Could You Pass This Tennis Test? Take This Trivia!

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Officiaiting
O
Officiaiting
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 3,855
Questions: 80 | Attempts: 2,234

SettingsSettingsSettings
Could You Pass This Tennis Test? Take This Trivia! - Quiz


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    Where should the single sticks be Placed?

    • A.

      A. 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the

    • B.

      B. 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on the same side of the net

    • C.

      C. 3 ft. from the inside edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the net

    Correct Answer
    A. A. 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the
    Explanation
    The correct answer is A because the question is asking where the single sticks should be placed. Single sticks are placed 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, on opposite sides of the net. This means that the sticks should be placed on opposite sides of the net, not on the same side. Additionally, the sticks should be placed 3 ft. from the outer edge of the singles side line, not the inside edge.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    Player A hits a rally shot into the net and then says, “The ball was out.” Decision?

    • A.

      A. Player A wins the point

    • B.

      B. Replay the point

    • C.

      C. Player B wins the point

    Correct Answer
    C. C. Player B wins the point
    Explanation
    Player A hits a rally shot into the net and then claims that the ball was out. However, the decision is that Player B wins the point. This is because if a player hits the ball into the net, it is considered a mistake on their part and the point is awarded to the opponent. Player A's claim that the ball was out does not change the fact that they made an error by hitting it into the net. Therefore, Player B is the winner of the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    The doubt created  by doubles partners disagreeing on “in” or “out” means the ball should be called  good.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    When doubles partners disagree on whether a ball is "in" or "out," it creates doubt about the ball's position. In such cases, it is generally considered fair to call the ball "good" and continue the game without stopping. This is because it is difficult to determine the exact position of the ball when there is disagreement, and it is important to maintain fairness and avoid unnecessary interruptions in the game. Therefore, the statement that the doubt created by doubles partners disagreeing on "in" or "out" means the ball should be called "good" is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Reversed “out” calls, made immediately, result in a replay of the point.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    Reversed "out" calls, made immediately, do not result in a replay of the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    Before making a call a player may request help from my opponent, asking “how did you see it?”  However, I still can make my own call of “in” or “out.”

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    Before making a call, a player may request help from their opponent, asking "how did you see it?" However, they cannot make their own call of "in" or "out". This means that the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    A player who declines to warm-up his opponent is subject to the PPS

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    This statement is false because there is no rule or regulation that requires a player to warm up their opponent. The decision to warm up or not is solely up to the individual player and is not subject to any penalties or consequences.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    The time it takes to clear a ball coming on court between 1st and 2nd serve is generally not sufficient time to warrant  a 1st serve.  

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is suggesting that the time it takes to clear a ball coming on court between 1st and 2nd serve is generally not enough to justify using a 1st serve. This implies that it is more common for players to use a 2nd serve in this situation. Therefore, the correct answer is True.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    In doubles, the Receiver’s partner must call the service line, and the Receiver must call the sideline.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    In doubles, the receiver's partner must call the sideline, while the receiver must call the service line. This means that the statement is false.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    A player who claims a hindrance must stop play:

    • A.

      A. At the end of the point

    • B.

      B. Immediately

    • C.

      C. Anytime during the point

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Immediately
    Explanation
    When a player claims a hindrance in a game, they must stop play immediately. This means that they should not continue playing the point or wait until the end of the point to address the hindrance. It is important for players to stop play immediately in order to maintain fairness and ensure that the hindrance is properly addressed without affecting the outcome of the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Player A has made several questionable calls.  Player B leaves the court to find an official, who cannot immediately come to court.  Player B must return to court and continue play until the official arrives.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    Player B does not have to return to the court and continue play until the official arrives. If Player B leaves the court to find an official and the official cannot immediately come to the court, Player B can choose to wait for the official or continue playing. There is no obligation for Player B to return to the court and continue play.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    A player breaks his racket at the end of the 1st set.  The player is: 

    • A.

      A. Allowed “reasonable time” to replace his racket

    • B.

      B. Not allowed to leave the court

    • C.

      C, Allowed to leave the court to replace his racket, but must be ready to play in 120 seconds

    Correct Answer
    C. C, Allowed to leave the court to replace his racket, but must be ready to play in 120 seconds
    Explanation
    The correct answer is C because according to the rules, a player is allowed to leave the court to replace his racket. However, the player must be ready to play within 120 seconds to ensure that the match continues without unnecessary delays.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Same situation as above, except it is a player on adjacent court complaining.  Decision?

    • A.

      A. Do nothing

    • B.

      B. Issue a Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C.

      C. Caution the grunting player that future grunting may result in a Code Violation

    Correct Answer
    C. C. Caution the grunting player that future grunting may result in a Code Violation
    Explanation
    In this situation, the adjacent player is complaining about the grunting of the player. The correct decision would be to caution the grunting player about the possibility of a future Code Violation if they continue to grunt. This is a fair and appropriate action as it warns the player about the consequences of their behavior without immediately penalizing them. It gives the player a chance to rectify their behavior and avoid further violations.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    A player grunts loudly every time when hitting the ball.  His opponent does not complain, only the parent of the non-grunting player.  Decision?

    • A.

      A. Do nothing

    • B.

      B. Issue a Code Violation, Unsportsmanlike Conduct

    • C.

      C. Caution the player about grunting

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Do nothing
    Explanation
    The correct answer is A. Do nothing. The opponent of the player who grunts does not complain, indicating that they are not bothered by the grunting. Only the parent of the non-grunting player complains, but their complaint does not warrant any action. Therefore, there is no need to issue a code violation or caution the player about grunting.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    When a ball is not in play, a player must honor an opponent’s request to move a ball from the court or near the playing area.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    When a ball is not in play, it is considered a common courtesy for a player to honor an opponent's request to move the ball from the court or near the playing area. This helps to ensure fair and uninterrupted gameplay.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    Player A, after hitting an overhead “sitter” near the net, loses his racket.  It flies over the net hitting his opponent, Player B, who cannot continue play after a full MTO.  Who wins the match?

    • A.

      Player A

    • B.

      Player B

    Correct Answer
    A. Player A
    Explanation
    Player A wins the match because Player B cannot continue play after being hit by Player A's racket.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    The PPS is optional in Adult and Senior Divisions of Red, Orange and Green Tennis.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the PPS (Player Participation System) is not optional in the Adult and Senior Divisions of Red, Orange, and Green Tennis. The PPS is a system that ensures fair and balanced competition by assigning players to appropriate divisions based on their skill level. It is mandatory for players to participate in the PPS in order to maintain the integrity of the divisions and provide a level playing field for all participants.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    64.  Red, Orange and Green Ball Tennis is designed only for 10 and under youth.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because Red, Orange, and Green Ball Tennis is not designed only for 10 and under youth. It is a modified format of tennis that uses different colored balls and smaller courts to make it easier for players of all ages and skill levels to learn and enjoy the game. While it is commonly used for younger players, it can also be used for adults and more experienced players who want to practice specific skills or have a more controlled and less physically demanding game.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    The PPS is not used in Red Ball Tennis, but may be used in Orange .

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    The given statement states that the PPS (Progressive Play System) is not used in Red Ball Tennis, but it may be used in Orange Ball Tennis. This means that the PPS is used in a higher level of tennis (Orange Ball Tennis) but not in a lower level (Red Ball Tennis). Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    Orange Ball Tennis uses No-Ad scoring only.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    Orange Ball Tennis is a modified version of tennis played by younger players. In No-Ad scoring, the game is simplified by eliminating advantage points. When the score reaches deuce, the next point determines the winner of the game. Therefore, the statement that Orange Ball Tennis uses No-Ad scoring only is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Green ball Tennis shall use USTA authorized scoring and draw formats, including those listed in  Reg. VI.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    The statement states that Green ball Tennis will use USTA authorized scoring and draw formats, including those listed in Reg. VI. This implies that the statement is true, as it confirms that Green ball Tennis will adhere to the authorized scoring and draw formats specified by USTA.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    Adult and Senior  Orange Ball Tennis shall use which of the following formats:

    • A.

      A. 1 Short Set, or best of 3 Short sets, or Timed Matches

    • B.

      B. Best of 5 Short Sets, or Match Tiebreaks, or 1 tiebreak set

    • C.

      C. 1 tiebreak set, or Timed Matches, or 1 advantage set

    Correct Answer
    A. A. 1 Short Set, or best of 3 Short sets, or Timed Matches
    Explanation
    Adult and Senior Orange Ball Tennis can be played using either 1 Short Set, or best of 3 Short sets, or Timed Matches. This means that players have the option to play a single short set, or they can play a best of 3 short sets match, or they can play a timed match where the winner is determined by the number of games won within a specified time limit.

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    Which of the following is an approved format for Red Ball Tennis:

    • A.

      A. One tiebreak game

    • B.

      B. Best of 3 tiebreak games

    • C.

      C. Timed matches

    • D.

      D. All the above

    Correct Answer
    D. D. All the above
    Explanation
    All of the options listed are approved formats for Red Ball Tennis. Red Ball Tennis can be played using one tiebreak game, best of 3 tiebreak games, or timed matches. Therefore, option D, "All the above," is the correct answer.

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    A diabetic player is allowed to check his blood sugar during a match and administer an injection of insulin.       

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    A diabetic player is allowed to check his blood sugar during a match and administer an injection of insulin because monitoring blood sugar levels and administering insulin is necessary for managing diabetes and maintaining the player's health.

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    Player A is receiving an MTO.  His opponent goes to the fence and begins talking with his coach.  Tell him:

    • A.

      A. He may talk with his coach off court

    • B.

      B. He may talk with his coach until the MTO ends

    • C.

      C. He may not receive coaching during the MTO

    Correct Answer
    C. C. He may not receive coaching during the MTO
    Explanation
    During a medical time-out (MTO), Player A is receiving medical attention or treatment. The opponent, however, is not allowed to receive coaching from his coach during this time. Therefore, the correct answer is C - the opponent may not receive coaching during the MTO.

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    A player sprains her wrist during the warm-up and is given an MTO.  She re-injures  the wrist during the match.  Decision?

    • A.

      A. Treatment only on change-overs

    • B.

      B. Allow the MTO

    • C.

      C. Allow treatment, with Time Violations accruing

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Allow the MTO
    Explanation
    If a player sprains her wrist during the warm-up and is given an MTO (Medical Time Out), and then re-injures the wrist during the match, the decision would be to allow the MTO. This means that the player would be allowed to take additional time to receive treatment for the re-injured wrist.

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    A player who receives supplemental oxygen on court will be defaulted.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    If a player receives supplemental oxygen on court, they will be defaulted. This means that they will be disqualified from the match. The use of supplemental oxygen is typically only allowed in medical emergencies, and not during regular gameplay. Therefore, if a player requires supplemental oxygen, it is likely that they are not fit to continue playing and will be defaulted.

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    A player receives treatment for a groin pull, having to go the locker room 2 minutes away.  It takes him 45 seconds to adjust his clothing after the full MTO, and returns to court within 8 minutes.  Decision?

    • A.

      A. Issue a Code Violation, Delay of Game, Point Penalty

    • B.

      B. Issue a Time Violation

    • C.

      C. Do nothing

    Correct Answer
    C. C. Do nothing
    Explanation
    The player in this scenario received treatment for a groin pull and had to go to the locker room, which took 2 minutes. After the treatment, it took him 45 seconds to adjust his clothing. He returned to the court within 8 minutes. Based on this information, it can be inferred that the player did not exceed the allowed time for treatment and did not delay the game significantly. Therefore, the correct decision would be to do nothing and not issue any penalties or violations.

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    53.  May a tournament limit the number of bathroom breaks?

    • A.

      A. Yes

    • B.

      B. No

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Yes
    Explanation
    Tournaments may limit the number of bathroom breaks because it helps to maintain the flow and pace of the event. By limiting the number of breaks, organizers can ensure that players do not take excessive time away from the game, which could disrupt the schedule and cause delays. Additionally, limiting bathroom breaks can also prevent players from using them as a tactic to disrupt their opponents' focus or momentum during the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    A player starts bleeding from the nose.  After 15 minutes, only a cotton ball in the nose will keep it from bleeding.  The player does not want cotton in his nose.  Decision?

    • A.

      A. Allow more time for bleeding to stop

    • B.

      B. Tell the player he must play with the cotton or retire.

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Tell the player he must play with the cotton or retire.
    Explanation
    The player is experiencing a nosebleed that has not stopped after 15 minutes. The only way to prevent further bleeding is by using a cotton ball in the nose. However, the player does not want to use the cotton ball. In this situation, the player has two options: either play with the cotton ball in the nose or retire from the game. This decision is based on the fact that the player's health and safety should be prioritized, and if the bleeding cannot be controlled without the cotton ball, it may be necessary for the player to retire in order to seek appropriate medical attention.

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    A player vomits on court and asks for an MTO.  What action should an official take?

    • A.

      A. Refuse the MTO…this is a non-treatable condition

    • B.

      B. When he finishes vomiting, say, “Let’s play.”

    • C.

      C. Grant the MTO and clean up the court

    Correct Answer
    C. C. Grant the MTO and clean up the court
    Explanation
    The correct answer is C. Grant the MTO and clean up the court. When a player vomits on the court, it is considered a hazardous condition that needs immediate attention. Granting a medical timeout (MTO) allows the player to receive any necessary medical attention and also ensures that the court is cleaned up properly to maintain a safe playing environment for all players.

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    May a player take an MTO for a medical condition,  having  been previously treated on 2 consecutive change-overs for that condition?

    • A.

      A. Yes

    • B.

      B. No

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Yes
    Explanation
    A player may take an MTO (Medical Time Out) for a medical condition even if they have been previously treated on 2 consecutive change-overs for that condition. This means that the player is allowed to seek medical attention and receive treatment for their condition during the match, regardless of the number of times they have already been treated for it.

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    When should bathroom breaks be taken?  

    • A.

      A. Player discretion

    • B.

      B. At set breaks

    • C.

      C. Before the opponent’s next service game

    Correct Answer
    B. B. At set breaks
    Explanation
    Bathroom breaks should be taken at set breaks. This means that players should wait for the end of a set to take a bathroom break, rather than interrupting the flow of the game. This helps to maintain the fairness and integrity of the match, as it ensures that players are not using bathroom breaks strategically to disrupt their opponent's momentum.

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    A player twists his ankle and requests an MTO.  Though you did not witness the injury, you grant an MTO.  No medical personnel are available.  Is he allowed evaluation time?

    • A.

      A. Yes

    • B.

      B. Not applicable

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Not applicable
    Explanation
    Since there are no medical personnel available to evaluate the player's injury, it is not applicable to grant an evaluation time.

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

     The PPS is mandatory in all  “Red, Orange, and Green Ball Tennis”

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because PPS is not mandatory in all "Red, Orange, and Green Ball Tennis".

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    Time Violations cannot be consecutive, ie. not back-to-back.  When can a second Time Violation be issued? 

    • A.

      A. After an intervening point has been played

    • B.

      B. When another 20 seconds have passed

    • C.

      C. Lateness from a bathroom break

    Correct Answer
    A. A. After an intervening point has been played
    Explanation
    A second Time Violation can be issued after an intervening point has been played. This means that if a player has already received a Time Violation and commits another violation, the second violation can only be issued after a point has been played in between. This rule prevents consecutive Time Violations or back-to-back violations from being issued.

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    The objective of the PPS is to punish misconduct or violations of the Rules of Tennis.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    The objective of the PPS is not to punish misconduct or violations of the Rules of Tennis. The PPS, which stands for Professional Pathway System, is a program designed to provide a clear and structured pathway for professional tennis players to progress and develop their careers. It aims to support players in their journey towards becoming successful professional athletes, rather than focusing on punishment for misconduct or rule violations.

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    Violation of the 3 minute rest-period results in a:

    • A.

      A. Time Violation

    • B.

      B. Code Violation

    • C.

      C. Immediate default

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Time Violation
    Explanation
    Violating the 3 minute rest-period refers to not adhering to the specified time period for rest. This means that the individual did not take the required break within the designated time frame. Therefore, the violation is related to time, making option A, "Time Violation," the correct answer.

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    If a player is defaulted by a Rover, he may appeal to:

    • A.

      A. Chair Umpire

    • B.

      B. Referee

    • C.

      C. Tournament Appeals Committee

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Referee
    Explanation
    If a player is defaulted by a Rover, he may appeal to the Referee. The Referee is the appropriate authority to handle appeals in this situation. The Chair Umpire may not have the authority to overturn the decision made by the Rover, and the Tournament Appeals Committee may be a higher level of authority that is not directly involved in the immediate decision-making process. Therefore, the Referee is the most suitable option for a player to appeal to.

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    A player who leaves the court to replace his racket is subject to multiple back-to-back Time Violations.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    If a player leaves the court to replace his racket, he is not subject to multiple back-to-back Time Violations. This means that the statement in the question is incorrect.

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    Because a player has been assessed “loss of toss” and 1 game for lateness, he is not entitled to a warm-up.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    B. B. False
    Explanation
    The statement is false because the fact that a player has been assessed "loss of toss" and 1 game for lateness does not automatically mean that they are not entitled to a warm-up. The reasons for being assessed "loss of toss" and 1 game for lateness are not mentioned, and it is possible that the player may still be allowed a warm-up depending on the specific circumstances.

    Rate this question:

  • 41. 

    When both players are late getting up after a changeover (90 seconds having elapsed), what action should an official take?

    • A.

      A. Issue a Time Violation to the Receiver

    • B.

      B. Issue a Time Violation to the Server

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Issue a Time Violation to the Server
    Explanation
    When both players are late getting up after a changeover, the official should issue a Time Violation to the Server. This is because the server is responsible for initiating the start of each point, and if they are late in doing so, it can disrupt the flow of the game. The receiver, on the other hand, does not have control over when the point starts, so they are not penalized in this situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 42. 

    If the treatment of a player on a changeover exceeds the 90 seconds.  What action should an official take?

    • A.

      A. Code Violation, Delay of Game

    • B.

      B. Time Violation

    • C.

      C. Default: treatment on changeovers is not allowed following an MTO

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Code Violation, Delay of Game
    Explanation
    If the treatment of a player on a changeover exceeds the 90 seconds, the official should take action by issuing a Code Violation for Delay of Game. This means that the player has taken too long on the changeover, which disrupts the flow of the game and can be seen as a form of stalling or time-wasting. The Code Violation serves as a warning to the player and may result in a penalty or further consequences if the behavior continues.

    Rate this question:

  • 43. 

    A player comes back 90 seconds late from a 10 minute rest period, what action should an official take?

    • A.

      A. No penalty- 90 seconds is allowed

    • B.

      B. Code Violation, Point Penalty

    • C.

      C . A Game Penalty

    Correct Answer
    C. C . A Game Penalty
    Explanation
    If a player comes back 90 seconds late from a 10 minute rest period, it is considered a violation of the rules. The official should take the action of giving the player a game penalty. This means that the player will be penalized and may lose points or face other consequences as determined by the rules of the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 44. 

    If a player receives a “Time Violation, Warning” for being “slow,” and does not resume play within another 20 seconds. What action should an official take?

    • A.

      A. Issue a Time Violation, Point Penalty

    • B.

      B. Issue a Code Violation

    • C.

      C. Nothing. The player has 60 seconds

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Issue a Code Violation
    Explanation
    If a player receives a "Time Violation, Warning" for being "slow" and does not resume play within another 20 seconds, the official should issue a Code Violation. This means that the player has failed to comply with the time rules and regulations, and therefore, a penalty should be imposed. The official should take action by issuing a Code Violation to enforce the rules and maintain fairness in the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 45. 

    A “game penalty” assessed during a set tiebreak results in loss of the set; if assessed in a match tiebreak results in loss of match.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    If a "game penalty" is assessed during a set tiebreak, it means that a player has committed a serious violation or misconduct. In this case, the player who receives the game penalty will lose the set. Similarly, if the game penalty is assessed during a match tiebreak, it will result in the loss of the entire match. This means that the statement is true, as a game penalty does lead to the loss of the set or match, depending on the situation.

    Rate this question:

  • 46. 

    Taking more than two MTOs during one stoppage of play should result in a Code Violation.

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    Taking more than two MTOs during one stoppage of play should result in a Code Violation. This means that if a player exceeds the limit of two medical timeouts during a single break in play, they would be in violation of the rules. This rule is likely in place to prevent players from intentionally prolonging the game by continuously taking medical timeouts. Violating this rule would likely result in a penalty or disciplinary action against the player.

    Rate this question:

  • 47. 

    As the Rover standing by court 1, you hear an obscenity yelled on court 3, but are unsure who yelled it.  Arriving at court 3 several points later, Player A admits he yelled the obscenity.  Can you now impose the PPS?

    • A.

      A. Yes

    • B.

      B. No

    Correct Answer
    A. A. Yes
    Explanation
    Since Player A has admitted to yelling the obscenity, there is now clear evidence of who yelled it. Therefore, the PPS (Point Penalty System) can be imposed.

    Rate this question:

  • 48. 

    In a match conducted with no Chair Umpire, the official primarily responsible for imposing the PPS is: 

    • A.

      A. Tournament Director

    • B.

      B. Roving Umpire

    • C.

      C. Court monitor

    Correct Answer
    B. B. Roving Umpire
    Explanation
    In a match conducted with no Chair Umpire, the official primarily responsible for imposing the PPS (Point Penalty System) is the Roving Umpire. The Roving Umpire is responsible for monitoring the match and enforcing the rules and regulations, including the PPS. They move around the court and ensure that the players adhere to the rules and maintain fair play. Therefore, in the absence of a Chair Umpire, the Roving Umpire takes on the role of imposing the PPS.

    Rate this question:

  • 49. 

    A Server cannot be “on the move” when serving , thus requiring the Receiver to “guess the position” from which the ball will be served

    • A.

      A. True

    • B.

      B. False

    Correct Answer
    A. A. True
    Explanation
    The statement is true because a server in a game like tennis or volleyball cannot move while serving the ball. They have to remain stationary and serve from a fixed position. This means that the receiver has to anticipate or guess where the ball will be served from.

    Rate this question:

  • 50. 

    A ball hits a player’s foot on the fly behind the baseline.  Whose point is it?          

    • A.

      A. The player who hit the shot

    • B.

      B. The player whose foot was hit

    Correct Answer
    A. A. The player who hit the shot
    Explanation
    The point is awarded to the player who hit the shot because the ball hit the player's foot on the fly behind the baseline. According to the rules, if a player's shot is hit by their opponent before it bounces, the point is awarded to the player who hit the shot. In this case, since the ball hit the player's foot, it is considered as the opponent hitting the shot, resulting in the point being awarded to the player who hit the shot.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Nov 16, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Dec 22, 2014
    Quiz Created by
    Officiaiting
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.