt to bunt. The batter gets the bunt down and is thrown out at first base. R2 reaches third but was not running on the pitch.

Explanation

The correct answer is that the plate umpire calls time at the end of the play. The batter is awarded first base and R2 is returned to second. This is because F2 interfered with the batter's attempt to bunt, which is a violation of the rules. The interference caused the batter to be thrown out at first base, but because of the interference, the batter is still awarded first base. R2, who was not running on the pitch, is returned to second base.

Submit
18.  R3, R2, 1 out. The catcher reaches for the pitch and contacts the hitter's bat on the forward swing. The batter lifts a fly ball to right field that allows R3 to tag up and score. R2 tags but holds up at second as the throw goes to third base.  

Explanation

The correct answer is to call "time!" at the end of playing action, award the batter first base, and return R3 to third base. However, the coach may choose to take the result of the play if desired. This is because the catcher made contact with the hitter's bat on the forward swing, which is considered interference. As a result, the batter is awarded first base. Since R3 tagged up and scored before the interference occurred, the run is allowed. R2 remains at second base.

Submit
19. The starting pitcher has been warned once for violating the 20-second pitch clock rule. He is removed as the pitcher in the second inning. The new pitcher immediately violates the 20-second pitch clock rule.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that no penalty "ball" is issued but the new pitcher receives his warning for violating the 20-second rule and any further violation will result in a ball being awarded to the hitter. This is because the warning issued to the old pitcher applies to all subsequent pitchers, so the new pitcher receives a warning instead of a penalty ball. However, any future violations by the new pitcher will result in a ball being awarded to the hitter.

Submit
20. Umpire jurisdiction, as it relates to personal confrontations and unsportsmanlike conduct directed at the officiating crew, begins:

Explanation

The correct answer is "when the umpires enter the game site and ends when the umpires leave the game site". This is because umpire jurisdiction begins when they arrive at the game site and ends when they leave. This means that they are responsible for enforcing the rules and maintaining order during the entire duration of the game, from start to finish.

Submit
21. Count 3-0 with the next pitch thrown inside. The right-handed batter turns toward the back of the batter's box in order to expose his back to the pitch and protect his arm. The batter is hit in the back; however, the batter did not move closer to home plate when he turned.

Explanation

The batter is awarded first base on a hit-by-the-pitch because he did not move closer to home plate when he turned to expose his back to the pitch. This indicates that he did not intentionally allow himself to get hit by the pitch. The ball is dead immediately, meaning that play stops and the batter is awarded first base.

Submit
22. R1, R3, no outs. B6 gets a base hit with R3 scoring and R1 advancing to third base. As the ball is being returned to the infield, the batter/runner attempts to advance to second and is trapped in a rundown. During the rundown, the batter-runner is called out for interference. R1 has not touched home plate at the time of the interference.

Explanation

In this scenario, R3 scores because he had already touched home plate before the interference occurred. However, R1 is returned to third base because he had not yet touched home plate at the time of the interference. The batter-runner is called out for interference because he impeded the defensive team's ability to make a play. Therefore, the correct answer is that R3 scores, R1 is returned to third, and the batter-runner is out for interference.

Submit
23. Regarding the batter's box rule:

Explanation

The given correct answer states that umpires are instructed to enforce the batter's box rule both verbally and visually. This means that umpires are responsible for ensuring that batters stay within the designated batter's box during their at-bat. They are expected to communicate this rule to the batter verbally and also visually indicate any violations. If a batter leaves the box without permission, the ball is declared dead and a strike is awarded.

Submit
24.  R1 is leading off first base when F1 picks to first. The first baseman drops his right knee to the ground, prevening the base runner from touching any part of first base. F3 then catches the ball and tags R1.  

Explanation

The correct answer is "The umpire declares 'Obstruction' and awards R1 second base." In this scenario, the first baseman dropping his knee to the ground prevents the base runner from touching first base. This is considered obstruction, as the fielder is impeding the progress of the runner. As a result, the umpire declares obstruction and awards the runner second base.

Submit
25. The Halted Game rule was not agreed upon before the start of the nonconference game. The score is tied at 4-4 going into the ninth inning. The visitors score one in their half of the ninth. After the first two batters in the bottom of the ninth strike out, the game is rained out.  

Explanation

The game is over and it is a "tie" game because the Halted Game rule was not agreed upon before the start of the game. Since the game was rained out in the bottom of the ninth inning with the visitors leading 5-4, the game cannot be completed and the score at the time of the halt stands, resulting in a tie.

Submit
26. R3, two outs, bottom of seventh. B4's slow ground ball to F5 is fielded and thrown to first base in time beat B4 by a step but F3 cannot hold the ball. B4 has touched the base but does not see F3 drop the ball. Thinking he is out, he continues jogging to the outfield where he is awaiting a teammate to bring him his glove because he thinks he is the third out.  

Explanation

In this scenario, B4 is considered out for abandonment for leaving the infield. Even though he touched first base before leaving, he failed to immediately return to the base after F3 dropped the ball. However, since there were already two outs, R3's run counts as a time play, meaning that the run counts regardless of B4 being out. Therefore, B4 is out for abandonment, but R3's run still counts.

Submit
27.  The 20-second time limit (or clock) begins when the:

Explanation

The correct answer is "Pitcher receives the ball on the mound." This is because the 20-second time limit starts as soon as the pitcher receives the ball on the mound. Once the pitcher has the ball, they must begin their wind-up or come set position within 20 seconds or else it will result in a violation of the time limit.

Submit
28.  R1, 0-1 count, one out. B1 is the batter. Just as F1 pitches, B1 requests "time" and steps out of the batter's box. The umpire does not grant time and the pitch is out of the strike zone.  

Explanation

When the batter requests "time" and steps out of the batter's box just as the pitcher pitches, it is considered a live ball situation. In this scenario, the umpire did not grant "time" to the batter, so the pitch is still live. Since the pitch is out of the strike zone, it is automatically called a ball. Therefore, the correct answer is "Live ball, the pitch is called a ball."

Submit
29.  A half swing shall be called a strike if the barrel of the bat:  

Explanation

A half swing shall be called a strike if the barrel of the bat passes the batter's front hip.

Submit
30. With the changes in the obstruction rule:

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that according to the changes in the obstruction rule, a fielder must have possession of the ball in order to block a base on a pickoff throw. This means that the defensive player cannot block a base without having control of the ball. This rule ensures fair play and prevents obstruction by the defensive team.

Submit
31. R1, R2, one out, score tied. From the set position, the pitcher does not come to a complete and discernable stop. A balk is called. The batter singles on the 1-1 pitch. R2 is thrown out at the plate for the second out. R1 comes to a complete stop before he reaches second base and stands near the bag. The catcher throws to second base and forces R1 for the third out.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that R2 is awarded third and R1 is awarded second on the balk. The batter is returned to the plate with a 1-1 count. This is because a balk is a violation of the rules by the pitcher, resulting in a penalty for the opposing team. In this case, the pitcher did not come to a complete and discernable stop, which is required by the rules. As a result, R2 and R1 are both awarded the next base, which is third and second respectively. The batter is returned to the plate with the same count as before the balk occurred.

Submit
32.  A fielder must possess the ball in order to be considered "in the act of fielding.

Explanation

A fielder does not necessarily have to possess the ball in order to be considered "in the act of fielding". The act of fielding includes any action taken by a fielder to field the ball, such as stopping it, deflecting it, or even touching it momentarily. Possession of the ball is not a requirement for being considered "in the act of fielding". Therefore, the correct answer is False.

Submit
33. The starting pitcher is replaced in the top of the sixth inning. The coach informs the home plate umpire that the replaced pitcher will remain in the game as the DH. As the replaced pitcher is walking to the dugout, he blasts the plate umpire and is ejected.  

Explanation

The starting pitcher is ejected from the game after arguing with the plate umpire. However, since the pitcher was replaced in the top of the sixth inning and the coach informed the umpire that the replaced pitcher will remain in the game as the designated hitter (DH), there is no suspension for the pitcher. The ejection is considered a routine consequence for his behavior during the game.

Submit
34.  The batter has just hit a home run out of the park. He misses first on his trip around the bases. Once the plate umpire has tossed a new ball to the pitcher, the defense has F4 stand behind first base in foul territory. The pitcher then tosses the ball to F3 who steps on first base and appeals that the batter missed first base.  

Explanation

The correct answer is to make no call, indicate that the ball is dead or not in play, and require the infielder to be in fair ground until the plate umpire has put the new ball into play. This is because the defense initiated an appeal while the ball is dead, and they have lost their opportunity to appeal once the ball is put back into play.

Submit
35.  The pitcher's glove must:  

Explanation

The correct answer is "Be black or brown." This means that the pitcher's glove can only be black or brown in color. Any other color, including gray or white, is not allowed. The answer also states that even if the umpire does not find a white logo on the glove distracting, it is still not allowed.

Submit
36. When a relief pitcher enters the game he is allowed:

Explanation

The relief pitcher is allowed eight warm-up throws without penalty, even though the pitch clock is running. This means that the pitcher has a limited amount of time to warm up and throw his pitches, but he is not penalized if he takes the full eight warm-up throws within that time frame.

Submit
37. R1, R3, no outs. B4 hits a one-hopper back to the mound. R3 ends up in a rundown between home and third. As the catcher chases R3 back to third, he dives and makes a tag on R3, falls to the ground and the ball pops out of his mitt when he hits the ground.

Explanation

In this scenario, the catcher did not display a voluntary release of the ball when he made the tag on R3. According to the rules, a tag is only considered valid if the fielder voluntarily releases the ball after making the tag. Since the ball popped out of the catcher's mitt when he hit the ground, it can be inferred that he did not have full control of the ball and did not display a voluntary release. Therefore, the runner is safe.

Submit
38. R3, no outs. The batter hits a high foul fly ball near third base. R3 has returned to third base and is touching the base when F5 bumps into him. The contact by R3 on F5 was not intentional. F5 makes the catch on the foul ball.

Explanation

R3 is allowed to stay at third base and the batter is out because the contact made by R3 on F5 was not intentional. In this situation, incidental contact is not considered interference, so R3 is not declared out. Since F5 made the catch on the foul ball, it is considered an out for the batter. Therefore, R3 is allowed to stay at third base and the batter is out.

Submit
39. What is the penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new 90-second pitch clock protocol?

Explanation

The penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new 90-second pitch clock protocol is that a ball is awarded to the first batter.

Submit
40. Visitors 2, Home 1, bottom of the sixth inning. The leadoff hitter drives a pitch into the left centerfield alley for a double. Prior to a pitch to the next batter, the defensive coach correctly appeals the leadoff hitter used an illegal bat because it did not have the BBCOR stamp.  

Explanation

The correct answer is to call the leadoff hitter out and remove the bat from the game because the leadoff hitter used an illegal bat without the BBCOR stamp. This is a violation of the rules and the appropriate action is to penalize the player and remove the bat from play. There is no warning given in this situation, as the violation has already been identified and confirmed by the defensive coach.

Submit
41. On the coach's first trip in that inning and second of the game, he goes to the mound and removes his starter, who is also the DH. After handing the ball to the relief pitcher, the coach leaves the mound and returns to the dugout. After entering the dugout, the coach comes back to the plate umpire and indicates that "the removed pitcher will remain as the DH."  

Explanation

The coach should have made the substitution to the plate umpire prior to his entering the dugout. This means that the coach should have informed the umpire of the substitution before leaving the field. It is too late to request that the old pitcher be allowed to remain in the game as the designated hitter (DH) once the coach has entered the dugout.

Submit
42. The pitch clock is paused for any of the following reasons, except:  

Explanation

The pitch clock is paused for any of the following reasons: when the pitcher is delayed in returning to the dirt circle because he was backing up a play, when a fielder is delayed in returning to his position after attempting to field a foul ball, and when the batter is delayed in returning to the dirt area around home plate following his running out of a foul ball. However, the pitch clock is not paused when the pitcher disengages the pitching rubber.

Submit
43. R1, The batter has fouled off the first two sacrifice bunt attempts. The batter attempts to bunt a third time but pops it up where F2 makes the catch in foul territory. R1 was moving on the pitch and F2's throw to first arrives before R1 can get back.

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
44.  What is the penalty for the pitcher violating the 20-second rule?  

Explanation

If the pitcher violates the 20-second rule, they will be warned and then a ball will be awarded to the hitter on the next violation.

Submit
45.  The batter is clearly within the batter's box; the pitch is inside the lines of the batter's box. The batter "freezes" and makes no attempt to avoid the pitch. You call "time."  

Explanation

The batter is awarded first base for "being hit by the pitch" because they were within the batter's box and the pitch was inside the lines of the batter's box. The batter made no attempt to avoid the pitch, so the umpire called "time" and awarded them first base.

Submit
46. R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is obstructed. After obstruction has been called on F4, R3 is thrown out at the plate.  

Explanation

In this situation, R3 is awarded home because he was advancing to the plate when obstruction was called. R1 is awarded second base as a result of the obstruction. This ruling is based on the rules of obstruction, which state that if a runner is obstructed while advancing to a base, he is awarded the base he would have reached without the obstruction.

Submit
47. Two outs. B9 bats in place of the proper batter, B8, and grounds out to end the inning. The defensive team did not notice the improper batter and leaves the field.

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
48.  R2, R3, one out. The batter hits a ground ball to the pitcher and R3 gets into a rundown between home and third. R3 gets back to third safely but R2 is touching the base as well. The defense tags both runners.  

Explanation

In baseball, once a runner advances to the next base, the previous base is considered "occupied" by that runner. In this scenario, R3 was initially on third base and R2 was on second base. When R3 headed for home, the base belonged to him and R2 was not allowed to occupy it. Therefore, R3 is safe because he has the right to third base until he touches home, and R2 is out because he was attempting to occupy a base that was already occupied by R3.

Submit
49. About charged conferences:

Explanation

The correct answer states that an offensive team may meet during a defensive conference without the meeting being charged as long as there is no additional delay. This means that if the offensive team wants to have a meeting while the defensive team is having their conference, they are allowed to do so without any penalty as long as they do not cause any further delay in the game.

Submit
50.  R1, R3, less than two outs. Both runners retouch and advance when B4 flies out to F9. The defense announces that it intends to appeal both R1 and R3's leaving too soon. After the ball is made live, F1 steps legally off the rubber and throws to F5 but his throw goes into dead ball territory.  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
51. Regarding legal bats for the 2011 season:

Explanation

The correct answer states that the only non-wood bats that are legal in 2011 are those stamped with the BBCOR logo. This means that any non-wood bat without the BBCOR stamp is not allowed and would be considered illegal for use in the 2011 season.

Submit
52.  R1, one out. Base hit. R1 is obstructed by F6 while the ball is in the air on a relay from F4 to F5. BR is then thrown out at 2B.  

Explanation

When R1 is obstructed by F6 while the ball is in the air, it is considered interference. As a result, R1 is awarded the next base, which is third, and the BR (batter-runner) is awarded the base that R1 was going to, which is second. This ruling is consistent with the obstruction rule in baseball.

Submit
53. R1, one out. F5 catches a line drive by B3 and throws to F3 in an attempt to double up R1, The throw is wide and lodges in the fence behind first base.

Explanation

Since the throw from F5 was wide and lodged in the fence behind first base, R1 is awarded third base. This is because according to the rules, when an outfielder throws the ball out of play, the runner is awarded two bases from the time of the throw. In this case, R1 was already on first base, so he is awarded third base.

Submit
54.  R1. F1 is in the set position. During his preliminary motion, F1 changes direction but does not come to a complete and discernable stop and then steps back off the pitching rubber.  

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that F1 has balked. This is because during his preliminary motion, F1 changed direction without coming to a complete and discernable stop before stepping back off the pitching rubber. This action constitutes a balk, which is an illegal act by the pitcher that results in a penalty.

Submit
55.  R1, one out. The batter attempts to sacrifice R1 to second base. As the ball is rolling foul, with no chance to roll back fair, the batter intentionally kicks the ball.  

Explanation

In this scenario, the batter intentionally kicked the ball while it was rolling foul. According to the rules, intentional contact with a foul ball results in the batter being declared out. Therefore, the correct answer is that the batter is declared out.

Submit
56. R1, no outs. B2 hits a short-hopper to F3. R1, thinking that F3 legally caught the ball, attempts to return to first base before F3 can touch him. However, the umpire rules no catch. F3 tags first base and then tags R1 while R1 is still on the base.

Explanation

R1 is safe because F3 did not legally catch the ball. Since the ball was not caught, R1 did not need to return to first base and therefore cannot be tagged out.

Submit
57. R1, R3, one out. The batter's line drive is caught by F1. Both runners are moving on the pitch. F1 sees that R1 is way off first base and leisurely tosses the ball to F3 to double up R1 for the third out. While this is taking place, R3 has touched home plate prior to the third out at first base. The plate umpire waits until both teams have completely changed sides and awards the old offensive team a run.

Explanation

The previous defensive team cannot appeal because they did not do it before all infielders left the field and the catcher had left the dirt area around home plate. In baseball, an appeal must be made before all infielders have left the field and the catcher has left the dirt area around home plate. Since the defensive team did not make the appeal in time, the plate umpire awards the old offensive team a run and the inning continues.

Submit
58. Everyone listed below must wear a double ear-flap helmet:

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
59.  No runners. The batter hits a dribbler up the first base line. Both F1 and F2 are converging on the ball. F1 fields the ball near the 45-foot line in fair territory. Seeing that F1 will field the ball, F2 slows down and the batter-runner makes contact with F2. The batter-runner is running legally between home and first base. F1 throws to F3 for the out.  

Explanation

In this situation, F2, who is the catcher, slowed down and made contact with the batter-runner while he was running legally between home and first base. This is considered obstruction, as the catcher impeded the progress of the batter-runner. According to the rules, when obstruction occurs, the batter-runner is awarded first base. Therefore, the correct answer is "Obstruction, award the batter-runner first base."

Submit
60.  R3, R2, one out. The infield is in to cut off the run at the plate. The batter hits a sharp ground ball to the left side of the infield. The batted ball passes between F5 and F6 and then hits R2.  

Explanation

When the batter hits a sharp ground ball that passes between F5 and F6 and then hits R2, the ball remains live and in play. This means that the play is still ongoing and the defense can still make a play to get an out or prevent the runners from advancing. In this specific scenario, R2 is out, R3 returns to third base, and the batter is awarded first base. The defense cannot benefit from the ball striking a runner, so the correct answer is that the ball remains live and in play.

Submit
61.  R1, R2, no outs. Ground ball to F5 who gets R2 in a rundown. F6 obstructs R2 (it is called). R2 avoids a tag and dives safely back into 2B. The BR has rounded first but notices R1 returning to first and then another rundown starts. Both R1 and the BR wind up standing on first. The fielder tags the BR and when R1 steps off the bag, the fielder tags him.  

Explanation

In this scenario, R2 was obstructed by F6, so R2 is awarded third base. R1, who was in a rundown with the BR, is forced to return to second base. The BR, who rounded first but noticed R1 returning, is also forced to return to first base. Therefore, R2 is awarded third base, R1 is awarded second base, and the BR is awarded first base.

Submit
62. Regarding the pitcher or pitching mound.

Explanation

The correct answer is that the home team is responsible for providing a rosin bag. This means that it is the duty of the home team to supply a rosin bag for the pitcher to use on the pitching mound. Rosin is a substance that pitchers use to improve their grip on the ball, especially in humid or sweaty conditions. Having a rosin bag available ensures that pitchers have the necessary tools to perform at their best.

Submit
63. Following a home run:

Explanation

Following a home run, the offense is restricted to the warning-track area in front of the dugout (approximately 15 feet). This means that they cannot go beyond this area to congratulate the base runners and the hitter. This restriction is likely in place to prevent any excessive celebration or interference with the game.

Submit
64.  9-man line-up. The P/DH is removed as the pitcher.

Explanation

The replaced P/DH is allowed to continue as the designated hitter (DH) but can only bat in the DH spot. This means that they cannot enter the game in any other capacity, such as playing a defensive position. Additionally, any subsequent DH who replaces the P/DH cannot enter the game in any other capacity either. This rule ensures that the P/DH who was replaced as the pitcher can still contribute to the game offensively, but cannot play a defensive role.

Submit
65. By rule, in order for an umpire to judge a half-swing as a strike:

Explanation

In order for an umpire to judge a half-swing as a strike, the barrel head of the bat must pass the batter's front hip. This means that even if the bat does not fully cross the front edge of the plate or pass the batter's back hip, as long as the barrel head of the bat goes past the batter's front hip, it can be considered a strike. The key factor in determining a half-swing as a strike is the position of the barrel head of the bat in relation to the batter's front hip.

Submit
66. R1 is stealing second base. The throw from the catcher beats the runner to the base and he is tagged by F4. The runner slides legally but hard into the base and F4 is knocked off balance. As F4 attempts to show the umpire the ball, the ball is bobbled and drops to the ground.  

Explanation

The runner is ruled "safe" because the fielder did not voluntarily release the ball after losing body control. In this situation, the runner slid legally into the base and knocked the fielder off balance. As the fielder attempted to show the umpire the ball, he bobbled it and dropped it to the ground. According to the rules, if a fielder loses control of the ball after being knocked off balance by a runner, the runner is considered safe. Since the fielder did not voluntarily release the ball, the runner is ruled safe.

Submit
67. If the head coach of the defensive team leaves his position to argue a call:

Explanation

The correct answer is "None of the above are correct" because none of the options provided accurately describe the consequences for a head coach of the defensive team leaving his position to argue a call. The correct consequences may vary depending on the specific rules and regulations of the sport being played.

Submit
68.  2-Umpire Mechanics. Which umpire has the "primary" responsibility of the Force Play Slide Rule at second base.  

Explanation

The base umpire has the "primary" responsibility of the Force Play Slide Rule at second base. This means that they are primarily responsible for making the call and enforcing the rule in situations where a force play and slide occur at second base. The home plate umpire and whichever umpire has the best look may also play a role in making the call, but the base umpire is the one with the main responsibility.

Submit
69.  R2, R3, two outs. The pitcher bobbles a come-backer and seeing that he has no play at 1B, throws to F5 who tags out R2. However, R2 was obstructed by F6 on his way to third. The BR rounds first base too wide and F5 throws behind the BR and the BR is called out.  

Explanation

In this situation, the pitcher bobbled the ball and threw to F5 to tag out R2. However, R2 was obstructed by F6 while running to third base. The BR, who had rounded first base too wide, was then thrown out by F5. The out stands for the third out, so the inning is over. If R3 has not touched home when the BR is called out, the run would not count. The ball is considered "dead" on the obstruction of R2 by F6. Therefore, the umpire should score R3, award R2 third base, and award the BR second base if he had touched first before the obstruction occurred.

Submit
70.  R1 and R2. The pitcher is in the set position. R2 breaks for third base. The pitcher steps directly to third base without stepping off and throws to F5 in time to retire R2.  

Explanation

The correct answer is "Legal play." In this scenario, the pitcher is allowed to throw directly to third base without stepping off the rubber as long as the runner is attempting to steal the base. Since R2 breaks for third base, the pitcher's throw to F5 in time to retire R2 is considered a legal play. There is no violation of the rules in this situation.

Submit
71. Ten-man lineup. In the top of the eighth inning, the pitcher is put in to pinch run for a slower runner. A new DH is also inserted into the lineup. Is this legal?  

Explanation

This answer is correct because according to the rules of baseball, when a pitcher is substituted for a position player, a new pitcher is announced and takes the place of the substituted player in the batting order. The DH (Designated Hitter) position is eliminated for the remainder of the game, so the team cannot insert a new DH into the lineup.

Submit
72. With no one on base, after "time" has been called, when does the "paused" pitch clock restart?

Explanation

The correct answer is when the plate umpire points the ball back into play. This means that once the plate umpire signals that the ball is back in play, the pitch clock will restart. This ensures that the game can continue with the pitcher delivering the pitch within the allotted time.

Submit
73.  R1, R2, R3, two outs. B4 doubles. R2 misses third base. After touching home plate, R2 realizes his mistake and starts back to third base after both R3 and R1 have touched home. R2 makes it safely back to third.  

Explanation

If the defense appeals, R2 is called out after playing action has ended and no runs score because R2 missed third base. According to the rules of baseball, a runner must touch each base in order and R2 failed to touch third base. Once R2 realized his mistake and started back to third base, it was considered a proper appeal by the defense. Since the appeal was made after R2 had touched home plate and both R3 and R1 had touched home, the playing action had ended. Therefore, R2 is called out and no runs score.

Submit
74. 3-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on 2nd base only and two outs, which umpire is responsible for a long fly ball down the right field line?  

Explanation

In baseball, with a runner on 2nd base only and two outs, the first base umpire is responsible for a long fly ball down the right field line. This is because the first base umpire is positioned closer to the right field line and has a better view of the play compared to the third base umpire or the home plate umpire. The first base umpire is responsible for making the call on whether the ball is fair or foul, and whether the fielder made a catch or if the ball is in play.

Submit
75. R1 and R2, one out, 1-1 count, double steal. The batter swings and misses and interferes with the catcher's attempt to throw to third. Because of the interference, the catcher does not continue his attempt to throw to third but instead, throws to second and retires R1.

Explanation

The correct answer is that the batter is out and both R1 and R2 return to their respective bases at the time of the pitch. This is because the batter interfered with the catcher's attempt to throw to third, which nullifies any subsequent play. Therefore, the play is treated as if it never happened, and both runners must return to their original bases.

Submit
76. R1, one out, 1-1 count. B2 is legally in the batter's box. B2 swings and misses and his normal follow-through unintentionally strikes the catcher while the catcher is in the act of throwing to second base in an unsuccessful attempt to retire R1.  

Explanation

In this scenario, the batter is not out because the catcher was in the act of throwing to second base and the batter's follow-through unintentionally struck the catcher. Therefore, it is considered a foul ball and the count remains 1-1. R1 goes back to first base because the pitch was not a strike and the batter did not make contact with the ball.

Submit
77. About the designated hitter:

Explanation

The designated hitter (DH) is eliminated for the game when the pitcher moves to a defensive position. This means that once the pitcher takes a position on the field, the team can no longer use a DH for the remainder of the game. The DH is a player who is designated to bat in place of the pitcher in the lineup. This rule ensures that the game follows a consistent set of rules and does not allow for the pitcher to bat after being replaced by a DH.

Submit
78.  No runners. B1's grounder is fielded by F4. F4's throw goes over the first baseman's head and into the dugout. B1 misses first base on his way to second following the overthrow.  

Explanation

B1 is awarded two bases from the time of the pitch but must touch first base before proceeding with the award or be subject to being called out on appeal. This means that B1 is allowed to advance two bases from his original position at the time of the pitch, which in this case is from home plate. However, in order to fully benefit from this award, B1 must touch first base before proceeding to second. If he fails to touch first base and the defense appeals the play, he can be called out.

Submit
79.  R1. F1 fails to stop before delivering the pitch. The base umpire properly calls a "balk." The batter gets a base hit to centerfield. R1 advances to second but the batter believes that the balk is an automatic dead ball, does not advance to first. The defense returns the ball to the infield where F6 throws the ball to first base and appeals that the batter should be declared out for not touching first base.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that the appeal is granted. However, since B2 and R1 did not advance one base, the balk is enforced. This means that R1 is awarded second base and B2 remains at the plate with the count the same as it was before the balk. This is because even though the batter believed the balk was a dead ball, he still had the opportunity to advance to first base but failed to do so. Therefore, the appeal is valid and the balk is enforced.

Submit
80. R2, one out. The batter singles up the middle and R2 attempts to score. The plate umpire has executed his mechanics perfectly and is ready for a possible collision tag. He notices there is a small portion of the plate available to the base runner. R2 does not slide to the open portion of the plate but veers toward the catcher and makes contact above the waist after the catcher has caught the ball. The contact was not flagrant but the base runner did not make a legitimate attempt to reach the plate but instead, attempted to dislodge the ball. The catcher dropped the ball on the collision.  

Explanation

In this scenario, the base runner did not make a legitimate attempt to reach the plate but instead tried to dislodge the ball from the catcher. The contact made by the base runner was not flagrant, but it was still considered a violation of the rules. As a result, the base runner is declared out and ejected from the game. Additionally, the ball is considered dead, meaning that play stops and no further action can be taken. Therefore, the correct answer is that the base runner is out and the ball is dead.

Submit
81.  R1, R2, two outs. The pitcher is called for a balk but continues the pitch. B4 doubles to the gap in left center but misses first base. Both R1 and R2 score on the play. The defense properly appeals B4's missing first base.  

Explanation

The batter is out because he missed first base, and since there were two outs at the time of the pitch, no runs may score.

Submit
82. R1, R2, R3. B4 hits a double in the right center gap. Both R1 and R2 have missed third base on their way to the plate. After playing action has ceased, the defense announces that it will appeal R1's missing of third base. The pitcher contacts the rubber properly, steps off legally and then throws the ball over the third baseman's head into dead ball territory. B4 advances to third base on the overthrow. After the plate umpire has made a new ball ready for play, the defense announces that it will appeal R2's missing of third base.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that the batter-runner will be awarded home and the appeal on R2 will not be allowed. This is because the batter-runner advanced to third base on the overthrow, which is considered a dead ball territory. Once a ball is declared dead, any appeal play is no longer valid. Therefore, the appeal on R2 cannot be allowed and the batter-runner is awarded home.

Submit
83. With regard to the collision rule, which of the following terms apply:  

Explanation

The correct answer states that the runner must make an actual attempt to reach the base, but cannot attempt to dislodge the ball from the fielder. Additionally, the runner must try to avoid a collision if they can reach the base without colliding. This means that the runner must prioritize reaching the base safely over trying to interfere with the fielder or causing a collision.

Submit
84. In order to use the halted-game rule:

Explanation

The correct answer is that in the case of a non-conference game, it must be agreed upon at the plate conference prior to the start of the contest. This means that both teams and the umpires must discuss and agree upon the use of the halted-game rule before the game begins.

Submit
85.  Coaches, student athletes, managers or other non-playing personnel who argue any penalty or timing decision:  

Explanation

Coaches, student athletes, managers, or other non-playing personnel who argue any penalty or timing decision are subject to ejection following a team warning. This means that they will be given a warning as a team, and if any further arguments are raised, they will be ejected from the game. This suggests that there is a protocol in place to address and discourage arguing penalty or timing decisions, with warnings given before more severe consequences such as ejection are imposed.

Submit
86. About the force-play slide rule:

Explanation

The correct answer is "Applies at second, third and home." This means that the force-play slide rule is applicable in situations where there is a force play at second base, third base, or home plate. It does not apply to other bases. Additionally, the rule requires that there be contact for interference to be called.

Submit
87. Which of the following calls is not subject to the "Getting the Call Right" philosophy?

Explanation

The "Getting the Call Right" philosophy refers to the principle of making accurate and fair calls in a game. In this case, all of the options except for "A catch/no-catch with less than two outs and with runners on base" involve specific situations where the call needs to be made correctly. However, in the given situation, the catch/no-catch call is not subject to the "Getting the Call Right" philosophy because it does not have any specific circumstances or consequences attached to it.

Submit
88.  R1, R2, score is 3-1 visitors, bottom of the ninth. Slow ground ball to F6's right allows R1 to beat the throw to second base. F4's relay to first on the back end of the play is ahead of the batter-runner's touching first base but is wide and goes into the first base dugout.  

Explanation

The correct answer is to award R2 and R1 home and place the batter-runner at second. This is because the ball went into the first base dugout, which is considered a dead ball territory. According to the rules, when a ball goes into dead ball territory, all runners are awarded two bases from the last base they legally touched at the time of the pitch. Since R2 was on second base and R1 was on first base, they are both awarded home. The batter-runner, who was on his way to first base, is awarded second base.

Submit
89. 10-man line-up to start the game. In the fifth inning the DH is replaced offensively and is moved to the mound to pitch.  

Explanation

When the DH is moved to the mound to pitch, he is considered a new position player and loses his status as the DH. This means that if he is later replaced as the pitcher, he cannot return to the game as a designated hitter. This rule ensures that teams do not have an unfair advantage by having a strong hitter as the DH and then also using them as a pitcher.

Submit
90.  Once a new pitcher has reached the mound and the coach walks off the dirt portion of the mound or the new pitcher begins his eight warm-up pitches:  

Explanation

The correct answer is stating that the pitching change and mound conference have concluded. This means that once the coach has left the mound and the new pitcher has completed their warm-up pitches, the pitching change is considered finished. The coach is then allowed to stop in the grass area of the infield and give instructions to the infielders without penalty. The umpire does not count this as a new trip for the relief pitcher, unless the coach holds a conference on the grass with the infielders, in which case the relief pitcher must be replaced after pitching to one batter or retiring the side.

Submit
91.  R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.  

Explanation

The correct answer is "Score three runs and put the batter at third base." In this scenario, the batter successfully executed a suicide squeeze bunt, but the ball rolled into foul territory near the first base foul line. The pitcher instructed the catcher to touch the ball foul, indicating that the ball should be touched while it is still in foul territory. However, the catcher scooped up the ball with the mask he was holding in his throwing hand. According to the rules, if a fielder deliberately touches a ball in foul territory and it subsequently rolls fair, it is considered a foul ball. Therefore, the batter is awarded three runs and is placed at third base.

Submit
92.  The starting pitcher is replaced after giving up a home run that broke a 2-2 tie. As he is leaving the field, the replaced pitcher blasts the home plate umpire who ejects the player.  

Explanation

The starting pitcher is being given a four-game suspension because he physically attacked the home plate umpire after being replaced. This behavior is a serious violation of the rules and warrants a significant punishment to ensure the safety and integrity of the game.

Submit
93.  R1, R3, no outs, two strikes on the hitter. A pitched ball is swung at and missed. The ball skips underneath the catcher's glove, bounces up and lodges in the umpire's clothing. R3 scores, R1 goes to third and the hitter attains first base.  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
94.  R1, two outs, bottom of seventh, score tied, 1-1. On the pitch, R1 breaks for second base. As F4 moves to cover, the umpire bumps into him causing F4 to miss the ball and allowing R1 to advance to third base.  

Explanation

The correct answer is that umpire interference can only be called when the umpire interferes with the catcher's attempt to throw anywhere or when a fair hit ball touches an umpire before passing all infielders, other than the pitcher, who have a chance to field the ball. In this scenario, the umpire bumped into F4 while he was attempting to cover second base, causing F4 to miss the ball and allowing R1 to advance to third base. Since this does not fall under the criteria for umpire interference, R1 is not returned to first base.

Submit
95.  R1, R3, one out, 1-0 count on the hitter. R1 is stealing second. The batter swings, misses and interferes with the catcher's throw. The home plate umpire calls the interference and lets the play continue. The throw retires R1 but R3 scores easily.  

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
96.  2-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on first base only and one out, a routine ground ball is hit to F6. F6 bobbles the ball and his throw goes over the head of the first base umpire. Which umpire is responsible for the ball going out-of-play on the overthrow?  

Explanation

The base umpire is responsible for the ball going out-of-play on the overthrow because they are positioned near first base and are responsible for making calls on plays at first base. They have the best view of the play and are in the best position to determine if the ball goes out-of-play. The home plate umpire is primarily responsible for calls at home plate and would not have the best view of the overthrow. The umpire who has the best look may vary depending on the specific situation, but in this case, it is the base umpire.

Submit
97. R2, two outs. B4 singles. The batter-runner has touched first at the time the outfielder releases the ball. The catcher has caught the ball when R2 slides and knocks the ball out of the catcher's glove. The ball goes into a dead ball area. All aspects of the play at the plate are legal. The batter-runner has touched second prior to the ball rolling into a dead ball area.  

Explanation

In this scenario, R2 scores and B4 is awarded home because all aspects of the play at the plate are legal. The batter-runner has touched first base before the outfielder releases the ball, and the catcher has caught the ball when R2 slides and knocks it out of the glove. Since the ball goes into a dead ball area, the play is dead and R2 is awarded home.

Submit
98.  R1, no outs. A right handed pitcher jump turns in an attempt to pick-off R1. The pitcher appears to clear the ground with the non-pivot foot but the non-pivot foot lands closer to third base than it was from the starting position of his feet.  

Explanation

The given correct answer is "Balk, award R1 second base." This is because according to the rules of baseball, when a pitcher attempts to pick off a runner, they must make a legal move by clearing the ground with their non-pivot foot and landing it closer to the base they are throwing to. In this scenario, the pitcher's non-pivot foot lands closer to third base than it was from the starting position, which is a violation of the rules and considered a balk. As a result, R1 is awarded second base.

Submit
99.  3-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on 2nd base only and two outs, which umpire is responsible for a close play on the batter-runner at 2nd base.  

Explanation

In baseball, with a runner on 2nd base and two outs, the third base umpire is responsible for a close play on the batter-runner at 2nd base. This is because the third base umpire has the best angle and view of the play from their position on the field. They are able to make a more accurate call on whether the batter-runner is safe or out at 2nd base.

Submit
100.  R2, the batter singles. F2 blocks the plate as R2 begins his slide. R2 contacts F2 just before the ball arrives but cannot reach home and is tagged out.  

Explanation

The play stands because the ball was close enough to F2 that he had to be in his position to field it. This means that F2 was not guilty of obstruction. Since R2 was tagged out before reaching home, the batter does not advance to third base or second base.

Submit
101. R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate, the throw from F9 is up the third base line causing F2 to move up the baseline in order to catch the ball. As the ball is approximately 10 feet from F2 and he is preparing to glove the ball, he collides with R2 and both are knocked to the ground. F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home plate.  

Explanation

In this scenario, F2, the fielder, obstructs R2, the runner, while he is attempting to score on a base hit. F2 moves up the baseline to catch the ball and collides with R2, knocking both of them to the ground. This is considered obstruction by F2 because he interfered with the runner's progress. As a result, R2 is awarded home.

Submit
102. On any obstruction, all runners are awarded:

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
103. The line-up card submitted at the plate conference listed Dropo as the first baseman and Kluszewski as an eligible substitute. When the game begins, Kluszewski is at first base and Dropo is on the bench. Kluszewski is injured in the 5th inning and Dropo is inserted as the pinch runner.

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
104. With no-one on base, the catcher requests "time" to go to the mound and talk to his pitcher.

Explanation

The correct answer is that the 20-second pitch clock is paused while the catcher talks with his pitcher. This means that the countdown on the pitch clock stops when the catcher requests "time" to go to the mound and have a conversation with the pitcher. The clock will resume once the catcher has finished talking and returns to their position behind home plate.

Submit
105.  Regarding the color of the pitcher's glove:  

Explanation

Both B and C are correct because they provide different perspectives on the color of the pitcher's glove. According to B, white or gray lettering is allowed if it is not distracting to the hitter, indicating that there may be some flexibility in the rule. On the other hand, C emphasizes that the overall color of the glove is the main focus of the rule, suggesting that the intent is to prevent distracting colors. Therefore, both perspectives are valid and contribute to the understanding of the rule regarding the color of the pitcher's glove.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 20, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 20, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jun 17, 2011
    Quiz Created by
    Ctraber
Cancel
  • All
    All (105)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
 R1, R2, one out. B4 hits a high pop up between first base and...
R1, R2, R3, no outs. The batter hits a pop-up in a swirling breeze,...
 R1, R2, one out, 3-2 count, bottom of the ninth, V-5;H-4. R1 and...
 R1, R3, two outs, bottom of the ninth. The ball is hit where...
 The game has just ended and as the umpires are leaving the game...
 After fielding a ground ball, the infielder's throw is wide...
The bases are empty and the pitch clock shows only three seconds left...
 Type 1 Obstruction is:  
Coach of Team A goes to the mound to talk with his starter. After the...
 About a "chalked-off" area on the home plate side of...
What is the penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new...
R1, R3, no outs, 1-1 count. The batter squares for a suicide squeeze...
 R3, R2, no outs. After fielding a ground ball, the...
 R1, R2, R3, two outs. The batter hits an inside-the-park home...
 When a pitcher chooses to wear a neoprene sleeve he must:...
The jurisdiction of the umpires, as it relates to any personal...
R2, no outs, bottom of the last inning. F2 interferes with the...
 R3, R2, 1 out. The catcher reaches for the pitch and contacts...
The starting pitcher has been warned once for violating the 20-second...
Umpire jurisdiction, as it relates to personal confrontations and...
Count 3-0 with the next pitch thrown inside. The right-handed batter...
R1, R3, no outs. B6 gets a base hit with R3 scoring and R1 advancing...
Regarding the batter's box rule:
 R1 is leading off first base when F1 picks to first. The first...
The Halted Game rule was not agreed upon before the start of the...
R3, two outs, bottom of seventh. B4's slow ground ball to F5 is...
 The 20-second time limit (or clock) begins when the:
 R1, 0-1 count, one out. B1 is the batter. Just as F1 pitches, B1...
 A half swing shall be called a strike if the barrel of the bat:...
With the changes in the obstruction rule:
R1, R2, one out, score tied. From the set position, the pitcher does...
 A fielder must possess the ball in order to be considered...
The starting pitcher is replaced in the top of the sixth inning. The...
 The batter has just hit a home run out of the park. He misses...
 The pitcher's glove must:  
When a relief pitcher enters the game he is allowed:
R1, R3, no outs. B4 hits a one-hopper back to the mound. R3 ends up in...
R3, no outs. The batter hits a high foul fly ball near third base. R3...
What is the penalty for the first violation by the defense of the new...
Visitors 2, Home 1, bottom of the sixth inning. The leadoff hitter...
On the coach's first trip in that inning and second of the game,...
The pitch clock is paused for any of the following reasons, except:...
R1, The batter has fouled off the first two sacrifice bunt attempts....
 What is the penalty for the pitcher violating the 20-second...
 The batter is clearly within the batter's box; the pitch is...
R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is...
Two outs. B9 bats in place of the proper batter, B8, and grounds out...
 R2, R3, one out. The batter hits a ground ball to the pitcher...
About charged conferences:
 R1, R3, less than two outs. Both runners retouch and advance...
Regarding legal bats for the 2011 season:
 R1, one out. Base hit. R1 is obstructed by F6 while the ball is...
R1, one out. F5 catches a line drive by B3 and throws to F3 in an...
 R1. F1 is in the set position. During his preliminary motion, F1...
 R1, one out. The batter attempts to sacrifice R1 to second base....
R1, no outs. B2 hits a short-hopper to F3. R1, thinking that F3...
R1, R3, one out. The batter's line drive is caught by F1. Both...
Everyone listed below must wear a double ear-flap helmet:
 No runners. The batter hits a dribbler up the first base line....
 R3, R2, one out. The infield is in to cut off the run at the...
 R1, R2, no outs. Ground ball to F5 who gets R2 in a rundown. F6...
Regarding the pitcher or pitching mound.
Following a home run:
 9-man line-up. The P/DH is removed as the pitcher.
By rule, in order for an umpire to judge a half-swing as a strike:
R1 is stealing second base. The throw from the catcher beats the...
If the head coach of the defensive team leaves his position to argue a...
 2-Umpire Mechanics. Which umpire has the "primary"...
 R2, R3, two outs. The pitcher bobbles a come-backer and seeing...
 R1 and R2. The pitcher is in the set position. R2 breaks for...
Ten-man lineup. In the top of the eighth inning, the pitcher is put in...
With no one on base, after "time" has been called, when does...
 R1, R2, R3, two outs. B4 doubles. R2 misses third base. After...
3-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on 2nd base only and two outs, which...
R1 and R2, one out, 1-1 count, double steal. The batter swings and...
R1, one out, 1-1 count. B2 is legally in the batter's box. B2...
About the designated hitter:
 No runners. B1's grounder is fielded by F4. F4's throw...
 R1. F1 fails to stop before delivering the pitch. The base...
R2, one out. The batter singles up the middle and R2 attempts to...
 R1, R2, two outs. The pitcher is called for a balk but continues...
R1, R2, R3. B4 hits a double in the right center gap. Both R1 and R2...
With regard to the collision rule, which of the following terms apply:...
In order to use the halted-game rule:
 Coaches, student athletes, managers or other non-playing...
About the force-play slide rule:
Which of the following calls is not subject to the "Getting the...
 R1, R2, score is 3-1 visitors, bottom of the ninth. Slow ground...
10-man line-up to start the game. In the fifth inning the DH is...
 Once a new pitcher has reached the mound and the coach walks off...
 R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze"...
 The starting pitcher is replaced after giving up a home run that...
 R1, R3, no outs, two strikes on the hitter. A pitched ball is...
 R1, two outs, bottom of seventh, score tied, 1-1. On the pitch,...
 R1, R3, one out, 1-0 count on the hitter. R1 is stealing second....
 2-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on first base only and one...
R2, two outs. B4 singles. The batter-runner has touched first at the...
 R1, no outs. A right handed pitcher jump turns in an attempt to...
 3-Umpire Mechanics. With a runner on 2nd base only and two outs,...
 R2, the batter singles. F2 blocks the plate as R2 begins his...
R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate,...
On any obstruction, all runners are awarded:
The line-up card submitted at the plate conference listed Dropo as the...
With no-one on base, the catcher requests "time" to go to...
 Regarding the color of the pitcher's glove:  
Alert!

Advertisement