WFTDA Section 6.1 - 6.10

21 Questions | Attempts: 147
Share
SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/21 Questions

    Using your forearms pulled into the body to absorb a hit is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty
    • A Major Penalty
    • An Expulsion
Please wait...

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    Using your forearms to propel an opponent sideways, causing her to fall is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    • An Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    Major penalty
    6.5.8.2 - Use of hands or forearms to grab or hold an opposing skater impeding that skater’s mobility, causing that skater to lose advantage, or forcing that skater to the ground.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A block with initial contact above the shoulders is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    Major Penalty

    6.2.2 - Any block with initial contact landing above the shoulders.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    You can engage an opponent that is skating backwards.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    As long as the block itself is legal, you and/ or your opponent can be skating backwards.

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    If a skater jumps, it is illegal to hit her while she is in the air.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    6.8.11 - There is no penalty for blocking a skater who has jumped off both skates and left contact with the track from in bounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    A legal hit that injures another player is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/ No Penalty
  • 7. 

    When engaging another skater, elbows may not be swung with a forward or backward motion.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    6.4.1 - When engaging another skater, elbows may not be swung with a forward/backward motion.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    If you ride someone out of bounds, when do you have to discontinue the block?

    • Before any part of your opponent is touching out of bounds

    • Before any part of you is touching out of bounds

    • Before you go completely out of bounds

    Correct Answer
    A. Before any part of you is touching out of bounds
    Explanation
    6.8.3 - If a skater forces an opponent out of bounds while blocking, the initiating Blocker must cease blocking before their own skates touch outside the track boundary. No part of the initiating Blocker’s skate may touch the ground outside the track boundary.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    You can engage an opponent as long as you have one foot in bounds.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    6.8.7 - A skater who is straddling the line may not engage, block, or assist because the skater has one skate down outside the track boundary and is out of bounds by definition.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Booty blocking a player who is straddling the track boundary is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/ No Penalty
    Explanation
    6.8.8

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    If you “fall small” and slide onto the track from out of bounds and trip an opponent, you will not be penalized.           

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    6.8.10 - Downed skaters re-entering the track are subject to blocking out of bounds penalties, even if the downed skater has fallen small.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    A downed skater re-entering the track causing an opposing skater to stumble but not fall or lose relative position is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    • An Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/ No Penalty
    Explanation
    No Impact/No Penalty: 6.3.5 - A downed skater re-entering the track that causes an opposing skater to stumble but not fall or lose relative position.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    Skating clockwise (non-derby direction) on the track is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/ No Penalty
    Explanation
    6.9.3 - Skaters are permitted to skate clockwise on the track provided they do not block, assist, or otherwise engage teammates or opponents.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    If a skater jumps, it is illegal to hit her while she is in the air.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. False
    Explanation
    6.8.11 - There is no penalty for blocking a skater who has jumped off both skates and left contact with the track from in bounds.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    It is a major penalty to touch an opponent with forearms or hands for three or more seconds.

    • True

    • False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    Major Penalty

    6.5.6 - Extended touching (lasting three seconds or more) with the forearms or hands to an opponent’s legal and/or illegal target zone.

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    A block, initiated with the head, that does not cause the opposing skater to stumble, fall, or lose relative position is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    • An Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    Major penalty
    6.6.3 - Initiating a block with the head, regardless of impact or advantage.

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Blocking a teammate in the back resulting in that teammate falling to the ground is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. No Impact/ No Penalty
    Explanation
    Hitting an opponent in the back of the torso, back of the legs, or back of the booty is prohibited (see Section 5.2.2). Hitting an opponent with a legal blocking zone into a legal target zone while positioned behind said opponent is not blocking to the back and is not illegal.

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    After the jam whistle blows one team remains stationary. The other team sprints ahead causing a No Pack Situation.  This is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    6.10.2.1.1 - The rules do not define pack speed. Illegally destroying the pack penalties shall not be given for gradually deviating from the speed of the pack as established through game play, unless said deviation is sudden, rapid, and marked, leaving the opposing team no opportunity to adjust and maintain a pack.

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    Blocking an opposing skater in the back and causing her to stumble out of bounds (but she doesn’t fall) is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    Major Penalty
    6.1.2 - Any contact to the back of an opponent that forces the receiving opposing skater out of their established position. This includes forcing a skater down, out of bounds, or out of position.

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    Which of the following is an example of a multi-player block?

    • “Bowling” with a teammate by pushing her into an opponent.

    • Impeding an opponent by holding onto the shirt of a teammate.

    • Grabbing or holding a teammate’s arm while blocking.

    Correct Answer
    A. Impeding an opponent by holding onto the shirt of a teammate.
    Explanation
    6.7.1 - Skaters may not grab and hold each other’s uniform or equipment in a multi-player block.

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    Habitual contact between skates and wheels that is part of the normal skating motion that causes an opposing skater to stumble or fall or lose her relative position is

    • No Impact/ No Penalty

    • A Major Penalty

    • An Expulsion

    Correct Answer
    A. A Major Penalty
    Explanation
    6.3.9 - Habitual contact between skates and wheels that is part of the normal skating motion that causes an opposing skater to stumble, fall, or lose relative position. The intent is to penalize skaters whose normal skating motion is dangerous to opponents. A single skater who repeatedly low blocks other skaters, even in normal skating motions, is adversely affecting game play and safety.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 17, 2022 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 17, 2022
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Nov 28, 2011
    Quiz Created by
    Dotsturkey
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.