Welcome to the practice exam!
Just like the real exam, you will get 18 questions, and must have at least 12 correct to pass.
You can take the practice exam as many times as you want (questions are taken random from a database of 45 questions).
After each attempt you can see which answers are right and wrong, and you can see an explanation and a referral to the Rules. Please note, that before (not after) each question in the final summary, you can see if it was wrong or correct.
When you feel ready, you can take the real exam.
Enjoy!
OSWALD ACADEMY
Brian Nygaard Oswald
www. Golfrules. Com - bno@golfrules. Com
Yes.
No, you incur a one stroke penalty.
No, you incur a two stroke penalty (/lost hole).
Rate this question:
3 minutes
5 minutes
10 minutes
Rate this question:
No, no penalty.
Yes, a one stroke penalty.
Yes, a two stroke penalty / lost hole.
Rate this question:
No, you must drop it within one club-length of the pitch-mark, not nearer the hole.
No, you must place it within one club-length of the pitch-mark, not nearer the hole.
Yes.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you have to drop from knee height or higher.
No, you have to drop from knee height or lower.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No.
Rate this question:
Yes, a two stroke penalty (/lost hole).
Yes, a one stroke penalty.
No, you can re-drop without penalty before you make the stroke.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No.
Rate this question:
You have made one stroke and incur one penalty stroke - in all two strokes!
You have made one stroke and don’t incur any penalty - in all one stroke!
You have made two strokes and don’t incur any penalty - in all two strokes!
Rate this question:
The ball is in the hole with a one stroke penalty, so you had a birdie (2)!
The ball is in the hole and no penalty is incurred. Congratulations with a hole in one!
The ball must be replaced without penalty.
The ball must must be replaced with a one stroke penalty.
Rate this question:
No.
Yes, two penalty strokes (/lost hole) for touching the water.
Yes, four penalty strokes (two for touching the water and two for touching the grass) / lost hole.
Rate this question:
Yes, a two stroke penalty in stroke play - you lost the hole in match play.
Yes, a one stroke penalty.
No.
Rate this question:
The length of the specific club you use to measure with.
Always the length of your putter!
Always the length of the longest club in your bag, other than a putter.
Rate this question:
Yes, a two stroke penalty / lost hole.
Yes, a one stroke penalty.
No, no penalty.
Rate this question:
No penalty - it is holed out!
No penalty - you must replace it!
One penalty stroke - it is holed out!
Rate this question:
Yes.
No (only if a Local Rule is introduced).
Rate this question:
Yes, two penalty strokes / lost hole.
Yes, one penalty stroke.
No.
Rate this question:
Yes.
Yes, unless the club/Committee has introduced a Local Rule stating, that there is no penalty.
No.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you incur a one stroke penalty.
No, you incur a two stroke penalty in stroke play - in match play you loose the hole.
Rate this question:
You have made a stroke and must play the ball as it lies (without penalty). The next stroke will be stroke number 6.
You have made a stroke and must play the ball as it lies (with a one stroke penalty). The next stroke will be stroke number 7.
You have not made a stroke. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. The next stroke will be stroke number 5.
You have not made a stroke. However you incur a one stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced. The next stroke will be stroke number 6.
Rate this question:
You must go back to the teeing area, and play stroke 3 from there.
You can either a) go back to the teeing area and play stroke 3 from there or b) drop ahead in accordance with the Local Rule and play stroke 4.
You must invoke the Local Rule and with two penalty strokes drop a ball ahead (thus playing stroke 4).
Rate this question:
You must drop at the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.
You must drop within one club-length of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.
You must drop within two club-lengths of (not nearer the hole than) the spot right behind the “embed-hole”.
Rate this question:
You only have one option: Go back to the place, where you made your last stroke, and play a new ball with a one stroke penalty.
You can choose to either a) go back to the place, where you made your last stroke, and play a new ball with a one stroke penalty, or b) to apply the Local Rule and with two penalty strokes drop a ball e.g. on the fairway.
You only have one option: To drop in accordance with the Local Rule (e.g. on the fairway) with a two stroke penalty.
Rate this question:
Yes!
No!
Rate this question:
Yes, with a two stroke penalty.
Yes, with a one stroke penalty.
No, you must take relief inside the bunker.
Rate this question:
No.
Yes, only you do (two penalty strokes / lost hole).
Yes, only the one attending does (two penalty strokes / lost hole).
Yes, both of you do (two penalty strokes / lost hole)!
Rate this question:
You must play on with the provisional ball (which is now the ball in play).
You can either a) play on with the provisional ball (see 1) or b) pick up the provisional ball and drop a ball ahead with two penalty strokes in accordance with the Local Rule.
You must drop ahead with two penalty strokes in accordance with the Local Rule.
Rate this question:
Yes, it would be perfectly OK!
No, it would not be OK.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, only if it is in a closely-mown area.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you must follow the procedure.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you are only required to do so, if it rolls more than two club-lengths.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you incur a one stroke penalty.
No, you incur a two stroke penalty (match play: Lost hole).
Rate this question:
Amateur Adam has (it is always the one who got most points at the previous hole).
Professional Peter has (it is always the one with the lowest gross score at the previous hole).
There are no Rules about that, so you have to draw lots.
Rate this question:
Yes, you have to.
You don’t have to, but you are allowed to.
No. The ball has to lie on the wrong green for you to take relief without penalty.
Rate this question:
No and no!
You are only allowed to replace it with another club - not to play on with it.
You are only allowed to play on with it - not to replace it with another club.
Yes and yes (it is OK both to replace it with another club and to play on with it).
Rate this question:
No penalty. The ball must be replaced.
One penalty stroke. The ball must be replaced.
No penalty. The ball must be played as it lies.
Rate this question:
No, you must play from the exact same spot, where you last played, so therefore you incur a further one stroke penalty (for playing from a wrong place).
No, you must play from the exact same spot, where you last played, so therefore you incur a further two stroke penalty (match play: lost hole) (for playing from a wrong place).
Yes, it was perfectly OK.
Rate this question:
Yes.
Maybe.
No.
Rate this question:
Two penalty strokes (/ lost hole) - play the ball as it lies.
Two penalty strokes (/ lost hole) - Re-drop.
One penalty stroke. Play the ball as it lies.
One penalty stroke. Re-drop.
No penalty. Play the ball as it lies.
No penalty. Re-drop.
Rate this question:
Yes, a two stroke penalty in stroke play - you lost the hole in match play.
Yes, a one stroke penalty.
No.
Rate this question:
Yes, always!
Yes, but only if your club has introduced this option in a local Rule.
No!
Rate this question:
Yes.
Yes, but only if this option has been introduced in a Local Rule.
No.
Rate this question:
Yes.
No, you incur a one stroke penalty.
No, you incur a two stroke penalty / lost hole.
Rate this question:
Yes (since the club was damaged in the "normal course of play”).
No.
Rate this question:
Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): +
Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.