Football Classification Questions #4

10 Questions | Total Attempts: 36

SettingsSettingsSettings
Football Quizzes & Trivia

This is the fourth test in a series of the football classification questions.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    The punter wants to use a specific "kicking ball" on fourth down.
    • A. 

      The officials should honor the request.

    • B. 

      The officials should deny the request.

  • 2. 
    When team A is using a hurry-up offense, the umpire should always spot the ball.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    After trys and successful field goals, what is the procedure for getting a ball for the ensuing kickoff?
    • A. 

      The back judge takes the ball that the ball person of the scoring team left behind the goalpost.

    • B. 

      The flank official on the sideline of the scoring team gets a ball from a ball person and relays it to the back judge.

    • C. 

      The back judge will need to get a ball from the ball person of the scoring team.

  • 4. 
    Which of the following spots is not to be marked with a beanbag?
    • A. 

      The spot of first touching.

    • B. 

      The spot where a scrimmage kick ends.

    • C. 

      The spot were team B intercepts a forward pass (assuming the momentum exception does not apply).

  • 5. 
    The referee should give a preliminary signal after every foul, even if it is obvious the penalty will be accepted.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 6. 
    A1's run results in a touchdown, but A2 is flagged for holding at the line of scrimmage.
    • A. 

      The choice is obvious; the referee need not ask team B if it wishes to accept the penalty.

    • B. 

      Even though the choice is obvious; the referee must ask team B if it wishes to accept the penalty.

  • 7. 
    Team A's timeout request is granted. It is team A's third charged timeout of the half. The referee must indicate the timeout by pointing both arms in team A's direction. Also the referee must personally inform team A's head coach that the timeout is his team's final timeout of the half.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 8. 
    When the ball is snapped between team B's 10 and five yardline, the flank officials should:
    • A. 

      Move immediately to the goalline at the snap.

    • B. 

      Stay even with the ball.

    • C. 

      Trail the play.

  • 9. 
    The back judge throws his flag for a live-ball foul. The line judge, who has shared coverage responsibility on the play, did not see a foul. The line judge:
    • A. 

      Should throw his flag anyway; two flags lends credibility to the call.

    • B. 

      Should wait until the play is over, find out what the judge saw, then throw his flag.

    • C. 

      Should not throw his flag, but discuss what he saw with the back judge.

  • 10. 
    It is acceptable for the umpire to rule on a loose ball in the end zone that is recovered by either team without checking with the flank officials.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

Back to Top Back to top