Rules School: Secondary School Test

SettingsSettings
Please wait...
  • 1/7 Questions

    What is the maximum number of practice swings your are allowed to take during a round?

    • There are no Rules about that.
    • No more than two for each stroke.
    • No more than two on each hole.
Please wait...
About This Quiz

Rules School: Secondary School Test - Quiz

Quiz Preview

  • 2. 

    My ball lies next to a big tree, and I want to take relief without penalty, since I have learned that a tree is an immovable obstruction. Am I right?

    • Yes.

    • No. The tree is a movable obstruction (not an immovable).

    • No. The tree is not an obstruction.

    Correct Answer
    A. No. The tree is not an obstruction.
  • 3. 

    Your ball lies on the fringe just outside the putting green. You ask the other player to attend the flagstick. The other player informs you that you are only allowed to have the flagstick attended, when your ball is on the putting green, and therefore he refuses. Is the other player correct?  

    • No. You can always ask for the flagstick to be attended, no matter where the ball lies.

    • No. You can always ask for the flagstick to be attended, no matter where the ball lies, but only if you putt the ball (not e.g. when chipping).

    • Yes. 

    Correct Answer
    A. No. You can always ask for the flagstick to be attended, no matter where the ball lies.
  • 4. 

    What is the penalty for playing from a wrong place?

    • As a starting point it is one penalty stroke in both match play and stroke play. 

    • As a starting point it is two penalty strokes in both match play and stroke play. 

    • As a starting point it is two penalty strokes in stroke play and lost hole in match play. 

    Correct Answer
    A. As a starting point it is two penalty strokes in stroke play and lost hole in match play. 
  • 5. 

    When proceeding under the unplayable ball Rule you substitute the ball, and thus drop (and play) another ball. Is that OK?

    • Yes.

    • No.

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes.
  • 6. 

    There is a pine cone right next to your ball in a bunker. When removing the cone before the stroke, the ball moves a few inches. Do you incur any penalty?

    • No.

    • Yes, one stroke.

    • Yes, two strokes in stroke play (lost hole in match play).

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes, one stroke.
  • 7. 

    Your ball lies out of bounds. Do you incur any penalty for playing it from out of bounds?

    • Yes, you incur a two stroke penalty (stroke to a wrong ball). The stroke counts, and thus you have played three strokes - and must play on with that ball.

    • Yes, you incur a two stroke penalty (stroke to a wrong ball), but the stroke does not count, and thus you have played two strokes. 

    • Yes, you incur a one stroke penalty (stroke to a wrong ball), but the stroke does not count, and thus you have played one stroke. 

    Correct Answer
    A. Yes, you incur a two stroke penalty (stroke to a wrong ball), but the stroke does not count, and thus you have played two strokes. 
    Explanation
    You are not allowed to play on with your ball. You must correct your error before you play from the next teeing area - otherwise you are disqualified.

    You correct your error by either 1) proceeding with a one stroke penalty under the stroke-and-distance option, or 2) proceeding under the Local Rule (if in operation) with a two stroke penalty and drop a ball e.g. on the fairway in accordance with that Local Rule.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 19, 2022
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • May 14, 2019
    Quiz Created by
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement