Football Qualification Questions #2

10 Questions | Total Attempts: 30

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Qualification Quizzes & Trivia

The ten questions are from last year's qualification test. Good chance to review.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    With 9:42 left in the first quarter, the umpire stops the game clock because A1 is bleeding. Team A requests and is granted a charged timeout. During the timeout, A1 receives medical treatment, his bleeding stops and the wound is properly covered with a legal bandage.
    • A. 

      A1 must leave the field for at least one play.

    • B. 

      A1 need not leave the game.

    • C. 

      The officials erred by granting a charged timeout.

  • 2. 
    Before the ready for play on a try, team K requests that the ball be placed at the left hashmark. The kick is unsuccessful beyond the endline. While the kick is in flight, R1 is flagged for holding. Team K accepts the penalty and requests that the ball be placed in between the hashmarks.
    • A. 

      The request is granted

    • B. 

      The request is denied.

  • 3. 
    K1 punts from Team R48 yardline. R2 catches the kick on the three yardline and his original momentum carries him back into his end zone, where he slips and falls to the ground.
    • A. 

      That's a safety

    • B. 

      That's a touchback

    • C. 

      The momentum exception applies; it will be team R's ball on its own three yardline.

  • 4. 
    First and 10 for team A from its own 20 yardline. A1 is under a heavy rush and throws a backward pass intended for A2. Before the ball reaches A2, B3 bats the ball toward A's goalline.
    • A. 

      Legal play

    • B. 

      Illegal batting by B3

  • 5. 
    A1's legal forward pass is intended for A2, who is beyond the neutral zone. A2 attempts the catch, but only manages to deflect the ball high into the air. While the muffed ball is in the air, ineligible A3 blocks B4, preventing an interception.
    • A. 

      No problem

    • B. 

      Pass interference on A3.

    • C. 

      Illegal use of hands on A3.

  • 6. 
    A1 and B2 are on their respective lines and in the free-blocking zone at the snap. Immediately at the snap, A1 blocks B2 above the waist. The contact causes both players to stop. A1 immediately continues his charge and blocks B2 below the waist. The ball was in the zone the entire time.
    • A. 

      Foul for blocking below the waist.

    • B. 

      Legal only if the free-blocking zone has not disintegrated.

    • C. 

      Legal.

  • 7. 
    The linesman notices team A's head coach is chewing tobacco.
    • A. 

      The coach is immediately ejected.

    • B. 

      The coach is penalized for unsportsmanlike conduct.

  • 8. 
    During the dead-ball interval between downs, quarterback A1 and safety B2 go to their respective sidelines to receive instructions. All coaches remain in their team boxes and the players remain on their respective sides of the neutral zone and on the field
    • A. 

      Each team is guilty of an illegal conference.

    • B. 

      Legal.

  • 9. 
    If a team commits an obviously unfair act not specifically covered by the rules, the referee may enforce any penalty but may not award a score.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    B1 intercepts A2's legal forward pass at his own one yardline and advances to his four yardline and fumbles. B3 recovers the fumble, but his momentum takes him into his end zone, where he is downed.
    • A. 

      The momentum exception applies;team B's ball at its own four yardline.

    • B. 

      Touchback; team B's ball at its own 20 yardline.

    • C. 

      Safety; team A scores two points.

Back to Top Back to top