Alra Level 1 (Club Referee) Exam 2015

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Greenie5
G
Greenie5
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 417
| Attempts: 199 | Questions: 63
Please wait...
Question 1 / 63
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. Mouth guards must be worn by all players in all under age games.

Explanation

Mouth guards are a safety measure designed to protect players from dental and facial injuries during sports activities. The statement states that all players in all under age games must wear mouth guards, indicating that it is mandatory for their safety. Therefore, the correct answer is "True."

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Alra Level 1 (Club Referee) Exam 2015 - Quiz

'>This exam is to be undertaken by those wishing to be accredited as a Level 1 (Club) Men's Lacrosse Referee for the 2015 & 2016 seasons.
Marked out... see moreof 100, a 60% (60/100) mark is required for accreditation. see less

2. In U13 and U15 games, a player may body check an opponent (from the front or the side, above the hip and below the neck), if the opponent has possession of the ball.In U13 and U15 games,possession is interpreted as being in the carrying position.

Explanation

In U13 and U15 games, players are allowed to body check opponents if the opponent has possession of the ball. Possession is defined as being in the carrying position. This means that players can legally make contact with opponents above the hip and below the neck from the front or side. Therefore, the statement "True" is correct.

Submit
3. A team, is ready to start the game with ten players, but none of them are equipped to play in goals. What is your call? 

Explanation

The correct answer states that the team cannot play if they do not have a properly equipped goalkeeper. This means that in order to start the game, the team must have a player designated as a goalkeeper who has the necessary equipment to play in that position. Without a goalkeeper, the team cannot begin the game. This answer is the most logical and aligns with the rules and requirements of the game.

Submit
4. In U15 a player, with only one hand on his crosse, checks his opponents crosse.PERSONAL FOUL

Explanation

In U15 lacrosse, it is considered a personal foul if a player checks their opponent's crosse while only having one hand on their own crosse. This rule is in place to ensure fair play and prevent any potential dangerous or unfair advantage that could be gained by using only one hand. By checking the opponent's crosse with only one hand on their own crosse, the player is violating the rules and committing a personal foul. Therefore, the correct answer is true.

Submit
5. During the home and away season, U13 and U15 teams are allowed more than 16 players; but in finals are restricted to a maximum of 16.

Explanation

During the home and away season, U13 and U15 teams are allowed to have more than 16 players. However, in the finals, these teams are restricted to a maximum of 16 players. This means that during the regular season, the teams have the flexibility to have more players on their roster, but once the finals begin, they must adhere to the maximum limit of 16 players. Therefore, the statement "True" accurately reflects this rule.

Submit
6. What equipment, in addition to that required by all players, is the Goalkeeper required to wear?

Explanation

The goalkeeper is required to wear additional equipment in addition to what all players wear. This includes a throat guard, chest protector, and a box/cup. These additional pieces of equipment are necessary to protect the goalkeeper from potential injuries during the game.

Submit
7. The ball is on the ground in the crease, rolling toward the goal line. The Goalkeeper, also in the crease, dives at the ball and knocks it away from the goal and out of the crease with his hand. What is your call?

Explanation

The goalkeeper's action of diving at the ball and knocking it away from the goal and out of the crease with his hand is considered a legal play. In soccer, the goalkeeper is allowed to use their hands within their own penalty area, which includes the crease. As long as the goalkeeper is within their penalty area and does not commit any other fouls, such as handling the ball outside the penalty area or fouling an opponent, it is a legal play. Therefore, the correct call in this situation is "Legal play."

Submit
8. A Goalkeeper is ready to start the game. He is wearing all the required equipment. He is also wearing hockey pants. As this is the first time you have noticed it, what is your call?

Explanation

No call, hockey pants are legal.

Submit
9. The Red team is ready to start the game. You observe some of the players are wearing red shorts, some grey and others black. All these colours are in their uniform. What is your call? 

Explanation

In this situation, the correct answer is that the team must all wear shorts of the same dominant color, but there is no penalty for not conforming. This means that while it is preferred for all players to wear shorts of the same color, it is not mandatory and there will be no consequences if they do not. As long as all the colors (red, grey, and black) are part of their uniform, it is considered legal. The opposition coach would have to specifically ask for a call or penalty for this situation to be addressed.

Submit
10. Red # 6 shoots at goal. Red # 3 deflects the ball into the goal with a free hand that is not holding his crosse. What is your call? 

Explanation

The correct answer is "No goal." According to the given scenario, Red #3 used his free hand to deflect the ball into the goal. In lacrosse, players are not allowed to use their hands to score a goal, except for the player who is holding the crosse. Therefore, since Red #3 used his free hand to score the goal, it is considered a violation of the rules, and the goal does not count.

Submit
11. You are setting up for a face-off. Which of the following needs to happen for the face -off position to be legal? 

Explanation

For the face-off position to be legal, the sticks cannot touch the 4 inch wide centre line. Additionally, both hands must be wrapped around the handle of the crosse, and both the hands and the feet must be to the left of the throat of the crosse and on the defensive side of the centre line. Lastly, the helmeted head of the players must be to the left of the throat of the crosse.

Submit
12. During the play, the ball carrier has his crosse checked from his hands. When it falls to ground the ball is still in it. What is your call?

Explanation

If the ball carrier's crosse is checked from his hands and the ball falls to the ground but remains in the crosse, the correct call is to withhold the ball and blow the whistle immediately. This means that the play should be stopped and possession of the ball should be awarded to the opposing team. The immediate whistle is necessary to ensure fair play and prevent any further action from taking place.

Submit
13. Blue is attacking and the ball is on the way to goal. A Blue player hits the ball with his hand that is holding his crosse. The ball goes into the goal. What is your call?

Explanation

The correct answer is Goal. In lacrosse, a goal is awarded when the ball is legally propelled into the opponent's goal. Although the Blue player used his hand to hit the ball, as long as he was holding his crosse (lacrosse stick) and not using his hand directly, it is considered a legal play. Therefore, the goal counts.

Submit
14. During a face-off the Red face-off man uses his fingers to touch or pick up the ball. What is your call? 

Explanation

The correct answer is "Personal foul. Red serves a penalty for Unsportsmanlike conduct, award the ball to Blue." This is because during a face-off, players are not allowed to use their fingers to touch or pick up the ball unless their hand is around the crosse. If the Red face-off man used his fingers without having his hand around the crosse, it would be considered a personal foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. As a result, possession of the ball would be awarded to the Blue team.

Submit
15. Red # 6 shoots on goal, it is deflected into the goal by a Blue player. Red # 3 is the closest Red player to the goal, Red # 7 is the in-home, he's sat on the bench. To whom is the goal credited? 

Explanation

The goal is credited to Red 7 because even though Red 6 initially shot the ball, it was deflected into the goal by a Blue player. Red 7 is the in-home player, which means he is responsible for defending the goal while sitting on the bench. Since the ball went into the goal as a result of the deflection, Red 7 is credited with the goal.

Submit
16. A free play cannot take place within 5 yards (4.57m) of the gate.  

Explanation

A free play cannot take place within 5 yards (4.57m) of the gate because it would give the attacking team an unfair advantage. Being too close to the gate would make it easier for the attacking team to score a goal, as they would have a shorter distance to cover. Therefore, to ensure fairness, free plays must take place at least 5 yards away from the gate.

Submit
17. The legal inside measurement of the head of a players stick at its widest point is 6 inches to 10 inches.  

Explanation

The statement is true because according to the rules of the game, the legal inside measurement of the head of a player's stick at its widest point is indeed 6 inches to 10 inches. This means that the width of the stick's head should fall within this range in order for it to be considered legal during gameplay.

Submit
18. The maximum length of a short stick is 42 inches (106.68cm).

Explanation

The statement is stating that the maximum length of a short stick is 42 inches (106.68cm). This means that any short stick cannot exceed a length of 42 inches. Since this statement is factual and does not contain any false information, the correct answer is True.

Submit
19. The minimum length of a long stick is 52 inches (132.08cm).

Explanation

The statement states that the minimum length of a long stick is 52 inches (132.08cm). This means that any long stick must have a length of at least 52 inches or 132.08cm. Therefore, the statement is true.

Submit
20. Q. The Blue goalie has both his feet in his own crease. He covers the ball with his stick, which is outside the crease, and is about to pick up the ball. A Red attacker checks the part of the Blue goalies stick that is outside the crease. The ball is still under the Blue goalies stick, outside the crease.  A. A LEGAL PLAY BY THE RED ATTACKER

Explanation

In ice hockey, a goalie is allowed to cover the ball with their stick outside the crease as long as their feet are inside the crease. The Red attacker checking the part of the Blue goalie's stick that is outside the crease is a legal play because the ball is still under the Blue goalie's stick.

Submit
21. Q. Blue #5, not the goalie, has both his feet in his defensive crease.  The ball is inside the crease.  Blue #5 covers the ball with his stick and is about to pick up the ball.  Red #6 checks the stick of Blue #5. The ball is still under the stick of Blue #5, inside the crease.  A. A LEGAL PLAY BY THE RED ATTACKER   

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
22. Q. Red is attacking and a flag is thrown. Red takes a shot and the ball hits the post. The ball bounces out and hits a Blue defender, not the goalie, who is standing inside the crease. The ball enters the goal. A. GOAL  

Explanation

In ice hockey, if a shot hits the goalpost and then hits a defending player before entering the goal, it is considered a goal. The fact that the Blue defender was standing inside the crease does not matter in this situation. Therefore, the correct answer is True.

Submit
23. Q. A flag is down and Red takes a shot on the Blue goal net.The Goalkeeper partially stops the shot but the ball hits the ground and rolls over the goal line.The referee signals a goal but the Blue Coach protests claiming the flag was down and play ends when the shot is taken.  A. GOAL. AS THE BALL DID NOT HIT ANY OTHER PLAYER OUTSIDE THE CREASE AFTER THE GOALKEEPER MADE HIS STOP, THE GOAL IS LEGAL. 

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that according to the rules of the game, if the ball does not touch any other player outside the crease after the goalkeeper partially stops the shot, the goal is considered legal. In this scenario, the ball hits the ground and rolls over the goal line without touching any other player, so the referee correctly signals a goal. The fact that the flag was down and play ends when the shot is taken does not affect the legality of the goal. Therefore, the answer is true.

Submit
24. Q. The Red goalie comes out of his crease to play a loose ball.  The ball becomes stuck in the goalies stick.  He is still OUTSIDE his crease.  A. RED BALL 20 YARDS (18.29M) LATERALLY FROM THE CAGE.     

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
25. Q. At a centre face-off, the Red face-off man has his right foot to the right of the throat of his stick.  A. TECHNICAL FOUL BY THE RED FACE-OFF MAN.  

Explanation

The given statement is true. In ice hockey, during a center face-off, the face-off man from the Red team is required to have his right foot to the right of the throat of his stick. Failing to do so would result in a technical foul by the Red face-off man.

Submit
26. Q. At a centre face-off, there is no Red player in the penalty box, but Red only has 9 men on the field of play.  A. TECHNICAL FOUL BY RED.   

Explanation

The given answer, "False," is incorrect because the statement in the question implies that there is a technical foul by the Red team. A technical foul occurs when a team does not have the correct number of players on the field of play. In this case, the Red team only has 9 men on the field, which is less than the required number. Therefore, the correct answer should be "True" to indicate that there is a technical foul by the Red team.

Submit
27. Q. After a centre face-off, a loose ball technical foul is committed by Red, before "Possession or Free Ball" is called.  The ball is awarded to Blue in their defensive half.  Red #5, an attack player, moves into the "central zone", to ride the Blue player.  A. TECHNICAL FOUL BY RED 

Explanation

After a loose ball technical foul is committed by Red before "Possession or Free Ball" is called, the ball is awarded to Blue in their defensive half. Red #5, an attack player, moves into the "central zone" to ride the Blue player. Therefore, the statement "TECHNICAL FOUL BY RED" is true.

Submit
28. Q. As Blue are clearing the ball, a Red player realising he is about to go Offside runs out of bounds.  The Red player immediately returns to his side of the centerline.  A. TECHNICAL FOUL BY RED.   

Explanation

The given statement is false. There is no technical foul committed by the Red player in this situation. The Red player runs out of bounds to avoid being offside, which is a common tactic used by players in soccer. As long as the Red player immediately returns to his side of the centerline, there is no foul committed.

Submit
29. Q. The ball is dead.  Red.has a time-out left.  Red's Assistant Coach requests a time-out.  A. RED'S REQUEST IS LEGAL.

Explanation

The explanation for the correct answer "True" is that according to the given information, the ball is dead and Red still has a time-out left. Therefore, Red's Assistant Coach requesting a time-out is legal because they have a time-out remaining.

Submit
30. Q. The Red goalie is in possession of the ball in his own crease.  As he brings his stick back to clear, the ball completely crosses the plane of the goal.  A. THE GOAL COUNTS  

Explanation

The goalie is considered to be in possession of the ball in his own crease. When he brings his stick back to clear, if the ball completely crosses the plane of the goal, it is considered a goal. Therefore, the goal counts.

Submit
31. Q. A Red shot has gone out of bounds directly behind the Blue goal.  A. THE BALL IS PUT BACK INTO PLAY DIRECTLY BEHIND THE BLUE GOAL, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS FEWER THAN 20 YARDS (18.29M) FROM THE CAGE.     

Explanation

The explanation for the given correct answer is that according to the rules of the game, when a shot goes out of bounds behind the opponent's goal, the ball is put back into play directly behind the goal, regardless of the distance from the goal. Therefore, it is true that the ball is put back into play directly behind the Blue goal, even if it is fewer than 20 yards from the goal.

Submit
32. Q. A shot misses the goal and is rolling towards the end-line, behind the goal. Blue #5 tries to pick it up, but the ball goes out of bounds of his crosse.  A. THE BALL IS AWARDED TO THE NEAREST IN-BOUNDS PLAYER.   

Explanation

When the ball goes out of bounds, it is awarded to the nearest in-bounds player. In this scenario, Blue #5 tries to pick up the ball but it goes out of bounds of his crosse. Therefore, the ball would be awarded to the nearest in-bounds player, making the statement true.

Submit
33. Q. Blue attacking.  Red #5 goes off-side.  Realising his mistake, Red #5 goes back on side.  A flag is thrown.  Red #5 then drops back into defence, thus going off-side again.  Blue fail to score.  A. RED #5 SERVES 2 TECHNICAL PENALTIES FOR BEING OFF-SIDE TWICE IN THE SAME PLAY. 

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
34. Q. Blue #5 slashes and a flag is thrown.  Blue #5 then holds and a second flag is thrown.  Red fail to score and Blue #5 is sent off for 90 seconds.  Red score 15 seconds into Blue #5's penalties.  A. Provided the penalties are reported in the correct order, BLUE #5 HAS 45 SECONDS LEFT TO SERVE AFTER THE GOAL IS SCORED.   

Explanation

Based on the given information, Blue #5 is sent off for 90 seconds after the second flag is thrown. Red scores 15 seconds into Blue #5's penalties. Therefore, Blue #5 has 45 seconds left to serve after the goal is scored.

Submit
35. Prior to the game where on the field can a team can warm up?

Explanation

Teams can warm up in the half of the field that is closer to their own bench. This means that they can warm up in their own defensive half and midfield zones, but not in their opponent's attack goal area.

Submit
36. During a requested stick check the Referee finds that the hollow aluminium handle has a beer cap covering the end. The correct call is?

Explanation

The correct call is a technical foul as the use of a metal cap is prohibited. This is because using a metal cap on the hollow aluminium handle is against the rules. The use of such a cap can potentially cause harm or injury to other players during the game. Therefore, the referee should penalize the player for this violation by calling a technical foul.

Submit
37. Blue #6 is one-on-one with the Red goalie. The Red goalie is IN his crease.  Blue #6's shot is saved by the Red goalie but the ball becomes caught in the Red goalie's glove.  The Red goalie is still INSIDE his crease.

Explanation

The correct answer is "Immediate whistle. Red ball, 18 metres laterally from the goal." This is because when the Red goalie catches the ball in his glove while still inside his crease, it results in an immediate whistle. The ball is then placed 18 meters laterally from the goal for a face-off.

Submit
38. A Blue defender, not the goalie, is INSIDE his own crease.  He picks up the ball and the count begins.  A Red attacker checks the Blue defender's stick.The Blue defender retains possession of the ball.

Explanation

Based on the provided scenario, the Blue defender, who is inside his own crease, picks up the ball and the count begins. Although the Red attacker checks the Blue defender's stick, the Blue defender retains possession of the ball. Since there is no violation or foul committed by either player, the correct action is to do nothing. No penalty or change in possession is warranted in this situation.

Submit
39. The referee calls for a Face off other than in the centre, the Referee shall?

Explanation

When the referee calls for a face off other than in the center, they will stop the clock on the whistle that stops play. After stopping the clock, they will then proceed to set up the face off. This ensures that the game time is paused while the face off is being prepared, and play can resume once everything is in order.

Submit
40. The Red goalie has chased a loose ball behind his goal.He drops his stick and a Blue player gains possession of the ball.  The Red goalie, OUTSIDE his crease and still without his stick, saves a shot with his body.  Blue picks up the subsequent loose ball.

Explanation

The correct answer is "Immediate whistle" because according to the given scenario, the Red goalie is outside his crease and without his stick, which is against the rules. The goalie is not allowed to make a save without his stick, and this action should result in an immediate whistle to stop the play.

Submit
41. A shot deflects off Blue #14 helmet, changes direction and enters the Red goal.  Blue #14 is credited with the goal. Before the restart of play the Red Head coach asks for a measurement of Blue #14's stick. Upon inspection it is too short, and thus illegal.             What is the call?

Explanation

The correct answer is "No goal and Blue #14 serves a 3min penalty for trick construction." The reason for this is that the shot deflected off Blue #14's helmet and not his stick, so the goal does not count. Additionally, Blue #14's stick is found to be too short and thus illegal, resulting in a penalty for trick construction.

Submit
42. While standing INSIDE his crease the Red goalie has dropped his stick.   Blue have a shot that goes wide.   The Red goalie is still INSIDE his crease and still without his stick as the shot goes out-of-bounds.   The Red goalie is the nearest inbounds player to the ball as it goes out-of-bounds.

Explanation

In this scenario, the Red goalie is the nearest inbounds player to the ball as it goes out-of-bounds. According to the given information, the goalie is still inside his crease and without his stick when the shot goes out-of-bounds. Since the goalie is not counted as the nearest inbounds player, the ball is awarded to the Red team, making it a red ball.

Submit
43. Red have been warned to "Get it in", but they have not yet done so.   Red immediately loose possession to Blue, but Red then regains possession of the ball.                                         

Explanation

The correct answer is "The stalling warning is over." This is because the question states that Red has been warned to "Get it in" but they have not yet done so. However, Red then regains possession of the ball. This implies that Red has successfully avoided stalling and the stalling warning is now over.

Submit
44. Red have possession in the attack goal area, having been warned to "Get it in" or to "Keep it in". The man in possession is legally forced out of the attack goal area, so that he steps over the goal area line into the midfield zone..

Explanation

The correct answer is "Whistle. The ball is awarded to Blue." This is because the man in possession of the ball has stepped over the goal area line into the midfield zone, which is a violation of the rules. As a result, the ball is awarded to the opposing team, which in this case is Blue.

Submit
45. Red has the ball deep and settled in their attack zone behind the Blue goal.The CBO see Blue attacker #14 violently slash Red defender #7 some 50 metres behind play at the other end of the field.The CBO is the only one on the crew who sees this act.The CBO shall: 

Explanation

The correct answer is to throw the Signal Flag and when appropriate blow his whistle, inform the Head Referee what happened and apply the suitable penalty. In this scenario, the CBO witnesses a violent slash by a Blue attacker on a Red defender, even though it occurred away from the play. As per their responsibilities, the CBO should take immediate action by throwing the Signal Flag and blowing the whistle to draw the attention of the Head Referee. They should inform the Head Referee about the incident and apply the appropriate penalty to address the foul committed by the Blue attacker.

Submit
46. You are on the Single-side.   Red has a man in the penalty box.   Blue are at full-strength.   Red has possession in the "central zone" and is trying to run the clock down.  Another referee tells Red to "Get it in". What do you do?

Explanation

not-available-via-ai

Submit
47. Blue is attacking and a flag is down for a personal foul by Red.   A Blue player then commits a crease offence.  Play is suspended when the crease offence is committed. What next?

Explanation

When a Blue player commits a crease offense, it results in both players serving penalty time. However, since the initial foul by Red is also present, the two fouls cancel each other out. As a result, no penalty time is served by either team. The possession of the ball remains with the Blue team.

Submit
48. An Expulsion Foul has been applied to a player on the field.Who takes the Penalty time?

Explanation

The correct answer is "The In Home." In a game, when an expulsion foul is applied to a player on the field, the penalty time is usually served by the In Home player. The In Home player is typically responsible for serving penalties and is chosen by the team to take the penalty time on behalf of the offending player.

Submit
49. A Blue player is in the penalty box. Blue then gain possession of the ball. Red commits a foul, and a flag is thrown. The period ends.

Explanation

The next period starts with a face-off because the period ended after the foul was committed and the possession of the ball was not determined. A face-off is a common way to determine possession at the start of a period or after a goal is scored.

Submit
50. A Blue player breaks legally over the centre line and two Red players go off-side whilst chasing him. A flag is thrown.   Blue shoots and scores.    

Explanation

When a Blue player breaks legally over the centre line and two Red players go off-side while chasing him, a flag is thrown. However, the Blue team manages to shoot and score a goal. In this situation, both penalties (the off-side penalties for the Red players) are cancelled by the goal. As a result, the game will resume with a face-off.

Submit
51. A Red player is serving a 30 second penalty for a Technical Foul. Blue scores. Before the restart of the play it comes to the Referees attention that the Red player had re-entered the play before the expiration of his penalty and that it was the players fault. What is your decision?

Explanation

The correct decision is that the goal counts and the remainder of the time is wiped out and no further foul is assessed. This means that even though the Red player re-entered the play before the expiration of his penalty, it is determined to be the player's fault. As a result, the goal is still counted, but the remaining time of the penalty is erased and no additional foul is given.

Submit
52. A Blue player is trying to prevent himself from going off-side.   He keeps both his feet in the required half of the field, but falls over the centre line. His gloved hands, both of which are still wrapped round the shaft of his stick, touch the other half of the field.  

Explanation

The player is considered off-side because even though his feet are in the required half of the field, his hands, which are still wrapped around the shaft of his stick, touch the other half of the field. In lacrosse, the player is considered off-side if any part of their body touches the opposing team's half of the field while the ball is in play. Therefore, the player's hands touching the other half of the field makes him off-side.

Submit
53. A Blue player has been sent to the Penalty Box.Red scores whilst the Blue player is in the Penalty Box.After the goal and before the play has restarted, you as the Head Referee realize that the Blue player should not have been sent off. What is your decision?

Explanation

If the Blue player should not have been sent off to the Penalty Box, it means that the penalty was wrongly given. Therefore, the goal scored by the Red team while the Blue player was in the Penalty Box should not count. The correct decision is to nullify the goal and release the Blue player from the Penalty Box. Hence, the answer is "No Goal. Player is released from the Penalty Box."

Submit
54. An Expulsion Foul has been applied to the Coach, non-playing member of the Squad or someone officially connected with the team. Who takes the Penalty Time?

Explanation

When an Expulsion Foul is applied to the Coach, non-playing member of the Squad, or someone officially connected with the team, the Penalty Time is taken in Home. This means that the person who has been expelled must leave the playing area and go to a designated area, usually the team's bench or a specific location near the field. They are not allowed to participate in the game or have any contact with the team until the Penalty Time is over. This ensures that the person's presence does not influence the game or provide any advantage to their team.

Submit
55. An official is called upon to impose a penalty against a team where there is no definite player involved or where the penalty is against someone who is not a player in the game, a player in the Penalty Box, or a player in the Bench area. On whom is the Penalty imposed?

Explanation

The penalty is imposed on the team as a whole, rather than on a specific player. In this situation, where there is no definite player involved or the penalty is against someone who is not a player in the game, the penalty is imposed on the team in their home area.

Submit
56. A Blue player has been sent to the Penalty Box.Red scores whilst the Blue player is in the Penalty Box.The Blue player's penalty expires.Play restarts and after the restart, you as the Head Referee realize that the Blue player should not have been sent off.What is your decision?

Explanation

The correct decision is to allow the goal. Even though the Blue player should not have been sent off, the penalty has already expired and play has restarted. Therefore, any goals scored after the restart should be counted.

Submit
57. The period breaks for U13, U15 and U17 games are;
  • at the end of the 1st quarter 3 minutes,
  • at half-time 5 minutes
  • and at the end of the 3rd quarter time 3 minutes.

Explanation

The statement accurately describes the period breaks for U13, U15, and U17 games. At the end of the 1st quarter, there is a 3-minute break, at half-time there is a 5-minute break, and at the end of the 3rd quarter, there is another 3-minute break. Therefore, the answer is true.

Submit
58. During a face-off the Red face-off man uses his fingers to grab the Blue players crosse. What is your call? 

Explanation

The correct answer is Personal foul. Red serves a penalty for Unsportsmanlike conduct, award the ball to Blue. This is because during a face-off, it is illegal for a player to use their fingers to grab the opponent's crosse. This action is considered unsportsmanlike conduct and results in a personal foul. As a result, the ball is awarded to the opposing team, which in this case is Blue.

Submit
59. At the end of normal playing time in an U13, U15 or U18 game the scores are level, so you go to overtime.

Explanation

In U13, U15, or U18 games, if the scores are level at the end of normal playing time, there is no overtime. Instead, the game may end in a draw or there may be a penalty shootout to determine the winner. Therefore, the statement that you go to overtime is false.

Submit
60. An U13 player stick checks his opponent.PLAY ON

Explanation

The statement "An U13 player stick checks his opponent. PLAY ON" is false. In hockey, stick checking is not allowed for players in the U13 age group. Stick checking involves using the stick to interfere with the opponent's stick or body, and it is considered a penalty in this age category. Therefore, the correct answer is false.

Submit
61. Red # 6 shoots on goal, Red # 3 standing in front of goal moves his body and deflects the ball into the goal, Red # 7 is the in-home, he's sat on the bench. To whom is the goal credited? 

Explanation

The goal is credited to Red #3 because he deflected the ball into the goal. Although Red #6 shot the ball, Red #3's action of moving his body and redirecting the ball resulted in the goal being scored. Red #7, who was on the bench, did not play any role in the goal and therefore should not be credited with it.

Submit
62. The Red goalie has dropped his stick.A shot goes wide.  The Red goalie , still without his stick, leaves his crease to try to be the nearest inbounds player as the ball goes out-of-bounds.  The Red goalie  is OUTSIDE his crease as the shot goes out-of-bounds and IS the nearest player to the ball as it goes out-of-bounds. Whose ball is it?

Explanation

The ball is awarded to the nearest inbounds player, not counting the goalie. In this scenario, the Red goalie is outside his crease and is the nearest player to the ball as it goes out-of-bounds. However, the rule states that the goalie should not be counted as the nearest player. Therefore, the ball is awarded to the nearest inbounds player, excluding the goalie, which would be a player from the opposing team, in this case, the Blue team.

Submit
63. Red is attacking and a flag is thrown.Red takes a shot and the ball hits the post.The ball bounces out and hits a Blue defender (not the goalkeeper), who is standing OUTSIDE the crease. The ball enters the goal.

Explanation

The goal should not be counted because the ball hit a Blue defender who was standing outside the crease. According to the rules, if the ball hits a defending player who is outside the crease, it does not count as a goal.

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 21, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 21, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Mar 07, 2015
    Quiz Created by
    Greenie5
Cancel
  • All
    All (63)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
Mouth guards must be worn by all players in all under age games.
In U13 and U15 games, a player may body check an opponent (from the...
A team, is ready to start the game with ten players, but none of them...
In U15 a player, with only one hand on his crosse, checks his...
During the home and away season, U13 and U15 teams are allowed more...
What equipment, in addition to that required by all players, is the...
The ball is on the ground in the crease, rolling toward the goal line....
A Goalkeeper is ready to start the game. He is wearing all the...
The Red team is ready to start the game. You observe some of the...
Red # 6 shoots at goal. Red # 3 deflects the ball into the...
You are setting up for a face-off. Which of the following needs to...
During the play, the ball carrier has his crosse checked from his...
Blue is attacking and the ball is on the way to goal. A Blue player...
During a face-off the Red face-off man uses his fingers to touch...
Red # 6 shoots on goal, it is deflected into the goal by a Blue...
A free play cannot take place within 5 yards (4.57m) of the...
The legal inside measurement of the head of a players stick at its...
The maximum length of a short stick is 42 inches (106.68cm).
The minimum length of a long stick is 52 inches (132.08cm).
Q. The Blue goalie has both his feet in his own crease. He covers...
Q. Blue #5, not the goalie, has both his feet in his defensive...
Q. Red is attacking and a flag is thrown. Red takes a shot and...
Q. A flag is down and Red takes a shot on the Blue goal net.The...
Q. The Red goalie comes out of his crease to play a loose ball. ...
Q. At a centre face-off, the Red face-off man has his right foot to...
Q. At a centre face-off, there is no Red player in the penalty box,...
Q. After a centre face-off, a loose ball technical foul is committed...
Q. As Blue are clearing the ball, a Red player realising he is about...
Q. The ball is dead. ...
Q. The Red goalie is in possession of the ball in his own...
Q. A Red shot has gone out of bounds directly behind the Blue...
Q. A shot misses the goal and is rolling towards the end-line, behind...
Q. Blue attacking. ...
Q. Blue #5 slashes and a flag is thrown. ...
Prior to the game where on the field can a team can warm up?
During a requested stick check the Referee finds that the hollow...
Blue #6 is one-on-one with the Red goalie....
A Blue defender, not the goalie, is INSIDE his own crease.  He...
The referee calls for a Face off other than in the centre, the Referee...
The Red goalie has chased a loose ball behind his goal.He drops his...
A shot deflects off Blue #14 helmet, changes direction and enters the...
While standing INSIDE his crease the Red goalie has dropped his stick....
Red have been warned to "Get it in", but they have not yet done...
Red have possession in the attack goal area, having been warned to...
Red has the ball deep and settled in their attack zone behind the Blue...
You are on the Single-side.  ...
Blue is attacking and a flag is down for a personal foul by Red....
An Expulsion Foul has been applied to a player on the field.Who takes...
A Blue player is in the penalty box....
A Blue player breaks legally over the centre line and two Red players...
A Red player is serving a 30 second penalty for a Technical Foul....
A Blue player is trying to prevent himself from going off-side.  ...
A Blue player has been sent to the Penalty Box.Red scores whilst the...
An Expulsion Foul has been applied to the Coach, non-playing member of...
An official is called upon to impose a penalty against a team where...
A Blue player has been sent to the Penalty Box.Red scores whilst the...
The period breaks for U13, U15 and U17 games are;at the end of...
During a face-off the Red face-off man uses his fingers to grab...
At the end of normal playing time in an U13, U15 or U18 game the...
An U13 player stick checks his opponent.PLAY ON
Red # 6 shoots on goal, Red # 3 standing in front of...
The Red goalie has dropped his stick.A shot goes wide.  The Red...
Red is attacking and a flag is thrown.Red takes a shot and...
Alert!

Advertisement