Quiz: Could You Pass This Tennis Test? Take This Trivia!

80 Questions | Total Attempts: 1186

Settings
Please wait...
Quiz: Could You Pass This Tennis Test? Take This Trivia!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Where should the single sticks be Placed?
    • A. 

      A. 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the

    • B. 

      B. 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on the same side of the net

    • C. 

      C. 3 ft. from the inside edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the net

  • 2. 
    During play, when a ball hits a line/ball person in their recognized position the point
    • A. 

      A. Must be replayed

    • B. 

      B. The point ends

    • C. 

      C. Play continues

  • 3. 
    The Server hits a 144 mph service ace.  The Receiver retrieves the ball saying the ball was “unfit” for play and the point should be replayed.  Under what grounds is this true?
    • A. 

      A. The ball is soft

    • B. 

      B. The ball was broken

    • C. 

      C. Either A or B

  • 4. 
    “Advantage sets” are allowed in USTA sanctioned tournaments
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 5. 
    The coin toss/racket spin should take place after the warm-up.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 6. 
    Who wins the point if the ball hits a scoring device attached to the net post?
    • A. 

      A. The player hitting the shot

    • B. 

      B. The opponent of the player hitting the shot

    • C. 

      C. The point is replayed

  • 7. 
    A Server elects to serve underhand.  The Receiver stops play immediately saying that it is an illegal serve.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Receiver wins the point

    • B. 

      B. Server wins the point

    • C. 

      C. Replay the point

  • 8. 
    While serving, the Server swings and misses the ball.  Is this a fault?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 9. 
    In a singles match played on a doubles court, with singles sticks, the net posts are part of the net.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 10. 
    After the 2nd game of a match, a player is found to be using an illegal racket.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. All points stand. The player must change rackets

    • B. 

      B. The player may finish the match with that racket

    • C. 

      C. Restart the match from the beginning

  • 11. 
    A Player says the score is 30-all.  His opponent says it is 15-40.  The players agree on who won every point except the 2nd one.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Replay the game

    • B. 

      B. Replay only the 2nd point

    • C. 

      C. Flip a coin

  • 12. 
    After the coin toss it rains during the warm-up.  The players leave court.  Upon return, Player A wants to change his choice from serve to receive.  Can Player B change which end of the court to start the match?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 13. 
    During a standard tiebreak the players change ends every ____ points.
    • A. 

      A. 4

    • B. 

      B. 6

    • C. 

      C. 8

  • 14. 
    During a Coman Tiebreak Procedure the players change ends after the 1st point, and every ____points thereafter.
    • A. 

      A. 4

    • B. 

      B. 6

    • C. 

      C. 8

  • 15. 
    • A. 

      A. North

    • B. 

      B. South

    • C. 

      C. Either

  • 16. 
    A 78 ft. court with permanent “blended lines” is suitable for sanctioned play that requires a 78 ft court
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 17. 
    As a Rover in a doubles match, you observe the Server is ready.  However, the Receiving team is delaying the Server by talking strategy.   Decision? 
    • A. 

      A. Caution the receiving team to play to the pace of the Server.

    • B. 

      B. Do nothing. Players are allowed reasonable time to towel off and talk to each other.

    • C. 

      C. Issue a Time Violation, Warning

  • 18. 
    A Receiver turns to see the serve being put into play and lunges to hit his return.  His return sails wide, and he says, “Hey, I wasn’t ready.  Take two serves.”  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Replay the point

    • B. 

      B. Server’s point

  • 19. 
    • A. 

      A. Award the Server a 1st serve

    • B. 

      B. Tell the Server it is a double fault since the ball would have landed long

    • C. 

      C.“Let, second serve”

  • 20. 
    During his 2nd serve motion, a soccer ball from an adjacent field rolls on court.  The Receiver yells, “wait” and the Server catches his serve.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. First serve

    • B. 

      B. Second serve

  • 21. 
    • A. 

      A. Player B’s point

    • B. 

      B. Replay the point

    • C. 

      C. Issue a Code Violation to the spectator

  • 22. 
    While hitting a lob volley near the net, Player A’s dampening device comes out and hits his opponent in the forehead before the ball lands.   Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Replay the point

    • B. 

      B. Play continues

    • C. 

      C. Player A loses the point

  • 23. 
    Player A goes way wide to hit a shot and gets tangled in his opponent’s bag strap near the bench, preventing him from getting to his opponent’s next shot.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Replay the point and ask Player B to move his bag

    • B. 

      B. Player B’s point

    • C. 

      C. Player A’s point. Player B created a hindrance with his bag

  • 24. 
    During a game a light mist causes a player wearing glasses to stop play and request time to change to contact lenses.   Is this allowed?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 25. 
    A Roving Official hears a player and someone off court talking in an unknown language.  The Official should:
    • A. 

      A. Tell the player to speak English only

    • B. 

      B. Caution the spectator that such talking may be construed as coaching

    • C. 

      C. Issue a Code Violation, Coaching penalty

  • 26. 
    Starting in 2015 there will be no automatic Time Violation for cell phones going off between points.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 27. 
    The net area between the singles stick and the net posts is a permanent fixture.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 28. 
    Once established, the order of receiving in doubles cannot be changed  before a match tiebreak?
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 29. 
    In matches with no ball persons, time between points must never exceed 20 seconds.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 30. 
     A  full 20 seconds is allowed between 1st and 2nd serve.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 31. 
    A ball hits a player’s foot on the fly behind the baseline.  Whose point is it?          
    • A. 

      A. The player who hit the shot

    • B. 

      B. The player whose foot was hit

  • 32. 
    A Server cannot be “on the move” when serving , thus requiring the Receiver to “guess the position” from which the ball will be served
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 33. 
    In a match conducted with no Chair Umpire, the official primarily responsible for imposing the PPS is: 
    • A. 

      A. Tournament Director

    • B. 

      B. Roving Umpire

    • C. 

      C. Court monitor

  • 34. 
    As the Rover standing by court 1, you hear an obscenity yelled on court 3, but are unsure who yelled it.  Arriving at court 3 several points later, Player A admits he yelled the obscenity.  Can you now impose the PPS?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 35. 
    Taking more than two MTOs during one stoppage of play should result in a Code Violation.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 36. 
    A “game penalty” assessed during a set tiebreak results in loss of the set; if assessed in a match tiebreak results in loss of match.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 37. 
    If a player receives a “Time Violation, Warning” for being “slow,” and does not resume play within another 20 seconds. What action should an official take?
    • A. 

      A. Issue a Time Violation, Point Penalty

    • B. 

      B. Issue a Code Violation

    • C. 

      C. Nothing. The player has 60 seconds

  • 38. 
    A player comes back 90 seconds late from a 10 minute rest period, what action should an official take?
    • A. 

      A. No penalty- 90 seconds is allowed

    • B. 

      B. Code Violation, Point Penalty

    • C. 

      C . A Game Penalty

  • 39. 
    If the treatment of a player on a changeover exceeds the 90 seconds.  What action should an official take?
    • A. 

      A. Code Violation, Delay of Game

    • B. 

      B. Time Violation

    • C. 

      C. Default: treatment on changeovers is not allowed following an MTO

  • 40. 
    • A. 

      A. Issue a Time Violation to the Receiver

    • B. 

      B. Issue a Time Violation to the Server

  • 41. 
    Because a player has been assessed “loss of toss” and 1 game for lateness, he is not entitled to a warm-up.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 42. 
    A player who leaves the court to replace his racket is subject to multiple back-to-back Time Violations.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 43. 
    If a player is defaulted by a Rover, he may appeal to:
    • A. 

      A. Chair Umpire

    • B. 

      B. Referee

    • C. 

      C. Tournament Appeals Committee

  • 44. 
    Violation of the 3 minute rest-period results in a:
    • A. 

      A. Time Violation

    • B. 

      B. Code Violation

    • C. 

      C. Immediate default

  • 45. 
    The objective of the PPS is to punish misconduct or violations of the Rules of Tennis.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 46. 
    Time Violations cannot be consecutive, ie. not back-to-back.  When can a second Time Violation be issued? 
    • A. 

      A. After an intervening point has been played

    • B. 

      B. When another 20 seconds have passed

    • C. 

      C. Lateness from a bathroom break

  • 47. 
     The PPS is mandatory in all  “Red, Orange, and Green Ball Tennis”
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 48. 
    A player twists his ankle and requests an MTO.  Though you did not witness the injury, you grant an MTO.  No medical personnel are available.  Is he allowed evaluation time?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. Not applicable

  • 49. 
    • A. 

      A. Player discretion

    • B. 

      B. At set breaks

    • C. 

      C. Before the opponent’s next service game

  • 50. 
    May a player take an MTO for a medical condition,  having  been previously treated on 2 consecutive change-overs for that condition?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 51. 
    A player vomits on court and asks for an MTO.  What action should an official take?
    • A. 

      A. Refuse the MTO…this is a non-treatable condition

    • B. 

      B. When he finishes vomiting, say, “Let’s play.”

    • C. 

      C. Grant the MTO and clean up the court

  • 52. 
    A player starts bleeding from the nose.  After 15 minutes, only a cotton ball in the nose will keep it from bleeding.  The player does not want cotton in his nose.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Allow more time for bleeding to stop

    • B. 

      B. Tell the player he must play with the cotton or retire.

  • 53. 
    53.  May a tournament limit the number of bathroom breaks?
    • A. 

      A. Yes

    • B. 

      B. No

  • 54. 
    A player receives treatment for a groin pull, having to go the locker room 2 minutes away.  It takes him 45 seconds to adjust his clothing after the full MTO, and returns to court within 8 minutes.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Issue a Code Violation, Delay of Game, Point Penalty

    • B. 

      B. Issue a Time Violation

    • C. 

      C. Do nothing

  • 55. 
    A player who receives supplemental oxygen on court will be defaulted.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 56. 
    A player sprains her wrist during the warm-up and is given an MTO.  She re-injures  the wrist during the match.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Treatment only on change-overs

    • B. 

      B. Allow the MTO

    • C. 

      C. Allow treatment, with Time Violations accruing

  • 57. 
    Player A is receiving an MTO.  His opponent goes to the fence and begins talking with his coach.  Tell him:
    • A. 

      A. He may talk with his coach off court

    • B. 

      B. He may talk with his coach until the MTO ends

    • C. 

      C. He may not receive coaching during the MTO

  • 58. 
    A diabetic player is allowed to check his blood sugar during a match and administer an injection of insulin.       
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 59. 
    • A. 

      A. One tiebreak game

    • B. 

      B. Best of 3 tiebreak games

    • C. 

      C. Timed matches

    • D. 

      D. All the above

  • 60. 
    Adult and Senior  Orange Ball Tennis shall use which of the following formats:
    • A. 

      A. 1 Short Set, or best of 3 Short sets, or Timed Matches

    • B. 

      B. Best of 5 Short Sets, or Match Tiebreaks, or 1 tiebreak set

    • C. 

      C. 1 tiebreak set, or Timed Matches, or 1 advantage set

  • 61. 
    Green ball Tennis shall use USTA authorized scoring and draw formats, including those listed in  Reg. VI.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 62. 
    Orange Ball Tennis uses No-Ad scoring only.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 63. 
    The PPS is not used in Red Ball Tennis, but may be used in Orange .
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 64. 
    64.  Red, Orange and Green Ball Tennis is designed only for 10 and under youth.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 65. 
    The PPS is optional in Adult and Senior Divisions of Red, Orange and Green Tennis.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 66. 
    • A. 

      Player A

    • B. 

      Player B

  • 67. 
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 68. 
    A player grunts loudly every time when hitting the ball.  His opponent does not complain, only the parent of the non-grunting player.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Do nothing

    • B. 

      B. Issue a Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C. 

      C. Caution the player about grunting

  • 69. 
    Same situation as above, except it is a player on adjacent court complaining.  Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Do nothing

    • B. 

      B. Issue a Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C. 

      C. Caution the grunting player that future grunting may result in a Code Violation

  • 70. 
    A player breaks his racket at the end of the 1st set.  The player is: 
    • A. 

      A. Allowed “reasonable time” to replace his racket

    • B. 

      B. Not allowed to leave the court

    • C. 

      C, Allowed to leave the court to replace his racket, but must be ready to play in 120 seconds

  • 71. 
    Player A has made several questionable calls.  Player B leaves the court to find an official, who cannot immediately come to court.  Player B must return to court and continue play until the official arrives.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 72. 
    A player who claims a hindrance must stop play:
    • A. 

      A. At the end of the point

    • B. 

      B. Immediately

    • C. 

      C. Anytime during the point

  • 73. 
    In doubles, the Receiver’s partner must call the service line, and the Receiver must call the sideline.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 74. 
    The time it takes to clear a ball coming on court between 1st and 2nd serve is generally not sufficient time to warrant  a 1st serve.  
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 75. 
    A player who declines to warm-up his opponent is subject to the PPS
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 76. 
    Before making a call a player may request help from my opponent, asking “how did you see it?”  However, I still can make my own call of “in” or “out.”
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 77. 
    Reversed “out” calls, made immediately, result in a replay of the point.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 78. 
    The doubt created  by doubles partners disagreeing on “in” or “out” means the ball should be called  good.
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False

  • 79. 
    Player A hits a rally shot into the net and then says, “The ball was out.” Decision?
    • A. 

      A. Player A wins the point

    • B. 

      B. Replay the point

    • C. 

      C. Player B wins the point

  • 80. 
    The request for a 3rd ball must always be honored.          
    • A. 

      A. True

    • B. 

      B. False