Mathemaitcs Refresher Exam 2014 1-40

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Images8660
I
Images8660
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 5 | Total Attempts: 2,539
Questions: 40 | Attempts: 179

SettingsSettingsSettings
Math Quizzes & Trivia

With 40 questions, the Mathematics refresher quiz below is set and designed to help you revise and practice on different concepts. With numbers, what matter is how much practice you do, and this quiz offers ideal practice.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    A-2, while airborne, catches a pass from A-1. A-2 throws the ball to the floor and then A-2 returns to the floor and continues the dribble. The official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-15-1/3

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    Thrower-in A-1 passes the ball inbounds to A-2. A-2 passes the ball back to A-1. A-1 catches the ball with-·one foot touching inbounds while the other foot is off the floor, but it remains beliind the boundary line:The official rules A-1 is out of bounds. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    7-1-1, 4-35-2

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    A-1, while chasing the ball during  his/her interrupted dribble, steps on the boundary line. The official rulesa violation onA-1. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-15-6

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    Following a time-out A-1, who is to attempt a one and one, delays outside the semi-circle. The official assesse’ s A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-38, 10-1-5/6, 8-1-2

    Rate this question:

  • 5. 

    During pre-game warm-ups, the official notices that A-1 is wearing a white headband, a white arm sleeve and white long compression pants that extend to the player's ankles. The official rules that A-l  cannot play with the long compression pants. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    3-5-3

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    A-1, throws an elbow, which contacts an opponent above the shoulder. The official rules the contact isexcessive and assesses A- I with a flagrant foul. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-19-3D

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    A held ball was ruled. The possession arrow favors Team A. Prior to the throw-in the head coach of Team A is assessed with a technical foul. The official awards Team B two free throws, awards Team B the ball for a throw-in at the division line and rules team A retains _the alternating possession arrow. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    6-4-5

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    A-1 receives a pass with both feet on the floor. A-1 pivots, establishing his/her right foot as the pivot foot. A-1 steps with the left foot, then lifts the right foot and passes the ball to A-2. The official rules a traveling violation by A-1. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-44-3A

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    Team B is warned for breaking the boundary line plane.  Later in the game, B-5 violates the boundary line plane again. The official issues a second warning. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    10-1-5C

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    A-1 jumps and intercepts a pass. While still airborne, A-1 throws the ball to the floor. A-1 returns to the floor, catches the ball with both hands and begins a dribble. The official rules an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-15-1/3

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    Thrower-in A-I ·loses his/her balance and touches B-1, who is inbounds. The official rules a violation. Is the   1official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    9-2-10 NOTE

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    Team A's jerseys have a manufacturer's logo located near the shoulder seam. The official rules a manufacturer's logo may only be placed within the side seam insert. Is the official correct?            

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    3-4-2A

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    The alternating possession arrow favors Team B but the officials mistakenly award the ball to Team A. Team A commits a throw-in violation. The official awards the ball to Team B and rules Team B will retain thealternating possession arrow. IS the official correct? 
       

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-42-5C, 6-4-4/5 CASEBOOK 6.4.1D PG 52

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    While the ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in following a field goal, Team B commits a common foul. Team A is not in the bonus. The official rules that the foul negates Team As privilege of moving along the end line. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    7-5-7B

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    A-1 is injured and is directed to the bench. The official instructs the timer to start the 20-second clock. As the replacement interval of time begins, B-6 and B-7 report to enter the game. The official denies B-6 and B-7 from entering the game. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    3-3-1C

    Rate this question:

  • 16. 

    A-1 's dribble strikes B-1 's foot causing the ball to bounce away from A-1. A-1 recovers the ball by catching it with both hands and begins to dribble. The official rules an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4.15.4D CASEBOOK

    Rate this question:

  • 17. 

    Team A is in the bonus. A-I is fouled and erroneously awarded \he ball out of bounds. Following the throw­ in, B-1 intercepts a.pass, but fumbles the ball and A-2 recovers it. The error is now recognized. The official awards A-I his/her one and one with no players occupying the free throw lane line spaces and resumes play at the point of interruption. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    2-10-6

    Rate this question:

  • 18. 

    While the ball is at the disposal of A-I for a throw-in, a common foul is assessed to A-2. Team Bis in thebonus. The official rules a team control foul. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-12-2D, 4-19-7

    Rate this question:

  • 19. 

    While the ball is in flight on a pass from A-1 to A-2, a double personal foul is ruled. The official awards the ball back to Team A nearest to where A-1 was last in contact with the ball.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-36-2A, 4-4-3

    Rate this question:

  • 20. 

    While A-l's free throw is in flight, A-2, who is in a marked lane space, enters the lane. The official rules afree throw violation: Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-1-3G

    Rate this question:

  • 21. 

    During A-1 's interrupted  dribble, A-2 requests a time-out. The official grants the request.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-15-6C

    Rate this question:

  • 22. 

    Airborne player A-1 attempts a 3-point field goal. After returning to the floor B-1 fouls A-1. The try is unsuccessful. The official awards A-1 three free throws. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-1-1

    Rate this question:

  • 23. 

    A-l and A-2 are injured on the same play. The coach wants to keep both players in the game. The official·rules Team A will have to request a time-out for each player to keep both in the game. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    3-3-6

    Rate this question:

  • 24. 

    During an interrupted dribble, the official inadvertently sounds the whistle. The official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-36-1/2A

    Rate this question:

  • 25. 

    As the official bounces the ball to A-l for his/her second free throw, B-2 steps into the free throw lane and requests a time-out before A-1 catches the ball. The official denies the request. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    5-8-3B, 4-4-7B

    Rate this question:

  • 26. 

    A-1, during a throw-in, muffs/drops the ball onto the court inbounds. A-1 recovers the ball while still out of bound and releases the ball inbounds. The official rules a violation. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    7-6-2

    Rate this question:

  • 27. 

    A-1, while airborne, taps a pass to the floor, returns to the floor, catches the ball and then begins a dribble. The official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-15-1/3, 4-12-1

    Rate this question:

  • 28. 

    A-1, near a boundary line, jumps and intercepts a pass from B-1. A-1's momentum will cause him/her to land out of bounds. A-1 requests a time-out. The official denies the request. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    5-8-3A

    Rate this question:

  • 29. 

    With three-tenths of a second remaining in the fourth quarter Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds near their basket with Team B leading 50-49. Team A is not in the bonus. A-1 lobs a pass to A-2, who taps the ball toward his/her basket and is fouled before the signal sounds indicating time has expired. The tap is unsuccessful. The official rules A-2 was fouled in the act of tapping and awarded two free throws. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    5-2-5

    Rate this question:

  • 30. 

    A-1 is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt. A-1 has both feet in the frontcourt but continues to dribble the ball in the backcourt. The official continues the ten-second count. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-4-1/6

    Rate this question:

  • 31. 

    During a designated spot throw-in, A-1 muffs/drops the ball which rolls several feet away  A-1 leaves the designated spot, retrieves the ball,   returns to the original throw-in spot and releases the ball prior to the five-second count expiring. The official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-2-1, 7-6-3, 4-42-6

    Rate this question:

  • 32. 

    A-1, prior to dribbling, passes the ball to A-2. A-2 does not see the pass. A-1 runs across the court and recovers the ball with both hands. A-l then begins a 'dribble. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-15-3/4A

    Rate this question:

  • 33. 

    Substitute B-6 enters the court while the live ball is in control of Team A and the clock is running. The officials are unaware that Team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which Team A requests and is granted a time-out. The scorer now informs the officials that Team B had 6 players on the court. The Referee rules the statute of limitations to penalize has expired. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    10-2-2, 10.2.2 CASEBOOK PG 85

    Rate this question:

  • 34. 

    A-1 is attempting a free throw when the official rules disconcertion by B-1. A-1 's free throw fails to contact the ring. The official rules a double violation.  Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    9-1-3C, PEN 4C

    Rate this question:

  • 35. 

    As A-1 starts to drive along the end line, B-1 places both hands on A-1 's hips. The official rules it a hand­ checking foul by B-1. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    10-6-12A

    Rate this question:

  • 36. 

    A common foul is charged to A-1 while A-2 is in control of the ball. The official rules a team control foul.Is the official correct? 

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    A. YES
    Explanation
    4-12-1, 4-19-7

    Rate this question:

  • 37. 

    While A-1 's free throw is in flight, A-2 and B-2 commit a double personal foul followed by a free throw violation by A-2. The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure because neither team was in control. Is· the official correct?                                                                           

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    4-36-2B

    Rate this question:

  • 38. 

    A-1 is fouled and injured on the play. A-6 enters to replace A-1. Prior to A-6 entering the semi-circle to attempt the free throws awarded to A-1, A-7 reports to replaceA-6. The official beckons A-7 into the game. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    8-2

    Rate this question:

  • 39. 

    Jumper A-1 taps the ball which is touched simultaneously by A-2 and B-2 and directly deflected out-of­ bounds. The official rules a jump  ball will take place between any two players.   Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    6-4 NOTE

    Rate this question:

  • 40. 

    A-1 is fouled as the signal sounds indicating that time for the fourth quarter has expired. Team B is leading 60-59. Team A is in the bonus. Before A-1 attempts the first free throw, Team B requests and is granted a time-out. The first free throw is successful. Prior to attempting the second free throw, Team B requests another time-out. The official grants the request, ruling that the ball became live between the first request and second request. Is the official correct?

    • A.

      YES

    • B.

      NO

    Correct Answer
    B. NO
    Explanation
    5.11.7 CASEBOOK

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 18, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Oct 27, 2014
    Quiz Created by
    Images8660
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.