60 Seconds Rules Challenge - #3

Reviewed by Editorial Team
The ProProfs editorial team is comprised of experienced subject matter experts. They've collectively created over 10,000 quizzes and lessons, serving over 100 million users. Our team includes in-house content moderators and subject matter experts, as well as a global network of rigorously trained contributors. All adhere to our comprehensive editorial guidelines, ensuring the delivery of high-quality content.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Billymartin
B
Billymartin
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 3 | Total Attempts: 2,765
| Attempts: 2,251 | Questions: 10
Please wait...
Question 1 / 10
0 %
0/100
Score 0/100
1. During rebounding, contact on a player's back that dislodges them from their spot on the floor, or where they jumped from should be ruled:

Explanation

This is illegal contact when the player is displaced. Incidental contact as they leap over and above an opponent to secure a rebound is not necessarily a foul.

Submit
Please wait...
About This Quiz
Challenge Quizzes & Trivia

Part 3 of the 60 Seconds on Officiating Challenge.

Time allotted: 10 Minutes
# Questions: 10
Reference: NFHS Rules
Answers:... see moreWill be provided at the completion of the challenge. Some questions have more than one possible correct answer. MAKE SURE TO SCROLL DOWN to see ALL POSSIBLE ANSWERS for each question. Some might be hidden in your browser window.

Please remember this refers to NFHS rules ONLY unless otherwise specified.

Best of luck. . . And stay tuned for future quizzes!

Scroll down and click the BUTTON BELOW to start challenge. . .


see less

2. When resuming play during a throw-in, once the clock is at (or below) ... _____ seconds, the team is only permitted to score by tapping the ball.

How many seconds ?  (Choose best answer)

Explanation

When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three tenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score.
NOTE: This rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second. (5-2-5)

Submit
3. Penalties for fouls are administered:

Explanation

Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. (8-7)

Submit
4. Same situation as the previous question ... however, this time the player is being removed for a bloody nose.

The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval because a substitute is not made available immediately for the bleeding player.

The training staff stops the bleeding prior to the expiration of the 20-second interval and the coach request a time-out to keep the player in the game.

The official applies the "blood rule" to keep the player in the game and grants the time-out.  Is the official correct.

Explanation

The time-out request must be made when the official informs the coach that a replacement is required. Once the 20-second interval has begun and A1’s replacement is pending, a time-out shall
not be granted. Once A1 is replaced by a substitute, Team A may request and be granted a time-out, if desired. (2-
12-5; 3-3-7; 5-8-3b)

Submit
5. During an Alternating Possession (A-P) throw-in by Team A ... a player from Team B reaches across the boundary line plane.

The official stops play.

Check ALL that apply.

Explanation

Team B is issued a warning for breaking the throw-in plane. Since the original alternating-possession throw-in had not ended, the ball is again awarded to Team A and remains an alternating possession throw-in. Any type of further delay by Team B results in a team technical foul. (4-42-5; 4-47-1; 6-4-4; 7-6-
4; 10-1-5c)

Submit
6. A1 is injured and bench personnel are beckoned onto the court.
 
Once A1 has been removed from the court, the official notifies the Team A coach that a replacement is required. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement interval because a substitute is not made available immediately.

Team A’s head coach then requests a time-out to keep A1 in the game.  Should the official grant this time-out??

Explanation

No this is an incorrect procedure. The time-out request must be made when the official informs the coach that a replacement is required. Once the 20-second interval has begun and A1’s replacement is pending, a time-out shall not be granted. Once A1 is replaced by a substitute, Team A may
request and be granted a time-out, if desired. (2-12-5 Note; 3-3-6; 5-8-3b)

Submit
7. After previously being warned, A-1 has been DIRECTED to leave the game because the jersey is not tucked properly into his game pants.  The coach questions this ruling as being "nit-picking."

Check ALL that apply.

Explanation

Once a player has been directed to leave the game, they must comply. A team may not be granted a time-out to keep a player in the game for this type of situation until the player is substituted for properly. Anytime a coach questions an official in an un-sportsmanlike manner, they risk a technical foul. (3-3-5)

Submit
8. Rule on this situation ... select ALL that apply.

--Team A scores a goal.
--While the ball is dead, Team A requests and is granted a time-out.
--After the time-out, the official mistakenly awards the ball to Team A.
-- A1 passes the ball to A2, who scores.
--The mistake is recognized before the ball is at the disposal of Team B after the score.

Explanation

Once A2 legally touched A1’s throw-in pass after the time-out, the throw-in ended and the mistake cannot be corrected. This is not a correctable-error situation as described in Rule 2-10. (4-42-5; 7-5-7)

Submit
9. During the administration of a technical foul ... Team B is permitted to shoot their awarded free-throws at the WRONG basket (of Team A).

The time frame for a correctable error subsequently expires before the officials are alerted by the scorer's table.

Check ALL that apply.

Explanation

This is a correctable error but the time-frame has passed. The free throws by B1 shall not be canceled and count toward Team B’s point total. (2-10-4)

Submit
10. A-1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in.

Before releasing the ball, the thrower (A-1) loses her balance, reaches out and touches B-1, who is inbounds guarding the throw.

A-1 does NOT step across the sideline ... and regains her balance and successfully completes the throw-in to A-2.

How should the official rule on this play??  Select ALL that apply here.

Explanation

Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance
between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)

Submit
View My Results

Quiz Review Timeline (Updated): Mar 20, 2023 +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • Mar 20, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • Feb 05, 2011
    Quiz Created by
    Billymartin
Cancel
  • All
    All (10)
  • Unanswered
    Unanswered ()
  • Answered
    Answered ()
During rebounding, contact on a player's back that dislodges them from...
When resuming play during a throw-in, once the clock is at (or below)...
Penalties for fouls are administered:
Same situation as the previous question ... however, this time the...
During an Alternating Possession (A-P) throw-in by Team A ... a player...
A1 is injured and bench personnel are beckoned onto the...
After previously being warned, A-1 has been DIRECTED to leave the game...
Rule on this situation ... select ALL that apply.--Team A scores a...
During the administration of a technical foul ... Team B is permitted...
A-1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in.Before releasing the...
Alert!

Advertisement