Erikson's Stages Of Psychosocial Development Trivia

Reviewed by Jennifer DeSetto
Jennifer DeSetto, MSN- Mental Health |
Mental Health Expert
Review Board Member
Jennifer is an ANCC board-certified PMHNP with a decade of experience in mental health. She excels in medication management and evidence-based practices, having worked in private practice, community mental health centers, and inpatient settings. Jennifer earned her MSN in Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing from Molloy University and holds a certification as a Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Her expertise enriches our quiz review process, ensuring quizzes align with current psychiatric nursing practices and standards.
, MSN- Mental Health
Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Kristie Shipley
Kristie Shipley
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1 | Total Attempts: 35,717
Questions: 10 | Viewed: 35,717


Erikson's infancy to birth stage is called what?

Answer: Trust vs. Mistrust
Erikson's infancy to birth stage is called Trust vs. Mistrust. This stage occurs from birth to approximately 18 months of age. During this stage, infants develop a sense of trust when their caregivers consistently meet their needs and provide them with a safe and nurturing environment. If the caregivers are inconsistent or neglectful, infants may develop a sense of mistrust and become wary of others. This stage forms the foundation for future relationships and the individual's ability to trust others throughout their life.

Erikson's developmental stage during the toddler stage (1-3) is called what?

Answer: Autonomy vs. Doubt
During the toddler stage (1-3 years old), children are developing a sense of independence and autonomy. They are exploring their environment and asserting their will. This stage is characterized by the conflict between wanting to do things on their own (autonomy) and feeling unsure or doubtful about their abilities. It is a crucial stage for developing self-confidence and a sense of control over their actions.

Erikson's Preschool age (3-6yrs) is called what?

Answer: Initiative vs. Guilt
Erikson's theory of psychosocial development states that during the preschool age (3-6 years), children go through the stage of Initiative vs. Guilt. This stage is characterized by children developing a sense of purpose and taking initiative in their activities. They start to explore their environment, ask questions, and engage in imaginative play. If children are encouraged and supported in their initiatives, they develop a sense of confidence and independence. However, if their efforts are consistently criticized or restricted, they may develop feelings of guilt and a lack of self-confidence.

Middle school 6-12 years is called what?

Answer: Industry vs. Inferiority
The correct answer is Industry vs. Inferiority. This stage of development, according to Erik Erikson's psychosocial theory, occurs during middle childhood (6-12 years). During this stage, children strive to develop a sense of competence and mastery in their skills and abilities. They seek to accomplish tasks and receive recognition for their efforts. If they are successful, they develop a sense of industry and feel competent. However, if they experience repeated failures or criticism, they may develop feelings of inferiority.

Middle Adulthood is called what?

Answer: Generativity vs. Stagnation
Middle adulthood is commonly referred to as the stage of "Generativity vs. Stagnation." During this period, individuals typically focus on contributing to society and the next generation, whether through raising children, mentoring others, or making a meaningful impact in their careers. This stage is characterized by a sense of productivity, creativity, and a desire to leave a lasting legacy. Stagnation, on the other hand, refers to a lack of growth or progress, where individuals feel unfulfilled and stagnant in their lives. This stage is marked by a sense of self-centeredness and a lack of purpose or contribution to others.

Late Adulthood (65+yrs.) is called what?

Answer: Integrity vs. Despair
Late adulthood, typically starting at age 65 and beyond, is characterized by the psychosocial stage of integrity versus despair. During this stage, individuals reflect on their lives and evaluate whether they have lived a meaningful and fulfilling life. If they feel a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction, they develop a sense of integrity. However, if they harbor regrets and feel unfulfilled, they may experience despair and a sense of hopelessness. This stage is crucial for individuals to achieve a sense of wholeness and acceptance of their life's achievements and failures.

Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development are based on ___________. 

Answer: Freud’s psychosexual theory
Erikson's stages of psychosocial development are based on Freud's psychosexual theory. Erikson was a student of Freud and built upon his ideas to develop his own theory of psychosocial development. While Freud's theory focused on the development of the individual's sexual instincts, Erikson expanded this to include social and cultural factors as well. Therefore, the correct answer is Freud's psychosexual theory.

There are ______ stages of psychosocial development

Answer: 8
The correct answer is 8. This is because according to Erik Erikson's theory of psychosocial development, there are eight stages that individuals go through from infancy to old age. Each stage is characterized by a unique psychosocial crisis that individuals must resolve in order to develop a healthy personality and sense of self. These stages include trust vs. mistrust, autonomy vs. shame and doubt, initiative vs. guilt, industry vs. inferiority, identity vs. role confusion, intimacy vs. isolation, generativity vs. stagnation, and integrity vs. despair.

Erikson's adolescence age (12–18 yrs) is called what? 

Answer: Identity vs. role confusion
During Erikson's adolescence stage, individuals go through a crucial period of self-discovery and exploration. They are faced with the task of forming a strong sense of personal identity and figuring out their role in society. This stage is characterized by a struggle between developing a clear and stable identity and experiencing confusion and uncertainty about one's self and future. Thus, the term "identity vs. role confusion" accurately describes the challenges and conflicts faced during this period of development.

Young adulthood (18-40 yrs) is called what?

Answer: Intimacy vs. isolation
During young adulthood, individuals typically seek to form close and meaningful relationships with others. This period of life is characterized by the desire for intimacy and connection, as well as the fear of isolation and loneliness. It is a time when individuals strive to establish long-term relationships, both romantic and platonic, and develop a sense of identity within these connections. The term "intimacy vs. isolation" accurately captures this stage of life and the psychological conflict that individuals may experience during this time.
Back to Top Back to top

Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.