2019-rules Of Golf: Changes - Exam Version

SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/64 Questions

    You putt from the putting green - with the flagstick in the hole - and the ball rolls into the hole! Do you incur any penalty?

    • No.
    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.
    • Yes a two stroke penalty / lost hole.
Please wait...
About This Quiz

This quiz is about the 2019 Rules of Golf.
It mainly covers those Rules that has been modified (i. E. Where the answer in 2019 differs from the answer in 2018) and covers most of the basic Rules.
Thus the quiz is perfect to both 1) "learn to forget" the old (2018) Rules and to 2) learn the 2019-Rules!
This is an exam version with 64 questions! You need to get at least 80 % correct answers to pass and receive a diploma.
Members of The Oswald Academy can get this quiz (for free) in a PDF-version as well as they can get the "embed code" (= so that the quiz can be placed on your golf club's website!).
Enjoy!
OSWALD ACADEMY
Brian Nygaard Oswald
bno@golfrules. Com

2019-rules Of Golf: Changes - Exam Version - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    Your ball is on the putting green. In your line of play there are some spike marks. Are you allowed to repair these spike marks before playing your stroke?

    • Yes.

    • No, you incur a one stroke penalty.

    • No, you incur a two stroke penalty (stroke play) or lose the hole (match play).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 13.1c(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1c). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only allowed to repair spike marks that could not affect the movement of the ball (typically only those not situated on the “line of putt”).

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    How long time do you have to search for your ball?

    • 3 minutes

    • 5 minutes

    • 10 minutes

    Correct Answer
    A. 3 minutes
    Explanation
    See Rule 18.2a(1) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-2a). If the ball has not been found within these three minutes, then as a starting point it is lost, and you must proceed as follows:

    1) If you have played a provisional ball, that ball is now the ball in play, and you must play on with it with a one stroke penalty.

    2) If you have not played a provisional ball, you must either a) with a one stroke penalty play a ball from the spot, where you last played from* or b) (only if your club has introduced this alternative option in a Local Rule) with two penalty strokes drop a ball ahead (e.g. on the fairway) in accordance with the Local Rule.

    *: When you are playing from where you last played, please be aware of this (Rule 14.6 - link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-6):

    1) If you last played from the teeing area: You must play a ball from anywhere within the teeing area (you choose where), and you are allowed to tee the ball.

    2) If you last played from the putting green: You must place a ball on the spot, where you last played from.

    3) If you last played from other places (than the teeing area and the putting green): You must play a ball (must be dropped) within one club-length from the spot, where you last played (not nearer the hole).

    In other words: Except on the putting green, you don’t have to play from that exact spot, you last played from!

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Your ball lies in a bunker. One inch behind the ball (also in the bunker) is a loose branch. Are you allowed to remove the branch before you make your stroke?

    • Yes.

    • No, you incur a one stroke penalty.

    • No, you incur a two stroke penalty (/lost hole).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 12.2a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-12#12-2a) and Rule 15.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-15#15-1a). Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a two stroke penalty (stroke play) or lost the hole (match play).

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Are you - before you putt from the putting green - allowed to repair animal footprints on your line of play on the putting green?

    • Yes!

    • No, you will incur one penalty stroke.

    • No, you will incur two penalty strokes (match play: lost hole).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes!
    Explanation
    See Rule 13.1c(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1c). Please note that you are allowed to repair such damage no matter where the ball lies (i.e. you are allowed to repair it even if the ball lies outside the putting green). But please also note, that you are only allowed to repair damage on the putting green. Thus this Rule does not allow you to repair animal footprints in your line of play e.g. in the bunker or on the fairway (if you do so, you could be penalized for improving your line of play).

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    Your ball comes to rest against the flagstick in the hole. Half of the ball is below the surface of the putting green and half is above. Is it holed?

    • Yes.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    If ANY part of the ball is under the surface, it is considered holed. See Rule 13.2c (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-2c). Under the old Rules (2018) the entire ball had to be below the surface, for the ball to be holed.

    Please be aware, though, that if the flagstick is not in the hole, the Rules are the same as in 2018; the entire ball must be below the surface of the putting green (and at rest) for the ball to be holed (see the Definition of “Holed”: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions#definition-H).

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the putting green. Is this procedure correct: 1) You mark the ball, 2) lift it, 3) repair the pitch-mark and 4) “replace” the ball (at the repaired spot)?

    • No, you must drop it within one club-length of the pitch-mark, not nearer the hole.

    • No, you must place it within one club-length of the pitch-mark, not nearer the hole.

    • Yes.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 16.3a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3a) (and Rule 13.1c(2)). If the same had happened on the fairway, the procedure would be different: Drop a ball within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the pitch-mark.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    You make a stroke at your ball from the rough and thereby accidentally strike the ball twice (a double-hit). Which of the following statements is correct?

    • You have made one stroke and incur one penalty stroke - in all two strokes!

    • You have made one stroke and don’t incur any penalty - in all one stroke!

    • You have made two strokes and don’t incur any penalty - in all two strokes!

    Correct Answer
    A. You have made one stroke and don’t incur any penalty - in all one stroke!
    Explanation
    See Rule 10.1a (link: Se Regel 10.1a (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-10#10-1a). This is a change compared to the 2018-Rules, where answer no. 1 was correct (one stroke and one penalty stroke).

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    During search for your ball, you accidentally strike and move the ball after 30 seconds of searching. You replace the ball in accordance with the Rules, but are in doubt whether or not you have incurred any penalty?

    • No, no penalty.

    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.

    • Yes, a two stroke penalty / lost hole.

    Correct Answer
    A. No, no penalty.
    Explanation
    When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 2 (“E2") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are are not penalized:

    E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
    E2: If it happens during search.
    E3: If it happens on the putting green.
    E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

    Exception 2 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened during search, and you must (just like you did) replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b) and Rule 7.4 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-7#7-4).

    Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Your ball is on the putting green. You accidentally touch the line of play for no apparent reason. Do you incur any penalty?

    • Yes, a two stroke penalty in stroke play or lost hole in match play.

    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    Under the old Rules (2018) answer number 1 was correct (two penalty strokes in stroke play and lost hole in match play).

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    In stroke play your ball lies 150 yards from the hole. Your fellow player (whose ball lies 220 yards from the hole) is calling a friend from his mobile phone, bragging about his 270 yards drive. Since your fellow player thus is not ready to play, you decide to play first. Are you allowed to do so, although it is not your turn to play?

    • Yes.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 6.4b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-6#6-4b) about “Ready Golf”. Thus in stroke play you are allowed to play out of turn, although you have not made an agreement with your fellow player about it, as long as you do it in a responsible way, such as 1) when you have a very short putt and want to hole out or 2) if you are ready to play (and your fellow player is not) and you don’t disturb/interfere/endanger anyone by playing out of turn. In match play “Ready Golf” is not available, but you can invite the opponent to play out of turn, or agree to the opponent’s request to play out of turn.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Your ball is somewhere in thick rough - you cannot find it. You have not played a provisional ball. Your club has adopted the new Local Rule allowing you to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. Which one of these procedures is correct?

    • You estimate the spot, where the ball lies in the rough (“X”), and drop a ball two club-lengths closer to the hole than X.

    • You estimate the spot, where the ball lies in the rough (“X”), and drop a ball one club-length closer to the hole than X.

    • You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball estimated lies in the rough (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway within two club-lengths of Y, not nearer the hole.

    Correct Answer
    A. You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball estimated lies in the rough (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway within two club-lengths of Y, not nearer the hole.
    Explanation
    It is not easy to find out where exactly to drop the ball. Therefore I will give you an “easy” way and a “difficult way” to find out:

    1) “The EASY way”.
    a. Find the spot, where you estimate the ball lies (“X”).
    b. Find the nearest fairway spot at an equal distance from the hole (“Y”).
    c. Drop within two club-lengths of “Y” (not nearer the hole).

    ”The easy way” is correct, but only shows you a part of the correct relief area (“the difficult way” shows you the entire relief area - see below). Answer 3 is thus the “the easy way” (you are not allowed to drop closer to the hole than X/Y - therefore answer 1 and 2 are both wrong).

    2) “The DIFFICULT way”.
    On the drawing in the top you can see the entire relief area (purple). This area is anyway between:

    - A line from the hole through X (and within two club-lengths to the outside of that line), and
    - A line from the hole through Y (and within two club-lengths to the fairway side of that line).

    You are free to choose where in the purple area, you will drop.

    —-o0o—-

    Please note, that you must estimate, where the ball lies in the rough… which one could say is a bit weird since you don’t know, where the ball lies! But you must estimate as good as you can (if you are a man: remember, that you cannot drive 280 yard… so maybe the spot is not as far ahead as you might think :-)!).

    Also please remember, that you can only invoke this Local Rule if you DON’T find the ball in time (i.e. within the three minutes of searching time) in the rough. If you FIND it in the rough in time (e.g. after having searched for two minutes), you must either a) play it as it lies, or 2) proceed under the unplayable ball Rule with a one stroke penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    You make a stroke from a fairway-bunker but unfortunately the ball strikes a tree and afterwards strikes you! Do you incur any penalty?

    • Yes, a two stroke penalty / lost hole.

    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.

    • No, no penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. No, no penalty.
    Explanation
    See Rule 11.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11-1). You must play the ball as it lies. This is modified from the old (2018) Rules, where you would have incurred a one stroke penalty for striking yourself.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    Your ball is in a penalty area. It is lying OK in some low grass, and therefore you want to play it as it lies. You ground your club a few times before the stroke, thereby touching both the water and some grass inside the penalty area. Do you incur any penalty?

    • No.

    • Yes, two penalty strokes (/lost hole) for touching the water.

    • Yes, four penalty strokes (two for touching the water and two for touching the grass) / lost hole.

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    As of 2019 there are no specific prohibitions in a penalty area. Before a stroke to your ball in a penalty area, you are thus allowed to e.g. 1) ground your club, 2) touch loose grass in a practice swing, 3) remove loose impediments from the penalty area and 4) touch the water in the backswing for the stroke. These things you were not allowed to do under the old Rules (2018) (a “penalty area” did not exist - something similar was called a “water hazard”).

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Exactly how long is “one club-length"?

    • The length of the specific club you use to measure with.

    • Always the length of your putter!

    • Always the length of the longest club in your bag, other than a putter.

    Correct Answer
    A. Always the length of the longest club in your bag, other than a putter.
    Explanation
    Therefore one club-length is typically the length of you driver. Please note, that there is no obligation to use a specific club to measure with. You are allowed to measure with your putter or a 9-iron etc….but that still does not change the fact, that “one club-length” is the length of the longest club you brought, other than a putter. A headcover does not count - the length thus is measured without the headcover :-).

    By the way you don’t have to measure - the only thing that counts is, that you drop inside a correct relief area.

    See the Definition of “Club-length” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#clublength).

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    Your ball accidentally strikes your golf bag in a stroke. Do you incur any penalty?

    • Yes, two penalty strokes / lost hole.

    • Yes, one penalty stroke.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    See Rule 11.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11-1). You must play the ball as it lies. This is a modification from the old (2018) Rules, under which you would have incurred a one stroke penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    You take relief from temporary water. You drop the ball from shoulder heigth. Before you make your stroke, someone tells you, that you should have dropped from knee heigth. Have you incurred any penalty at this moment?

    • Yes, a two stroke penalty (/lost hole).

    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.

    • No, you can re-drop without penalty before you make the stroke.

    Correct Answer
    A. No, you can re-drop without penalty before you make the stroke.
    Explanation
    In this situation you have dropped in a wrong way, but you can without penalty correct this error (by dropping from knee height) before you make a stroke. If you don’t correct the error before you make the stroke, you incur a one stroke penalty (if the ball furthermore in the drop came to rest outside the relief area, the penalty would increase to a total of two penalty strokes - lost hole in match play - for playing from a wrong place). See Rule 14.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b).

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    Do you have to drop precisely from knee height?

    • Yes.

    • No, you have to drop from knee height or higher.

    • No, you have to drop from knee height or lower.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 14.3b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b). If you don’t drop from knee height (but e.g. from shoulder height) you can without penalty correct the error (by dropping from knee height) before you make a stroke. If you don’t correct the error before you make a stroke, you incur a one stroke penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    Your ball lies in a bunker. You are very tired, and therefore you ground your club in the sand a few yards from the ball (not in the line of play) and lean on the club to rest. Is that OK?

    • Yes.

    • No, you incur a one stroke penalty.

    • No, you incur a two stroke penalty in stroke play - in match play you loose the hole.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 12.2b (link:https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-12#12-2b). Quite a few prohibitions from the old Rules (2018) thus have been repealed as of 2019, such as:

    1) Touching/removing loose impediments in/from the bunker, when the ball lay in the bunker.
    2) Grounding the club in the sand any other place than right in front of or right behind the ball.

    You are therefore allowed to (as you did in this situation) ground the club in the sand, because you are tired and to lean on it to rest - as long as 1) it is not right in front of or right behind the ball and 2) you are not testing the sand (see no. 4 below).

    There are still as of 2019 as a starting point four specific prohibitions, when your ball lies in a bunker:

    1) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in a practice swing.
    2) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the backswing to the stroke.
    3) You are not allowed to touch the sand with your club in the area right in front of or right behind the ball.
    4) You are not allowed to deliberately touch the sand (e.g. with a hand, club, rake etc.) to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Are you allowed to use a distance-measuring device (to measure distance!) during your round? Your club does not have a Local Rule in operation about it.

    • Yes.

    • No (only if a Local Rule is introduced).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    See Rule 4.3a(1) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-3a). As of 2019 you are allowed to use a distance-measuring device, unless it is prohibited in a Local Rule (contrary to 2018, where you were not allowed to use it, unless a Local Rule allowed it).

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark in the rough (in the general area) after a stroke. Are you allowed to take relief without penalty (there is no Local Rule about this situation)?

    • Yes.

    • No, only if it is in a closely-mown area.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    As of January 2019 you are allowed to take relief without penalty, when your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark everywhere in the “general area” (i.e. both on the fairway and in the rough)… unless your club has introduced a Local Rule limiting relief to closely-mown areas, i.e cut to fairway-height or less. See Rule 16.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only allowed relief without penalty if the ball was embedded in a closely-mown area “through the green”.

    As of January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief in this situation - you were not allowed to do so in 2018.

    By the way remember, that for you to take relief without penalty the ball must be embedded in its OWN pitch-mark. Thus you have to be pretty sure, that is your own pitch-mark… otherwise you are not allowed a free relief (See interpretation 16.3a(2)/1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-16-interpretations#16-3a-2-1)).

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    Your ball lies on the putting green. You accidentally strike it with your right foot, when you walk by it, whereby the ball moves 10 inches. The ball must be replaced. But did you incur any penalty?

    • Yes, a two stroke penalty in stroke play - you lost the hole in match play.

    • Yes, a one stroke penalty.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

    E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
    E2: If it happens during search.
    E3: If it happens on the putting green.
    E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

    Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

    If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

    Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a Local Rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    You mark your ball on the putting green, lift it, clean it, replace it, remove the ball-marker… and then walk 5 yards away. Now the ball begins rolling… and rolls into the hole! What now?

    • No penalty - it is holed out!

    • No penalty - you must replace it!

    • One penalty stroke - it is holed out!

    Correct Answer
    A. No penalty - you must replace it!
    Explanation
    The ball is considered moved by “natural forces” (wind, water etc.), unless it is known or virtually certain (i.e. at least 95 %!) that the ball is moved e.g. by the player, the opponent, a dog etc. In other words: Unless you are almost completely sure, that the ball is moved by the player or an opponent etc., then it is deemed to be moved by natural forces. So - in this situation the ball is considered moved by natural forces.

    When a ball has been moved by natural forces, you must normally play the ball as it lies… but on the putting green there is a special Rule stating, that when you have (marked and) lifted the ball and replaced it, and it then moves, you must replace it (this must by the way be done no matter what caused the ball to move). See Rule 9.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-2b), 9.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-3) and 13.1d(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1d).

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    Your ball lies (in bounds) next to an out of bounds post - and your intended swing is interfered by the post. You remove the post. Immediately after, you are told that you were not allowed to remove it, and therefore you replace it and make a stroke at the ball. Did you incur any penalty?

    • Yes, you incurred two penalty strokes in stroke play (lost hole in match play) for improving the area of your intended swing.

    • Yes, you incurred one penalty stroke for improving the area of your intended swing.

    • No, since you corrected your error before you made the stroke.

    Correct Answer
    A. No, since you corrected your error before you made the stroke.
    Explanation
    As a starting point you have made an illegal improvement (Rule 8.1a - https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-8#8-1a). Rule 8.1c (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-8#8-1c) though states, that in this situation you can avoid penalty, if you correct the error (= replace the post) before you make a stroke at the ball. Since you indeed did correct the error, before you made the stroke, you did not incur any penalty.

    Under the old Rules (2018) you would have been penalized at the moment you removed the post, and could not avoid the penalty by subsequently correcting the error.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    Your ball lies really bad in a bunker. Are you allowed to apply the unplayable ball Rule and take back-on-the-line-relief with penalty outside the bunker?

    • Yes, with a two stroke penalty.

    • Yes, with a one stroke penalty.

    • No, you must take relief inside the bunker.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes, with a two stroke penalty.
    Explanation
    See Rule 19.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-19#19-3b). This is new in 2019 - you did not have such an option under the old Rules (2018).

    Please be aware, that when you apply the “back-on-the-line” Rule, you should find a spot on the line and place e.g. a tee on that spot… and then drop a ball within one club-length of that spot, not nearer the hole.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    You are playing “Maximum Score”. At a certain hole, the maximum is 8 strokes. You take 10 strokes and therefore write 10 strokes on your scorecard. What should your club (Committee) do?

    • They should disqualify you!

    • They should adjust the score to “8”.

    • They should keep the “10".

    Correct Answer
    A. They should adjust the score to “8”.
    Explanation
    See Rule 21.2b (at the bottom) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-21#21-2b). Normally the player should type the actual score for each hole on the scorecard. If the score is the same as or higher than the maximum score, the player can still write the actual score (whereafter the Committee then would adjust it to the maximum score) or the maximum score… or even not write any score (the Committee would then write the maximum score).

    If the player does not hole out (e.g. because he/she lifts his ball when the maximum score is reached), he or she can simply write the maximum score (or don’t write anything).

    Players are encouraged to stop playing, when their score has reached the maximum.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    Your ball is out of bounds - you have not played a provisional ball. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule allowing you to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. Which one of these procedures is correct?

    • You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway two club-lengths nearer the hole than Y.

    • You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway one club-length nearer the hole than Y.

    • You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway within two club-lengths of Y, not nearer the hole.

    Correct Answer
    A. You find the nearest spot on fairway (“Y”) (from the point, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”)) at an equal distance from the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway within two club-lengths of Y, not nearer the hole.
    Explanation
    It is not easy to find out where exactly to drop a ball. Therefore I will give you an “easy” way and a “difficult way” to find out:

    1) “The EASY way”.
    a. Find the spot, where the ball last crossed the edge of the course boundary (“X”).
    b. Find the nearest fairway spot at an equal distance from the hole (“Y”).
    c. Drop within two club-lengths of “Y” (not nearer the hole).

    ”The easy way” is correct, but only shows you a part of the correct relief area (“the difficult way” shows you the entire relief area - see below). Answer 3 is thus the “the easy way” (you are not allowed to drop closer to the hole than X/Y - therefore answer 1 and 2 are both wrong).

    2) “The DIFFICULT way”.
    On the drawing in the top you can see the entire relief area (purple). This area is anyway between:

    - A line from the hole through X (and within two club-lengths to the outside of that line), and
    - A line from the hole through Y (and within two club-lengths to the fairway side of that line).

    You must drop in bounds. You are free to choose where in the purple area, you will drop.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    Your ball lies in a hole (in medium rough in the general area) made by a dog! Are you allowed to take relief without penalty?

    • Yes.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    A hole made by a dog is an “animal hole”, which is an “abnormal course condition” that you are allowed to take relief without penalty from, if you are interfered by it, and if your ball lies e.g. in the general area (e.g. on the fairway or in the rough). See Rule 16.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-1). Under the old Rules (2018) a dog was not considered a “burrowing animal", and thus you were not allowed to take relief without penalty from interference by such a “dog hole”.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    At a par-3 hole your first stroke is great: The ball ends on the putting green 6 yards from the hole. You walk towards the ball and immediately after having walked by it (approximately 10 inches from the ball) it begins to roll…and it rolls and rolls… and ends in the hole!! You are not sure what caused it to roll. Maybe your walking caused it, and maybe the wind (it was pretty windy) and maybe the fact that the ball lay on a steep part of the putting green. What shall you do now?

    • The ball is in the hole with a one stroke penalty, so you had a birdie (2)!

    • The ball is in the hole and no penalty is incurred. Congratulations with a hole in one!

    • The ball must be replaced without penalty.

    • The ball must must be replaced with a one stroke penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. The ball is in the hole and no penalty is incurred. Congratulations with a hole in one!
    Explanation
    In general the ball is deemed to have been moved by “natural forces” (wind, gravity etc.), except if it is known or virtually certain (i.e. at least 95 % certain!) that the ball was moved e.g. by the player. In your situation it is not at least 95 % certain that you moved the ball. Therefore natural forces moved it and you must play it without penalty from where it lies (i.e. it is in the hole!). See Rule 9.2b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-2b) and Rule 9.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-3).

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You don’t play a provisional ball. Your club has adopted the new Local Rule allowing to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. What are your options now?

    • You must go back to the teeing area, and play stroke 3 from there.

    • You can either a) go back to the teeing area and play stroke 3 from there or b) drop ahead in accordance with the Local Rule and play stroke 4.

    • You must invoke the Local Rule and with two penalty strokes drop a ball ahead (thus playing stroke 4).

    Correct Answer
    A. You can either a) go back to the teeing area and play stroke 3 from there or b) drop ahead in accordance with the Local Rule and play stroke 4.
    Explanation
    You don’t have to invoke the Local Rule. Instead, you can go back with a one stroke penalty and play from the teeing area. See the Local Rule (model Local Rule E-5) in your club.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    You mark and lift your ball on the putting green, and replace it. You place the putter right behind the ball whereby you accidentally strike the ball, causing it to roll 10 inches. The ball must be replaced. Did you incur any penalty?

    • Yes.

    • Yes, unless the club/Committee has introduced a Local Rule stating, that there is no penalty.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

    E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
    E2: If it happens during search.
    E3: If it happens on the putting green.
    E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

    Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

    If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

    Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a local rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    Your ball ends in some thick rough - and you are unable to find it. You haven’t played a provisional ball. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule giving an option to drop (e.g. on the fairway) with a two stroke penalty. Which options are available now?

    • You only have one option: Go back to the place, where you made your last stroke, and play a new ball with a one stroke penalty.

    • You can choose to either a) go back to the place, where you made your last stroke, and play a new ball with a one stroke penalty, or b) to apply the Local Rule and with two penalty strokes drop a ball e.g. on the fairway.

    • You only have one option: To drop in accordance with the Local Rule (e.g. on the fairway) with a two stroke penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. You can choose to either a) go back to the place, where you made your last stroke, and play a new ball with a one stroke penalty, or b) to apply the Local Rule and with two penalty strokes drop a ball e.g. on the fairway.
    Explanation
    You don’t HAVE to apply the Local Rule (see the Local Rule in your club (Model Local Rule E-5)). If you prefer, you can instead play a ball from where your previous stroke was made* with a one stroke penalty.

    *: When you play from where your previous stroke was made, be aware of this (Rule 14-6 - available here: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-6):

    1) If your previous stroke was made from the TEEING AREA: You can play a ball from anywhere inside the teeing area, and it may be teed.

    2) If your previous stroke was made from the PUTTING GREEN: You must place a ball on the spot, where the previous stroke was made.

    3) If you last played from OTHER PLACES (i.e. from the general area, a bunker or a penalty area) e.g. from the fairway: You must drop a ball within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the spot, where you last played from.

    In other words: Except on the putting green, you don’t have to play from that exact spot, you last played from!

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Which one of these is not an “Abnormal Course Condition”?

    • Temporary water.

    • Immovable obstruction.

    • Bunkers.

    • Ground under repair.

    Correct Answer
    A. Bunkers.
    Explanation
    See the definition of “Abnormal Course Condition” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions#definition-A) which states, that these are abnormal course conditions:

    1) Ground under repair.
    2) Animal hole.
    3) Temporary water.
    4) Immovable obstructions.

    Everywhere on the course (except if the ball is in a penalty area or if the condition is out of bounds) you are allowed free relief from interference by an abnormal course condition (Rule 16.1 - link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/players-edition/rule-16#16-1a). Since a bunker is not an “abnormal course condition”, you are (unfortunately!) not allowed free relief from interference by a bunker!

    The term “abnormal course condition” is new in 2019. Under the old (2018) Rules there was a term called “abnormal GROUND condition” which was casual water (now “temporary water”), ground under repair and holes from burrowing animals etc.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    Your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark on the fairway. What is the procedure for taking relief without penalty?

    • You must drop at the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.

    • You must drop within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.

    • You must drop within two club-lengths of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.

    Correct Answer
    A. You must drop within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.
    Explanation
    See Rule 16.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3b). This is a modification from the old Rules (2018), where answer 1 was the right one (drop at the spot right behind the “embed-hole”).

    As of January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief in this situation - you were not allowed to do so in 2018.

    By the way remember, that for you to take relief without penalty the ball must be embedded in its OWN pitch-mark. Thus you have to be pretty sure, that is your own pitch-mark… otherwise you are not allowed a free relief (See interpretation 16.3a(2)/1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-16-interpretations#16-3a-2-1)).

    As of January 2019 you are allowed to take relief without penalty, when your ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark everywhere in the “general area” (i.e. both on the fairway and in the rough)… unless your club has introduced a Local Rule limiting relief to closely-mown areas, i.e. cut to fairway-height or less. See Rule 16.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-3). In 2018 you were only allowed relief without penalty if the ball was embedded in a closely-mown area “through the green”.

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    Your ball lies on the putting green (you have played four strokes). You make a practice swing close to the ball and accidentally strike the ball… whereby it rolls two feet away. Your club/Committee has no Local Rule about this situation. What now?

    • You have made a stroke and must play the ball as it lies (without penalty). The next stroke will be stroke number 6.

    • You have made a stroke and must play the ball as it lies (with a one stroke penalty). The next stroke will be stroke number 7.

    • You have not made a stroke. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. The next stroke will be stroke number 5.

    • You have not made a stroke. However you incur a one stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced. The next stroke will be stroke number 6.

    Correct Answer
    A. You have not made a stroke. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. The next stroke will be stroke number 5.
    Explanation
    You have not made a stroke, since it was not your intention to do so - see the Definition of a “Stroke” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#stroke).

    Regarding a penalty: When you move your ball in play, as a starting point you incur a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball. BUT: There are four exceptions (Exception 3 (“E3") is the relevant one in this situation), where you are not penalized despite having moved your ball in play:

    E1: When you e.g. lift the ball under a Rule, that allows you to lift it.
    E2: If it happens during search.
    E3: If it happens on the putting green.
    E4: If it happens when you are applying a Rule (e.g. during marking, replacing, measuring etc.).

    Exception 3 thus states, that you are not penalized since it happened on the putting green, and you must replace the ball. See Rule 9.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-9#9-4b).

    If the same had happened on the fairway, you would have incurred a one stroke penalty!

    Under the old Rules (2018) you would have incurred a one stroke penalty (unless a local rule was in place, stating that there was no penalty).

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    You are in doubt whether or not a ball in the rough is your ball, and therefore consider to mark and lift it to find out. Do you have to notify your fellow player before you do it?

    • Yes!

    • No!

    Correct Answer
    A. No!
    Explanation
    This is no longer a requirement (it was in 2018) - see Rule 7.3 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-7#7-3).

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    Your ball lies on an artificially surfaced (gravel) path. You take relief without penalty, and when doing so, you substitute your ball. Is it OK to substitute your ball in this situation?

    • No, you incur a two stroke penalty / lost hole.

    • No, you incur a one stroke penalty.

    • Yes!

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes!
    Explanation
    See Rule 16.1 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16-1). In 2018 (the old Rules) you were not allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief WITHOUT penalty; only when taking relief WITH penalty. But from January 2019 you are allowed to substitute your ball when taking relief, no matter if it is with or without penalty.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    You play your ball from the teeing area, and it ends somewhere in the rough (200 yards away). You search for one minute, but don’t find it. You therefore decide to go back and play a provisional ball. Is that OK?

    • Yes, but only if you can play it before the three-minute search time has ended.

    • No (since you have walked more than 50 yards towards the first ball to search for it).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes, but only if you can play it before the three-minute search time has ended.
    Explanation
    See Interpretation 18.3a/2 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-18-interpretations#18-3a-2). Under the old Rules (2018) you were not allowed to play a provisional ball, if you had walked more than 50 yards towards the first ball to search for it. As of January 1st 2019 you are allowed to play a provisional ball, even if you have reached the area and have begun searching for the first ball.

    I would recommend, though, that you play the provisional ball before you go forward to search for the first ball.

    Remember by the way that if you DO play a provisional ball, you cannot invoke the new Local Rule (allowing you to drop with a two stroke penalty ahead, e.g. on the fairway). Therefore you should always think twice, before you play a provisional ball.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    You play from the teeing area and your ball ends out of bounds. You have learned always to play a provisional ball in such a situation - so that is what you do. Your club has introduced the new Local Rule allowing to drop ahead with two penalty strokes e.g. on the fairway. What are your options now?

    • You must play on with the provisional ball (which is now the ball in play).

    • You can either a) play on with the provisional ball (see 1) or b) pick up the provisional ball and drop a ball ahead with two penalty strokes in accordance with the Local Rule.

    • You must drop ahead with two penalty strokes in accordance with the Local Rule.

    Correct Answer
    A. You must play on with the provisional ball (which is now the ball in play).
    Explanation
    You cannot invoke this Local Rule, when you have played a provisional ball. See the Local Rule (model Local Rule E-5) in your club. Therefore you must play on with the provisional ball, which is now the ball in play, and your next stroke will be stroke number 4.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    You role in a long putt from the putting green. The flagstick was attended but he/she accidentally forgot to lift the flagstick. Does anyone incur a penalty?

    • No.

    • Yes, only you do (two penalty strokes / lost hole).

    • Yes, only the one attending does (two penalty strokes / lost hole).

    • Yes, both of you do (two penalty strokes / lost hole)!

    Correct Answer
    A. No.
    Explanation
    See Rule 13.2b(2) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-2b). This is a modification of the old (2018) Rules, under which you would have incurred two penalty strokes (match play: lost hole).

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    What is “Maximum Score”?

    • The name of a new form of stroke play.

    • The name of a new driver.

    • The name of a score of 144 strokes (= double of a normal par-72).

    Correct Answer
    A. The name of a new form of stroke play.
    Explanation
    See the Definition of “Maximum Score” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#maximum-score):

    A form of stroke play where a player’s or side’s score for a hole is capped at a maximum number of strokes (including strokes made and any penalty strokes) set by the Committee, such as two times par, a fixed number or net double bogey.

    Such a stroke play form did not exist under the old Rules (2018).

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    You play a round of “Maximum Score”. You don’t write any score at hole 7. Which score (if any) should the club (Committee) write for you?

    • Two strokes more than your par for the hole (i.e. two strokes plus the par plus your handicap allowances for the hole).

    • The Maximum Score.

    • No score - you are disqualified!

    Correct Answer
    A. The Maximum Score.
    Explanation
    See Rule 21.2b (at the bottom) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-21#21-2b). Normally the player should type the actual score for each hole on the scorecard. If the score is the same as or higher than the maximum score, the player can still write the actual score (whereafter the Committee then would adjust it to the maximum score) or the maximum score… or even not write any score (the Committee would then write the maximum score).

    If the player does not hole out (e.g. because he/she lifts his ball when the maximum score is reached), he or she can simply write the maximum score (or don’t write anything).

    Players are encouraged to stop playing, when their score has reached the maximum.

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    Your ball lies just outside a wrong green, but your stance to the intended stroke is on the wrong green. Your club does not have a Local Rule about wrong greens. Do you have to - or are you allowed to - take relief without penalty?

    • Yes, you have to.

    • You don’t have to, but you are allowed to.

    • No. The ball has to lie on the wrong green for you to take relief without penalty.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes, you have to.
    Explanation
    See Rule 13.1f (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-13#13-1f). Under the old Rules (2018) you were only required to take free relief, if the ball lay on the wrong green. From 2019 you must take free relief if the ball lies on the wrong green or if the wrong green physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance (or intended swing). The club can though introduce a Local Rule stating that you are not required (or allowed) to take free relief if the wrong green interferes only the intended stance.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    Stableford: “Professional Peter” ’s gross score for hole 9 was 4, while “Amateur Adam” ’s was 5. Professional Peter got two Stableford points, while Amateur Adam got three points! Who has the honour at hole 10 (they are both ready to play)?

    • Amateur Adam has (it is always the one who got most points at the previous hole).

    • Professional Peter has (it is always the one with the lowest gross score at the previous hole).

    • There are no Rules about that, so you have to draw lots.

    Correct Answer
    A. Professional Peter has (it is always the one with the lowest gross score at the previous hole).
    Explanation
    In contrary, under the old Rules (2018) it was the player with the highest number of Stableford points, who had the honour at the next hole. As of 2019 it does not matter, how many Stableford points they got - the player who has the lowest gross score at a hole, has the honour at the next hole. See Rule 6.4b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-6#6-4b).

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    Have you played a provisional ball, when you state: “I am playing a ball under Rule 18.3!”?

    • Yes.

    • No, you must say the word “provisional” .

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    You have played a provisional ball if you either 1) use the word “provisional” or 2) otherwise clearly indicate, that you are playing the ball provisionally under Rule 18.3. The statement “I am playing a ball under Rule 18.3” is considered clear enough for the ball to be a provisional ball. See Rule 18.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-18#18-3b) and Interpretation 18.3b/2 (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-18-interpretations#18-3b-2).

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    Is an unmarked lake a red penalty area or a yellow penalty area?

    • Red.

    • Yellow.

    • If it is not easy to take “back-on-the-line-relief” (e.g. due to out of bounds or thick rough) it is red - otherwise it is yellow.

    Correct Answer
    A. Red.
    Explanation
    See the Definition of a “Penalty Area” (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions?definitionsEdition=FullEdition#penalty-area). Normally all penalty areas are marked e.g. with stakes. As of January 1st 2019 most penalty areas are red, which means that you have an extra relief option available (i.e. to drop within two club-club-lengths of the spot where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area, not nearer the hole).

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    Due to a missed putt, you bend your putter in anger! Are you now allowed to a) play on with the putter and/or b) to replace it with another club (you had 14 clubs when starting the round)?

    • No and no!

    • You are only allowed to replace it with another club - not to play on with it.

    • You are only allowed to play on with it - not to replace it with another club.

    • Yes and yes (it is OK both to replace it with another club and to play on with it).

    Correct Answer
    A. You are only allowed to play on with it - not to replace it with another club.
    Explanation
    See Rule 4.1b(3) (replace) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-1b) and Rule 4.1a(2) (play on with it) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-1a). This has been changed compared to 2018, where you in such a situation were not allowed to play on with it, and not allowed to substitute it with another club.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    Your ball lies in temporary water on fairway. You decide to take relief without penalty. When dropping, the ball first strikes the course but then rolls and accidentally strikes your left foot. (The ball ends in the correct relief area). What now?

    • Two penalty strokes (/ lost hole) - play the ball as it lies.

    • Two penalty strokes (/ lost hole) - Re-drop.

    • One penalty stroke. Play the ball as it lies.

    • One penalty stroke. Re-drop.

    • No penalty. Play the ball as it lies.

    • No penalty. Re-drop.

    Correct Answer
    A. No penalty. Play the ball as it lies.
    Explanation
    There is no penalty. You are not required to (and you must not) re-drop when the ball (as in this situation) strikes your foot in the drop AFTER it first struck the course. If, however, the ball strikes your foot BEFORE it strikes the course, you are required to re-drop (with no limit to the number of times you have to re-drop). See Rule 14.3b (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3b).

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    Your ball is in a red penalty area. You take relief with a one stroke penalty by applying the “back-on-the-line-relief” option: You place a tee on a spot on the line and drop a ball within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) this spot. In the drop the ball rolls 1,5 club-lengths perpendicular away from the hole (from where it first struck the course in the drop). Are you required do re-drop?

    • Yes.

    • No, you are only required to do so, if it rolls more than two club-lengths.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
    Explanation
    You are required to re-drop, if the ball comes to rest outside the relief area. In this situation the relief area is ONE club-length from (not nearer the hole than) the tee, you placed on the line. Since it rolled 1,5 club-lengths, you are required to re-drop (no matter where it ended).

    See Rule 17.1d(2) (“back-on-the-line-relief”) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17#17-1d) and Rule 14.3c(2) (re-dropping) (link: https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-3c)).

    By the way please be aware, that “one club-length” is defined as the length of the longest club you have brought, other than a putter. Typically this club will be the driver. But you can measure with any club you like (a putter, a 9-iron etc.) - but it does not change the fact, that “one club-length” is the length of the longest club you have brought, other than a putter.

    By the way you don’t HAVE to measure - the only thing that counts is, that you drop inside a correct relief area.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2022
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Jan 07, 2019
    Quiz Created by
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement