Fiba Worldcup Of Basketball Rules Quiz

Reviewed by Danielle Shafer
Danielle Shafer, BS (Sports Management) |
Basketball
Review Board Member
Danielle holds a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University along with a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012. As our basketball aficionado, she brings her A-game to review our hoops quizzes. With a slam dunk career in sports marketing and a passion for the game, she ensures our basketball quizzes hit nothing but net.
, BS (Sports Management)
Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Baskman
B
Baskman
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 3,661
Questions: 20 | Attempts: 3,661

SettingsSettingsSettings
Fiba Worldcup Of Basketball Rules Quiz - Quiz

Basketball is a wonderful sport and an extremely exciting one to watch, whether from home on the couch or in an arena full of thousands of people. That being said, the rules of the game can be very complex for somebody just learning about it from the beginning.

Challenge yourself with questions about fouls, timeouts, scoring, and more. Explore the nuances of FIBA's unique approach to the game, including differences from other basketball leagues. Whether you're a seasoned basketball enthusiast or a newcomer to the sport, this quiz offers a chance to deepen your understanding of the FIBA World Cup Read moreand its rules.

So, grab your basketball IQ and step onto the virtual court to see if you have what it takes to become a rules master of the FIBA World Cup of Basketball. Think you know enough about the rules to get all of the questions in this quiz correct? Take the quiz to find out now!


FIBA Worldcup Of Basketball Rules Questions and Answers

  • 1. 

    A3, while holding the ball, loses balance and falls to the floor.  Is this a traveling violation?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    No, A3 falling to the floor while holding the ball is not a traveling violation. In basketball, a traveling violation occurs when a player holding the ball moves one or both of their feet illegally without dribbling the ball. Falling to the floor while holding the ball does not constitute a traveling violation unless the player travels before falling. Therefore, the act described does not qualify as a traveling violation.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    A4 is dribbling the ball in his backcourt when the official calls an eight-second violation. The display on the twenty-four second device shows that only seven seconds have passed.  Is the official correct in calling an eight-second violation?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, the official is correct in calling an eight-second violation. In basketball, the eight-second violation occurs when a team possesses the ball for more than eight seconds in its backcourt. The backcourt is the half of the court that contains the team’s defensive basket. The rule prohibits a backcourt possession lasting longer than eight seconds to prevent teams from camping with the ball on defense or playing keep-away. The penalty for committing an eight-second violation is a turnover, with the ball being given to the opposing team at the midcourt line. The eight-second rule exists in NBA and FIBA basketball, while in NCAA and high school basketball, the time players have to cross the midcourt line is 10 seconds rather than eight.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A4 in team A’s backcourt attempts a fast break pass to A5 in team A’s frontcourt. B3, in team B’s frontcourt (team A’s backcourt) jumps and intercepts the pass while still airborne, after which B3 lands: (a) With both feet in the team B backcourt. (b) Straddling the centre line. Has a violation occurred in either (a) or (b)?

    • A.

      With both feet in the team A backcourt

    • B.

      Straddling the centre line.

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. With both feet in the team A backcourt
    B. Straddling the centre line.
    Explanation
    Team control in the frontcourt has already been established before A3 gained control of the ball while airborne. In both (a) and (b), a violation has occurred by illegally returning the ball to the backcourt.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Thrower-in A4, in the team A frontcourt, attempts to pass the ball to A3. A3 jumps into the air, gains control of the ball and returns to the floor.  Has a violation occurred in either (a) or (b)?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    In basketball, as described, there is no violation. When a thrower-in attempts to pass the ball to a teammate in the frontcourt, there is no violation as long as the pass is made within the allotted time and the player receiving the pass (A3 in this case) does not commit any violations, such as traveling or stepping out of bounds. Therefore, no violation has occurred in this scenario.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    The ball has left the hands of A4 on the throw in when B5 causes the contact with A5 and a foul is called on B5.  Shall this be an unsportsmanlike foul?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    In basketball, if a foul occurs before the ball is released on a throw-in, it is typically not considered an unsportsmanlike foul. Unsportsmanlike fouls are typically reserved for more severe fouls, such as unnecessary roughness or deliberate attempts to harm an opponent, or for unsportsmanlike conduct, such as taunting or disrespect toward officials. In the scenario described, the foul occurred during the course of normal play and before the ball was released on the throw-in, so it would not typically be considered an unsportsmanlike foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    A4 is in the act of shooting for a goal when B4 attempts to distract A4 by shouting loudly or stamping their feet heavily on the floor. The shot for the basket is successful.  How shall the officials rule in considering the shot?

    • A.

      Successful.

    • B.

      Unsuccessful.

    Correct Answer
    A. Successful.
    Explanation
    In considering the shot, the officials shall rule the shot as successful and award the points to A4's team. In basketball, distracting or attempting to distract an opponent during a shot attempt is considered unsportsmanlike conduct and can result in a technical foul being assessed against the offending player or team. However, the rules dictate that if the shot is successful despite the distraction, the basket still counts. Therefore, regardless of B4's actions, since A4's shot for the basket was successful, the officials shall rule the shot as valid and award the appropriate points to A4's team.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    B2 claps his hands loudly near A1 who is in the act of shooting for a field goal. The attempt is unsuccessful.  Shall B2 be charged with a technical foul?     

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, B2 should be charged with a technical foul. Clapping loudly near a player who is in the act of shooting can be considered as unsportsmanlike behavior and can distract the shooter, leading to an unsuccessful attempt. This behavior goes against the principles of fair play and can be penalized with a technical foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    A3 has been in the restricted area for 2 seconds when A1 attempts a field goal. The try falls short of the basket. A3 gains control of the ball and immediately dribbles outside the restricted area. Has A3 committed a 3-second violation? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, if the ball falls short and A3 is still in the restricted area, it is a 3-second violation. It wouldn't be a 3-second violation if the shot hit the rim and a new shot clock restarted with a new possession with an offensive rebound.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    A4 is driving to the basket when defensive player B4 falls backwards to the floor without contact having occurred between these players or after negligible contact which definitely did not cause the theatrical display of B4. A warning for such action has already been communicated to the team B players through the team B coach.  Shall a technical foul be charged to B4?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    A4’s action does not conform to the spirit and intent of the rules. A technical foul may be charged against A4.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    A4 gains control of a ball on a rebound and returns to the floor. A4 is immediately closely guarded by B4. Without contacting B4, A4 excessively swings the elbows in an attempt to intimidate B4 or to clear enough space to pivot, pass, or dribble.  Shall a technical foul be charged to A4 for excessively swinging the elbows?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    If a defensive player causes contact with an opponent from behind or laterally in an attempt to stop a fast break and there is no opponent between the offensive player and the opponents’ basket, then the contact shall be judged to be unsportsmanlike. This has always been a legitimate aspect of the FIBA rule. However, there was inconsistency in when the rule was being applied. The new wording is intended to make it very clear that such an action is to be considered an unsportsmanlike foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    During a fast break, A1 is dribbling the ball with no defender between himself and the basket when B2 makes contact with A1 from behind. Should the official assess B2 with an unsportsmanlike foul?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In FIBA basketball rules, preventing a fast break by committing a foul without making a legitimate play on the ball is considered unsportsmanlike conduct and would result in an unsportsmanlike foul being assessed against the offending player. This rule aims to promote fair play and discourage intentional fouls to disrupt the flow of the game. Therefore, in the scenario described, B4's actions of attempting to distract A4 during a shot attempt would likely be considered unsportsmanlike conduct, resulting in an unsportsmanlike foul being granted by the officials.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    After touching the backboard on a try for goal by A4, the ball is still in its upward flight, completely above the level of the ring, when B4 touches the ball. The official calls a violation for goal tending. Is this correct?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Goal tending occurs during a shot for a field goal when a player touches the ball while it is completely above the level of the ring and:
    • It is on its downward flight to the basket, or
    • After it has hit the backboard.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    A1 is dribbling in Team A’s backcourt. A1 puts one foot into the front court and, while continuing his dribble, changes direction with both feet and the ball now being in Team A’s backcourt. Is this a violation? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    Yes, this situation constitutes a violation in basketball, known as a backcourt violation. In this scenario, A1 established possession of the ball in Team A's backcourt by dribbling. When A1 puts one foot into the frontcourt, it establishes Team A's frontcourt possession. However, if A1 then changes direction with both feet and the ball returning to Team A's backcourt, it results in a violation.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    When does the shot clock reset to 14 seconds in FIBA basketball?

    • A.

      After an offensive rebound

    • B.

      After a defensive rebound

    • C.

      After a turnover

    • D.

      After a jump ball situation

    Correct Answer
    A. After an offensive rebound
    Explanation
    In FIBA basketball, the shot clock resets to 14 seconds after an offensive rebound. This rule gives the offensive team a shorter time frame to attempt a shot after securing an offensive rebound.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    While holding the ball, A3 is being closely guarded by B2. Must B2 allow sufficient room for A3 to pivot? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    Yes, B2 must allow sufficient room for A3 to pivot. When an offensive player is closely guarded (meaning a defender is no more than 1 meter away), the offensive player has 5 seconds to shoot, pass, or dribble. During this time, the defender must give the offensive player enough space to execute their moves, including pivoting. A pivot is a legal movement in which a player holding the ball steps once or more in any direction with the same foot (called the pivot foot) while the other foot remains at its point of contact with the floor.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    A1 commits his second technical foul in the game. Must A1 be disqualified? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    In basketball, a player who commits a technical foul will be disqualified if it is their second technical foul in the game. Therefore, A1 must be disqualified after committing their third technical foul.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Does the 5-second closely guarded rule apply in the back court? 

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    A player who is holding a live ball on the playing court is closely guarded when an opponent is in an active guarding position at a distance of no more than one (1) metre.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    A1 is holding the ball for a last free throw. Teammate A2 enters the lane before A1 has released the ball. The free throw is eventually successful. Shall the free throw count?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes
    Explanation
    If a free throw is successful and the violation(s) is committed by any player(s) other than the free-throw shooter:
    • Point(s), if made, shall count.
    • Violation(s) shall be disregarded.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    A4 releases the ball on a try for goal. The horn sounds to end the period. After the horn, while in its upward flight, the ball is touched by B4. After the touch by B4, the ball enters the basket. Shall the goal count?

    • A.

      Yes

    • B.

      No

    Correct Answer
    B. No
    Explanation
    No. The ball become dead when the ball which is in flight on a shot for a field goal is touched by a player from either team after:
     An official blows his whistle.
     The game clock signal sounds for the end of the period.
     The twenty-four second device signal sounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Which of the following actions constitutes an offensive foul in FIBA basketball?

    • A.

      Illegal screen by a stationary player

    • B.

      Shooting the ball after the shot clock expires

    • C.

      Holding the ball for more than 24 seconds

    • D.

      Blocking a defender while setting a screen

    Correct Answer
    A. Illegal screen by a stationary player
    Explanation
    An illegal screen by a stationary player, also known as a moving screen, is considered an offensive foul in FIBA basketball. This occurs when an offensive player sets a screen and moves into the path of a defender without giving them enough time and space to change direction.

    Rate this question:

Danielle Shafer |BS (Sports Management) |
Basketball
Danielle holds a Bachelor's degree in Sports Management and Coaching from Urbana University along with a Master's degree in Marketing from the University of Nottingham. With a passion for sports education and community involvement, she volunteered at Special Olympics events from January 2012 to teach basketball and directed camps like the Wayne High School Basketball Camp in May 2012. As our basketball aficionado, she brings her A-game to review our hoops quizzes. With a slam dunk career in sports marketing and a passion for the game, she ensures our basketball quizzes hit nothing but net.

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 13, 2024
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team

    Expert Reviewed by
    Danielle Shafer
  • Sep 21, 2009
    Quiz Created by
    Baskman
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.