Florida CDL Practice Test (As Of June 2011)

21 Questions | Total Attempts: 236

SettingsSettingsSettings
CDL Quizzes & Trivia

Practice for your Florida CDLA, This is test is based upon the Florida June 2011 CDL Handbook. Covers all sections of DMV Handbook except for "Bus Driver", and "Passenger-Transport" Specific Questions.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:   Q. It is illegal to operate a CMV if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is:
    • A. 

      .02 or more

    • B. 

      .06 or more

    • C. 

      .04 or more

    • D. 

      .05 or more

  • 2. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:    Q. You will not lose your CDL for atleast one year for a first offense for:
    • A. 

      Refusing to undergo breath or blood alcohol testing wether in CMV or in personal vehicle.

    • B. 

      Using a CMV to commit a felony involving controlled substances.

    • C. 

      Leaving the Scene of an accident.

    • D. 

      Causing a fatality through negligent operation of CMV.

  • 3. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications: Q. An "Out-Of-Service Order" is issued to a CMV operator when:
    • A. 

      The CMV Cargo Doors are not properly secured with a key lock.

    • B. 

      When the trucking company does not supply the proper load-plan documentation.

    • C. 

      A CMV is carrying an empty load and the CMV gross vehicle weight rating(GVWR) is less than 26,001 lbs.

    • D. 

      A finding that a regulatory violation poses an imminent hazard to public safety.

  • 4. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:   Q. It is good practice to stop and check that tracks are clear at all railroad-highway grade crossings while operating a CMV.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 5. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications: Q. Any driver who is issued an out-of-service order under the federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations of the United States Department of Transportation (49 C.F.R. 392.5) shall report the issuance to his or her employer within:
    • A. 

      24 hours

    • B. 

      48 hours

    • C. 

      72 hours

    • D. 

      30 days from the issued date listed on the violatioin order.

  • 6. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications: Q. For a Railroad-highway Grade Crossing Violation you will lose your CDL:
    • A. 

      For at least 60 days for your first violation For at least 180 days for your second violation. For at least one year for your third violation within a two year period.

    • B. 

      For at least 30 days for your first violation For at least 120 days for your second violation. For at least one year for your fith violation within a three year period.

    • C. 

      For at least 60 days for your first violation. For at least 120 days for your second violation. For at least one year for your third violation within a three year period.

    • D. 

      For at least 30 days for your first violation For at least 120 days for your second violation. For at least 3 years for your third violation within a three year period.

  • 7. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:   Q. Florida CDL's with a hazardous materials endorsement are issued for a period of:
    • A. 

      6 years and may be renewed up to 1 year before they expire.

    • B. 

      4 years and may be renewed up to 1 year before they expire.

    • C. 

      2 years and may be renewed up to 180 days before they expire.

    • D. 

      They don't expire until your CDL expires.

  • 8. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:     Q. You may be allowed to transport hazardous materials without the hazardous materials endorsement as long as the trucking company issues out a properly filed "Commercial Driver Hazmat Waver"(CDHW), which allows the CMV operator to expedite the hazmat endorsements for specific and demanding hazardous transport of probable cause. This documentation MUST remain in the drivers side door at all times.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:     Q. You cannot have more than ________ licenses. If you break this rule, a court may fine you up to $5,000 or put you in jail and keep your home state license and return any others.  
  • 10. 
    Subsection 1.2 - Driver Disqualifications:     Q. You must give your employer information on all driving jobs you have held for the past ______ years. You must do this when you apply for a commercial driving job.
  • 11. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. ______ is the most important reason you inspect your vehicle, ______ for yourself and for other road users.
  • 12. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. For safety: Which primary type of vehicle inspection requires the following items to be monitored?  
    • Watch gauges for signs of trouble.
    • Use your senses to check for problems (look, listen, smell, feel).
    • Check critical items when you stop:
      • Tires, wheels and rims.
      • Brakes.
      • Lights and reflectors.
      • Brake and electrical connections to trailer.
      • Trailer coupling devices.
      • Cargo securement devices.
    • A. 

      Pre-trip

    • B. 

      During

    • C. 

      After

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 13. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection : Q. The following are key steering system parts
    • A. 

      Tie Rod

    • B. 

      Torque Rod

    • C. 

      Bellows

    • D. 

      Hydraulic Fluid Reservoir

    • E. 

      Axle

    • F. 

      Drag Link

  • 14. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection : Q. The following are considered which type of system defects:
    • Cracked or broken Spring hangers
    • Missing or broken leave in any leaf spring. If one-fourth or more are missing, it will put the vehicle "out of service", but any defect could be dangerous.
    • Any loose, cracked, broken or missing frame members
    • A. 

      Steering

    • B. 

      Suspension

    • C. 

      Exhaust

  • 15. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. What three kinds of emergency equipment must you have?
    • A. 

      Chains

    • B. 

      Cellular device(for making an emergancy phone call)

    • C. 

      Three red reflective triangles

    • D. 

      First-aid kit

    • E. 

      Properly charged and rated fire extinguisher.

    • F. 

      Spare electrical fuses (unless vehicle has circuit breaker).

    • G. 

      Accident reporting kit(packet)

    • H. 

      Tire changing equipment

  • 16. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. What is the minimum tread depth for front tires? For other tires?
    • A. 

      You need at least 3/32-inch tread depth in every major groove on front tires, and 2/32 inch on all other tires.

    • B. 

      You need at least 4/30-inch tread depth in every major groove on front tires, and 2/32 inch on all other tires.

    • C. 

      You need at least 4/32-inch tread depth in every major groove on front tires, and 2/32 inch on all other tires.

    • D. 

      You need at least 2/32-inch tread depth in every major groove on front tires, and 3/32 inch on all other tires.

  • 17. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: The following are things that you should check on the front of your vehicle during the walkaround inspection. Condition of visible parts.
    • Rear of engine--not leaking.
    • Transmission--not leaking.
    • Exhaust system--secure, not leaking, not touching wires, fuel, or air lines.
    • Frame and cross members--no bends or cracks.
    • Air lines and electrical wiring--secured against snagging, rubbing, wearing.
    • Spare tire carrier or rack not damaged (if so equipped).
    • Spare tire and/or wheel securely mounted in rack.
    • Spare tire and wheel adequate (proper size, properly inflated).
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. When inspecting wheel bearing seals it is important to look for _______?
  • 19. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. How many red reflective triangles should you carry?
    • A. 

      1

    • B. 

      2

    • C. 

      3

    • D. 

      4

  • 20. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. If the vehicle has hydraulic brakes you must test them by pumping the break pedal _____ times. Then apply firm pressure to the pedal and hold for ____ seconds. The pedal should not move, if it does, there may be a leak or other problem.
    • A. 

      5,3

    • B. 

      8,5

    • C. 

      5,10

    • D. 

      3,5

  • 21. 
    Subsection 2.1 - Vehicle Inspection: Q. What is the main reason for putting the starter switch key in your pocket during the pre-trip inspection?
    • A. 

      So that you won't misplace it.

    • B. 

      You know the engine is off.

    • C. 

      To minimize chances of being a victim of a hi-jacker or theif.

    • D. 

      To unlock side compartments and supplemental battery storage during an inspection.

    • E. 

      A starter switch key can double as a gauge when checking tires for proper tread depth in your tires.

Back to Top Back to top